paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Psycho Ballistics Lightning / Psycho Ballistics Lightning / Psycho Ballistics Lightning / Psycho Ballistics Lightning

Psycho Ballistics Lightning Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Psycho Ballistics

Buy Psycho Ballistics Lightning

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Psycho Ballistics Lightning
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 41
Average Rating: 7.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Psycho Ballistics has finally broken into the scene of pro-guns, and started by making one of the hottest hardcore markers. "The Lightning" features multiple features reflecting their name. The speed and the light weight of the cross milled Lightning make this new marker live up to its name. For the price, it is DEFINATLY a must for a player looking for something fast, and noteworthy. Awesome marker for an awesome price, and something to take to the field with pride.

"The Lightning" has multiple features reflecting the name:
- Lightened and Milled body
- 15 Degree ASA
- 14 Inch Two Piece Barrel
- Uniquely "Lightning" Milled Vert Feed
Product Availability 
The Psycho Ballistics Lightning is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Froz3n Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No other 'cocker or pump
Marker Setup: Physcoballistics Lightning - Converted to pump with a .689 Hero 14" barrel.
Smartparts Ion - totally stock as of now.
BT-4 Combat - Smartparts Progressive 14" barrel & 6 point adjustable stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would just convert it to pump and save yourself the headache of the terrible pneumatics.
if you stay 'cocker:
Pivot trigger
Agitated or forcefed hopper
smaller barrel (stock barrel is larger, no detents for 'cockers)
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
fast
Weaknesses: Stock pnuems.
stock feedneck (see review)
stock trigger (see review)
stock barrel (see review)
Review: When i bought this marker, i had no knowledge of autocockers at all. Me and my brother each bought them from a vendor at a large scenario. I converted mine to pump; he kept his an actual cocker. I'll reveiw both versions.

Pump: I love this gun as a pump. It's accurate, reasonably quiet, and fires well overall. It will make you into a better player, as you'll need to pick your shots in order to do ANYTHING. If you're looking for a good, slide trigger 'cocker to convert to pump, by all means go ahead and buy one of these (I found mine new for 55$, i think i just got incredibly lucky though)

Autococking: This marker was a PROJECT for my brother. He cocked it, gassed it up, and everything that that could leak, leaked. He took it to the pro shop and had them fix the leak. He took it home, re-gassed it and blew out a hose. So, he replaced the entire front block. All was good and well, except he noticed an unreasonable amount of chops. Turns out, the bolt protruded too far into the breech, making it difficult for the ball to feed into the breech completely, resulting in broken balls. After getting that fixed, all seemed well and good in the back yard. We then went to play. His gun went: Fire, dry-fire dry-fire, fire. Fire, fire, chop. (however, it was at this point that we realised his gun is pretty near silent) After a frustrating day at the feild, he realised that gravity just wasn't cutting it for this marker. He bought a Halo B. Now the marker fires consistently, is near silent, and has that famed closed-bolt accuracy. We also speculate that due to the lack of bottom ball detents (hence lack of top-spin) this gun has a flatter trajectory when compared to tippmann/BTs/spyders.

Now to explain weaknesses:
The stock barrel is large, and if you're not paying close attention pain frequently rolls out. And because of the increasing amount of fields following the Field Paint Only rules, you can't really match the paint to barrel. Buy a smaller barrel, you'll notice an improvement.

The slide trigger has a good amount of resistance and a large pull. This can get irritating very quickly. If you switch to a pivot trigger, you'll be happier

The stock feed-neck is very very narrow, making it difficult to put a hopper on and remove it. I highly recommend a clamper.
Conclusion: My brother may have gotten a bad product; it does happen. I'd give his a 6: It takes an exorbant amount of work to get going, but it fires well when it works properly.
I'd give mine a 9: I enjoy playing pump, and it does well. I may update this depending on if the pump stroke continues to get smoother as i break it in.

together, that makes a 7.5 which i'll round up due to my great experiences with this marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Monkeyboy13 Wednesday, January 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
a trilogy
Marker Setup: ACI Maverick with JJ Ceramic Barrel and 9 oz tank

MR1 with Tippmann hopper, trinity clamping feedneck, 16 inch Smart Parts progressive barrel, and 9 oz tank

