paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dark Horizon Spyder/Java Titanium Hammer / Dark Horizon Spyder/Java Titanium Hammer / Dark Horizon Spyder/Java Titanium Hammer / Dark Horizon Spyder/Java Titanium Hammer

Dark Horizon Spyder/Java Titanium Hammer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dark Horizon

Buy Dark Horizon Spyder/Java Titanium Hammer

Paintball Spyder / Spyder Clone Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dark Horizon Spyder/Java Titanium Hammer
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Spyder/Java Titanium hammer is 56% the weight of the stock steel hammer.
This is a direct stock hammer replacement — no drilling or machining required.
The titanium surface is almost as slick as the surface of a non-stick skillet.
The lighter hammer weight reduces cycle noise and kick at the same time increases gas efficiency, accuracy and cycle rate.
Our hammer costs less and weighs less; the surface is slicker and more resistant to rust than plated stainless steel replacement hammers. Why pay more?
Product Availability 
The Dark Horizon Spyder/Java Titanium Hammer is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Runamuckr Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Striker. But played with tons of other upgrades/mods.
Marker Setup: 32 degrees Icon X (silver)
Shocktech Superfly bolt (red)
New Designes HP valve
Dark Horizons Ti Hammer
Smartparts All American 2 piece barrel (back black, red front)
Dead On Paintball bullet drop forward (Red)
Trinity spyder block w/gauge (black)
DYE hyper 2 reg (red)
Crossfire 68 ci 4500 tank
New Designes Low rise feed (red w/ black clamp)
Strengths: LIGHT, = guiet, less kick. EFFICIENT!
Weaknesses: NONE, don't expect any.
Review: Forgive me for tinkering with old style markers, BUT, I've challenged people with $1000+ markers to play a game (or two) with my marker and they love it!!!
This particulart item is the finishing touch. No point in getting this by itself. EVERYONE is different, find yourself a nice bolt, upgrade your valve, convert to HPA if you haven't already done so. Just when you think you have your gun at its best, efficient, low pressure, quiet. Add this little guy and take pride in what you've turned an average marker into. If your reading this you already have, or are interested in "tinkering" with your marker, there IS a time period to get your marker shooting and recocking right after installing this, then again there should be with any "internal" upgrade to your marker. I LOVE it, fits me well. I now run at about 180 PIS. Average gauge so give or take a few. And quiet as a mouse, not to mention as accurate as you can get. 30 shots all hitting with in a 6 inch circle. No kick no movement off target. I can go on and on about this little guy. I think its well worth it for those of us piecing together and awsome marker.
Conclusion: GET IT. You won't regret it thats for sure. Spyder and Spyder clones can accept a wide range of upgrades, start with the original and as money is available, upgrade. It will rival any HIGH end marker out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

davpro777 Saturday, September 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder electra 05 w/eyes
New designz HP Valve
New designz EQ bolt
Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer
Stiffi switch kit blue
Shocktech Low pressure Chamber
Trinity T-Lock Feed Neck
32 Degrees Spring Kit
CenterFlag DynaFlow
View Loader VLocity
Strengths: Light
Able to drop PSI
Weaknesses: None
Review: This product is a good way for a low pressure operation. I think that is the best part which done a very big difference on a Kingman Product for a LP operation. The shipping is fast, the service is very well. You can drop for approximately 100 PSI with it.
Conclusion: Very good Product for LP operation and standart spyder gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SleRpy 626 Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hammer - Polished stock hammer
Marker Setup: New Spyder Imagine:LP, Palmer reg, Tornado valve, modified stock bolt, Quiet Riot, Empire Reloader B.
Strengths: Very LIGHT/light
Weaknesses: I had some wear issues. AND not working issues
Review: Well, I got the marker and after a couple of games I decided to do some upgrading. The Dark Horizon hammer was on the list. I ordered all the upgrades in span of one week. Two weeks after the other parts came, I finally got it in the mail. I was seriously filled with joy when I got it out (at first I didn't think anything was in the envolope) immediately I noticed how light it was compared to the stock hammer. A couple of days later I put everything on the Imagine and tested it. Presure 360 stock springs fired burp burp (sounded exactly like thet) ok so I increased spring tension. Bad Idear. BUUUURRRRRRP I constantly tinkered with operating pressure, spring kits, etc trying to get it to work. After hours of 'tinkering' and 500 paintballs I felt discouraged so I took everything out of the marker checked everything and noticed that on the hammer there was an amount of wear on it (yes I oiled it every now and then). So after every stinkin peice was put back together I pulled the bolt back until cocked I let go BAM dry fire. What the hell? I checked the sear and sure enough it was just catching the hammer. I recently put a piece of something behind the solenoid to reduce the throw needed to release the sear. Pulled out that something thing and problem solved. I still can't get it to shoot over 240 FPS.
Conclusion: I only shot about a case of paint through it but a case was enough to stop me from using it. I will probably try again some time but right now I would rather not deal with the problam again. So the lesson of the day is light hammers are good and bad and good, but if your like me (luck with me sucks) I'd just polish the stock hammer.

