paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel / Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel / Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel

Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 45
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $59

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Its 12 inches long, has a .687" inside diameter, a bead blasted finish, and porting. Small paint is recommended.
Product Availability 
The Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
mxmtl Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Assasins
Custom Products 1-Piece
Deadlywind Fibur
Dye Boomstick
Dye Ultralite
WGP Kaner
Lucky Un1tec
MacDev Matchstik
Palmers Pursuit Shop Brass
Planet Eclipse Shaft
Powerlyte Scepter 2000 Series
Proto 1 and 2-piece
Smart Parts All American
Sly Equipment Dual-Carbon
Smart Parts Aluminum Freak Kit
Stiffi
Stock EGO Barrel
Marker Setup: 2005 WGP Superstock
+ CCM 45 Auto Trigger Frame & Pump Kit
+ WGP Karnivore Regulator
+ Lapco Autospirit Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Probably anything up to .690
Strengths: Shoots well through breaks
Smooth finish
Hard Anodized
Well Made
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: None
Review: As you can see from the list above, I've tried a lot of barrels. What I noticed different in this barrel was the inner finish. This barrel was completely mirror smooth. No concentric circles down the barrel, no lines going down, no variations in anodizaion. It was completely and perfectly mirror smooth.

When I switched to pump play, I started out with a 2000 Series Powerlyte barrel kit because of a paintball test done by Mann on PBNation. It was a decent kit, but it did not play very well through breaks. I was also getting tired of sizing paint.

Looking for a better barrel, I purchased a Palmers Pursuit Shop brass barrel. It was .685, no wedgits, no porting, and 12" long. Over the chrono, it was very consistent. However, it did not do too well with breaks.

Next, I tried a .693 Stiffi barrel, using electrical tape to prevent roll outs. It did better than the previous two when breaks occured, but breaks happened often.

After more research, I found the Lapco barrels. I read how they were made differently than most other barrels, and decided to get one myself after reading a review on PPS brass barrels vs Lapco.

I purchased the Lapco Autospirit, which is .687. I chose the Autospirit in anticipation of shooting Dynasty Paint. I had emailed GAP, and asked about the boresize. They recomended a .687 barrel to avoid roll-out.

For my test, I used 3 month old WPN Elixir. At the chrono, speeds were almost as consistent as the PPS brass. Accuracy was very straight up and down. During a day of play, I went through about 400 rounds. It performed very consistently just like at the chrono. I had one break, but only knew about it when I went to put on my barrel cover. So, I took a few shots to check it out, and I was impressed when most of the shots went straight with only slight curve balls every few shots. None of the barrels I have ever tried (see the list above) performed this well.

Cleaning was easy. Just one pull through with a pull-through squeege-swab tool and it was mirror finish clean again. Porting was easily wiped clean with a soft cloth.
Conclusion: If you own a cocker, or closed bolt marker, I highly recommended this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 6th, 2008 at 4:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hell_hunter Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock tippmann barrel (WAY worse)
SmartParts Pogressive (worse)
stock spyder barrels (worse)
flatline barrel (better range, worse accuracy)
Marker Setup: -98 custom
-lapco autospirit 12"
-Polished internals and Pen spring mod
Recommended
Paintballs:
tested with walmart paint and marbs, anything to to big (under .688)
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Weight
Weaknesses: -Loud
-Porting is hard to clean
Review: To start off the lapco autospirit barrel is a great addition to the tippmann 98c.

PROS:

Accuracy- This barrel is really accurate! Tested from 50í and could hit the same spot over and over and over (within maybe 8-10Ē grouping (sorry Iím Canadian, not great with imperial measurement)).

Fireís straight, no hooks or curves

Looks really cool, has a nice finish.

No breaks, put 200 rounds through fireing as fast as I could and didnít break 1! Only time I had a ball break was when I ran out of CO2 and the gun misfired (the bolt didnít catch).

CONS:

Loud, loud, loud! This thing sounds like a cannon when you fire it. This is because the porting is at the very end of the barrel. Not to much of a big deal for me, but some may mind.

Hard to clean- found the porting to be really hard to clean after a ball break. Paint gets stuck in the holes.
Conclusion: BUY IT! Great barrel for small-med bore paint! Will never let you down. I give it an 8 because the porting it hard to clean and its a little bit on the loud side. Accuracy is great and its is light.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RollingThunder Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, SP AA, BigShot
Marker Setup: Piranha EXT Pro G3,
Palmer Stabilizer
Maddman Rocket Valve
TigerShark Bolt
Lapco AutoSpirit
12V Revy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Chronic, Marbs, Spank or Big Ball (now Menus) anything that is .686-.688
Strengths: Consistant
Well made
Accurate
Weaknesses: None.
Review: Here is my review of the AutoSpirit (for Spyder).

