paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask

Proto Switch Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 130
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A design that is equaled by none, the Switch patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is the most secure, simple, and ingenious system of its kind. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs, just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for then lens and frame to compress together while giving stability under the most sever of impacts. The split frame and lens is secured in place by right and left turn 1/4 buckle locking tabs (Patent Pending). Once assembled, the split frame system holds your lens securely in place while providing comfort and style. In addition, the revolutionary split frame system allows the user to change lenses in seconds. In order to change a lens simply turn the locking buttons to unlock the frame, remove the lens, plop in a new one, replace the frame and lock your tabs back in place. Changing lenses has never been easier. The Switch System comes standard with a clear triodial thermal lens. Seven different lens tints are currently available, all with the clarity of a jet fighter pilot lens. All Switch goggle systems come standard with a co-molded combination density mask for flex under play.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
        Next Page
TyphoonX Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Mask
JT Proteus
Marker Setup: Silver Angel Speed
Master Tech Volumizer
Master Tech Snatch Grip
G-3 Barrel Set (coming)
WDP Twist Lock Gated Feed Neck
Strengths: The lense changing is quick and easy. They mask looks good.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have had a few masks and none of them can compare to the Proto. The ventilation is better than any other I have ever had. The lens changing system is awesome. The foam that Proto uses is the most comfortable foam I have ever had in a mask. I can hear things going on around me better then in previous masks.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a new mask look at this one. You certainly won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

falsetoothgod Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt elite, flex, and that peice of crap that came with the stingray 2(first gun)
Marker Setup: 02 autococker, boomstick, nitro tank, hinge trigger frame
Strengths: The lense is amazingly clear, lense can be removed from frame in under 30 seconds
Weaknesses: It is a tad heavy and it's not rubber
Review: I bought the cheaper versionof the mask (et i think) planning to but a thermal lense in it. It is the most comfortable mask i have ever worn. Even the non thermal lense doesn't fog ecxept in the rain wich is expected. I would sudgest this mak to anyone
Conclusion: Great product for a great price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sn-95 Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott strike. Good mask, but I think the Switch is better.
Marker Setup: Pro-team F/X STO Autococker, Ricochet AK.
Strengths: Very comfortable, Cool looks, Dosen't fog, Lens removal is awesome!!
Weaknesses: Heavy.
Review: I have always had trouble with my lenses fogging up, but no more! This Switch stayed fog free for hours while I was sweating like crazy. Cleaning the lens is a breeze. I pop the lens out and thoroughly clean it everytime it gets even a little bit dirty because it is so easy. "removal or reassembly" takes about two minutes. It's very well constructed. I like my Scott Strike, but my new favorite is the Switch.
Conclusion: You won't regret buying this mask. I love mine. It's weight is an issue ,but not worth dropping a point from this otherwise perfect mask. Proto could scrap the chin-strap without breaking anyone's heart, and save some weight in the process.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigfootimp Tuesday, August 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
If you can think of it I have probably tried it.
Strengths: Excellent Vision, Very comfortable, hard to fog , great coverage
Weaknesses: Chin strap, not designed for use with glasses
Review: My profiler was recently stolen so I needed a new mask and couldn't wait for another profiler to come in so my local proshop manager shows me this mask. Cheaper than the profiler, about the same size, a little heavier (like that even matters on a mask), but kind of the same concept...a smaller profile with maximum field and clarity of vision. So I bought it and tried it out.

I was a little skeptical at first because I loved the comfort, clarity, field of vision and lack of fogging that I had come to expect from my profiler and didn't want to waste my money on a mask that I had never tried or seen anybody in the area use and for all I knew was no better than brass eagle. When I first tried it on though I felt bad about even thinking about comparing it to a brass eagle mask. The comfort was great extremely close to the comfort of the profiler. I also thought that the field of vision would be smaller due to the smaller lens but I was exceedingly surprised at the field of vision. The mask doesn't obstruct a person's peripheral vision at all. Also it is easier to hear with this mask on that any other mask that I have ever used.

