paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel / Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel / Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel

Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 45
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $59

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Its 12 inches long, has a .687" inside diameter, a bead blasted finish, and porting. Small paint is recommended.
Product Availability 
The Lapco Autospirit Aluminum Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, April 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick 14": The boomy was nice, but the AutoSpirit was better
32 degrees carbon fiber: Again the AutoSpirit simply out performed
J&J ceramic: only on my gun for a moment because game was starting and my velocity with this barrel dropped significantly
Marker Setup: Autococker that started stock now the only thing stock left is the hammer
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo or RPS All-Star
Strengths: I have yet to shoot a barrel that was more accurate especially when clean
The barrel was also CHEAP ($50 if you look)
Also, this barrel makes more of a difference with gas efficiency than any other barrel that I've heard of
Weaknesses: It does tend to be a little bit louder than most barrels
Also, when I do end up with a break (very rarely) the accuracy goes straight to hell
Choice of colors: anyone you want as long as it is black
Conclusion: If you want your gun to be efficient and accurate then you need an AutoSpirit. For the price to performance ratio nothing is better
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick, dye alum, 32 deg carbon, PMI perfect bore
Marker Setup: cocker--mkII, gas thru, full force bolt, rat 3:12
bm2k, mega reg, gas thru, eclipse venturi
Recommended
Paintballs:
Honestly, I haven't figure it out yet
Strengths: light weight, good looks, reasonable price, extremely efficient--shot count will go way up.
Weaknesses: Not accurate, loud, appears to be too tight and must have internal flaws
Conclusion: I think I must have gotten a bad one. It'll shoot very accurately at 210 fps, but turn it up to 275 or higher and it shoots like the barrel is wet. Both my cocker and my bm are very lo pressure, or I'm sure it would break balls like crazy. I have run nothing but fresh All star and Marbs through it, and neither seem to fit. In the last year I've played with it maybe a half dozen times, and every time I end up pulling it off, throwing my carbon fiber on, having a better time and swearing the Lapco is going to storage. This is it. I've had it with the thing. I give it a 5 because the price was right and it is very efficient. I get 1200 plus with my cocker and a 68 3K tank. But if you want to shoot faster than 210 fps, forget about it. I can't recommend it. All the barrels listed above are more accurate.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak: much higher price a great shooter when you have the right paint for the autospirit it's more accurate and effecient than freak.
cp: same as above
boomstick:same as first
could go on and on
Marker Setup: 2001 cocker
to many upgrades to list
68c.i. maxflow (thebest)
Recommended
Paintballs:
SMALL to medium small. RPS marbs are my favorite so I never have a problem!
Strengths: The most under rated barrel ever produced. This barrel has accuracy to spare. Paint shoot through after a break is as good if not better than any barrel. Why is this barrel under rated! It's not pretty to most players. (I love it who doesn't like black on a paintball product) Another reason is because it doesn't say DYE on the side. This is THE barrel for small paint. It is cheap and more than pays for itself with the short to extreme long range accuracy. Was that a long enogh reaon to buy it?
Weaknesses: The only problem I can think of is only a problem to some people. It's not pretty enough.
Conclusion: BUY IT!! This product does deserve a 10. I can't imagine a barrel being better. Hey this is MY opinion after many succesful games using it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Diablo Matrix, Trinity Reg, THOR reg, Centerflag Reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any RPS, small bore Diablo
Strengths: Above average accuracy (maybe its just my gun), quiet (why is it that nobody knows how to spell quiet around here?) and low key. Cool thing is that it matches the color of my marker. Bonus!
Weaknesses: If you're paint is slightly bloated, you're going to get breaks -- a lot of them; but then, I guess that goes for any barrel.

I really don't have anything bad to say about this barrel.

**I was actually supposed to get the Big Shot, but the store clerk gave me this one instead... and I didn't realize it until after I brought it home.
Conclusion: If you've got the money for high quality paint and are looking for a cheap, accurate barrel, this is the one for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

marc Thursday, March 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
11" PMI Performance, 16" Armson Stealth, 10" Hellfire, 14"Boa Express (best barrel i've ever shot to be quite honest)
Marker Setup: 99 rf cocker, pmi perfect drop, benchmark trigger frame, lightening bolt, shocktech bomb 3-way, other stuff...
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo, and only diablo
Strengths: well the good.... this barrel came with my 99 r/f cocker with benchmark frame (paid it 360 bucks Canadian, really really cheap) so i was pleased to be getting an aftermarket barrel.

