paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco BigShot Aluminum Barrel / Lapco BigShot Aluminum Barrel / Lapco BigShot Aluminum Barrel

Lapco BigShot Aluminum Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco BigShot Aluminum Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco BigShot Aluminum Barrel
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 220
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $53

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes in 8", 12", and 14" lengths, has a .689" inside diameter, a hard anodized black or bead blasted finish, and porting. Medium paint is recommended.
Product Availability 
The Lapco BigShot Aluminum Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (22):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  Last
        Next Page
Torf Monday, February 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippman 98 Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom - Lapco Bigshot 14" and 4x15 Daisy scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any medium size.
Strengths: Accurate!!! I was getting hopper shots at 25 yards consistently!
It is NOT extensively ported, so air efficiency is great!
Now available in 14"!!!
Mirror like bore polish.
Loud enough for psychological effects. I was able to cover teammates even after I ran out of paint. I started shooting, and they all ducked for cover.
Looks great on a black Tippman 98.
Weaknesses: A little long for indoor fields, but mind your muzzle and you will be OK.
A longer barrel squegee is a must.
Louder than some, if you like that sort of thing.
Conclusion: These are a limited run, so get them while they are available. They are great! I got it for about $55, and couldn't ask for better accuracy.
I had 1 ball chop, and the barrel continued to be fairly accurate even after it got gooey. I was also able to reshoot paint with ZERO problems when I got hard up for ammo.
Looks great, Shoots great, and now available in 14".

9 points because of sound.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, February 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock spyder barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Sport, 12oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything but big bore really.
Strengths: Very very accurate. This barrel is great for the money spent. I read many reviews on it and decided to get one for myself. Spent $50 and I'm loving it. This is a great upgrade barrel for a stock gun.
Weaknesses: Nothing really.
Conclusion: If you have a stock gun, this should be the only barrel you look into getting. It is very accurate, isn't long like those 16" barrels that don't even work, and it looks cool. I like to call it the "sleeper barrel", because people don't expect it to shoot so well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb32 Sunday, February 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 Barrel, Tippmann Sniper Barrel.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Polished Internals, Tippmann Vert adaptor, PB X-Core Expansion Chamber, Black Macro line, PB Double trigger, Lapco Raised Sight Rail, Lapco Bead Blasted Barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything medium Bore, But i shoot jt maxims(small Bore) and they fit pretty good.
Strengths: Cheap, acurate. It comes in bead blasted too,
Weaknesses: Loud, But that doesnt matter, by the time they hear you they will be out.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel at an even greater price $50.00.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lindy385 Friday, February 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrell
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Lapco bigshot barrel
double trigger
coiled remote hose
12 volt-revvy hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
pro-ball or marbs
Strengths: The first time i tried this, it worked like a charm.
* no ball breaks
* cheap
* accuracy
* range
* light
Weaknesses: You have to use the right paint or else it sux, but thats easily fixed
Conclusion: AWESOME, GREAT BARRELL FOR ITS PRICE, I LOVE IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Spyder TL, Bob Long Cyclone bolt, Dye boomstick, CMI R-2000 Reg, ACI 4 stage expansion, 32* Magna Valve
Strengths: This barrel is SWEEETTT. I went to the field this weekend and my spyder wasn't workin rite. It was leakin like crazy out of the barrel. I'm assuming it was the cup seal, but no one at the field had an extra. After cryin for 5 min cuz my baby wasn't workin, I got a rental for the day :( Well I got a spyder at the rental and used my Lapco barrel for the day. The rental gun shot almost as good as my own spyder, it was unbelievable. I love this barrel more and more each time I play wit it.
Weaknesses: The white Lapco logo on the side of the barrel rubs off after a while. I prefer they just leave it off since it comes off so easily. Some people said the barrel is loud, but it sounds like a normal spyder to me.
Conclusion: I rate on performance period. Give me an ugly loud gun any day as long as it shoots straight. I've shot a Boomstick before and I gotta say I think the Bigshot is better, but not by much. It's lighter, I think it's the only barrel out there that is ideal for LP setups, and my shot groupings seem to be a little tighter. This baby is almost too good to be true for $50 bucks. If you already have an aftermarket barrel, sell it and get this one. ; ) Just kiddin, save your money and get somethin else. But if you don't have an aftermarket barrel already, I highly recommend this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
AutoSpirit
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs, BigBall
Strengths: barrel comes in multiple colors -
aluminum black, aluminum powder-coat black to match tippmann 98, aluminum nickel plated, and stainless steel

You can shoot it clean. That is a nice feature.