The proto is also hard to fog. This is because of the dual lens that it utilizes. It isn't anything new on the market but this one works very well. Also the lens is kind of hard to remove at first and it takes some practice putting it back into the mask but once you get the hang of it is is almost as easy as the profiler.

Now the bad. I guess some time recently some of the mask manufacturers decided that a chin strap should be a feature on their mask and while I can understand how some people find them more appealing I personally don't care for them. This one comes with a pad on it to add comfort to the old choker but I still don't like it. Well I know some of you are thinking why not just take it off of the mask? The problem with that is that you cannot do it without altering the strap or part of the mask itself. Not really a big deal but I do not care to alter my masks in any way that is not part of an "optional feature" like a visor. But that is just me. Also I wear contacts but sometimes I have to wear my glasses and this really stinks. I tried the mask on with my glasses and as with any other mask system my glasses fogged right up. But extremely fast. This was the only other drawback because with my profiler I could wear my glasses for at least 5 games before the would fog up. While reading the manual to review the lens removal feature I stumbled across these bold letters that, in summary, said not intended for use with glasses. I kind of thought it was funny but figure that the manufacturer must have some reason for having it in the manual so I thought that I would mention it in the review.
Conclusion: All in all I find this mask surprisingly well designed and it gave great performance. None of the cons are large enough to even degrade this product and I would recommend it to anyone who asked me. I have to give this product a 10 out of 10 because it is really that good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Rogue1 Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Proshield and Headshield
Marker Setup: A-5 with R/T, Lapco Bigshot, DOP Dble Trig
Strengths: Clear, NO Fog, comfy, looks, gets bounces.
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: I live in a very humid area and I have had absolutely no fogging what so ever. Even when my hair was soaking wet from sweatting my goggles stayed crystal clear. The view out of these things is awesome. You almost forget that u have them on it's so clear. I have a big head but they still come down far enough to cover my chin. I got so many bounces the first time I wore them I caught myself keeping my head out in plain view for everyone to hit. (Dumb on my part I know, but wow the bounces!)
Conclusion: I love mine and am gald i decided to get these instead of something else. I got the blue one and think it looks sweet. The colors look diff in person than they do in photos. Comfy, clear view, no fog, gets bounces and not as expensive as some others. One of the best upgrades I've purchased. I give it a 10 because of how pleased i am with these.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rouge Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra w/ fan - Still got fogged up
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Proteam Intruder Foregrip - 8" Lapco Big Shot Barrel - 3000psi 72 cu Compressed Air Tank
Strengths: - Comfortable
- Never fogged
- Easy to replace lens
- Kewl looking (Especially the Red)
Weaknesses: -Lens not as easy to replace as i would have thought
Review: This mask is extremely comfortable nice amount of foam to soften the hits, easier to replace the lens then JTs but not as easy as it sounds you got to turn the knobs a 1/4 of a turn then pull them all the way out then you have detached the lens frame from the straps then you must remove the lens frame form the goggles and now they are out, these goggle have never ever fogged up on me and i've played in many conditions and they've never even started to fog even during night at 24hour scenario games. I'de have to wait for all my friends to wipe their goggles clean at every rest stop, but not me i was ready ot play the whole ti me with clear vision
Conclusion: These all the best goggle i've ever owned if your gonna buy a new set of goggles and are not worrying about the price to protect your face then i would defiantly go with these or the V-Force Morphs
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigMan666 Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any Mask...
Marker Setup: Custom Cocker
Strengths: Quick Change Lens
High Visibility
Feels Great
Weaknesses: Heavy (not really)
Lens are sensative
Review: This is a great mask, as an Ex-JT user I find this mask a welcome change. It fits GREAT a very tight form fitting mask, it's breathable great venting. The lens are extremely clear with an impresive field of view. The visor is easy to adjust after the break in period. The mask is alittle heavy but not enough to make me care... The rubber is soft so it helps with bouncing long softs but adds a high level of protection which is the sole purpose of the a mask.
Conclusion: If you need a good strong mask that feels great, easy lens change and looks get that won't break you'r wallet or your jaw with cheap rubber than GET THIS.... I give it...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BWC12490 Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
JT Proteus
Marker Setup: Red Pirahna E Force VTL, Bob Long Torpedo, Tear Drop Barrel, 9 volt Revy
Strengths: VERY comfortable, and gives great protection.
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: The best mask on the market, in my humble opinion. Very comfortable, GREAT protection. Two of my friends also have this mask, and would agree that its the best on the market. And they both have tried on the Invision and Proteus and agree that it is an all together better mask than either one of them. I give this mask a definite TEN because of comfort and protection.
Conclusion: Buy this Mask, you wont be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