Location: New Kent Paintball in New Kent, VA on July 3, 2004.

Starting Temp: 80 F
Ending Temp: 88 F
Humidity: 80%

Gun setup: Piranha EXT Pro G3 (Red/Black Fade)
(pure mechanical blow back marker)
Low-pressure internals
Delron Bolt
Palmer Stabilizer (direct) (set at 450 psi)
In Yo Face Ė T-Stock w/drop forward
20 oz CO2 through a PMI remote

Range: Firing range is setup with man size waist high silhouette targets.
Targets are set at 10 ft, 25 ft, 35 ft, 50 ft, 75 ft, 100 ft
For review purposes I used 10, 25, 50, 75 and 100 ft.
(On field shot out to 130 ft., will be part of my opinion portion of review)

Paint: All paint was not fresh, could tell is it had been on the shelf for quite sometime.
Zap Sports Series .686 -.688 (had dimples and paint was settling)
(Looked like old Spank w/black shell)
Zap Primer .687-.690 (misshapen)
Zap Chronic .686-.687 (paint was settling)
Viewloader Heavy Metal .686-.688 (no defects noted)


Review: All shots where well aimed center mass shots. Gun chronographed in at 275-277 fps. No ball breaks occurred.

At 10 feet: All paint hit 10 for 10 in a 4-inch square pattern

At 25 feet: All paint hit 10 for 10 in a 6-inch square pattern

At 50 feet:
Primer: 8 for 10 in a 12x6 inch pattern, with the 2 missed just left of the edge of the target.
Sports Series: 10 for 10 in a 12x10 inch pattern.
Heavy Metal: 10 for 10, 8 in a 8x6 inch pattern and 2 hit low on target making the pattern 8x10 inches.
Chronic: 10 for 10 in a 6x6 inch pattern.

At 75 feet:
Primer: 5 for 10 in a 12x12 inch pattern, with the misses just right, left and high.
Sports Series: 6 for 10 in a 12x12 inch pattern, with the misses just right and left.
Heavy Metal: 6 for 10, 12x14 inch pattern with misses just left and high.
Chronic: 8 for 10 in a 12 x 8 inch pattern with miss just left.

At 100 feet:
Primer: 3 for 10 in a 14x14 inch pattern.
Sports Series: 3 for 10 in a 14x14 inch pattern.
Heavy Metal: 4 for 10, 14x14 inch pattern.
Chronic: 6 for 10 in a 14 x 10 inch pattern with miss just left and low.


Over all from the data, update 75 feet the barrel is very accurate with all paintballs. As you extend your range the better the quality of the paintball the more accurate the shoots were. As you can note Chronic shot the best, most likely since it is a better quality paintball.

Opinion: The AutoSpirit is a good upgrade form most stock barrels on inexpensive guns. With a the porting at the end of the barrel it can be considered loud, but I have heard louder stock barrels and if can lower your gun operating pressure this will also reduce the report. When the paintball match perfectly with the bore the accuracy was outrageous. Players watching me during the testing at the range noted the impacts on target sound like the gun was firing ďHOTĒ. When gun was chronoed it was shooting a 276 fps. I can only assume I was getting the full potential out of the air.

During game play, on the denser wood course any player that got with in 75 feet of me was eliminated using 1 and 3 shot bursts. Total kills 10. On the Fire Base course, shooting in a fire suppression mode, I was pining down targets at 130 feet. I was shooting through 20 feet of woods, to an up hill to position shooting at a shoulders and head target. I was using Chronic paintballs only and after the game the pattern at that position was 14x8 and 2 very splatter covered players.

If you paint match near perfectly, this barrel is one of the best barrels I have used. You can go a little small and not loose too much, but I donít recommend going above .688. This will be the barrel I use if Iím shooting a medium-small ball.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good barrel for around $50.00, then I'd get this barrel. If you properly paint match you'll never go wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SigepBaller Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J ceramic -- slightly better
CP One Piece -- slightly better or the same
Marker Setup: marker #1
AGD Minimag black
14 in. J&J
11.5 Lapco Autospirit
Freak Back soon to come
FBM power angle
Warped Sportz Nickel Cradle
ACI Subzero Expansion chamber
Kapp tourney Lock
12v Revvy