Psyco Ballistics Lightning stock barrel, 45/30 HPA tank, Bob Long 360 torpedo reg, AVI ASA, and macroline bottomline kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
new ram(it leaks randomly)
a new barrel to stop rollouts
clamping feedneck if your hopper doesnt fit
Strengths: Dead accurate
quiet
cheap
nice slide frame
anno
looks cool
stock with delrin bolt


Weaknesses: Gas hog
trigger frame has squared off back part(uncomfortable)
little stuborn to time sometimes
Review: when i got this autococker, i was impressed by the suitcase like box and the nicely anno'd gun. i threw on my reg and bottomline kit and aired it up. of course, the ram leaked out by the rod. I soon found out this is easily fixed by removing the back block and rotating the ram so it doesnt leak, then putting the back block back on. after this, i timed it. after about 10 minutes, i found my hammer lug was a little stubborn to adjust. you have to pull the cocking rod back a little to get an allen wrench in securely. the main thing i hate about cockers is there super small actuating rod screw(too easy to lose!). i eventually just threadlocked my actuating screw thing to all the way back in the pull. then i just mess with my hammer lug to adjust timing. after getting it timed, i chrono'd it. it shot about +/- 20 fps unsweetspotted, not bad. after sweetspotting it, it goes within +/- 10 fps. despite it sometimes jumping all over the place fps wise, it is still dead on, ball on ball accurate all day long with the stock barrel. i also like the stock delrin bolt, an upgrade needed on all guns. It makes a great cocker pump too!

now for the bad
i did not like how the back of the trigger frame has a squared back, i wish it was rounded off on the back like on my MR1.
the thing is a little bit of a gas hog too, but i dont shoot a ton, so i'm good with it.
as for timing, just dont lose the 3 way screw and pull the cocking rod back a bit before putting an allen wrench in the lug.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a cheap, good quality cocker, get this one. it is very quiet and accurate, and not too hard to adjust. go get one for yourself!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 5th, 2009 at 7:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CHAOSFTW Saturday, May 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other aoutocockers
Marker Setup: Silver Autococker Lightning:
vendetta deluxe pump kit
evil valve kit
phat hammer
madmann spring kit
CP regulator
CP drop and asa
Python bore sizer
Recommended
Upgrades:
changing the front numatics
Strengths: Accuracy, Speed when tuned right.
Weaknesses: Front numatics
Review: The lightning is a very accurate as well as fast marker with the proper tuning. Its not hard to clean or tune just takes a little time and practice like any other gun. The lightnings came with awful numatics in the front (cheap). The three way leeks and stuff, i recommend changing the 3 way immediatly so there is no hassle. or converting it to a pump.
Conclusion: Ide recommend this marker to any one willing to put the time and effort in to make it an amazing gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ionkiller Sunday, May 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Karnivore Autococker
Marker Setup: Psychoballistics Lighting Autococker w/ few ups
Hard Corps Torque
Pure energy 48 3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Palmers Front block kit
Palmers Inline reg
any small drop forward
Barrel kit
Clamping Feedneck
Eclipse blade trigger frame
Strengths: Very accurate
Somewhat fast (e - trigger makes it better)
decent marker stock
Weaknesses: need asa and reg
new feedneck (isnt clamping)
maintnence
Air hog if not timed right
Review: I recently was interested in a new marker and my local pro shop just got one of these in. i got the black one and its overall a very nice looking marker. so i gassed it up and went to my favorite field. all i noticed was that it was quiet, and my shots were ball on top of ball. overall in the day i managed to get around 30 headshots. this thing is awesome. there was only one problem, the air efficency was pretty badd. so i asked a guy who had a karnivore there to time my marker and now its actually somewhat decent on air. i can get a hopper and 4 pods out of my 48 3000 tank. eventually i might need to upgrade that so i can play back. but so far this marker really does the trick for a front guy.
Conclusion: Great marker, really accurate and amazing. deffinately a good buy. i only paid 150 for mine but if i had to id pay the full 400. so im giving it a 9 out of 10, because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