Well this barrel is pretty accurate, and i am VERY pleased. First day i got it i hopped on the field, now its hard to explain but there was a guy in a building about 25-35 feet away, and the only opening was a very small window, i'd say about 1 foot wide by 2 feet high. I nailed him through that small opening, not once but EVERYTIME. He finally called out and left.
Since then i've been pleased with this barrel.

Even through chops it performs well, i had an ANS Phase II bolt and the heap of crap was always chopping or pinching, since then i went backto my stock bolt no chops, and my lightening bolt sure be arriving any day now.......
Weaknesses: Its a little loud, and i always get called for chrony checks during tournies when we finish a match and i'm walking off the field.

Standard barrel plugs don't fit, use a barrel condom.
Conclusion: Awesome barrel for the price, i only use Diablo paint so finding a paint to match the barrel bore is no big deal.
There are better barrels out there (such as a BOA) but the price is considerably higher.

I really like my autospirit, and i've been happy with the performance. I'm giving it a 9 because no barrel is worth a 10 in my opinion.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ronin-san Tuesday, February 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
taso winforce (for my mag), cp and flatline (for my 98c)
Marker Setup: blue powdercoated minimag w/kapp drop zone and on off asa
low pressure 98C drop forward, 12v barrels listed above
Recommended
Paintballs:
pro ball seems to work good. blaze works good too.
Strengths: WAY inexpensive (50 bucks, sometimes more for rare markers)
HIGH quality
WICKED looking
VEERRY accurate
EXCELLENT company reputation
Shoot through chops without NECESSITY to squeegee
Weaknesses: .687. some say small paint only. well I dumped a hopper of proball through my mag, and only one chopped. EVEN when it chopped, there was no difference in accuracy. Shot through the break in 3 shots or less.

How that's a bad thing, I dunno.

some say it's loud. Not really, and considering the length, it's a good speedball barrel.
Conclusion: WONDERFUL barrel with a hard to beat price considering it's accuracy and build. This is a GREAT barrel. Instead of buying a Boomstick, why not buy an autospirit and a big shot for your marker. 2 barrels, different bores for different paints. I LOVE my autospirit. 10 because of price vs features.

if it costed more, it'd get a 9 or 8. You can't beat the price and quality. really.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12" Stainless Steel Lapco Bigshot
14" Dye Stainless Steel
16" Smart Parts All American
Marker Setup: '99 Autococker body
Palmers Quickram
Palmers Micro Rock Front Regulator With Knob
ANS Chrome Quick Switch 3 way (use to have a shocktech bomb but it wasn't nearly as short of a trigger pull and leaked when u tapped the timing rod)
AKALMP Lightning Bolt
AKALMP Evolution Style Pull Pin
AKALMP Tornado Valve
AKALMP Sidewinder Inline Regulator
AKALMP Back Block
Dye Chrome Trigger Frame
Dye Chrome Polished Trigger Plate
Dye Black Sticky Grips
Kapp Black Trigger Shoe
Kapp Chrome Beaver Tail
Generic Cradle (I have no idea what brand it is but it works very well)
Generic Stainless Steel Ball Detent
Stock Springs, Hammer, Pump Rod, Springs, Timing Rod, And Front Block
Lapco 12" Stainless Steel Big Shot (bore size .689)
Lapco 12: Aluminum Autospirit (bore size .687)
Viewloader 12 Volt Revolution Hopper
48 CU 3000 PSI PMI Nitro Tank
ACI 42" Coiled Remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer, Hellfire, All Star, Slam, Team Colors (yes even these but only when they're very fresh)
Strengths: Price - who can't afford a $50 barrel?
Weight - this thing is one light barrel, any lighter and my gun would be unbalanced
Accuracy - we did a shooting test between my tricked cocker and my friend's who had a 14" dye boomstick. we both ran marballizers from the same box and i was more accurate 5 outa 7 times.
Efficency - This is one gas saving barrel. it isn't heavily ported like the Dye or Smart Parts are. This allows you to run a lower pressure while maintaining the same volume of gas spent thus you can drain your tank more, equaling more shots.
Self Cleaning - This barrel handles breaks MUCH better than the heavily ported ones. It can even blow out almost all of the left over paint still in the barrel. I rarely get breaks but when i do i'm glad i have this barrel handy, i dont' even carry a squeegie anymore in tournaments.
Weaknesses: Not much choice in color or length. I personally wanted a 12 inch but others may want a slightly longer barrel. Its tight bore limits its use to only small to smaller medium paints. I have had some great experiences with 32 degree's team colors paint as long as its not more than 4 months old. Not too strong, mine has a ding on it which actually left a very small imprint on the inside of the barrel but it hasn't affected my shooting accuracy at all yet.
Conclusion: Its great for the money, its self cleaning, its light, efficient and accurate what more could u want out of a 50 dollar barrel?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Streaks Monday, February 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All American (16"), DYE Stainless (12") Smarts Parts Big Daddy (12")
Marker Setup: Mostly stock '01 'cocker, ANS front reg, 9v revy, Crossfire 47ci HPA on a bottom line...

