paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Invision Turbine Fan / Dye Invision Turbine Fan / Dye Invision Turbine Fan / Dye Invision Turbine Fan

Dye Invision Turbine Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Invision Turbine Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Invision Turbine Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is a fan made for the Dye Invision to reduce fog on the lens. Like a personal ventilation system for your Invision, the Turbine Fan technology is a culmination of Dye's design efforts for perfect goggle circulation.

Features:

Turbo 9 accelerator blade which yields higher air flow volume while operating at a lower RPM resulting in quieter operation and extended battery life
Two speed operation ensures that you get the best results under any condition
High impact aircraft quality plastic resists breakage from close range shots
Foggy lenses are a thing of the past with the low profile Turbine Fan
Can be worn with or without a visor
Takes one AA battery (Included)
Installs in seconds
Product Availability 
The Dye Invision Turbine Fan is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
orionz06 Thursday, September 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
fogtech, other antifogs...fogtech works better with no noise
Marker Setup: impulse, freak kit, undertow bolt, blade, eclipse internals
pink 2k3 shocker, ndz v3 stinger bolt, nasty x trigger
Strengths: It works, no fogging on low.
Weaknesses: There is a little too much noise for woods.
Review: The said product works to expectations, but the noise is still there. It is much much quieter than the JT fan i heard...the fit can be a little tough, but if the lense is in right, the fan will fit. I would also say do not cut your mask to try to make it fit, it will fit regardless...work with it.
Conclusion: I would say get this.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nickiswack Wednesday, September 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the first fan I have used
Strengths: Stops fogging
Weaknesses: None
Review: This fan stops all fogging when i use it.... i love the fact that it has a low and high setting the low is good if you are leaving it on the whole game the high is good if you turn on the mask only when you have fog, with other masks i always have a bit of fog with this on the mask is as clear when i walk off the field as when i came on

This mask is not loud.... espiecially on low, and like i said if you find it loud just turn it on when you have fog... I have walked off the field and not relised the fan was on for a good while, trust me your teammates arent likly to hear this

Conclusion: If you are having any trouble with your mask fogging up... and you have tried replacing the lens buy this, and you wont hav any problems its that simple.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pondpond2 Friday, August 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Cross wind
Strengths: Does keep fog away!
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: If you have glasses, get this fan! Be carefull when you install it, all you need to do is READ THE DIRECTIONS.

This fan is so quiet compared to the JT Crosswind. It is a bit noisy, but I say it is better to see 100% with no fog than to hear 100%!

Some people say it is $$$$$$, but how fun is it to plat with all your high dollar equipment when you can see!
Conclusion: Quite reading and go buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gschnuck1 Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom
16" CMI thunderpig qb barrel
GTA expansion chamber
GTA response trigger
Halo TSA electronic loader
Strengths: Defogs your lense very fast.
Weaknesses: Maybe the noise but it did not bother my play. Kind of expensive.
Review: I have post-poned purchasing this fan because of all the bad reviews I have been reading but finally broke down and bought one. The fan is so small you dont even realize it is on your mask until you turn it on. In low speed, there is a small hum but I could still hear everyone around and in front of me during games. when I first turned it on, it took about 30 seconds to clear my lense so from then on I just turned it on before the start of each game. what a difference this fan makes. had no problem installing it or having the fan blades hit the mask and cause them not to turn. My only complaint is that I should have bought this several months ago when the weather was scorching hot and had major fogging problems with my mask.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this option on everyones invision mask if you can afford it. There is nothing worse than not being able to see.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zfreebird Saturday, June 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Python Impulse, Halo B, 68-30 system-X tank
Strengths: Helps with glasses fogging on just on muggy days.
Weaknesses: Adds a little weight to the mask. Little loud.
Review: The fan is very useful if you wear glasses . It takes care of any fog problem in about 5 seconds. One problem that I noticed was that if you get shot directly on it, it will knock the battery lose causing it to not function. I had to modify the mask a little by cutting room for the fan blades because they would hit the top of the mask and make a racket.
Conclusion: Very good for fogging problems.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chris Saunders Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT vortex
Marker Setup: WGP Karnivor
evi-2 w/ z board
68/45 nitro duck x-stream w/ dead on drop
everything else stock
<(-_-<)
<(-_-)>
(>-_-)>
You can dance if you want to- you can leave your friends behind....
Cause if your friends don't dance, and if they don't dance, they're no friends of mine...
Strengths: Kills fog
protects my fragile little head
doesn't break when it gets shot
Weaknesses: trouble w/ blades (see review)



Review: When i first got this product i was amazed at how self explanitory all of it was. I mostly put it on my mask, and pushed down. No sanding, re-cocking, or dynamite. Although the last one would have been fun to experiment with....
My excitement died a little when i flipped the switch. It made a familiar grinding noise, like the squirrel lodged in my lawnmower, and then stopped. I cursed, took the fan off, then decided to while i was thinking about it, take the squirrel out of my mower. Then i examined the fan. The blades of the fan were lodged on the venting on top of my lense... I needed a spacer of some sort. So i gt the squirrel and...So i shoved a little piece of rolled up scotch tape between the soft thing my lense goes in (whatever that's called), and the fan, making sure not to jam the fan up with the tape. Then i turned the fan on, and it worked great... till it got shot. Then cleaning it was like pulling teeth...and i had to get more tape. wich was not in my usual took kit.
Conclusion: A good product, although the inconvienience of the tape may outweigh the benefits of the fan, cause honestly how often does an invision fog anyway? If you have the problen though, get it, and some scotch tape.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pm6825 Tuesday, May 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT fan
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
32 Degrees Whisper Barrel
Response Trigger
Proteam M-4 FX Stock
Proteam ASR-1 Sight Rail
PMI Coiled Remote
Strengths: Clears glasses
2 Speeds
Looks Great
Fits Great
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I wear glasses, so a fan is an essential part of the game for me. I love the Dye Invision and because I followed the instructions on cleaning the lenses properly, it never fogs up. But my glasses do every once in a while. Before I had my Invision I used my JT Proteus II Mask with a JT fan built in. The JT setup was great, but when my girlfriend started playing with me and becoming interested in the game, it was time to pass down my 98 Custom w/ a Flatline barrel and my JT mask so that she didn't have to rent equipment.

