paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Gladiator Regulator / MACDev Gladiator Regulator / MACDev Gladiator Regulator / MACDev Gladiator Regulator

MACDev Gladiator Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Gladiator Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Gladiator Regulator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 04 Gladiator is better than ever before - with higher flow, improved reliability and new 04 features!
Product Availability 
The MACDev Gladiator Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
internetrush Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 04 'Cocker reg
Marker Setup: WGP 2004 VF
Centerflag 90/3000 Fiber
Evolution 2 Loader
PHAT Barrel Kit
Strengths: Consistant
Beautiful with Black
Weaknesses: touchy
ASA hole is positioned crappy
Review: Well, i got tired of shooting within a 10-20 fps so i decided to upgrade my regs... first the LPR and now this.

Strengths
- Highly adjustable
- Very stable
- Looks l33t
- nice grip

Weaknesses
- Screw on bottom is too touchy
- Input hole for hose is kinda on one side

Ok, This HPR is VERY good. I like to see people b!tch about how much they paid for their guns and why mine works so good and i only have 2/3 of the money that they have in their guns. *laugh*. Anyway when i initially installed this i had a few problems, such as the thing comes preset to throw out like 1200 psi. My 3 way leaked constantly and it wouldn't cock right. So when you order this reg (trust me you want to) turn the screw all the way out first... then you can adjust it inward as you start. Another problem is that the crew is very touchy 1/8 of a turn = like 1/2 the psi, this gave me problems initially but once you figure it out its easy to adjust. The last complaint i have about this reg is that the input hole for the ASA is not right in the middle as it should be, because when the hose went in there the hose was 5" in length and fit onto my drop well. But as i turned it in and the thing spun around it ended up on the other end when the reg was tight and i had to order a new hose... Not a big loss but it was a pain waiting a week for a hose.

There is really nothing else wrong with this, my menial little quarrels up above are nothing to do with quality. This reg has worked for 3 months now perfectly, i shot maybe 6 drops of oil through it and have shot about 6000 paintballs. Still works wonderfully. I didn't like my original reg because the oil would backup in it and i would have to clean it about every case of paint, since about every 2 times i play i put a little oil it it to make sure everything is sliding correctly. With this one it shoots it right through into the gun (where its supposed to be). And i haven't had any consistency issues to date.
Conclusion: Order this reg if your marker is black...it matches perfectly and with the high performance that ive seen i wouldnt want another reg if someone gave it to me.

9 out of 10 b/c the ASA hole gave me a 2 hour headache and a week wait.... Otherwise it would be a 10

Happy paintballing
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

SeaWolf Saturday, May 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock Inline WGP Reg

-ANS Gen-X2
Marker Setup: 2k3 WGP Vertical Autococker
-10" Stainless Freak Barrel
-MacDev '04 Gladiator Regulator
-Kapp Reflex Trigger Frame
-Kapp Twisted Cocking Rod
-Kapp Delrin Ball Detent
-Kapp 15 degree ASA
-Shocktech Bomb 3-way
-Shocktech Superfly Bolt
-Shocktech PHAT Hammer
-Palmers Micro Rock LP Regulator w/ Rock Knob
-32 Degrees On/Off
-Macroline
-WGP STO Ram
Strengths: -Very Consistent
-Cool Milling
-Great Design
Weaknesses: -No place for a guage
-Colors
Review: This regulator was a little strange at first. If the pressure was too high, my hammer wouldn't open the valve enough to get a higher velocity. If the pressure was too low, of course, th velocity would also be low. It will take a little time to sweet-spot on an autococker because you have to deal with your LP reg, your inline reg, your main spring, and the valve all at the same time.

