paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Psycho Ballistics Superbolt / Psycho Ballistics Superbolt / Psycho Ballistics Superbolt / Psycho Ballistics Superbolt

Psycho Ballistics Superbolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Psycho Ballistics

Buy Psycho Ballistics Superbolt

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Psycho Ballistics Superbolt
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $149

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Another great Psycho Ballistics pro-marker! Available in Beadblasted Silver, Black and Blue.
Product Availability 
The Psycho Ballistics Superbolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Steel_Serpent Friday, August 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Psychoballistics Superbolt
4-piece Empire barrel Kit
68ci / 3000-psi Crossfire nitrogen tank
Halo TSA Backman agitating hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely get a new barrel!!
New 3-way is basically a must after a little use
Strengths: Accurate w/ new Barrel
Good on gas with different 3-way
Light
Weaknesses: 3-way Leaks
Stock Barrel is bad
Weak frame at points
customer service
Review: First of all this gun is great for a cocker at a descent price. The gun looks awsome and is very light. It comes with an awsome gun case but it's no use once you put your regulator and bottomline on the gun (unless you modify the foam in the case by cutting it up). The cocker needs to be timed usually right out of the case. It will fire out of the case but with the timing off it usually will crap out on you very quickly. Timing is a pain in the butt!!! One good thing about the gun is that it is usually very good on gas but ONLY when you change the 3-way. The stock one leaks like crazy after a bit of use. Changing the barrel also helps to straighten more of the shots. One thing I have to mention though is that this is a very different design from other cockers so there is very little you can do to upgrade some of the features of this gun. The twist and Lock bolt is a neat idea but it makes it so you can only buy the stock bolt and only from psychoballistics. The front block has the air intake attached to it and creates a lighter body but a major flaw... the part that attaches the intake is a small aluminum piece that is no bigger than a thick screw. Just touching that thing to the ground will bend it or more likely break it!! Getting to fix that part requires you to contact psychoballistics to get their specialty front block... be prepared to wait and also pay for it! Psychoballistics considers the broken piece to be caused by abuse no matter how long you've had the gun or how it broke. I had my gun for a month when I slid and bent the front block. Now I know that any other gun would have gotten some scratches on the regulator but nope not one scratch... just bent the thing. Not very much pressure is needed to bend it I found out as I bent it back but it still leaked. I have two of these guns thank god because it's been two months and I'm still waiting for that block to come in for my other one! The gun is also mechanical so in the heat of a paint fight sometimes you get caught up and short stroke the trigger, which requires you to fully pully the trigger and release to recock it. You need to always fully pull the trigger to get a consistent shot out of it unless you decide to pay the extra $400-$500 on an e-blade. Don't. it isn't worth paying more for a trigger than the gun.
Conclusion: I know it seems I'm bashing the gun but I have two of them and I've had lots of problems. This gun is more suited for experienced players who know how to maintain a cocker. In the guns defense I have to say it shoots very very well WHEN, and i repeat WHEN, it's in working order. Good for players who aren't too serious, have some knowledge about cockers, and want an inexpensive cocker. I'd give this gun a 6.5 really but 7 is good because it does shoot very accurately with a new barrel. I definitely don't recommend this for a first-time buyer. If your more serious about the sport save up for something a little more reliable. And if your not I'd still recommend trying out a spyder or something that won't make you as frustrated. The new Ion is just as cheap and I haven't tried it but with it's break-beam eye and other features I would recommend it over the superbolt anyday.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 24th, 2005 at 10:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb-luva Tuesday, June 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never used a auto cocker before