marker #2
tippmann custom 98....used to be chrome.
hybrid tech shizzle panelz grips
pro-team products intruder foregrip
prolly going to buy a freak back again
Recommended
Paintballs:
Use smaller bore, like everyone else before me said.
Strengths: Looks very nice, Shoots straight
Weaknesses: A little heavy, kind of loud, porting is localized in one sport.
Review: Well basically this is the twin of the Lapco big shot...this could also be known as the Little shot....or maybe Little to Medium shot....but we'll stick with autospirit for now. This came with my minimag that i bought used, but everything was in great condition. I was just shooting around in my backyard at trees and my fence. I wasn't shooting high quality paint so i'll compare it to how my J&J performed. i've owned a J&J on a tippmann and now i own one on a Minimag. I'm in love with my J&J so much so that it should be illegal. I am very biased towards them just so you know, but i will try and give a good review. well basically the autospirit performed really well. i didnt do a whole lot of measuring of what i was shooting at or the grouping so i'll give rough estimates. i shot about 4 or 5 different brands of paint through the barrels (kick'n mettalix, zap field paint, JT maxim 2, some viewloader sparkle stuff, and some BE blue streak (more like lethal bullets)) well anyways since i was shooting a bunch of different stuff through this at the same once you would think the balls would go every which way.

at like 25 feet away, i was shooting at a slide in my yard and the ball groupings were about the the same....like 1x1 foot square

at about 75 feet i'd say the J&J was a 2 foot square and the lapco was a 3 foot square.

there is also a difference in the length of the two barrels so that could have affected performance. one thing i didnt check which i had was breaking a ball in the barrel...i had no breaks. but i know from experience breaking a ball in the J&J cleans out really well with a couple shots.
Conclusion: ok..so it might have seemed like i was rating the J&J more, but my mind jumps around. Basically all i have to say is, it's a good barrel, mine came with the gun so i don't know about price, i think the J&J is better with price. the barrel looks classy and shoots well so i give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BuckyBaLL Tuesday, November 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP barrel, Dye Stainless, Freak System, Stock
Marker Setup: 2002 red vert. feed autococker w/ black eblade, black shocktech fgp lpr, Kapp FAT ram, free flow delrin bolt, madd man springs, black ergo regulator, black freak barrel, Centerflag 420 68ci 4500psi tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever you like that fits
Strengths: Nice finish both outside and inside the bore
Weaknesses: Not very accurate
Review: Ok now maybe I got a bad barrel but on my gun I have never had great success with the autospirit barrel. They are louder than most barrels but nothing that is significant. For the price they arent bad it is just that they arent that good. I have tried numerous brands of paint with this barrel and none of the paint was anywhere close to being as accurate as my freak or cp barrels. I actually liked the stock barrel better. I also seemed to break more paint in this barrel than with my other barrels but I play in colder weather so maybe that was it. But my main reason for not liking it is that I am not impressed with its accuracy at all. I have used my friends autospirit on my cocker and it always did the same thing. I would recommend buying a cp barrel or go all the way and buy a freak or multi bore barrel. But dont buy this
Conclusion: Even though I recommend that you buy another barrel I will still give this barrel an 8 because the quality was good both outside and inside but I just didnt like the accuracy results that I got from this barrel. Once again buy a cp they are way better for the money and look a lot sweeter. IMO
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbkevin Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used many barrels. Dyes, 32deg, old bob long barrels, etc. Lapco's are the best.
Marker Setup: AM Illusion Pro
Also used Lapco's on Cockers and Mags
Recommended
Paintballs:
Since this is a small bore barrel, I would use small bore paint.
Strengths: Cheap
The Best Quality
Weaknesses: The only one is Loudness. Alittle bit on the loud side.
Review: I have had many lapcos for many different guns. They have all been well finished, excellent bore finish, etc. I have never recieved a flawed one. They are on the loud side, but for me and a pump gun, that doesn't seem to matter. Even on my cocker or mag, it wasn't a problem.
Conclusion: Okay. Here it is. If you read and take to heart only one review for this or any lapco barrel, hopefully this is it. First off, this is a tight bore barrel. So anyone on here complaining that the barrel is too small, their paint is too big. Second, too the person who complained about the logo being upside down when the barrel was screwed in all the way. Boo Hoo. It doesn't matter unless your tottally image conscious. Third. Yes, it is loud. Atleast louder than most barrels. Forth. Too the person complaining about you need a long barrel plug to fit these barrels. Most people use the condoms nowadays anyway, but yea you need a long plug. Spend a whole 3 bucks. Too the people who complain about anything above 200fps and they broke paint, look at your paint and playing conditions.

