paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Elite HeadShield Mask / JT Elite HeadShield Mask / JT Elite HeadShield Mask

JT Elite HeadShield Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Elite HeadShield Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Elite HeadShield Mask
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 184
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first paintball mask with full head protection as well as face/ear protection.
Product Availability 
The JT Elite HeadShield Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
JordanLeyva Wednesday, February 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT nforcer
Marker Setup: Racegun HalfBlock with BM-1 Barrel Set, Vlocity with Select Force, AKA sidewinder Low Pressure Regulator, CP easy ON/OFF, PMI 68/4500 w/Centerflag reg.
Strengths: It protects your whole head
Weaknesses: big, doesn't fit, uncomfortable, oh and THE FOG, OMG THE FOG
Review: pretty much spent all my money on my racegun and its setup, but I'm going to try and get a Empire E-Vent mask in the next couple of days. The mask is alright, field of view could be better, uncomfortable, fogs up real easy. I bought it when I first started out, after using other people's masks, and its alright, doesn't fog up as much as other cheap masks.
Conclusion: If you only have 30 dollars for a mask, shop around, this one is for people who think they need the protection that they don't actually need
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Klim0009 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None To Note
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
(When I Have enough money)
Barrel (unsure which one)
Folding Stock
Expansion Chamber
Response Trigger
Cyclone Feed
Rocket Cockit 2
Strengths: Full Head Protection
Strong Plastic
Fits Well
Wide Field Of View
Weaknesses: Fogs Up A Lot
Gets Really Hot
Review: I am going to evaluate the pros and cons of this mask.

Pros:
- Full Head Protection - This is a really nice thing, you dont have to worry about getting shot in the back of the head. It also dosnt give your position away as easy. You cant see hair or anything to give your postion away.

- Strong Plastic - I have stepped on it and it didnt break or crack. It is made out of really strong plastic and is thick enough not to break.

- Fits Well - I think, due to the top it fits well and doesnt slip as easy.

- Field Of View - It has a really good size of field of view. I have seen people out of the corner of my eyes a lot, so it doent limit your sight at all.

Cons:
- Fogs Up A Lot - Due to the full head protection it keeps the heat in causeing it to fog and doesnt let you see.

- Really Hot - This mask gets really hot, very fast. This is due to the full head protection too.

Other Stuff- I bought some camo tape and put it on my mask. It is really nice but also makes you mask get hotter.
Conclusion: Its a really good mask. Put camo tape on it though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

allgunsblazing Thursday, November 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto switch- way less fogging, lighter(duh) smaller profile(of course)
Jt elite-same only no full head coverage
Marker Setup: Proto rail
Empire Barrel Kit
Random Brand on/off
Victory Boarded Halo
TechT Bolt
Virtue Red Laser eyes
Red UL Trigger
Red Ndz Buttons
Red Proto Eye Covers
Red Hybrid Traitor back-cap

Tippmann 98
G36C hand guard and rail
Six Position Stock
Tasco 30mm sight
Freak Jr. barrel
Ak mag kit
Polished Internals
Trigger Spring Mod
Remote line
Dishka Flash Suppressor
48/3000 psi
Strengths: Full head protection
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Fogs
can be awkward
Review: nobody likes head shots, but there part of paint ball.

I bought this mask at walmart for 20 bucks after taking a few good pballs upside the head

When i first put it on, it felt great, didn't feel to large or bulky, fit my head nice after some adjustments. The foam really sucked though, it was really scratchy, cheap foam which could double as a foam for industrial removal of rust im sure, My brothers proto switch which i have used for a few games will be used as the comparison item here. The switch had a much much softer foam, which after sweating in the woods for 30 minutes won't feel like a rusty cheese grater being ran across your forehead at mach 1.

With sweat comes fog, the proto didn't fog even a quarter as much as the head shield did, but that can be expected as the head shield contains everything much much more.