*updated*

'01 'cocker
ANS front reg.
AKALMP Tornado Valve
heavy hammer (forget the brand)
Madman spring kit
AKALMP Sidewinder inline reg.
(by the time you read this..AKALMP Lightning Bolt and a MacDev front end kit)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Either Marballizer or their kin. I also have had good performance from the PMI Premium stuff (I just dig the blue and orange shells better ; ) The new Diablo works well also.

*no update to that*
Strengths: Accurate
Excellent finish
Mirror like hone job
Isn't as well known
CHEAP
Good looks

Weaknesses: Needs more selection in regard to finishes (polished metal or chrome for example)
Becoming popular
Review: With my setup dialed in and humidity low. I can nail the 175' plate at my field's range with ease on a consistant basis (about 7 out of 10 shots). I can hit the 200' plate about 4 out of 10 times but mostly the poor accuracy is due to my tendancy to let the marker drift when I squeeze the trigger or that I'm getting shakey or something : )

When you read the other reviews saying how this barrel isn't any good. You must bear in mind their experience in years and the products they've used. My bet would be on the fact that they didn't have a good paint to barrel match which is vital to ANY barrel's performance.

The damn thing just rocks. Period. Buy it, throw some marbs or all-stars in it and your golden.
Conclusion: BUY this baby! I've been in the sport sense '85 and it's the best barrel I've used thus far. Mind you, I also can't afford the big end stuff so I haven't used EVERY one out there, but enough to know what I'm talking about : ) I gave it a 9 because it didn't come with any beer or naked chicks *grin*


peace

PBREVIEW - The 15 word limit on the key points isn't cool guys.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 24th, 2003 at 2:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dev Tuesday, January 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye stainless, J&J Ceramic, Freak, and Smart Parts All American
Marker Setup: 2002 Autococker *Stock--not for long though
Ricochet 2k
PMI DF with a 48/3000 tank
Lapco Autospirit
Recommended
Paintballs:
It says to use smaller bore paintballs, such as Marballizer and Diablo.
Strengths: I have heard many testimonies that this barrel is great, I can see how it can be, the design of this thing is great. Only few porting holes at the end deliver great gas efficency (when matched with the right paint) and better range. So far my experience hasnt been as great as other people's.
Weaknesses: I played with this barrel over the weekend using RPS All Star (supposedly really small) and RPS Polar Ice (was smaller than all star when doing paint test). I had more ball breaks than I suppose many of you had. Granted 2 of them were my fault, I short stroked my trigger. However, this barrel did shoot throught the paint really well (unless there is shell in the barrel) . I hope to get better performance, maybe it doesn't like RPS paint. Maybe it was just too damn cold (I live in Michigan, its like 15 degrees here). I have my cocker running at about 400 psi (stock), Im not sure it that was too high for the paint .
Conclusion: My experience so far isnt as great as others, but I am going to try some other paints, adjust my gun and report back becaue I think this barrel deserves a second chance.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, December 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomy, Freak kit, boomy titanium, j n j full tilt two piece, Infinity 14, armson stealth, armson pro, pmi perfect barrel, truflight, ect....
Marker Setup: 2001 2.1k red dark angel, warp feed freak kit nitro duck 90 ci 4500, Nw drop forward,
Recommended
Paintballs:
Team colours for the lapco.
Strengths: I like this barrel for those who are priviliged enough to play EXTREME front. I play right tate and am always the farthest up the field. This barrel is compact light small, its got OK accurracy ive seen better but this barrel is good. if this barrel was availible in 14 inch it would be very hard to beat. For my angel it shoots more accurrate at 55 feet than it does at 45 feet ??? but I like cuse Ive taken out many o snowman with it.
Weaknesses: It could be more accurrate but im not one to complain you pay for what you get.
Conclusion: This barrel is great, good price good for eny type of play. reasonble price. I like this barrel, TRY IT ON YOUR GUN BEFORE YOU BUY IT!!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media