paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Gladiator Regulator / MACDev Gladiator Regulator / MACDev Gladiator Regulator / MACDev Gladiator Regulator

MACDev Gladiator Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Gladiator Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Gladiator Regulator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 04 Gladiator is better than ever before - with higher flow, improved reliability and new 04 features!
Product Availability 
The MACDev Gladiator Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Krytos Sunday, July 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares.
Marker Setup: LP Spyder
Bob Long Body
Maddmann Rocket valve
MacDev Gladiator Regulator
14 inch CP one-peice
AKA Mitey Max
AKA lightning Bolt and Beavertail
Kingman ESP
Kapp DropZone 3
Java 68ci4500psi
Titanium Striker
Strengths: The best reg I have ever used. Started out with a Vigilante but that got in the way. Grabbed a Gladiator which is compact as heck. Extremely consistent, not as consisten as some of these guys are sayin but +-2fps sounds right. Matches my gun(black:). High flow rate, had to switch springs when I put this thing in cuz I was shooting 320fps.
Weaknesses: Two colors I guess, also has to be kept clean, if not it will become real inconsistent, which is what i guess happened to the guy before me.
Conclusion: The best reg I have ever used, for $75 you can't go wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Redeye_Jedi Friday, July 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS GEN X-2, stock one
Marker Setup: In relation to my air setup, I use the gladiator with all MAC DEV products. The conquest 68/4500 and RED valve and hammer kit.
Strengths: The all MAC DEV combo is the way to go! Low pressure is easy to have, but the key is efficiency. The gladiator reg is built for low pressure operation. It has a output range of 0-500psi. Works extremely well at 200-300 psi. I leave mine at about 280. With a high flow tank like the conquest, this tank can regulate a very consistent flow with NO drops! The port where you screw in a line (steel braided or macroline) is at the bottom of the reg...I like this because it gives you a better grip. I owned the ANS GEN X-2, and it just doesn't compare to a reg like this. The gladiator is a simple design that works very well.
Weaknesses: There is nothing bad about this reg. Some people wish there was a port for a guage, but I believe a guage should be on the gun, not on the reg. You want to be able to hold on to your reg for a nice grip. My advice to those who want a guage, is to buy the Shocktech vert asa with guage port. That way your guage is lifted above your grip hand.
Conclusion: This reg is awesome, no need to read any other review, if you want consistent efficient shots, and a well build reg, don't get mad, get glad...GLADIATOR!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

snakeeyes Tuesday, June 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock autococker reg, vigalante, pmi, messiah
Marker Setup: After market cocker, monkey body, kapp front end kit, bomb 3 way, oricle bolt, rex kit hammer and velocity adj., twisted cocking rod, sto ram, rhino lp reg, freak barrel, wgp swing trigger, mac dev max attack 68/4500
Strengths: *Not super expensive for a reg
*light and not to long or wierd shaped
*ultra high flow
*fast recharge rate, like nearly non existant
*Ingoing line is in the bottom of reg.
*I like the clean looks, not to flashy, but nice
*black is quality anadized
Weaknesses: *I paid 100 for mine, now you can find them for 70-80
*I have heard that some of them are a little touchy, they NEED clean air input
Conclusion: I sat in our pro shop with a gauge on my front block, put all the regs I listed above on my gun. I used the same nitro tank, no paint. I slowly shot, 3 bps, and then fast shot, I would guess 12 bps. No other reg had as fast a recharge time...period. My cocker runs at 285 psi and it never burped or sputtered like it did with some of the other regs. The messiah was pretty good, though it did not recharge as fast, and it was a little more accurate on going back to the same psi. The gladiator varied stabilized input pressure about 5 psi, that is not enough to make my gun vary fps. Most of the lower end regs were pretty slow at recharging and varied input psi more, pmi being the worst at almost 25 pounds different, and it took a full second and a half to recharge.
If you have the money and want the best this is the reg for you. It is a little more maintenance, but if you can tear your cocker down and put it back together you have the skill to work on this reg. Its main compeditors, messiah, sidwinder, etc. are all pretty good, but not the best at high volume, accuracy, weight and good looks. I gave it a 9 because it requires clean air and is not simple to work on, but I love mine and the trade off in maintenance is well worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stormynightz Friday, June 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ICD Bushmaster HPR. Let's just say that I could throw the paint farther.
And yes, I did have air and reg settings adjusted properly.....
Marker Setup: Vapor Bushmaster 2000:

12v Revy
14" AA Freak Barrel
Max Flow 88ci 4500 psi
Vapor valve
Vapor bolt
MacDev Gladiator HPR
Sonic ASA Adaptor
Sonic LPR
MacDev Ball Detent
Dye micro gauge
Black Dye Sticky Grips

Strengths: I like this regulator in particular because it matches well with a black Bushmaster body and looks really slick. It makes a really nice foregrip and gets the air hoses out of the way by having the air inlet on the bottom instead of the side.

Works really well with an ASA Adapter and it's one of the more affordable regs out there at around 80 bucks or so. Shipping time from Australia to Wisconsin was 3 days.
Weaknesses: Maybe I just got a bad one, but this regulator is REALLY inconsistent. It jumps more than +/- 20 fps regularly and on a good day will stay within +/- 10. Chrono readings similar to 262, 274, 285, 279, 272, 290 are pretty common for me. Even after being broken in and cleaned throughly, it still gives me these readings using a finely tuned marker and max flow tank.

