paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Gladiator Regulator / MACDev Gladiator Regulator / MACDev Gladiator Regulator / MACDev Gladiator Regulator

MACDev Gladiator Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Gladiator Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Gladiator Regulator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 04 Gladiator is better than ever before - with higher flow, improved reliability and new 04 features!
Product Availability 
The MACDev Gladiator Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
beanbreaker Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
2 CP regs, Torpedo reg, Ergo WGP Reg
Marker Setup: 06 MACDev Cyborg
VLocity Hopper
48/3000psi PMI Steelie
Strengths: VERY consistant
Nice Anno
Weaknesses: A little big
Piston a little finiky (I'll touch on this)
Review: Honestly, I'd have to rate this as my top choice for a reg. It might look a little out of place on certain markers, but you just can't beat the consistancy. +/- 2fps at the chrono is about as good as you'll ever see. I've had 2 CP regs previously, and they were about the same quality, but I've been able to more consistantly get a +/- 2fps consistancy over the chrono using the glad.

Honestly, I think you'll probably get about the same consistancy as a CP reg, but since it came on my 06 Cyborg, it just fits the marker a little better. I think the Gladiator's main competition would be both CP and the AKA 2-liter.

Shortcomings: There are only 2 that I can think of.

1) Price - At a listed retail price of about 80 bucks, they're up there with Palmers and CP regs in price when bought new. You can have a CP for 50 bucks new off of ebay, or 60 from various only retail stores.

2) Size. It's not really a small reg. The CP I have seems smaller, but heavier (I think portions are made of steel vs. aluminum). All in all, it's not heavy, so it shouldn't be an issue.
Conclusion: +/- 2fps over the chrono. What more can you say? Oh... just make sure you pay for it right after payday as it'll cost more than the chance you find in the sofa.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

g murder Sunday, October 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Hyper2
CP
Eclipse STAR
CenterFlag
AKA Sidewinder
WGP Black Magic
Marker Setup: Dye DM6, CP 2k5 on/off, CP plug, CP rail drop, Lucky tophat rings, Dye UL or Stiffi barrel
PE Ego6, CP 2k5 on/off, MacDev Glad, delrin pin, Critical ram,cap, Dye UL or Stiffi barrel
SP Ion, Tech T bolt, CP reg, CP drop, CP2k5 on/off, CCM feedneck FBM snatch, Dye UL, NDZ roller trig.
Strengths: Fills up hand nicely
Consistent
Nice looking
Light
Weaknesses: Inlet hold right next to the adjustment screw
Review: PROS
-Good, solid reg....
-FIlls up hand nicely....it's nice to hold...
-Solid performance...
-Easy adjustment with a fairly small allen key...
-Nice looking...
-MacDev mystique

I installed this on my Ego6
.....it made the gun 'feel' better/nicer to hold thus increasing my stability which increased accuracy.
.....over the chrono, with Walmart paint, was [u]+[/u] 4 to 5 so it will be better with quality paint.
....looks sweet on my gun with the CP on/off
....easy maintenance
....it feed my gun @ 21bps with no problems!


CONS
The air inlet port (where the macro fitting screws into) is located on the bottom of the reg right next to the adjustment screw which contols velocity...so you can't use an angled macro line fitting (which would get in the way when you have to alter the input pressure to adjust velocity) so the straight version is the only option
Conclusion: Solid reg that has the necessary consistency and speed to supply any marker with the required psi needed to operate @ high ROF. The Galdiator reg comes standard on the MacDev Cyborg which claims the abilty to shoot 33+bps
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 29th, 2006 at 4:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frantic-Runner Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock cocker reg
ANS Gen X2 reg
Marker Setup: WGP VF 2003 Autococker
ANS 3-Way
AIM Battle Axe Hinge Frame
Knockout barrel kit
Empire Reloader shocktech on/off drop
WGP delrin bolt
MACDev Regulator
68ci 3000psi crossfire nitro tank
Strengths: Looks and simplicity
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: I got this reg on the cocker I bought off one of my friends. This one has been holding up perfectly since I got it. I havnt had to adjust it and it is very consistant. I also like the look of it because it is simple but with an extra touch of milling.
Conclusion: Im not sure what was originally paid for this but from the success Ive had with it I would recommend buying one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 3rd, 2006 at 9:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

armorlite Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Dragun Regulator
WGP Ergo
Marker Setup: 06 MacDev Cyborg Stormtrooper
MacDev rail w/ MacDev On/Off
Powerlyte Scepter kit
WGP Worrgas (soon to get rid of)
Strengths: Very Consistant
Fast Recharge rate
Reliable
Weaknesses: Bit too Sensitive when adjusting
Review: I bought one for my Dragun T1 and I got one that came stock with my 06 Cyborg.
They both ran like butter. FASt recharge rate kept that gauge needle from hardly moving. They both haven't fully broken in yet but I bet once it does, it's gonna run like a charm. I got some good FPS runs with these as well. 5+/- Max for me. I dont really know what more to say since it does it's job just as good if not better than most regulators out there!
Conclusion: Consistant as a Mofo, Fast Recharge rate and all, what more than you want? It surely caught up with my Cyborg when I threw it in 25bps Drying! Needle didn't even make a big drop... only like 10psi down and that's it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dumbocanfly Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AKA 2 liter
CP reg
Hybrid stage 2
max flo
Marker Setup: Dm4, lp 72/5000 freak with stiffi front, halo b cheetah boast, orange bolt
06 cyborg with clamping feedneck 45/45 halo cheetah boast 695 match stick
Strengths: Looks
Consistancy
flow rate
size
weight
height
feel
Weaknesses: Doesnt match the cyborg that well with looks
hard to find
Review: Ok this is a great reg alot of fun to use I put +/- 2 with marbs or evil.
It has handled my 25 bps with out fluctuations
It has had a hard life so far and has never required more maintaince then a small amount of lube.
all around a great product
worth every penny
if you can afford it it is a great upgrade for any gun
Conclusion: I recomend this product for its speed and consistency
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheShifty_ Saturday, February 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Reg
Marker Setup: Macdev 06 Cyborg
Smart Parts Ion
Empire Reloader B
Macdev LegionAir 45/45
Strengths: Consistent
Fast Recharge
Easy Maintenance
Short Break-in
Weaknesses: Threads are tough on first open.
Review: Performance speaks for itself. 299, 299, 299, 299, 301, 299, 299, 299. I thought something was wrong with the chrono.