juit Friday, November 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ans x5
Trilogy tactical
Marker Setup: Evil detonator Reg
front pneumatics System X Vengance
Superstock valve
Ans Venturi bolt and Back
Ans 90 trigger
Ans Beaver Tail
Macro Line
Psychoballistics Dropforward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Front pneumatics
Strengths: light
Gauged
Weaknesses: Low quality pneumatics
Barrel
Review: I took it all apart and installed:
Evil detonator Reg
front pneumatics System X Vengance
Superstock valve
Ans Derlin Venturi bolt and Back body
Ans 90 trigger
Ans Beaver Tail
Macro Line
Psychoballistics Dropforward
I sold everything on ebay and rebuild my gun this way because thats what I need
I only recomend to buy a Evil front pneumatics Thts all!
some one says that stock one are OK but all the shops that I go thet told me to get rid of it! so thats what I did
Conclusion: Buy it if you are short on cash or if you are a tinker well you can buils abeauty with this block light as a feather and hard as a hammer
I hope you never encounter me with this little demon on my handson the field!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tgs-killer Monday, November 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Basically all of WGP's line of cockers, and psychoballistics
Marker Setup: Lightning cocker w/hooptie pump kit, mw frame hump, 32 degreese single trigger frame, omega trigger kit, dye grips, wgp 2k4 backblock, wgp 2k front block, wgp delrin bolt, wgp internals
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately these are some upgrades you will have to look into:
-Inline reg/foregrip/expansion chamber
-Bottom line setup; ss kit, macroline w/asa
-Barrel
-Valve
-Spring kit
Strengths: -Accurate
-Efficient
-Sexy
-Light
-Works with all other cocker parts
Weaknesses: -High nonclamping feed
-No bottom line setup
-Somewhat Pricey
-No trigger safety
Review: I have owned 3 of these cockers, and by far they keep up with WGP's line of cockers. These cockers have been a challenge to get, but Iv'e managed to get my hands on a few. Ok for the review: This cocker is a quick eye catcher, it performs the same if not better compared to WGP's line of cockers. It is combatible with any/all other cocker parts since it is an autococker.....anyway, I'll start from its strong key points: The feedneck is detatchable, definately a very good feature when you want to put an extremely no/low rise feedneck to replace that ugly tall stock feedneck. The ram is decent to a certain extent, very easy to take apart and service (which is definately a good plus), ok now for the rams ultimate feature: both of the rams barb holes are threaded to accept QEV type threads! So no tapping/re-tapping is necessary! I'm suprised WGP didn't to this yet......funny. It comes stock with a delrin bolt, it comes stock with a 15* ASA and to top it off with a cherry on top....the ASA includes a nifty little gauge (very very useful). Depending on which model lightning you get; deluxe or standard, the trigger frames on both are smooth, and fast.....the single trigger frame includes a roller bearing sear and the double trigger frame includes a swing type of trigger pulling, and on top of that. The double trigger frame is very VERY slim, I'm talking like half of WGP's hinge frame, it is light and comfortable. Ok, lastly the frontblock, it is cut and milled so it's light and compact. And to top that off, the front block has a lock-down feature, it has a set screw for the 3way and the ram (definately another good feature for when your pneus don't screw all the way in or are pretty loose/stripped). People complain that this cocker is a POS, it leaks from the 3way and or barrel.....maybe another place n' whatnot. But ultimately it's the owner who can't service/time their marker, the 3way will work great if you know how to time it right. And there are many cases that the owner was lazy to take apart their marker.....when I mean take apart. I mean take the whole gun apart, to clean/lube/loctite/replace the internals. All a gun needs is constant care; cleaning on occasions, a generous lubing after a couple of games, and maybe some adjusting on a couple parts. Ok enough about other people, time to start and conclude this review.......This cocker has performed among other cockers, it's accurate, it's fast (depends on your fingers), it's efficient, it's light, and of all it has some very awesome looking milling to it. Basically this cocker has a handful of useful features that I havent come across from WGP's line of cockers, but I'm not saying one's better than the other. Both have their pros/cons n' whatnot......the stock parts i found not worth keeping was the feedneck and the LPR. The feedneck was way too high, and goody for me......and of course you the reader. The feedneck is detatchable and is held by a simple set screw, I would strongly recommend you get a threaded feedneck or a clamping feed. What I mean by this is; the threaded feedneck basically bolts onto the cocker's body and is threaded to accept aftermarket feednecks....so in other words it's an adapter for a feedneck, I kno kind of weird but that's a short conclusion of what I mean. And for the clamping feedneck, you can simply buy any feedneck and bolt it on. It looks kind of weird without slighty modification to the feeneck itself, but believe me the set screw with hold it in place. Ok, for the LPR....it's not necessarily bad or un-performing, but I thought it was way too bulky and big. Plus on top of that it was hard to adjust with oily fingers.
Conclusion: Basically all of those things stated in the review body tells it all, a good marker for the price. It will perform well with WGP's cockers, and it's definately worth the bang for the buck :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WillyW0nka Thursday, August 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Oddssey and Prostock autocockers
Marker Setup: Black/Silver Virtue'd Alias
Halo B
68/45 PE