Some complain that the mask makes their profile bigger, i figure if you get shot, your heads in the wrong place.
Getting shot in the back of the head with a head shield on is a special experience, much akin to being hit over the head with a beer bottle while wearing a hockey helmet : it rattles, it makes a lotta noise, it kinda rings your ears a little, but you can stand up comfortably without stars in your eyes and say "i'm out". (the head shots i took were brutal enough to ring the ears and star the eyes.) Make sure that the mask fits right on your head, if you are prone to taking head shots, the mask will be skewed on your face if it is not.

THe mask is hard to get on it you a wearing glasses, which is a big factor for me, and is even harder to adjust your glasses while the mask is on.

The surface of the head shield allows balls to break with fair consistency, while with the switch the balls may have just bounced off,

For some reason, my lens began to peel after a couple games, further inhibiting my vision.


Conclusion: All in all, i was not impressed with this mask, the fogging was just as bad, the mask was uncomfortable and hard to get on.
I still have this mask however, i am past the point of where i care about head shots now, but we keep it for friends and family that are just starting paint ball or are nervous about a head shot. The head protection for the cheap price redeems the mask quite a bit
Based on my experience, i give this mask a 6/10
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 29th, 2007 at 12:19 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

SNIPEUR MAN Sunday, September 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman java headmask dont know the name brass eagle mask dont know the name
Marker Setup: Kingman spyder tl-r stock 16 inch barrel
Strengths: No pain in da brain.
Weaknesses: THE FOAM the foam it hurts it sratches pain around the eyes
Review: humm lets see i bought this for 25 bucks at walmart must i say it will save your head
it will so thats good no one wants to walk around with paches on there head and
red lumps thats why i bought this BUT the lense fogs up i dont care what they say
it sratches way to easy and i cant get it clean the foam around the eyes is painful
after wearing it all day but you can tear out the foam and glue in new "weeee im sooo
high" lol might stink but otherwise it is a good purchase but if you got 50 dollers
go ahead and buy the new jt full headsheild much better.
Conclusion: Buy it if you want its not for big heads its small the foam hurts so if you want it put new foam in the lenses are crapy so put new in no pain in the head and no eat this in the back of the head sukca people are mean. Buy it if you cant spare 20 more dollers if you can get da good one.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

heinous Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. This is the only full-headed mask I have ever used.
Marker Setup: 2006 MacDev Cyborg
MacDev long rail
MacDev on/off ASA
Vlocity with Speed Feed
Dye Throttle 45/4500
Strengths: Full head protection keeps your head very safe.
Weaknesses: Very, very hot.
Review: I have decided to write a review now that I have experience with other masks. The Head Shield was the first mask I used and at that point I thought all masks bake your face like crazy. Boy was I wrong.

The full head protection works nicely. Headshots felt like mere tapping of the mask. In my noob days I've even hit my head into a tree branch once during woodsball. I thought someone was tapping my head to get my attention and did not even realize it was a tough pine tree until I looked up and saw the branch.

Playing in a California desert box canyon, the heat really gets to you. I have learnt to cope by spilling cold water on myself and let it drip through to mask onto my head.

Mine came with an anti-fog lens. As expected, there was no fogging whatsoever.
Conclusion: The helmet fulfills its purpose wonderfully. It is a tradeoff between the painful headshots and the unbearable heat, and you will have to decide for youself which one you fear more.

If you can afford it, get a helmet fan. You want any help you can get to get the heat out unless you play in cold climate, in which case the warmth would be less of a concern.