No drop-off ever.

Only difficulty I had was removing the bottom section for the first time... once I got it open though, I put some lube on the threads and now it's fine. Apart from that, extremely easy to clean. Only takes a few minutes, don't need any tools, just some lube and a cloth.
Conclusion: One of the best regulators out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ToxicPaintballz Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP reg, Angel Minireg, Shocker Max-flo Vert reg, stock 04 Cocker reg, WGP Orracle reg.
Marker Setup: 2004 cocker with eblade and a bunch of accesories im not gonna try to lsit.
Strengths: When working, consistent.
Looks good.
Weaknesses: Broke on me alot.
Need to read instructions for putting on a macro fitting.
Review: Well I first got this reg back in June 2004. I thought it was a pretty good reg considering I had heard good things about anything MacDev relating to air. So I went to slap this on my gun. My first thought was how cool it was. The second was, why the hell did they make it so you have to take the bottom off before putting in the fitting? I found it really annoying because mine seemed to be stuck so I had to spend 30 minutes with a wrench trying to take the bottom off. When I finally got it on my gun, it worked for about 5 minutes before the relief hole leaked. I thought it was overpressuring so I trried turning down pressure, quieting down the leak a little, but not fixing it. Low and behold, 3 months later I have the same problem on my hands, even after sending it to my retailer and getting a spare parts kit from MacDev. In early Sep. it worked for about a week where I got a chrono reading of +-4. Then it broke, and now it decorates my room.
Conclusion: Its a good reg no doubt but mine had a bunch of problems that will make me avoid MacDev. I would give it a 5 because of the performance I got from it whe nit worked but seriously I cant say this reg was average. My stock 04 reg was better!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GibsonVII Friday, July 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor II
ESP IPI 3.0 frame
Mac Dev Gladtiator Regulator
CIP Assault Block with DYE gauge
Smart Parts 14" Progressive Barrel
eVLution 2
APM Tigershark Bolt
Strengths: VERY consistant, even when I used it on c02
Weaknesses: Bogs down when it gets dirty
Review: I purchased this regulator used from a member on the board. I've run it with both c02 AND HPA. I am very pleased with this regulator, with c02 I got +/-10 (which is really good for c02) and +/- 4 with HPA. 500psi output is perfect for my spyder as well. I'd highly recommend.
Conclusion: Haven't compared to others but I think it's a great reg, and it could've ONLY gotten better since the upgrade in 04 =)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

50cnt Thursday, June 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Ergo regulator +/- 7-9 fps
Marker Setup: Mac Dev Cyborg, Sonic Claw clamping feed neck, new cyborg bolt (al by MAC DEV)
Strengths: the consistency of the feet per second was amazing. choose from black or chrome
Weaknesses: lubricate the regulator every other time you use it. this will help with consistency
Review: this regulator came stock on my mac dev cyborg. the regulator was alreafy preset from the factory so i have not changed anyhting on the reg itself. The consistency of the regulatory is within 1-2 +/- feet per second. this is really good. other regulators that i know of or have seen have the same consistency but are twice the amount of money. mac dev makes supreme quality products. lets be real though i dont think that there is any gun that can hold onto a 1 +/- feet per second shift in velocity. This does not matter if you are shooting slowly or fast. but the mac dev reg did its best to stay within this area. i have shot strings of paint 18 balls long as fast as i could and the feet per second really does move only about 1-2 +/-. this was excellent. for the price you cannot and will not find a better regulator. try this one out. you will be satisfied.
Conclusion: i can only say that i will not find another regulator with the same consistency as the Mac Dev Gladiator. this reg is great and is the best reg you can buy. i give it a ten because it definately deserves it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IraqiFreedomVet Monday, June 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Marker Setup: '03 Bushie w/ PDS
'04 MacDev Gladiator HPR
'04 MacDev Sonic LPR w/ Ram Gauge
'04 MacDev Sonic RED valve
MacDev micro gauge
Zenitram 15 degree ASA
Bonebrake quick disconnect wiring harness
14' CP classic one piece
Apache
92/45 Crossfire LP
Strengths: Looks good. Very efficient.
Weaknesses: If anything, cost.....but you get what you pay for.
Review: Reg works great. It is very efficient, easy to adjust, and looks good. My bushmaster sounded like a hand cannon before I put the Mac Dev Gladiator on it...... now it is one of the quieter guns on the field.
If there was anything I would complain about, it would be the cost. But as previously mentioned, you get what you pay for.
Conclusion: A must if you're upgrading your HPR.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 21st, 2004 at 9:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media