paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / USA Performance Products Viper-M1 / USA Performance Products Viper-M1 / USA Performance Products Viper-M1 / USA Performance Products Viper-M1

USA Performance Products Viper-M1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount USA Performance Products

Buy USA Performance Products Viper-M1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


USA Performance Products Viper-M1
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $290

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The standard features on the Viper-M1 are costly upgrades for many other markers.
Product Availability 
The USA Performance Products Viper-M1 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
NYSEguy Sunday, September 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: VL Triad w/After market barrel, 20oz tank, and 2nd hand drop forward
Viper M1 Standard w/raised sight rail, rifle scope, 12 oz Java tank w/On-Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: marker is built like a tank, unique, barrel is ceramic & teflon coated. Dead on velocity
Weaknesses: It's not very upgradeable.
Review: This marker is rock solid. It's hard to describe how a gun "feels" if you don't have one to hold yourself, but it feels "right" in your hands. Middle of the road when it comes to noise, not to quiet, not too loud either. I have the standard 10" barrel and my friend who has an A-5 w/the 16" combat m16 barrel had a little bit of a target practice shootoff. I was able to lay the paint on target as well, if not a little more accurately than my friend. We were aiming for a 15" diameter target from about 50 feet. For a standard barrel, I thought that was pretty good, I can only imagine if I had the 14" barrel upgrade how much better it might be.

Because it's unique, you will got a lot of looks and questions about it. I like the flat black finish on it.... no nonsense. If you get the millitary edition w/the stock, it looks like an AR-15 assault rifle.
Conclusion: Pricey, for a standard semi auto blowback, but if you can snag one used from ebay, you're looking at dropping about 100-120 bucks. That's pretty good for such a solid marker, that is unique.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LeeMoore Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL Plus, although a very good gun for the time and price, it just can't be compared.
Marker Setup: I have a USA Performance Products Viper M1, with 3 position adjustable stock, sling, a regular gravity feed hopper (I don't need to fire fast), scope (for looks), 18 in barrel, and a "silencer" barrel extension.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel, and a sling, as it's kind of heavy.
Strengths: Accurate, gas efficient, easily maintained.
Weaknesses: Kind of heavy, confusing to disassemble the first couple of times.
Review: Very good gun, I bought it when everyone around me got Tippy's and Flatlines. I have the range and accuracy of them, but not the power at range, which is fine, because I like getting in close. I definetly suggest the stock and a longer barrel, they don't make a huge, massive, life changing differenct, but you do notice that your shots go where you want with a lot less effort. I do have a problem with taking the dang thing apart, the first 3 times, I was confused but after a while, you get used to it. It's not like a Spyder, where everything kind of falls into place. Also, mine's heavy. When you do a lot of running with it, you get tired. I have a sling, and that helps a lot.
Conclusion: Awesome gun. Looks great, performs great. Superbly designed. Not a speedball gun, if you want fast firing, stop looking at this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 29th, 2006 at 5:14 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

brianivey Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder (many different types/models), tippmann 98 custom, B.E. Raptor :-( , new hammer, and many more...
Marker Setup: Viper M1 military setup (with the raised sight rail and folding CAR stock), 10 inch sniper extension, ricochet ak electric hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you have the military kit, great! if not, and you enjoy scenario games... get it! if you like to shoot fast, get a electronic hopper! it's the only way to keep this gun shooting properly. the stock barrel is fairly accurate, but the 12 or 14 inch barrel would be optimal for speed and accuracy.
Strengths: DURABLE! this gun is a freaking sherman tank of paintball guns!
Weaknesses: lack of after-market upgrades. a word to the manufacturer: electronic grip!
Review: over-all, i love the viper! it's the best gun i've ever owned or shot. you can beat this gun like a "red-headed stepchild" and it will never let you down on the field. the mag chamber enables you to get a wicked amount of shots for your money's worth. if you ever do have a problem with your viper, or if you decide to purchase an upgrade or two, the customer service is outstanding. they are very nice and very helpful.
Conclusion: overall, this is a great gun... a little pricey for some, but great none the less. the viper is perfect for scenario players who really want the feel of "real combat."
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