And about that wear problem, I think that it wouldn't be able to stay cocked in about 4 more cases of paint!!! It must be that titanium is strong in some areas but not others.

SleRpy 626
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nbishop66 Friday, February 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Striker
Polished Stock Striker
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS w/ Otters response trigger mod
ShockTech Trigger
Smart Parts Teardrop 14"
Viewloader Evo II
CheckIt Assault Block w/ my mod
32* Magnaport Valve
32* Spring Kit
DH Titanium Striker w/ Otter Mod
WGP Ergo Regulator
Psycho Balistics Drop Forward w/ on/off
Pure Energy 68/3000 Fiber Wrap
Dye Sticky Grip
Strengths: Lightweight
Great workmanship
It really works
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well I got the DH Striker w/ Otter Mod in last night. Nice and light, nice machine work. After installing it, right off the bat it was recocking 60 psi lower than it previously did with the same spring combo. BLK/BLK was recocking at 380, now recocking at 320. My lowest previoulsy was 355 with gry/gry. Still more testing to do, but I like what I see. Before the DH I was running at 400 psi @ 285 fps. I can't wait to see what she does now. I'll update as I do more testing. Great product, fast delivery.

This was the last piece in the Project LP puzzle. I was happy with the polished stock striker, but this looks to be well worth the money.
Conclusion: Great product for anyone doing a LP conversion. 60 psi drop in recocking pressure. Fast shipping and great customer service.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 9th, 2006 at 7:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eifersucht Monday, January 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder striker.
Marker Setup: Spyder with a few mods.
Strengths: Light weight, fairly cheap, reduces recoil.
Weaknesses: Nothing yet.
Review: I bought this striker for a couple of reasons. 1: I am going to run LP. 2: Weight reduction. 3: Reduce recoil.