The review below in incorrect.
Weaknesses: lack of porting makes it loud
Conclusion: good barrel, very accurate and good price. Very popular with m98 crowd. Get if you like accurate shots - good with many kinds of paints.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

festersmydog Thursday, January 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Recommended
Paintballs:
Premiums, Marbalizer
Strengths: This barrel is accurate, lightweight, has minimal porting for LP use, looks good and doesn't cost you an arm and a leg.
Weaknesses: Only comes in one size (for those of you that want a 16" or 18" barrel) which is fine for me. Also it only comes in black for the aluminum or stainless steel, so you can't get a variety of colors.
Conclusion: Awesome barrel if you don't mind black or SS. Great price!!! Giving it a 9 only because some people like a variety of colors.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
TIppmann stock barrel (custom modified), Broomstick, ceramic, whisper, a few others I can't remember.
Marker Setup: With this barrel, custom 98, dble trig, full LP mod, polished guts, RT kit, PB drop, crossfire 88 4500psi, centerflag medium psi reg (running 280psi), macro-line, 12 volt revy, micro gauge, other stuff I can't remember.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Definitely consistently medium-small bore paints. JT max
Strengths: -Accurate.
-Range. When I use this barrel, my team uses me as fire support
-Cheap. Less than 60 bucks almost everywhere.
-Light.
-Nice shiny bore.
-Did I mention cheap?
Weaknesses: -Cleaning. If you bust a ball, ur screwed unless ur really fast and good with a sqeege. When she's dirty, you'll have a flatline barrel that will throw you more curve balls than my ex.
-Noise ( don't mind it too much though)
-Will render you blind for a couple of seconds if you look into the barrel while pointing at sunlight.
Conclusion: No regrets owning it. Probably the best barrel out there for a Custom 98 (IMO). Besides, It's cheap. It would still sell if they jacked the price up to $80.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

3Fingered Jack Monday, December 31st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Xcel, custom products, my old stock barrel
Marker Setup: tipp98 custom, vertical adapter, 4-stage ACI xchamber, lapco dropforward, dye stickies, double trigger w/ guard, proteam RVA, lapco bigshot aluminum, 20oz. SP anti-siphon tank w/ on/off valve, 20oz. butt plate
Recommended
Paintballs:
Premiums, marbs... anything medium bore
Strengths: -Looks
-Not overpriced for the performance it gives
-With good paint match (duh) the balls fly straight and true
-A little bit different of a style than most (group of porting at the muzzle break instead of porting all the way down the barrel)
-Very smooth bore.. and very reflective might I add
-I've been through a couple thousand balls with this barrel and only broke one ball... yes, one...
Weaknesses: -Don't look at a bright light through the barrel... you will go blind
-Tends to put weird spins on the ball but probably due to ball shrinkage - I play in real cold weather... I tried polar ice paintballs and those were getting weird spins too...all I can say is that I can't wait until 70 degree weather
-Anodizing tends to chip easily but maybe I'm just rough..well, I am a tippmann owner hah
Conclusion: You can't buy this thing and expect it to work as well as the hundred dollar barrels like some of these reviews claim, because it won't. For $60 though, it is a bargain, and I have actually seen them for 50 which is even better. What you can expect is that it will be quite an improvement over your stock barrel, because it will. If you get a great paint match then this barrel will be worth your time. This barrel deserves an 8; its goods surmount its bads.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 29th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
j and j ceramic, custom products, autospirit
Marker Setup: Silver 98c, psycho ballistics drop forward, 20 oz, Lapco Bigshot
Recommended
Paintballs:
Super Swirls work REALLY well
Strengths: This barrel is great. I got it so cheap and i didnt expect much. But when i first used this thing i was amazed. it is SOOO accurate. i thought my j and j ceramic was good but this barrel blows that one away. ive only used rps balls so that might be why it works so well but still this barrel is still the best ive used.
Weaknesses: Nothing. I dont think that the noise level is bad.
Conclusion: This barrel is great. HIGHLY RECOMENDED to anyone. its better than anything ive used before.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (22):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media