southvike81 Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann model 98,custom spyder e-99 they dont even hold a breath against the viper
Marker Setup: viper m1 double trigger raised sight barrel co2 remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really thats the great thing about the gun it has alot of upgrades that already comes with the gun like built in expansion chamber and the power feed system
Strengths: built in expasion chamber power feed system very accurate gun
Weaknesses: only weakness is that the gun loses some co2 when you play
Review: the heart of the gun is the body and viper couldent have done it better the bult in mag chamber is where your co2 goes where the handle is wehn i first looked at it i hated it it looked so bad i wondered why they couldent do it like the tippmann well the first time i got into the field i relized it see the tippmann guns the co2 chambeer is on the outside of the gun handle well that gets in the way greatly in the field it gets in the way and you will not perform at your best while the vipers co2 chamber is perfect eh way it is becasue it want get in the way
Conclusion: i would recomend anyone who is looking for a great gun and dosent want to jack up 800 to 1000 dolelrs look no further than the viper m1 people say its pricey as heck but u can get a good deal on it on ebay for about 150 dollers
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 18th, 2003 at 9:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yz 45 Saturday, February 22nd, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E99, aggresor and compact. Tippman custom 98 and A5
Marker Setup: 12" barrel, CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
12" barrel ( came as a free upgrade from the order site, VERY COOL!!! )
Strengths: If there is a gun built with better quality parts and overall strength and durability, I have not seen it yet. The metal case is super strong and the gun looks freakin awsome, turns mad heads at he field. Very light in my opinion. 900 shots to a 12oz CO2? Believe it! Thats not a false ad. Very good assault gun with a long range and shoots 'em nice and consistant. The company gave me a free 12" barrel with my order, that probably helps it there. If you're just naturaly rough on your gun, this is probably an ideal gun for you. The slide and click barrel is freakin sweet and makes for quick cleaning, in fact, it needs NO TOOLS to completely strip! But the best thing of all, LIFETIME WARRANTY!
Weaknesses: The gun comes with an open warning to use a high quality ball in their gun. Thats a good idea because I've been using PMI big balls and have broken a few, but its not to an annoying rate and I think that paint sucks. It is on the loud side making a ping when shooting it. The tank position may look weird to some, but it gives it a nice feel, but with a remote, HELL YEA! You can only buy parts from the people who make it, but they do a good job of it.
Conclusion: I just got this gun and cant say enough good about it, but like every gun, its not perfect. If you ever break anything ( which look like it wont happen for a while if ever ) it will be fixed free thanks to that warranty. Well worth the $280 I spent, I highly recamend this gun
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

shorty42o Wednesday, December 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmans, spyders
Marker Setup: 2K2 Angel LCD, Titanium boomstick, dual volumizers, delrin bolt, Dynaflow 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel i guess
Strengths: It is probably one of the most durable markers Ive ever seen. And if you are into the whole military paintball thing I guess it looks cool. If you like to play recball or scenarios its not a bad marker. The mag reg is consistent enough
Weaknesses: The stock makes it bad for speedball as it is unmanuverable. The position of the ASA for the tank makes it unwieldy and hard to snap shoot in speedball also. Not to mention the heavier weight of the gun. Not that fast of a trigger
Conclusion: This gun doesnt have the performance that fits the price. It doesnt shoot all that fast compared to cockers or electros. It is better than the tippmans and spyders but only because you are paying MUCH more for this gun. with the money you pay for this gun you could buy a better marker. Try a bushmaster or a mag or a cocker. At first you might be satisfied with this marker but soon enough youll want something better
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Apollyon360 Tuesday, September 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't shot anything quite like this gun...
Marker Setup: Viper M1 with 12" barrel with handgrip, VXT double trigger with VXT frame, 45 Grip, bottom line kit, and sight rail. (Need a stock for it though)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probably a BOA barrel, which are really nice but costly.
Strengths: Everything. It's so much better than anything I shot. It hasn't busted a singe ball out of 950 balls. It's built like a tank and will definately last for you for just about forever. It's got a lifetime guarantee, so if it breaks, they fix for free. The accuracy on this gun is incredible. I can only imagine it improved with a BOA barrel. This gun is easy on the CO2 and light on the o-rings too. Also, it really gets the newbie's attention's fast. I've seen some interesting M4 Conversion kits for this gun too.
Weaknesses: Expensive as hell.. I got mine refurbished even though I really like this gun, I have a hard time shelling out $300 bucks for a new one (Military Package). Other than the price, nothing else. The shipping was just about overnight. Not too many upgrades other than a few websites.
Conclusion: Great gun for any body from the new guy to the amateurs. But the only problem is the cost. If you have the money, it's a great gun to get and keep for a long time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hockey star Wednesday, August 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pirahnas, spyders, palmer blazer, phantoms
Marker Setup: Viper M1 with vxt 2 finger trigger, and I might order a BOA barrel for it too
Recommended
Upgrades:
vxt trigger frame, BOA barrel (not needed though)
Strengths: Well, it has a lifetime warranty - if anything EVER breaks or rusts (which it wont), they will replace it for free!!!! It is built better than a Tippmann, and just as reliable if not more! It is a very accurate gun stock with the 10" barrel, and I imagine that with a nice 14" BOA barrel, it would be even more accurate. It has a good rate of fire, especially with the VXT 2 finger trigger. Velocities with the MAG chamber stay very consistent, and liquid Co2 doesnt get in.
Weaknesses: well, on/off valves are very nice to have, seeing that if you dont have one, you might have to use an O-ring inside the asa of the mag chamber to keep the air from coming out. Besides that, there is NOTHING wrong with this gun and it is THE best blowback on the market, and that includes being better than tippmanns, spyders, pirahnas (trust me, I have shot all of these, even when they have been upgraded).
Conclusion: Well, this gun is awesome. It has a lifetime warranty, is solid as a rock, is very accurate, very consistent, not too heavy, and damn good looking! I definetely recommend this gun over any spyder or tippmann out there, no matter how upgraded they are.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ndgarf Wednesday, August 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom with lots of upgrades, black maxx, pmi products...
Marker Setup: military package, bottom line, 12 sniper barrell, double trigger,45 grip. Also have sniper stock & boa barrell.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell & Double trigger are great upgrades. A remote might be a good idea (see below).
Strengths: First - I have read in the past that USA Paintball provides poor service. I am writing primarily tonight because this is absolutely NOT the case. I sent my gun in last week to get a new spring and thorough cleaning/refurbish. They called me the day they got it, then fixed it and sent it out the next day. I got it back today. GREAT customer service. Thank you Derrek at USA Paintball.