Recommended
Upgrades:
Pump Kit or full WGP parts
Strengths: Cheap, great looks, very light
Weaknesses: Stock parts are terrible
Review: I bought one of these online for very cheap, it was a decent gun but it had its problems stock. The stock pneumatics and frame were garbage. They were leaky, incosistent, and the trigger was not smooth at all and had a heavy pull. However, I also recieved full WGP parts w/ it. After running it w/ those on, it was a pretty sweet marker. I had replaced the pneumatics, reg, feedneck, asa and trigger frame/trigger. It was a major improvement. It had the feel of a regular WGP but it looked even better w/ the psycho ballistics body. IMO, if you're looking to buy this marker and use as-is, its not worth it. But if you find one cheap and plan on slapping an e-frame or pump kit, definately take the chance because its probably one of the better looking cockers out there. Its a replica of one of the older Dye autocockers I believe. The only problems I had while keeping it mech were short-stroking and ROF. I wouldn't waste my time on a mech cocker, but a pump or e-bladed one would be extremely fun. Sadly, this marker was stolen from me. I miss it :(
Conclusion: If you're looking for a marker to pump-kit or e-blade, get it. If not, stay away and buy a prostock or something of the sorts instead.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elykraip13 Tuesday, April 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other cockers a5 98 wrath none really except the cockers
Marker Setup: autococker lightning blue
worr blade
47/3k nitro
viewloder revvy
dye ul
Recommended
Upgrades:
e blade or sommething like it
barrel?
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Weaknesses: Front block leaks
Kinda heavy
Review: well i bought this gun off my friend who needed to pay court fines. (mip in case you are curious) and it was only 80 bucks so i was not expecting much. when i got the gun it was stock w/ the revvy hopper. i took it out to play woods to find that the front block leaked. so i had to get that all sealed up and put on a new front block. then when i finally got it running it was sweet. it was already the coolest loking gun id ever had. now it was the most accurate. it was more accurate than my A5 flatline. i finished the oppsing team w/ half a hopper. 5 players just rec ballers. i have used this gun for several months after that , adding the worr blade and it was consistent and didnt break down at all. i ended up selling it to get my wrath upgraded more .
Conclusion: I dont know if it was just my gun or if they all have leaky front blocks, but it was still worth 80 bucks and i probably would have paid the 400 for a new one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cockermania Thursday, December 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
x-tra,pilotacs,04prostock,98custom
Marker Setup: lightning cocker,with an ajustable 3-way,and generation x2 regulator,dye stickys
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrell,feedneck
Strengths: Accurate,reliable,consistent,light
Weaknesses: Feedneck,needs to be adjusted out of the box
Review: I got this gun in a trade,and was impressed with it's performance.The guy I got it from already adjusted everything and upgraded the 3-way and reg.This gun is a little pricey though,but I definitly think it is worth it.It is very accurate and comes with a decent bolt.Although I like the finish,it is hard to find upgrades the same color.This gun will need a hopper to keep up with it.

Conclusion: I highly reccomend this gun.It is a good performer,and wiil hang in there with the best of them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tashjian Wednesday, October 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Trilogy Pro
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Pro (Stock)
Spyder TXR W/Sniper Barrel (Stock)
VL Vigor (spare... for whoever has a marker malfunction)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Makes a superior paperweight
Strengths: Looks smokin'
Weaknesses: Doesn't work (after 3 repairs)
Review: Purchased this marker online and have had nothing but trouble with it. Sent it in for repair (and to be outfitted with a regulator) twice. Called for assistance (they told me to adjust the three-way valve) once. This marker has worked ONCE when test fired. Took it out to the field and it immediately malfunctioned. Called the parent company and asked for a replacement marker... am awaiting word.
Conclusion: Looks great... fucntionality optional.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media