After everything was tweaked, my velocity seemed to go from 260, to 240, and then to 190, but then it would come back up to 240, and then to 260. The pattern was a consistent 260, 240, 190, 240, 260, 240, 190, etc... I emailed MacDev and got a reply within a week. The technician told me to turn the seat over. I did so, took it to the local shop, and I chronographed it with my airsmiths facilities. I was getting + or - 1 for 99% of the shots. The reading was between 264 and 265 most of the time, but once it spiked to 271. I'm sure it was just a small paintball that rolled down the barrel easily.
Conclusion: Overall, this regulator is great. I'd recommend it as one of the best on the market, especially for the price. The only other regulator that I've seen get equally good reviews is the SideWinder. The only reason you should pick a SideWinder over this regulator is if you like the color or the milling of the other one better. The silver is cool, but I really wish they would have made the '04 Gladiator in chrome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer505 Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
there is no regulator as good
Marker Setup: on all my guns i have used this regulator or angel air
Strengths: consistancy, comfortablility, cool looking, nice to hold
Weaknesses: no gauge port. it is more consistant than my angel air. 2 colors
Review: first off people ask how consistant a reg is. well i will have to say that macdev does not know any other word except for pure perfection. i own both of there guns and my 6 other guns that i have now are all equiped with these regulators. this regualtor is the most consistant reg ever made. on all my guns it shoots 234, 234,234, 234, 234, 234, 234, 234, 234, 234. i put this on this persons tippmann and it shot 278, 278, 278, 278, 279. it is the most consistant and best looking reg. it will improve any gun and the word shoot down can be completely eliminated from your vocabulary. the flaw is that it has no gauge port which can be easily fixed problem.(guages on asa, and if you are a cocker freek under your lpr) the other bad thing is it is more consistant than my angel air. my 600 dollar air goes up and down one to two psi, but with this reg is only 80 bucks and it does not even have a differential in psi.
Conclusion: MacDev= God.
enough said. if you want the best dont bother with the rest.
if looks arnt everything except the colors and get the greatesr regulator ever made.
I give this regulator a 10 and this is the only regulator that i have ever given a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

penguins_r_kewl Friday, March 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: VERY consistant, small, looks great, made by Mac Dev.
Weaknesses: None!
Review: I get +/- 5fps at the chrono on my spyder (good for a spyder). This a very great looking reg. The 04 is a big improvment from the 03. I like the placements on this reg, the bottom adjustment and bottom hose screw in hole thing is nice. This reg has very nice milling and is very small. This is the best regulator in its price range. Its Mac Dev so you know its made with real high quality.
Conclusion: This is the reg to get. $80 isn't cheap but this regulator is well worth it. Too bad I have to sell it =( .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cockerguy9311 Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Orracle, Mac Dev 04 glad reg, ACI Bulldog 47/3k, Dead on bullet dropforward, Evo II
Strengths: Easly adjustable, consistant, fast
Weaknesses: None what so ever
Review: This reg is awesome, I hooked it up to my gun the second I got it. Of course I had some trouble getting the steel hose to fit because I had a BM that was fed through the side, but I got it. The reg only needs a little Dow 33 at the top and screw it in and its ready to go. It's recharge rate is great! I took my gun down to the field and threw some paint in it, no shoot down what so ever and the balls were straight on every time, no velocity changes like my BM (of course I'm sure there was 1 point where the glad reg went up 1 for a sec but I didn't notice if it did lol), but I was only shootin about 10 or so balls a seconds with one finger against the trigger as fast as I could. I'll find out ounce I get my Worr Blade next week. Another thing I love about this reg is it becomes your grip and the hose isn't in the way any more, an you can adjust on the bottom near the hose with ease.
Conclusion: I recommend this reg to anybody with a fast gun angels, timmy's, whatever. Its easy to use/adjust and its easy to install. I have only seen this reg 2 places, but I only know about 10 pball sites. Buy it, its definently worth the $80!!!! (If your wondering how big it is, its about the size of a BM, 3 inches when screwed in and about 3 1/2 for its full length)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 6th, 2004 at 3:44 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

EmericaDVS Friday, January 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
sidewinder, torpedo, vert maxxy, cp, Black magic reg, Gen-x 2
GLADIATOR IS BETTER THN ALL
Marker Setup: 2k3 Red to Black fade Bob Long Dragon Intimidator, MacDev Gladiator, 14" Ultralight, Red Halo b, MacDev Conquest 68/4500
Strengths: UBER CONSISTENT!!!!!!
looks great
externally adjustable
incredibly fast recharge
Weaknesses: NONE
Review: The 04 glad is the best reg i've ever used. it regulates better thn i ever thought possible. the worst it has ever been is +/- 1 fps. at the chrono the other day i got:

291,291,291,291,291,291,291,291...

