paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask

Proto Switch Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 130
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A design that is equaled by none, the Switch patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is the most secure, simple, and ingenious system of its kind. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs, just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for then lens and frame to compress together while giving stability under the most sever of impacts. The split frame and lens is secured in place by right and left turn 1/4 buckle locking tabs (Patent Pending). Once assembled, the split frame system holds your lens securely in place while providing comfort and style. In addition, the revolutionary split frame system allows the user to change lenses in seconds. In order to change a lens simply turn the locking buttons to unlock the frame, remove the lens, plop in a new one, replace the frame and lock your tabs back in place. Changing lenses has never been easier. The Switch System comes standard with a clear triodial thermal lens. Seven different lens tints are currently available, all with the clarity of a jet fighter pilot lens. All Switch goggle systems come standard with a co-molded combination density mask for flex under play.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
                            
Insanepain Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Angel LCD, Halo B, 114ci 3000psi
Strengths: Everything this mask is the best
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: This mask is the best it is the easiest to take the lens out of it. it is our team mask and eveyone on the team loves them.Once you get into Tourny paintball you should get this mask it is da bomb.We love this mask. You need to try a little to get the 1/4 twist off.
Conclusion: Awesome mask very wasy to see through
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 24th, 2004 at 12:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

To2lyNsane Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Axiom fx/10 - Proto looks better but is a bit heavier.
JT Proteus II - Proto offers better coverage but the Proteus is like your not even wearing a mask.
Marker Setup: A-5
14in J&J Ceramic
E-Grip
Sub Zero x chamber
D.O.P. RVA
Raised sight rail
Big Drop
Strengths: Very durrable! . Super clear lens. Great looks and a great fit. Thermal lens.
Weaknesses: None really, A tad heavier than the proteus
Review: This mask is GREAT! I just sold my Axiom to get one of these and kept the Proteus as a back up. The mask has a good fit and wont move around on your head when you move. The bottom of the mask is flexable rubber to increase bounces from those pesky head shots. The lens is a dual pane thermal that has yet to fog on me and MAN is it clear! I Bought the JT axiom for the quick change lens feature which was quicker than any other mask I have owned but not all that easy. The Proto's quick change system is better by far. Turn the strap about a 1/4 turn on both sides and the strap comes off. Once strap is revoved, remove goggle fram and lens just comes right out. You can do it in less than a minute with great ease. Another thing I liked is that the visor seems to be very ridgid. It wont get all bent outta shape when you throw it in your gear bag. I hate having a tweaked out visor!!! = ) You can also get a fan and game timer for this mask but I have yet to try either out. They have just released them in several different colors including "olive green" which I think looks pretty sweet. As far as coverage goes, Its really just about right. Much more neck and chin coverage than the Proteus but not bulky like ...oh...say a JT Nvader or something which I have had and liked quite a bit actually.
Conclusion: Overall, a GREAT mask for a decent price...I paid about $65 for mine on eBay and have seen them in stores for around $70.00. I have only used it a few times so far so I'll have to see how the lens holds up over time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MADDSKULL Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision,jt flex,v force, ex...
Marker Setup: Evolution X with blade trigger, egg with z board, max flo 4500, dye proto switch mask
Strengths: Clear vision, easy to switch lenses, doesn't fog up great field of view.
Weaknesses: none
Review: I have been using this for aound 2 months now since it came out. havent had 1 prablem with it yet. doesnt fog up and it has the best vield of vision from any mask i have ever used. its very hard to distinguish ur real vision and when ur looking throught he actual goggles. switching the lenses is a brease just a quarter turn and ur done.great prodect alot cheaper then the inivison go get this insted.
Conclusion: Go out and get this mask its worth the money. alot better then the invision in every aspect!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blkbelt Sunday, April 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
rental masks, JT Invader, and Scott.
Marker Setup: Imagine Spyder green
CP one peice barrel '14 black.
CO2 w/anti-siphon.
Dye Sticky grips
Revolution loader
toxic green slasher trigg.
shocktech delrin bolt.
Strengths: the sponge felt great in the mask. size. comfort. and price.
Weaknesses: none, only a difference. the shape of the mouth shield feels different from my Invader.
Review: one of the best masks that i liked with the comfort and looks. if this mask was 90 dollars i probably would still buy it. the round googles made it very appealing. it gave me a road worrior look. thats if you seen the movie.
if you have a big head then this mask is really for you. i have a big square head. and its one of best ones for me. most of the higher end masks barely cover the jaw line. this one slightly goes beyond that. and it has that flex feel so ball will bounce off.
Conclusion: this mask rocks looks good feels good. there were other masks that looked great. most of the higher end JT masks felt really great and look cool too but what changed my mind from JT to the Switch was the 15 dollar difference. i liked them all but cash tends to be the be all end all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tbizz Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Cheap $30 mask The strap was waaay too small for my fat head and made the mask hurt after a day of ball