Marker Setup: Diablo Mongoose 2 with eyes (black to silver)
Sweetspot trigger
Hybrid Technologies R-Drive Inline Regulator Stage 1 and Stage 2
Shocktech Drop Forward
PMI 68/4500 Compressed Air tank
Scenario Dreams T board
System X 2 Piece Clear Tip Barrel
Scenario Dreams Switch(25 grams)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop foward and regulator
Strengths: Quiet!!!!
Weaknesses: Confusing to use if your not used to cockers!!!
Review: I got this gun cheap, just kinda to tinker around with. I bought it really just for the hopper it came with i got The gun and a halo B hopper for 199$. I thought that the gun would be good for woods ball and i was right. Its realy quiet and acurate. But i would not use it for speed ball. And it looks awsome and it was cheap and andnan and and and
Conclusion: Good gun to use in woods ball and cheap so id buy it if u want a first autococker. Im giving it a 8 because its slow and confusing
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pychoballistics Tuesday, June 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
NPS Silver Bullet, Viewloader Orion, (SUCKED), SPider Victor 2, Diablo Mongoose 2 Reincarnation
Marker Setup: Pycho Ballistics Superbolt
Psycho Ballistics Z-Drop Forward
Psycho Ballistics Aradus Barrel
Ricochet Apache LED Hoppers (got it for my Diablo)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, a Aradus or a Boomstick
Psycho Ballistics Z-Drop Forward
And a new bolt if you can find one that works.
Strengths: Dosnt chop
Very Light
Very Accurate
Tough
Cheap
Weaknesses: Leaks but easily fixed
doesn't come with a drop forward
paint scratches easily
Review: The gun is great if you are prepared to buy a drop forward and maybe a new barrel. I did not like the trigger at first but modified it and it works great now. The gun can leak a little but you can fix that with some minor work. It is a great gun and i bought it for about $200 but now you can buy it for $100. The guns paint job is easily scratched so don't get the blue, but if your smart you wouldnt get it anyways. The gun preforms great and ive shot about 5250 rounds out of it since i got it and it hasn't needed any repairs.. You do need to clean the gun but that is a no brainer. Also the gun is very accurate and i was able to hit in a 6 in diameter target consistently at abut 65 to 75 yards.
Conclusion: I would say that anybody that is looking for a good tough gun and is willing to upgrade it should by this gun. It is a high-end gun and is really cheap. 9 out of 10 because i had to spend the extra to unleash its full ability.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ntuli fearon Thursday, March 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other autocockers
Marker Setup: automag
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward reg
Strengths: Shoots straight and auccurate as hell light good looks
Weaknesses: Not much not ready to go out of box
Review: This gun works great. at first u might be a little dissapointed, but once u hook it up, the gun shoots and feels great the gun is super light and easy to aim with. also is very low priced for the quality it shoots as looks sexy and people get scared at first sight once u get it out the box it might have some problems but at the end of the day its all worth it cause this gun is nasty. in a good way
Conclusion: Buy this gun....or ur dumb
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedy2k4 Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orracle, 04 cocker, reflex, custom cockers, dm4, species, speed, impy's
Marker Setup: Stock superbolt, wdp minireg, evo2, 70/45 crossfire lp
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good, small reg
Strengths: Perfect accuracy, very low price, very upgradeable, air efficiant, light, compact, fun to shoot
Weaknesses: Takes some getting used to, needs a good setup job
Review: This gun has the potential to be an amzing gun. the more you know about cockers, the better you can make this work. i know them inside and out, and i can shoot this at 6bps ball on ball from long distance. if you can set it up perfectly, you won't short stroke it and it will never let you down. i loved it
Conclusion: So nice for the price buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jish Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Autocockers
Dragunfly Mech
Marker Setup: Psycho Superbolt
-Macroline Setup
-32* Universal Drop Foward
-Psycho Universal Reg.