Now, the gun itself...The Viper is ROCK solid. I have taken it to hell and back and it has been true to me all the way. With the sniper barrell it is very accurate. The mag chamber keeps my velocity consistent in all weather and when I throw lots of paint. My son and I play hard and get both ourselves and our guns dirty. My M1 is easier to clean than I am and is always ready to go back out and get dirty again - this gun is very reliable.
Weaknesses: The Viper is a bit on the heavy side, more so with the military stock, but so what...that helps give it the solid feel that I like so much. I have a bottom line set up with a 20 oz CO2 and there isn't really enough room to comfortably use the military stock. If I didn't have the BL, or if I had a remote, I would not have any problem with the Military stock. Upgrades can be expensive and barrell options are limited, but I understand that will change shortly with more boa options.
Conclusion: Great gun for a beginner, intermediate or rec player (like myself). Some like it initially for the looks, then like it a lot more when they try it out. I like it for both. I bought my M1 used, am probably its third owner and will be its last. I am also probably the first owner to finally have to send it in to get it fixed (a simple spring as I said earlier). I can't recommend this gun enough but I can't give it a 10 since nothing is perfect. A 9 is pretty darn close though so.....
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

homerj Friday, August 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, titan, pro-carbine, model 98, scorpion,
raptors, stingrays, etc., etc.
Marker Setup: don't get me started
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: military edition looks cool as hell

unique. you probably won't see many other
players with one

nice balance with the tank placed where it is (on
the military ed. at least)

quick release barrel similar (darn near
identical) to mags

pretty decent trigger pull. you won't mistake it
for a cocker, but still not too bad.

venturi bolt. this is not the crap they stick in
spyders. this is the kind of bolt people pay
good money for. it has a rounded plastic piece
on the end so there's no rough edge smacking the
ball.

very well machined. no ugly welds or anything
like that.

only one barrel break so far & that was because i
foolishly messed with the barrel nubbin.
Weaknesses: seems expensive, but not really if you add up all
the things you get. i bought a refurbished
military ed. for $188 & it came with a new
barrel, stock, sight rail, & the body of the gun
was almost flawless.

if you feel the need to "upgrade" your viper your
sol. the only place i know to buy stuff from is
usas.

Conclusion: an all around well made marker. it's performance
is at least on par with other similar markers &
exceeds most of them. i wouldn't shell out $340
for it because, let's face it, you're not taking
this marker someplace where the average player is
shooting a cocker or bushmaster.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media