I haven't gotten a chance to rig up all of my LP setup but I did toss in the striker. First thing you notice when comparing the stock striker with the Dark Horizon titanium is the weight. These is a considerable difference. Once in the gun and you fire you notice less recoil (the gun doesn't vibrate as much/ smoother action). The action of the gun feels much smoother than when using the stock striker. I think this is a very good up grade.
Conclusion: Whether or not you want to use this striker because you want it for low pressure setup or just want it to reduce weight and recoil this is a VERY good upgrade for a decent price. I would recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dark fenix Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock Hammer
-Moded Stock Hammer
Marker Setup: -Fenix
-Check It Products 15* Assault Block with Bob Long Mini Guage
-Bob Long Torpedo Reg. with Violent Products Derlin Piston
-Trinity Push Button On/Off ASA on a Violent Products No Drop Rail
-Trinity Low Rise Clamping Feed Neck
-Maddman Rocket Valve
-Dark Horizons TI Hammer
-ACP Blue Bolt
-ACP Thrasher Trigger
-ACP Snatch Grip
-DYE Stickie Grips
-50g T-Switch
-T-Board with T-Chip
-Break Beam Eyes
-Hybrid Technologies Timi Skull Shadez
-45/4500 Pure Energy with Dye 05 Rhino Cover
-Full SS Freak Kit
-Evo II with Z-Board and Paddle Mod
Low pressure set-up. 300fps at 280psi
Strengths: -33g in weight
-Reduces kick and noise
Weaknesses: -Wear Issues
Review: In tring to complete my low pressur set up i found my self needing a lighter hammer. ther were only a couple of option and this oned seems to be the only one in actall production and the lightest one at the time. The TI hammer weighs about 33g compared to the stcok hammers weight of 65g. When i receive this in the mail you could tell this was one quality product. comparing both the stcok hammer and the TI hammer you can definetly tell the weight difference. This really reduces kick and noise. the kick was reuced by at leats half, and that was before completing the low pressure set up. I did experince major wear issues. while reading message boards i have found that this can be avoided by using a lihjt main spring. I beleive that Dark Horizons should inform there customers of this. Although this was fixed by changing the main spring, the damage was already done to not only the hammer but to the inside of the body.
Conclusion: I recomend this product to anyone going low pressure or wanting to reduce kick. If $40 is to much for you i suggest you mod your stcok hammer. i have done this by taking off excess weight from the hammer. i have lowered the weight o about 43g and have gotten similar results.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ta2maki Sunday, October 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock striker
Marker Setup: E99 Avant
CP 2 piece barrel .689, .696, 16" front
Halo LED TSA Backman
Bandit Nylon Bolt
Dark Horizon Ti striker
32* Spring Kit
Stock Valve modded for high flow
CiP 15* Assault Block
CiP Speedy drop forward
A/S 20 oz. CO2
Dye Sticky grip
CiP Sweet Spot Trigger
IS 50g switch
CiP Spyder to Impulse feed port adapter
CiP Surefit Impulse Low rise feedneck
Palmers Male Stabilizer
Bob Long 1200 psi gauge
CiP Spyder Dragon Grip
Strengths: Light weight
reduces kick
Weaknesses: Expensive
lower fps
wear
Review: This striker is a good buy if you are someone who likes to mess with thier gun. installation is easy but getting your marker to shoot it's best requires alot of work and a spring kit. even with the otter modded version you still get a drop in fps due to the hammer being so light. another issue is wear. my hammer looks pretty worn after 6 months of heavy use. but most of the wear occurred in the first 2 months. after a certian amount of wear. the rate slows down. i don't notice the wear getting any worse now. if you are strapped for cash though this isn't something you want. you can mod the stock striker and use a spring kit and get pretty close results for free. definitely a rich man's mod.
Conclusion: Get this only if you are willing to spend hours tuning your marker and you have already done all other upgrades.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Getfunk Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock striker
Marker Setup: Fenix, Maddman valve, spud bolt, DH ti Sriker (now stock striker), check it 15 degree assualt block, Bob Long Topr Reg, System X drop with on/off, Freak System, IS board with eye and a 50g Switch, Slasher Trigger (modded to fit by me), Dye stickies 3, Crossfire 68/4500.
Strengths: Its light
Weaknesses: see review
Review: I bought this in hopes i can get LP on my marker. Well since i put this striker in i have had nothing but problems. Maybe this striker does not like the fenix frame. Maybe they sent me the wrong one. No matter what PSI i used, the gun would start burping if i shoot fast and cause me to chop paint. As low as i could get this to recock was 350PSI. Now thats not to bad but if i cant get it to stop burping it is useless. I poped the stock striker back in and the gun worked flawlessly and the PSI i could drop down to 250 and still shoot 290fps. This weekend i ran a half case of paint with the DH striker and i spent most of that time cleaning my gun as it would burp all the time. I put the stock striker back in and now i was shooting hot as hell. Had to drop the psi down to 250 and it worked perfect. I did not chop one ball with the stock striker. I dont know what i was doing wrong. I used the O-ring it came with, also tried a red striker oring and a nylon on ring. Nothing seemed to help. I did how ever think the feel of the gun with the DH striker was amazing. Just to bad i could not get it to shoot. Even at 500 psi it would burp. I used this DH striker for about month trieing to go lp with it and there is major wear on the striker. The stock striker i used for 4 months shows no sign of wear.
Conclusion: at this time i cant recomend this for a Fenix.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 16th, 2004 at 7:17 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Xanadu_16_2112 Monday, April 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hammers in Spyders, Brass Eagle Raptors, Brass Eagle Avengers
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine: Shockteck Bolt, Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer, ESP Spyder Grip Plates, System X 6-Stage Expansion Chamber, System X Drop Forward with On/Off, Viewloader 12Volt Electronic Hopper, Splatzenough Camo Hopper Cover, Lapco Metal Feed Tube, Knock Out 10 Piece Barrel Kit, Check It Electronic Trigger,Designz Spyder LP Chamber
Strengths: Very Light
Cupped Blowback End
Less Recoil
Weaknesses: A Tad Pricey
Rubs a Bit
Noise(See Below)
Review: This hammer puts the stock hammer to shame.
It is a lot lighter, therefore recycle time is faster making it easier to achieve higher B.P.S
In Combination with an after market bolt will greatly improve B.P.S. and accuracy due to less recoil and faster recycle time.
When Cold it makes a high pitched ding sound like when a coin hits the floor only louder.
Conclusion: This Product is worth it if you are willing to spend the extra money. It has greatly improved my gun's preformance
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 5th, 2005 at 11:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darlanton Monday, April 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
kingman stock hammer
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Smart Parts Tear Drop Barrel
Dark Horizan Titanium Hammer
Maddmann Rocket Valve
AIM Inline Regulator
Evolution II Hopper
68/3000 HPA
Other Cosmetic Upgrades
Strengths: lightweight
good craftsmanship
Weaknesses: cost
Review: I have been very pleased with this hammer. The first thing I noticed, other than the weight was a marginal increase of about 10 FPS over polished stock internals while running at 250psi. I also noticed a slight reduction in the kick of the gun, although the kick of a paintball gun isn't that large to begin with.
Conclusion: Overall I believe this is a good product, but the question remains is it worth paying $40 for? For myself, it was as I run a LP setup, but for someone who isn't planning on using LP or is on a tight budget you are probably better off just polishing your internals and using the $40 on some other upgrade or paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media