It seems like most of the complaints were fairly shallow. I'm sure some were legitamate, because out of all the barrels lapco makes, there are bound to be 1 or 2 here or there. I have never had a genuine problem with any of the lapco's I have owned. All have been top notch. Plus, you can get 2 of them for less than the price of 1 dye. I love my lapcos. Any questions about them, email me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VSCStocker Saturday, October 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Bigshot. Same barrel just different bore size.
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom
Lapco Autospirit and 14" CCI Nickel Barrel
Clear stock parts
Rear gauge installation
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers, All-Stars, El Tigres. Anything with a .687 bore size.
Strengths: Very Accurate. Just like the Bigshot.
Weaknesses: A little loud. Gets dirty fairly easily.
Review: People complain that this barrel does not shoot large paint well. Well duh, the bore size is only .687. Get the Bigshot for large paint. They are the same barrell!!! The Barrel is extremely accurate with the right size paint. Why the autospirit has a lower rating than the bigshot is beyond me.

With playing stock class. I can't afford to miss shots. Thats why I use the lapco autospirit.

It's more accurate than the CCI barrels. They now make them for the phantom!
Conclusion: Go spend 100 dollars on a autospirit and a bigshot and have all your paint sizes taken care of. The barrel will not miss without with your help and the right size paint. Any barrel is accurate with the CORRECT PAINT MATCH. Will not shoot any other barrels than lapco.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

COCKER_JUNKIE Saturday, June 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ss lapco bigshot on my 98c bigshot on my friends cocker.
Marker Setup: 2k2 red cocker 12 volt revy x board (pre brass eagle), red psycho ballistics pro drop forward, shocktech bomb 3-way, kapp fat ram, palmers stabilizer, jackal 15* asa, lapco autospirit, eclipse blade trigger frame and a dye izon sight.
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs and allstars shoot less than 3 inch groupings at 50 ft as tested 10 minutes using bench mount. bigball is to big for autospirit shoots the same grouping as above in bigshot.
Strengths: light, extremely accurate, i think it looks pimp, super smooth bore, inexpensive.
Weaknesses: works best with small paint, will not shoot clean must squeegee, not super quiet.
Review: I love this barrel i always use marbs and allstars so im set for 3 inch groupings at 50 ft and i dont know if its the barrel fit but i shoot 270 fps at 240 psi with no low pressure upgrades using stock valve and spring and i think it might be the paint/bore match. i bought one for my 98 custom and I bout one for my cocker which is awesome cause ill be able to use it on my akalmp viking soon to come. for the money i think there isnt a better barrel if you dont chop. i never really get barrel breaks only breech so it isnt the barrel causing the breaks. buy this barrel for all your guns use marbs or allstars no crappy paint or large bore paint.
Conclusion: buy because its a sniper barrel, 1 shot kill, my friends know it because they are on the receiving end. oh and its not too long.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psiico Wednesday, June 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts AA. The AA is more field paint friendly.
Marker Setup: Spyder (bought 9 years ago when there was only 1 kind)
14" Smart Parts /12" Lapco Autospirit barrels
Taso LPC (like there's any difference in those)
DYE 45 grip frame (single trigger, don't like doubles)
Hogue grips
Lapco vert. adapter
Smart Parts bottomline and gas thru stock
Quick strip kit (forget who made it)
Bob Long bolt
PMI sight rail
Vigilante/Bob Long Torpedo reg
velocity adjuster (forget who made it)
AKA Tornado valve
Madmann spring kit
polished internals and trigger job
Recommended
Paintballs:
field paint only where i play, so dunno
Strengths: it works
Weaknesses: can be a pain with large , cheap paint. Shape
Review: Nice barrel, works just like all the others. Has a small bore which for me I find doesn't go well with field paint. For me, in my setup, I break a lot in the barrel. My AA is much more field paint friendly. When the paint matches it, works fine.
I don't like the shape (personal preference) I like a smooth barrel, no bumps, no ridges, nologos.
Conclusion: It's allright, depends on if you like busy looking gear or not.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fnlvnfreak Wednesday, April 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Lapco Autospirit Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Full Boar Rear Cocking Beavertail
Recommended
Paintballs:
It'll fire just about anything you put through it.
Strengths: accurate, stylish, and a great price at only $50
Weaknesses: None
Review: I was using my stock barrel on my 98 custom and it got the job done, but then I decided I wanted something more. I tried my friends autospirit and i had to buy one. These barrels simply rock. This barriel is super accurate. fired 10 shots from about 50 feet away and got a tight grouping. Plus with an average price tag of 50 bucks how can you say no to it.
Conclusion: It is a must have for anyone who wants to increase their accurracy and do it for a low price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 2nd, 2003 at 11:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media