proto face Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
jt alpha - didnt fog with anti-fog solution, i would still use it if it didnt hurt my face...
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
12'' lapco bigshot barrel
20 oz. pure energy co2
12 vt revolution hopper w/x-board
some mods i did to the trigger

Strengths: -comfortable
-great field of vision
-EASY TO REPLACE LENSE
-rubber area allows bounces
-never fogged
Weaknesses: -Larger profile (can also be a good thing)
-Heavy
-Slight imperfection (probably only mine though)
Review: -STRENGTHS--------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------

-COMFORTABLE! i used to use a jt alpha wathever mask from wal-mart. i didnt mind the restricting view and the non thermal lense since i had an anti fog solution, but the mask was just too darn uncomfortable. the proto switch mask is so much better. now im able to focus on the game and not my cheek bones! keep in mind though that i can only compare this to the jt alpha. so other masks out there might be as comfortable. the switch mask has a soft foam that consists of a thick layer of very soft foam and a thinner layer of stiffer foam allowing the mask to feel as if its molding onto your face. the foam is located around the goggle as usual and a little behind the top of your ears.

-the switch has a very great field of vision. when comparing it to my brothers spectra mask it does have a slightly smaller view, but not so much as to actually make a difference. parts that are smaller than the spectra are at the top right in between your eyes (which only slightly restricts your view of the sun), and all the way on the sides where it would hurt to turn your eyes to anyways.

-the lense is very easy to replace. to take off the lense, you have to remove the strap from the back of the mask and then piviot the locks that the ends of the strap are connected to upwards. then you have to pop the locks out of the mask frame (i had trouble with this at first but after doing it a few times it will break in and become easier to pop out, just make sure you pivot them all the way upwards before trying to do so) after you got the locks out, you pivot the goggle frame downwards, take it off the masks frame and the lense comes right out. putting the lense back in is even easier than taking it out.

-the rubber area around the mouth area (black) is made of rubber which allows possible bounces-

-the lense is thermal. it has never fogged on me yet

-WEAKNESSES-------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------

-its a little heavier than most other masks available, but in a game, youll barely notice it.

-the larger profile means that your a bigger target than with other masks but it also means you have more protection. the mask isnt all that much larger than others anyways.

-i noticed a slight imperfection in the shape of the mask. the bottom of the left side is bent a little more outwards than the other side but its not noticable unless you stare at it. it might only be mine anyways, i doubt that all of them are the same way.
Conclusion: great mask for the price. i would recomment this to anyone whos looking for a mask for around $65, wants good protection, and likes how the mask looks. but if you dont mind having only a soft layer of foam covering you ears, and dont mind having to deal with the difficuty of taking off a jt lense, then i would say to check out the jt proflex as its in the same price range. and if you dont mind spending about $30 more, i would suggest checking out the v-force profiler. it has the absolute best field of vision, the smallest profile (which also means minimal protection) , and in most peoples opinions (including mine) it looks the best.

i give the proto switch a 10 considering what you get for its PRICE and the EASE of taking off the lense.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 5th, 2005 at 11:58 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

nodnarB86 Friday, July 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Badboy, various brass eagles masks (shudder), dye invision (tiny)
Marker Setup: A-5 and slightly modded Delta 68
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: This mask is hands down the best I have ever used. It never fogs on me, has great visibility and hearing, and looks great. It also fits very well, and covers the face well while still bouncing paintballs off of the mask. I have the olive model which is grand for woods play, and they have some other good color choices for the less stealthy types.
Conclusion: The best mask I have ever used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media