My only two suggestions for the manufacturer would be to make the top plate out of more rubbery material to increase chances of a bounce, and to get more holes on the top plate for better ventilation.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 13th, 2007 at 4:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BoogerTHEfantom Tuesday, June 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Wal-mart JT masks
Marker Setup: Proto Rail (custom black/red) , Ignition 45/45, Vlocity Jr. (smoke), empire 14in. kit
(Silver) Traitor Series Hybrid Fusion and Evlution2 w/ board as backups
Strengths: Protects your noggin
Stays secure on your head
Weaknesses: You rarely get bouces.
Review: Well, I've had this masks since I started. Never bothered to get another mask, just decided to get a thermal lens for it. Other players have picked on me about it, I do play in the SCPFOA after all. I have just about broken down and bought a regular mask w/ thermal lens, but I'll keep it since other reviews say its OK to use a mask that covers the entire head. I rarely had a problem with it fogging up, but get a thermal lens just in case. I play more aggressive knowing that I'm protected, you probably will too.
Conclusion: I'd say get it so that you won't hesitate to bunker that last guy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 at 10:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chukklez Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Hotshot
Marker Setup: Blue/Black Rex M2 autococker, VL 200rnd hopper, 9, 16, and 20 oz. CO2
Strengths: Good Protection.
Weaknesses: Huge
Clumsy
FOG!!!
Can't take apart without breaking.
Review: I bought this mask because i thought it looked pretty cool, my old mask was wearing out, and i have gotten shot on top of the head before. It hurts. A lot. Despite the fact it hurts to get hit in the head, i'd rather get hit than wear this. The thing is like a dirtbike helmet. It's huge and clumsy. It fogs up really bad too and because it goes over your whole head (theres even a chinstrap) its really hard to sneak your hand up the mask to wipe the fog if you have to.
Conclusion: I wouldn't buy this mask if i were you. Just get a good hat and you'll be fine. True it hurts to get hit in the head, but the pain is gone in two seconds, this mask is just unnecessary and is just a bad immitation of the 32 degrees headcase.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rjpartner_pwn Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
rental masks:P
Marker Setup: A-5, 14' J&J Ceramic
Strengths: Durable, good converage
Weaknesses: Back part, really hot
Review: this mask is very durable, its been light up, droped and had my gun fall on it a bunch, its never broken.
The only draw back it that its hot, i have very think hair so thats probly mostly why. And The back part, its not attached so you can take it off so its all good.
Conclusion: This is a good durable mask that wont let you get painty hair. buy it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andrei_Shubin Sunday, May 27th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Scott, Dye
Marker Setup: look at profile
Strengths: Cheep
Weaknesses: Terrible lenses
Cheep plastic
Hard to clean
Review: These are terrible goggles. Unless you air-soft. These are not even the least bit fog resistant! I put it on and the next thing you see is fog!. When paint hits the mask it basically stains it and it is hard to clean. The only thing good about this mask is that its cheep and protects your head(still not worth $30). I usually keep this mask as a secondary.
Conclusion: I highly recommend you spend more money and get better goggles!!
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 2nd, 2007 at 12:01 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Volksjager06 Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard JT goggles
Marker Setup: Smartparts Ion
ViewLoader eVLution 3 hopper
SP Progressive barrel
SP Q-Lock feedneck
Dye Rhino '07 Tank Cover
Pure Energy 47/3000 tank
Strengths: Great protection of entire head
Moderately comfortable
Very durable
Great price- $30
Weaknesses: Large profile
Wobbles a bit
Gets warm
Fogging problems
Hard to clean
Review: I'm not a fan of being shot in the head, so I made the investment in this facemask. It offers great protection of the entire head and upper-neck area. The face mask is very durable and can withstand a large amount of punishment. I've used it for quite some time now and played in it on many occasions. I've had relatively few problems with it, but the ones that I have noted are:
If you don't adjust it just right, it will wobble when you run or turn your head.
After using it for a while, it started to fog up fairly easily.
The field of vision isn't BAD, but it isn't good either.
It took me forever to figure out how to remove the goggles.
Cleaning can be a huge pain.

Now, even with all of this in mind, I won't say this is a bad headshiled by any means. I got a lot of use out of this mask and I'm only now even considering upgrading. The foam around the eyes isn't nearly as itchy as I've heard people complain about it being. In fact, I've had no problem with the foam at all. This mask was comfortable, although perhaps it was a bit bulky. The only main issue I noticed was the fogging- and that was only after I had owned the mask for a while and only after I had been playing rather hard.

This mask isn't tournament grade by any means and it is probably a bit too bulky/heavy for speed ball. But for anybody who isn't extremely experienced in the sport of paintball or plays rec ball/ woods ball, this is a great mask and it really can't be beat for the price ($30).
Conclusion: This headshield isn't the best all-around facemask on the market, but it does offer amazing protection and is a great buy for it's price. I would recommend this headshiled to any recreational player.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media