paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Severe Paintball Tempest Paintballs / Severe Paintball Tempest Paintballs / Severe Paintball Tempest Paintballs

Severe Paintball Tempest Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Severe Paintball

Buy Severe Paintball Tempest Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Severe Paintball Tempest Paintballs
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Thick Shell, Bright Thick Fill, Mettalic Shell, Accurate, Resists curving.
Product Availability 
The Severe Paintball Tempest Paintballs are older, so they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
ndonato Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Lots of other paintballs
Marker Setup: Ion
Virtue board
SP QEV
Egg2
48/3000
Recommended
Barrels:
any
Strengths: Strong ball
Thick fill
Shell is perfect
looks cool
easy to see
Box is pretty!
Weaknesses: A little pricey
Review: These balls are great. Had to buy them because they were the cheapest the field had at the time because they were sold out of everything else. After my experience with Hurricane and Atmosphere, I was a little uneasy about using more Severe products but my buddy who works at the field assured me that they were an awesome ball and if I wasn't happy with these balls, he would give me the money back for them out of his own pocket (he's done it before). He was right. The ball is awesome. I would buy these again when I have the money to. They shot clean and consistant, never chopped. I could rope these and they would fly in pretty much the same place. The fill is thick enough for wipers to not get it off without taking some time. Price is a little too much for me as I'm usually without cash but when I do have the money for them I will buy them.
Conclusion: Great ball, a little pricey but that's to be expected with a tournament grade ball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TorchBlower Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Warriors Clamping Feedneck
CP On/Off ASA
Recommended
Barrels:
Stock Ion Barrel is all I've tried.
Strengths: Good flight path
Very few dimples
Weaknesses: Thin fill
Somewhat easy to wipe off
Review: I tried this paint for the first time last week and I paid around $35 for a case at my local paintball shop. I really just needed paint for the day and thought that this paint would be decent enough. The shell has a cool orange and metallic pattern, and it's not too brittle. I shot and was amazed at one: how well it broke, and two: how straight it flew. This paint is definately a great buy for anyone who wants good paint for a low price (well low for me).
Conclusion: Flew straight
Good Shell
But Thin Fill
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sfig4 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Red SP ION
68/45 PMI TANK
Contract Killer Grips
Evo 2
L6 Bolt
Mini Eclipse On/Off
360 QEV
06 Freak
SP BlackHeart Board
Recommended
Barrels:
.691
Strengths: Accurate
decent fill thickness
very bright fill
always round
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: Overall this is a pretty good ball.. It always is normally round with some rare flat spots.

Fill: 8/10
The fill is always very bright. The yellow fill is very visible but not that thick. The fill is thick on a 7/10 scale.

Shell: 7/10

The ball doesn't always brake when dropped from 6ft and doesn't always break on flesh. I would think that 1/4 the time it was dropped from 6ft it would brake and 1/3 of the time it hits flesh from across the field it will brake.

Flight Path: 9/10

This ball will normally fly straight and will hit very close to the other ball, normally on top of the other ball from across a speed ball Field.

No visible seams wich is very good.
Conclusion: I bought this paint for $65.00 CAD and it works pretty well. I would have rather bought some premium for $50.00 but it was orange fill. Also I normally buy storm (also made by severe) But Storm and Hurricane are recently terrible paint to buy.(made buy severe)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007 at 11:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PatrickBuddy Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Blitz
Whitebox
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
16" Smart Parts Linear barrel
Double trigger kit
JT 50/3000
Recommended
Barrels:
Try shorter barrels.
Strengths: Brittle shell for easy break
VERY bright fill
Weaknesses: Shells are too brittle. Break if shot quickly in long barrel.
Review: When I shot these fairly quickly, I found that balls were breaking in my barrel. This hasn't happened with other paint or as often in my stock barrel. This may just be because of the barrel length, so watch out if you have a long barrel. I bought these for $45 on sale, and I haven't had any MAJOR problems with them. I got them to break on people without any bounces.

*I dropped these from about 5 feet, and they usually broke on the first/second bounce. Sometimes they'd make their major bounce and when they were coming down again SPLAT*

UPDATE: Feb 03/07
after shooting the rest of this case, I got REALLY fed up. I'd chop one every 10 shots or so. It MAY have been because the paint was cold before play and/or because it's a few months old BUT I'd only really buy it if it's the only paint avaliable.
Conclusion: The shell is a BIT too brittle, but hey, no bounces on other people eh? If you can get these on sale, or cheap I'd get them. Just don't go shooting like crazy and you'll be fine. Yellow fill is very neonish.. You can ALWAYS see when your ball breaks on somebody.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 3rd, 2007 at 8:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Howlin' Mad Saturday, February 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
DraXXus White Box - Not as Good
Scorch- Not as good
GAP- Not as good
RPS All-Star -Not as good
Rampage - Not as good
Heavy Metal - Not as good
ZAP Rec Grade - Horrible
ZAP Sport - Not as good
PMI Premium - Not as good
Marballizer - About Equal
JT Tactical - Not as good
Severe Hurricane - Close, but not as good
Marker Setup: Marker 1:
Tippmann 98 Custom
BT Designs APEX
Expansion Chamber
Adco IMP
Response Trigger
Shocktech Bolt
Black Dye Sticky Grips
BT Sealed Bolt System
Custom Paint job
Polished Internals
12 Volt Revy