Recommended
Upgrades:
Reg, Drop foward, Macoline, or steelbraid hose if u prefer.
Strengths: Accuracy
Power
Good looking
Weaknesses: Leaky
Review: When i first got this bad boy i immediatly put the whole drop, macroline and reg setup on it so i coulkd time it. it was actually very well timed out of the box.. i was impressed.

i gasses it up and saw that it needed some work because, like ive read, there was a leaky front block. so i took it all apart... put teflon all over, tightned it greatly.. now there is a not leak.. its rele quite effortless..

i advise u to take it apart to get a feel for how it works so u no the problems wen they come up.. and wen u kno summin is wrong.. u can just fix it fast and get back in the game.. bueno

you need to tinker with it like usual, and iom sure most of you dont likt to hear it, but if u just do a bit of research on how to time it, and fix gas leaks than u really will have one he\ of a gun.

my favorite part about this gun is... u can get it for 200-300 bux,, and its practically the same thing as the dye ultrlite... except it doesnt have that weird lazer pointer on it... but n e way. at one point this marker from dye was 1300 buckaroos... so i tell ppl its a dye ultralite and it was 1300 bux n they get a stiffy like no other.

also this gun is a head turner at feilds.
Conclusion: IM giving it a 10 of 10 evenm thought it leaks because not all cockers work perfect when youy first get them. if u like to work on ur marker and perfect it like i do to your own liking, than this one is greay. all you rele need to is seal and tighten everything and time it ans you have a great.

get it now... like... order on within the next 5 minutes...if u dont...then ill igve u 10 minutes.. PEACE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

paintballlova Tuesday, September 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Karnivore
Marker Setup: Psycoballistics cocker
Cp 2 piece barrel
Hybrid clamping feedneck
Nexus Ram
Evo 2
Check it speedy drop
Pure energy 47/3000
Bob long torpedo reg
Macroline kit
Qev's
Dye rhino
Recommended
Upgrades:
I dont know. I never shot my gun stock so i guess all the stuff I have on mine
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Quiet
Consistent
Sweet lookin
Weaknesses: Not timed from the factory
Review: When I first shot this thing I was blown away. It was my first autococker and I do not regret buying at all. Its literally ball on ball accuracy, really fast for a mechanical cocker, body is milled to the max, insanely light, but it is really small so if you like to push your bunker with your gun, i wouldnt buy it but it is perfect for me. Its superquiet with the cp barrel on there and it is really consistent.
Conclusion: Buy it, if you like playing front, or play really tight.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EvolutionXCaptn Saturday, July 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Outkast and Vertical
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics SuperBolt(Black)
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator(Black)
Check It Sports Drop Forward On/Off(Black)
Speed Ball Barrel
Triggar Job
Loc-Tite Vert Feed(Black)
ShockTech Bomb 3 Way(Black)
ShockTech Hoses(Black)
ShockTech Ram
ShockTech Mini Cocker Actuator Rod and Base
Dye Throttle 70/4500
Halo TSA Back Man
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything I have and an E-Blade and Eye.
Cant get the barrel i have because they're were only 1 of 10. But something like a Freak or Boomstick
Strengths: Accuracy is Almost to Perfection.
Air Efficiency is Really Good.
Really Light.
Low Profile.
Weaknesses: Not a real cocker but damn close man, and maybe better.
Review: When i first got this gun, I was like this gun is gonna suck. But dude i was wrong. This is the best autococker ive shot. Although it doesnt have an eblade it will soon. But is is really the baddest cocker ive shot in a while. After putting the upgradeson it it was better by alot.
Conclusion: I definately reccommend this gun to anybody thats wants a good gun. I use it and i have my own team and i have no problem hitting people on the otherside of the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mindjob Monday, June 28th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, STO, Black Magic
Marker Setup: Superbolt w/ palmer front end, micro rock
Freak Barrel
Centerflag 45/88
Halo B
wgp ergo reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
ANY other aftermarket pneumatics
I chose a Palmer quick pro set w/micro rock
JB weld or similar to hold feed neck securly in place
Strengths: Light, sexy, fast and accurate when working properly.
Weaknesses: Poor craftsmanship, lack of support from P.B. Non-compatability of aftermarket parts
Review: Small, light and sexy. Quality anno job. A Dye ultra-lite knock off. Milling is very nice, even though you can see how the milling on the body and block do not match.