The adjustment screw is really sensitive like many people say. You can jump a few 100 psi with a quarter turn if you're not careful.
Conclusion: I don't expect to have my readings within +/- 1 or 2 of each other, but this is pathetic. I know that readings like that are really hurting your distance and accuracy, even though I still manage to shoot well. If you own a Bushy, I'd recommend against getting this regulator just because of my experiences with it.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mrstickball Tuesday, May 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gen-x , minireg , BL power reg , palmer stab.
Marker Setup: 97 Autococker
98 LED Angel
LE supercocker
sonic bm2k
Strengths: EXTREMELY CONISISTANT , i own 3 of these and none have dissapointed me. On all my guns once i put it on i started getting +/- 1-2 FPS over the chono.

Nice small comfortable design , pretty darn cheap , easy velocity ajustment.

Mac dev is a great company , i run a store and have delt with em and they're a great company.

Weaknesses: I haven't had any thing bad with mine yet.

The only problem i see is the fact it can't have a gauge , which isn't bad because most ASA addapters are tapped for a 1/8th threaded gague.
Conclusion: Great , great , great reg , only $75 , i've used regs twice this price and this still beats out the others. BUY ONE!!!!!

I like mine sooo much i use 3 :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintDmon Wednesday, April 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Pure Energy Regulator
Marker Setup: Piranha STS G3 VF
PMI Pure Energy 48 ci 3000PSI Tank
Smart Parts Freak Barrel System
Dye Sticky Grips
Shocktech Venturi Bolt
PMI Turbo Valve
Strengths: Every thing. My Velocity only has a +/- 2 fps. It hits 299 almost every time. It is easy to disassemble and clean, also it has a great grip. It also working well with the Piranha guns. Piranha usually minimum pressure it 650 psi. I find that you can dial it down to as low as 450 psi. The Gladiator fits this requirement nicely.
Weaknesses: Velocity adjustment is a little touchy, and you want to make sure not to puch the allen wrench to far on the adjuster of the velocity ball will pop out. Just be careful is all.
Conclusion: Buy it. It is a whole lot of regulator for the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WDP Mini reg, vert MAx Flo, ANS in line, Sidewinder, Vigilante
Marker Setup: 2k Dark Angel, DEZigns Bolt, Dye Stickies, Total Freak, MacDev Gladiator inline reg, quick disconnect, then my Dyna Flow
Strengths: Everything. I love this reg. It's almost as small as the WDP Mini Reg but far supirior. It has the highest flow and very very consistant. MacDev has really proven themselves this time. I get no more shoot down, my veloctiy is now +/- 4 on a BAD day. The Gladiator can handle the pressure clime that is caused by the Dyna Flows design. It wont budge at all even if the output pressure rises 300psi. When I get low on air, nothing happens, no spikes, no nothing. It came with, in my opinion, a very good manual. It goes over how to take it apart and put it back togather, brief trouble shooting guide, maintence, etc. The price is very reasonable too. At $70, almost half the price of the ANS in line that is very restrictive and less than half the price of a max flo in line, you get a reg that can beat them all.


Weaknesses: My only complaint is the velocity adjustment screw. If you stick your wrench in too far, like I did my first time, you must dissasemble the hole reg to get the velocity ball back in position, and you must be very careful not to scratch the piston in the process.
Conclusion: With only one notible con
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr. Deadman Monday, February 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AA Vigilante
Marker Setup: Intimidator, 9v revvy w/ WAS TurboRev, BL Delrin bolt, Freak/All-American, LP mod & LP chamber, MacDev Gladiator, Kapp Micro Apocalypse DF, AA Armageddon 88ci 4500psi
Strengths: Gladiator is small enough to fit with almost all drop forwards, yet long enough to still serve as a foregrip. Air fitting is located on the bottom, allowing for a more efficient airway, and no hoses getting in the way of your grip. EXTREMELY high rate of flow and recharge rate, easily keeps up with my LP Timmy. Quality anodizing. Instructions provided great illustrations for maintenance and parts replacement.
Weaknesses: No fitting for a gauge, so if your gun doesn't have one, you're SOL.
Conclusion: This is a great regulator for high-end LP markers requiring massive airflow. Much cheaper than the AKA Sidewinder, and equal in operation. For $87 delivered from MacDev to your house, you simply cannot go wrong.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

simon woodstock Monday, February 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
vigilante, stock reg. stock reg leaked. vigilante not 1/2 as good as glad
Marker Setup: bushmaster, RED valve, gladiator, sonic asa, sonic lpr, sonic frame.
Strengths: very consistent. 265 265 265 265 over the chrono.
low maintanance
very reliable. my vigilante broke everytime I played, i've had no problems w/ the glad. makes for a great foregrip. looks sweet.
Weaknesses: doesn't come w/ a guage port, but the sonic asa is a great product.
Conclusion: a great buy for anygun. definately among the top 3 regs (sidewinder, glad, maxflo). it looks great and works great, it's a double threat.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
MaxFlo-not near as fast consistency.
Marker Setup: Impulse, Gladiator reg, Nitro Duck Minireg.
Strengths: Super Consistent
Really Cheap
Great Looks
Great Grip
Extremely easy to take apart, clean, and put back together.
Weaknesses: Velocity adjustment is sensitive.
Don't worry about using with a preset (set at 800 or above), but I'd personally run a lower input pressure just to be safe.
Conclusion: Best reg available. Buy it now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media