Marker 2:
JT Acclerator W/E-Grip 3.5
14in. Smartparts Progressive
12 Volt Revy
Recommended
Barrels:
APEX
Freak Kit
Strengths: VERY Consistent
No seams
Somewhat cheap
Good fill
No Wild Balls/Defects
No Chopping
Weaknesses: None really
Review: These are probably some of the best paintballs on the market. I hadn't seen these until I went to my local fields scenario game. They were all brand new, and stored in perfect conditions. Also these are a small diameter ball.

+VERY Consistent
These paintballs were one right after another. The most consistent paintballs I've ever used. They worked great in the APEX too.

+No Seams
None of these balls had a visible seam. You can hardly feel it too.

+Somewhat Cheap
I got these for 55$. These were a little better than Marbs and were cheaper. Its still expensive but cheaper than equivalent products.

+Good Fill
The fill on these was a bright, thick fill, that was very obvious still after it was wiped.

+No wild balls/Defects
Not a single one of these went wild out of 2 cases. Also every ball was perfect. There were no defects at all.

+No Chopping
Out of 2 cases not a single ball chopped.


Conclusion: If you can find these buy them. These are the best! You wont be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gawl Friday, May 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Marbs
Evil
Draxxus
Marker Setup: 04 Highlander Viking
Halo B vcode and egg z code.
Recommended
Barrels:
Kit with a broad range.
Strengths: Brittle but strong shell
Good fill
Good seam
excellent shape
Weaknesses: Small
Bad for A5 flatline and cyclone
Review: I used this paint at a scenario game and had no problems with it at all. As I mentioned above it is VERY small paint, and with larger bore barrels you will see consistency issues on the chrono and accuracy.

The 6 cases I had were VEY small. They roll through my .683 pipe kit insert and my .684 tit long bow insert.ann A5 owners w/ flatline take note...it does NOT work good. My friend broke at least 4-12 per hopper in the the flatline and the cyclone.

In my CCM J2 cocker I have a nasty habbit of short stroking (happens when you start using an electro =), and in all my short stroking didn't pinch one.

At the game we used a pink fill with an orange shell. The fill was pretty much medium. It was light enough that it wouldn't stain, but heavy and thick enough that you couldn't wipe.

The game I played was in December, and after the event the VP of Severe was selling the paint for $40 bucks a case! Being a steal as I had no problems shooting it, I bought 4 cases of it and still have some today! Just went out with it last weekend and I had no breaks in a case.
Conclusion: Great paint if you have a kit or small size bore. Some people say they had no issues with there .688 and what not, but the 6 cases I shot were small. I had a kit though so that was not an issue and I feel this is great rec paint!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MadHatter Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Chronic
TC Venom, Drakula, Pro Series
PMI Premium, Premium Gold, Flash, Evil
JT Maxim 2
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99
3000psi HPA
Evlution 2
14" Teardrop
Evil bolt
32 Degrees LPC
Recommended
Barrels:
Medium
Strengths: Round, good seams, good shell, decent thick fill
Weaknesses: Orange fill was weak - more like pale yellow
Review: Overall, this paint shot well and reasonably accurately. The shell seemed to be thick enough to withstand my E99 but not so thick that it bounced off my opponent. My only real problem with it was the fill. The "orange" was so weak it was hard to see. It was more of a pale yellow. The fill could have been thicker, too, but it wasn't the worst I've seen. It was the same price as the Chronic I usually use but that wasn't available so I thought I would give the Tempest a try. Not bad, but I will probably try others until the Chronic is available again.
Conclusion: Decent paint if accuracy and consistancy is more important to you than being able to see your hits.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 29th, 2004 at 1:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dantriggerhappy Monday, April 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
EVERY type of Severe, Evil, and blaze.
Marker Setup: 2002 GZ (bought 2004), 03 stickies, cp 10", pbk snakeskin bolt, wgp bottomline, hybrid eye covers.
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything that fits. My friends ultralite .689 works perfectly.
Strengths: Decent paint, good for recball and field play.
Weaknesses: They can chop if you are unlucky, eyes have a hard time reading.
Review: I use this paint when I just play at my local field, I have chopped alot with this paint on rare occasions. I reccomend this paint to any recball player. My friend's timmy chopped because of the dark red shell, so that's why it chopped. You can find it for around 30-40$ online, and anywhere from 40-100$ at fields.
Conclusion: Decent paint, good, somewhat reliable.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media