I purchased this as a project gun, and boy did I get my wish. When this thing arrived, as soon as I put a reg and bottomline on and gassed it up, it blew all of the lp hoses. After trial and error, I realized that the stock LPR did NOTHING. I took it apart and comapred it to my brothers Dye (which is identical), only to see that nothing obvously wrong with it. I also noticed that the 3-way was binding. This turned out to be due to a rough surface inside. I have no idea what this was from. I ended up calling Palmer's Pursuit shop and ordered a whole new front block kit. About 5 minutes after I was up and running, the main valve seal let go. I purchases a Bob Long power valve, only to find out that it didnt fit into the body. My solution was to use a spare VM68 valve seal that I had laying around in conjunction with the stock valve body. That, and a lighter valve spring and the valve issues were settled.

So yesterday I finally got the chance to play with this monstrocity, and it shot great. All of the B.S. i went through with it seemed to have paid off. Several experinced cocker users tried it out and were all equally impressed with it.

Unfortunately, my good fortune did not last.

When I took it home to clean it, the spring loaded ball that is in the rear of the bolt which is part of the twist lock, came flying out. After crawling around on my floor looking for the srping and ball, I found that the hole where the little ball sits was now too big. The darn thing just rolled right out. Since I can't just slap an aftermarket bolt in this thing, I got creative, and reduced the size of the hole with a ball-end allen key and hammer. The only thing that worries me about that little repair is weather or not it will hold up.

Conclusion: Is it worth it? I don't know. I was planning on e-blading this sucker, but now I am concerned that it will just fall apart on me. As far as how it shoots - I was loving it. It is comprable to most of the other high end cocker clones. I wam wondering if maybe i just got a lemon and that the Psychobalistics people were all just hung over on a Monday morning when they made this one.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 29th, 2004 at 5:23 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

JoshGrrrr Saturday, June 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month32 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP cockers, Custom Freeflow cocker
Marker Setup: Stock Psychoballistics Superbolt, 68/3000 crossfire, 12v xboard revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, 3-way, bolt mod
Strengths: Price
Weight
Milling and Anno
Weaknesses: Leaky 3-way.
Bolt
Review: I see a lot of people talking down on this gun without ever having tried it. I could have very well been one of them. When a marker comes out that is identical to a high end marker, only made by a less respectable company , that can be expected. I was definately surprised when I got the gun. The milling is probably some of the sexiest you can get. The anno was flawless as well.

Out of the box it shot like crap. I think that is why this gun has gotten some bad reviews. People who know jack about cockers get one and if it doesn't shoot perfectly right out of the box they assume its crap. After I sat and tinkered with it for a few hours it shoots great. I have the trigger pull down to about 2mm. I have it pinching paint instead of chopping. And, it is getting average or above efficiency. It shoots just as well as my freeflow or my WGP did. Very underrated gun.

The twist lock bolt is nice, but I think that is the key weakness on this gun. It is a nice stock bolt. But I prefer a nylatron or delrin bolt to prevent unneccessary wear to the inside of the gun. Due to the twist lock bolt aftermarket bolts for this gun are impossible to find. So you are either stuck with the stock bolt, or you have to get the back block drilled. (If anyone knows of an aftermarket bolt for this gun please let me know)

Everyone knows that this gun looks almost exactly like the Dye reflex. Everyone assumes that the pneus are crap though. It is my understanding that this gun and pneus are still made at Dyes plant using the exact same machinery used to make the ultralights. Only the milling was changed, and only a little. The LPR and RAM are as good as any. The 3-way can be a hard to keep from leaking. I'm sure I could just change the o-rings out and have it working fine, but I'm sure it wouldn't be long before it was leaking again. I am changing it to a Palmer's Quickswitch.

One other complaint is that the stock barrel had a few rough places inside. It looked as if it hadn't been polished at all. It shot surprisingly well though.
Conclusion: I would highly reccomend this product. Don't listen to all the BS hype spread by people who have never even tried the gun. Unfortunately, BS hype like that is what fuels the paintball business. I am reccomending this marker to anyone who wants a nice cheap cocker. If you know nothing of cockers skip it. If you can time it and fine tune it, you will absolutely love this gun. I would love to give this gun a 10. In every catagory it has earned a perfect score in my opinion. But, due to being stuck with the stock aluminum bolt, it's getting a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media