The Invision Turbine Fan works great. It's easy to install (but if you install it wrong the fan will hit the mask so just use your brain to avoid this) and it really isn't loud. With the mask on the fan is definitely quieter then the JT fan. But the Invision turbine fan is definitely louder then the JT Fan from a 3rd person's perspective. I think it's because the tones of the two fans are completely different. The JT fan makes more a "EERRRRRRRRRR" where the Invision fan sounds like "TTSSSSSSSSS".

The best part about the Dye fan is that the "LOW" setting is nice and quiet so that you can easily hear and talk to people around you (the JT "LOW" setting is just as quiet). But if you need to de-fog fast, the HIGH setting will kill all the fog on my glasses in a matter of seconds. Not only that, but it keeps your face nice and cool. You can actually feel the wind from this fan.

I've heard that the Invision doesn't breathe well with the fan on. Other reviews have blown this out of proportion. It's not really a noticeable difference and is very subtle. The only bad part about this fan is that it is expensive. But you didn't buy an Invision to begin with if you're strapped for cash. Personally, Dye products are the absolute best products out there, and I'd rather spend the extra cash on quality and not have to worry about them breaking.
Conclusion: I'm giving the Invision Turbine Fan a 10 b/c it is a great addition to a great mask. It works perfectly, sounds nice, isn't too loud, and is just as good as the JT fan (which in my opinion is a flawless product). It is pricey, but it's worth it. Buy it, you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fox.317 Friday, March 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Radio Shack mini cooling fan + 9-volt battery ~$7 total
Marker Setup: A-5, flatline, drop, HPA
Strengths: Compact
Weaknesses: Sub-standard construction, poor engineering
Review: I was very disappointed with this product and with Dye Precision. I ordered it, received it, put the battery in, checked to see that it worked ( kinda noisy! ), attached it to the goggle, turned it on, ......it didn't work.

The problem was that the fan blades came into contact with the goggle frame and prevented them from spinning.

Now I know what you're all thinking "...this clown just attached it wrong."
No. I did everything correct and tried and tried to get it to work to no avail. It clearly was a problem that the blades protrude out a little farther than the bottom of the fan housing and since the housing and the goggle are curved, the fan blade wheel is flat which causes a problem.

Conclusion: While inspecting the product I just shelled out $50 for, it appeared that Dye put approximately ~ $0.50 worth of engineering and thought into this thing. It's basically a piece of hollow plastic with two little wires, a AAA battery and a itty-bitty plastic fan blade. I really like all of Dye's other products, ( Invision, Rhino tank covers, etc. ) which is why I was so dissappointed with this.

I can't say whether the thing works to remove 'fog' from a lens or not, since I boxed it back up and sent it off for a full refund, but to me I could think of many better ways to spend $50

I am sorry to say that I don't recommend this product for the above stated reason. : (
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mike.higgins Sunday, March 14th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proteus 2
Marker Setup: 2004 Vertical Autococker
Strengths: None - huge waster of money
Weaknesses: Too loud Too expensive Fan blocks ventilation holes on top of mask
Review: I recently bought the Dye Invision Goggle and also purchased the Turbine fan and feel both are inferior for the following reasons:

1). The Dye Invision goggles have no ventilation around the nose piece nor underneath the lens. The only real ventilation was on top of the lens...which is totally blocked when you put the turbine fan on. I felt like I was hyperventilating with this mask/fan combo. I really had a hard time breathing.

2). The fan is so loud I cant hear anything in the field. In outdoor paintball it is crucial that you are able to listen and hear opponents moving through the woods and with the fan going you cant even hear yourself think. You cant hear your opponents nor your team mates. And to make matters worse when you turn it off you have totally blocked off all of your ventilation which makes the Dye mask fog up even worse.
Conclusion: The mask is terrible in terms of ventilation and the fan makes it even worse. I gave the mask to my son and went back to my fully ventilatied JT Proteus 2 and could actually breath again...with no fog.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Vonada Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Vortex
Marker Setup: Angel IR3, Evolution 2 Hopper, JT Proteus, JT Slam Pk, JT Pro Pants
Strengths: It's sleek design
Weaknesses: Extremley loud
Review: After putting this into my mask I realized that this fan system is cheaply made and Dye didn't do their research in this product. I mean come on they had the JT Vortex to model after and it should of atleast been as quiet. They state in their add that the features are:
Turbo 9 accelerator blade that yields higher air flow volume, operates at a lower RPM resulting in quieter operation and extended battery life. Give me a break I don't know who does the product research and testing but give me a break. The design is a sound one a little cheaply made but over all a sleek design but the fan system is dog meat. I can't beleive they even put it into production. Go with a JT mask system and Vortex Fan it's a much better design and not cheaply made. If you want to hear on the field you don't want the DYE Turbine fan!
Conclusion: Nice design but they missed the train with this one. It's way to loud and distracting. Go with a JT mask system and Vortex Fan it's a much better design and not cheaply made. If you want to hear on the field you don't want the DYE Turbine fan!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media