JT Whippersnapper....anyone remember those?? hehe
Marker Setup: ||B2K||14"Boomstick||Shocktech Bolt||LP Cocker Spring||
Hyper Regulator||Macdec Sonic LPR||MacDevRed Valve|| Mag trig mod||Halo B||Centerflag Reg||
Strengths: Looks
Comes with a mask bag
comfortable
Easy lens to remove
Weaknesses: Ummm....price? maybe
Review: I was in the market fr a new mask and after looking and trying out the other ones on the market I decided to go with the Proto Switch. The Switch thing wasnt even what sold me, it was the comfort. The pads on th inside are really comfortable and the strap is big enough for my large head. I like the JT Proflex too but the side parts being as flimsy and pretty much the same price, I like the Proto better. Unlike the pther Dye mask this one covers more of your chin, but still allows you to scream pretty clearly.
Conclusion: Overall a very nice mask, try it on before you buy another mask, you'll like it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaRkOne510 Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Mask
Marker Setup: WGP V-Feed 03' Autococker, Ricochet Apache Loader, Physco Ballistics Drop Forward, 20oz Anti-Siphon
Strengths: Great vision, non fogging, looks, easy maintenance
Weaknesses: none
Review: This mask has such a great lens that it seems like it isn't even there. Cleaning the lens is easy, just turn the switches and pop it out. The mask has good coverage overall, no open areas like the Invision. The strap is adjustable, so wearing head protection is possible with this mask. The Switch has no sharp edges encouraging bounces.
Conclusion: Get this, masks should be your number 1 priority when it comes to spending $, you can't go wrong with this, great vision, looks, coverage, and no key weaknesses.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tolgak Saturday, March 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Winchester Panoram: Came with my 98 Custom) Worst mask that I've ever tried on. I'm disappointed in you Scott...

Tested: DYE Invision, JT nVader, V-Force Shield
Marker Setup: 98 Custom with Flatline and Homemade Stock
A-5 with Rt and LAPCO Bigshot
Coming soon: PGP
Strengths: Clear lens
Rubber visor and lower mask
Full face coverage
More in Review
Weaknesses: Just a bit on the heavy side.
Not the most compact mask.
Review: I bought this mask a while ago because my Winchester mask was poo. I have to say that the Switch is the greatest mask that I've ever used. In my first game with it, it performed better than I expected.

The lens is so clear that it feels like there's no lens at all. And it doesn't fog (unless it's really hot and humid like it always is here in Florida. The lens area is separated on the bottom from the lower part by foam. Removing it is so simple a 2 year old can do it. First you raise the visor. Then you twist the goggle strap connections forward and pull them out. Then the frame around the lens opens like it's on a hinge and the lens just pops out. The lens that comes with it is thermal.

The foam is heavenly. You can tighten the strap so that it's snug, but the foam is still able to contract like it's a spring and soften even the hardest blows. It also has foam on the ears.

The strap is also very smooth and I would imagine that it would be comfortable even for a bald guy.

Paint bounces off the rubber parts away from the user. It covers below your chin.

Breathing in is very easy. Breathing out is not as good but it's better than in every other mask. In the POS Winchester mask, even though it was very open on the sides and had large holes, you still couldn't breathe.

Looks: On the outside it has a very smooth look. Very few sharp corners. If you thought the pictures looked good, go to a proshop and see it in person, it's awesome.

The only weaknesses are that it's just a bit heavier than normal, and it's not very compact. It doesn't matter to me though, I play mostly woods.
Conclusion: I think this is one of the best masks out there. At most major online stores right now, it's about $64, a great price for the newer players, yet good enough for the pros.

Definately look into this or the V-Force Shield of you want the best mask for a good price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big Head93 Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt, Scotts, Dye, you name it I have it!
Marker Setup: Full Nickle RT PRO ULE
Strengths: Vision
Weaknesses: A big nothing!
Review: First trip with this mask was amazing!! I've yet to wear a mask that had as much vision, and was as stream line as this mask! Get the yellow lens, you won't regret it! There is not one thing to improve on, you don't even need a fan in this one, no fog!!
Conclusion: If you need a new mask, don't waste your time and money on anything else. This is the mask to buy!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gilman Monday, February 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT-Nvader
Marker Setup: 40 BKO with 12" CP Barrel, Dead On Drop, Macdev Low rise, Halo TSA Backman
Strengths: Field of view, Comfort, Flexable, Easily dismantled for cleaning.
Weaknesses: Not made for glasses.
Review: This mask is outstanding. I saw it at World Cup in Orlando, FL and knew I wanted on as soon as they were available. I saw no real drawbcks other than you can't wear glases with them. The field of view was great, the air flow was great, I had no fogging at all, it is flexable so it promotes bounces, and of course it looks really cool.
Conclusion: Excellent mask, easier to maintain then the Dye Invision, same price as the Invision, gives a hair more ching & neck protection than the Invision. Get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SleepCurent Friday, December 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision, Jt n-vader
Marker Setup: Mars Evo Gold, 20 oz tank, Evlution II hopper
Strengths: It's very streamline, increadable lens, nie fit, price is perfect in my opionion
Weaknesses: none that I have seen so far.
Review: This product is extreamly streamline in apperance and fits snuggly to my head. The Lens on this mask is incredable! It's very ddifficult to distinguish between the lens and your normal vision (nearly impossible). I used the mask without an anti-fog liquid and it still barely fogged. It cleared once i had finished exhaling allmost immediatly. The lens feature is very nice. It pops out with a turn of a switch for easy cleaning. However, it makes me uncomfortable that it comes out so easily.
Conclusion: I would strogly recomend this mask! It's way better then the Invision and costs less. The lens will blow your mind. The field of vision is outstanding and the fit it has on ur head holds firm and allows no movement or a risk of falling off.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media