9 out of 10 times i play it is +/- 0 fps!!!!
and it doesnt matter how fast u shoot. my max is 24 bps and i have never had shoot down. on the MacDev site it says it can easily shoot 30+ bps without shootdown. AND IT HASNT EVEN BEEN FULLY BROKEN IN YET!!!!!!
Conclusion: dunt pay any attention to what that ignorant fool put about it being bad. if u want the best reg on the market then go buy this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 9th, 2004 at 9:49 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

TheBorg Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none- this is above all the rest
Marker Setup: Macdev Cyborg
standard-lol comes with everything done

2001 cocker
dye 3 way
system X bolt
titanium pb longbow
dye stickies
04 glad
dye trigger frame
shocktech dropforwed
palmers stabilizer
standard internals

both on the same bottle- pure energy 88/45
Strengths: well on the crono i get eightyfive eightyfive eightysix. ........... enough said
Weaknesses: weaknesses- i dont think mac dev know the term
Review: awsome, comfortable and very very very reliable and extremely easily to adjust

and they look very nice

it was a bit hard to get through customs but it got here- to little old new zealand

and it needs to have the whole for the air at the top but i think the fact that it wouldnt fit is my problem.........well my shocktech dropforwed is to far forward but i fixed that
Conclusion: buy it buy it but it

i usually dont give things a 10/10 unless they are perfect
this is perfect
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Jay5tt5 Monday, December 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Air America Messiah, Stock HPR, Gas through Grip
Marker Setup: • Blue B2K, Gen7 w/X Milling
• Upgraded 03 internals with PDS (the eye), Battery now in Grip
• ICD brand ASA Adapter for after market Regulators or Gas through grips
• 04 Gladiator HPR
• Mac Dev 03 LPR
• Vapor Valve
• Zenitram Magnetic Trigger Frame
• Black - Twister Low Rise
• Orange – Kapp 300psi Guage
• Black - All American 14” Barrel Back (Matching Blue - AA 14” Front and 16” Front)
• Black – ICD threaded Total Freak Kit with AA 14” Black Front
• Kapp Delrin Ball detent
• Dye Sticky Grips
• Shocktech Drop Forward
• WGP 70ci 4500psi Adjustable
Strengths: High Flow, Efficient, Ergonomic.
Weaknesses: So far I see no weaknesses.
Review: Gas is hooked up to the bottom of Reg rather than the side. This gives it a huge advantage in terms of feal as the reg now becomes your grip. My gun was shooting +-3 right out of the box! Without even breaking it in. I cant wait to see the results after I get a few cases through it.
Conclusion: It is the best Reg I have ever used or seen. Buy it, you will not be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

magsrule Sunday, December 21st, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock cocker eg, sidewinder, palmer stab, torpedo reg.
Marker Setup: Black 2k2 custom milled with tons of crap on it
Strengths: looks cool.
cheaper than the AKA.
Weaknesses: inconsistant
finicky
*edit* sucks
Review: okay, I've had the reg for a few months put many a case of paint thru it, and taken care of it to the best of my ability. but this reg really does suck. it's dreadfully inconsistant, bleeds, and is way too picky. today for instance, the thing wouldn't break 200, turned all the way up. but first shot after loading up between games, i shot 425+. i was lucky to get the reg inbetween 195 and 160.

*edit:*After rebuilding the reg, it finally settled down after a slightly longer than usual break in period. it worked well, holding +/- 2 at the chrono the whole one day that it worked. then it started to creep again.

I guess thats a good thing because it forced me to play speedball with my phantom for a whole team practice, which I'm sure improved my skills*edit*

On top of that, i had to notch my trigger guard just to get access to the output adjuster.
Conclusion: don't buy this, save up and get an AKA sidewinder.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 11th, 2004 at 9:04 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

iaxz Friday, September 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock WGP reg, Black Magic reg
Marker Setup: Complete custom %100! down to the screws. umm, mac dev reg, orracle front, E-Blade, rat, Kaner barrel .....ect
Strengths: looks, consistency, the air port is on the bottem. I love that.
Weaknesses: No gauge mount
Review: Ok. I love this reg. I have had it for a while now. I think it takes a while to figure out a reg good enough to write a review that people can trust. The reg looks and feels great. Side by side it out preformed a Black magic reg on a 2003 Orracle. The pressure adjuster is a small Hex head screw on the side of it. Very VERY VERY! slight adjustments only. I think I am running mine at 75 psi. Yeah it is LOW! I usually shoot anywhere between 260-265 FPS when I shot slow and 255-265 when I let is go at about 15-20 bps. I could turn the reg up to about 125 and shoot harder but I like the fact that is is nearly impossible to chop a ball. Put it this way. My PMI tank reads ZERO and I can still have a couple weak shots. You can shoot SOOOOOOO low with this thing. It is a little pricey. I got mine from a friend on e-bay for $80.00 free shipping.
I love it! It also comes with spare parts.

GO FOR IT!
Conclusion: Hmm, if you have the money and want a HIGH quality reg, buy it. Be sure to read the manual first. You can break it when you install it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media