paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask

Proto Switch Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 130
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A design that is equaled by none, the Switch patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is the most secure, simple, and ingenious system of its kind. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs, just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for then lens and frame to compress together while giving stability under the most sever of impacts. The split frame and lens is secured in place by right and left turn 1/4 buckle locking tabs (Patent Pending). Once assembled, the split frame system holds your lens securely in place while providing comfort and style. In addition, the revolutionary split frame system allows the user to change lenses in seconds. In order to change a lens simply turn the locking buttons to unlock the frame, remove the lens, plop in a new one, replace the frame and lock your tabs back in place. Changing lenses has never been easier. The Switch System comes standard with a clear triodial thermal lens. Seven different lens tints are currently available, all with the clarity of a jet fighter pilot lens. All Switch goggle systems come standard with a co-molded combination density mask for flex under play.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
goodnsmall Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
DYE INVISION 3
JTs
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
CP 1 piece barrel
CP on/off ASA
CCM Feed Neck
Java Carbon Fiber 68Tank
Halo B
Strengths: VERY PROTECTIVe
VENTALATION
COLOR; OLIVE, GOOD CAMo
MATERial
SECURENESS
THERMAL LENSES
Weaknesses: HARD TO CLEAn
MANY HOLEs
Review: I LIKe My MASk. ITs OLIVe GrEEN. IT WIlL PROtECT YoU PrETTY wELL. It CAn GEt HARd WEn YOU'Re PLAYINg SPEEDBALl BECAUSe THe MAIn PLACe YOu GEt SHOt At Is YOUr FACe, So It CAn gET HARd To CLEAn. THe VENTALATIOn Is GREAt, BUt CAn LEAd To GETTINg A LOt Of PAINt Up YOUr MOUTh. I LIKe HOw It DOESNt GEt FOGGEd Up, UNLESs YOu GEt SHOt It WILl ALWAYs SMEAr. It HAs A SMALl PROFILe, KINDa, So YOu WONt Be As EXPOSEd. TOTAl COVERAGe Of YOUr FACe.
Conclusion: It will prtect your face pretty well.As i said it has sort of a small profile so you wont be exposed. #1 NECESSITY FOR PAINTBALL
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DynastyShockViz Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
profiler
invision i3
Marker Setup: Dust Red Angel Speed 05, Hybrid Grind push on/off ASA
(soon to have)
STD indutries LPR volumizer
Bunkerking grips
CP barrel kit with red mamba stiffi tip
and other ups

Also:
Red 05 Shocker with Predator Break Beam eyes with red LED and predator 5.0 code board, red/black Hybrid R-Drive 2 Reg, hybrid 06 lady grips, hybrid push on/off
Strengths: Blocks paintballs from hitting your eyes and face
Looks for scenerio ballers
Weaknesses: Lens
Design
Looks for the tourney scene
Lens changing
Review: ok i bought this mask awhile ago for a big game event , me and my dad both purchased one and he has recently bought a dye invision i3 but i cant not afford a new mask yet so i have been stuck with these crap pile, first of IMO it looks retarded for tourney players but cool for woodballers, impossible to get clean again if u get shot in the face. mine kept fogging today i took the lense out for a thorough cleaning and it would fog just from being in my hands *no joke*, it is hard to change the lens for them braggin how easy it is thats BS, i took the "antifog"(as they call it) part of lens out and obviously it fogged but no worse then it did all together. all in all this mask runined my day of play and it is also very heavy compared to any mask out there. IMO i hate this mask for sup'air or speedball but it might be great for woodsball since i see all these scenerio paintballers with them
Conclusion: Not a good buy it fogged the first day i bought it and today it just went to hell. i'll give it a two for the 6 months it lasted and kept playing and blocking paintballs from plucking out my eyes
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

evil101 Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
The SKUL mask (made by game face)
rental
JT flex 7
Marker Setup: Syndicate Misfit
Halo tsa frontman led
12oz CO2
Strengths: Fits
Chin strap
Fan
Thermal lens
Flexy mouth cover
Looks
Compact
Weaknesses: None
Review: This mask is great, you can actually feel the fan working and its not that loud. It fits my head perfectly and it never gets loose or anything I recomend it for any player. The chinstrap keeps it on and the fron covers my chin perfectly and gets bounces. GO BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Like I said its great GO BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannnewb Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
whinchester panoram? :\
Marker Setup: stock custom pro
Strengths: -Doesn't fog
-Lots or vison
-Soft rubber
-Comfortable
Weaknesses: -Price tag (110$ cdn)
-Heavy
Review: well i just bought this mask from the place down the street and i love it however it cost me alot but it made up for it in how much it fogged,i live in canada and its January and i didn't like 5 laps around my house,didn't fog in the slightest bit,and i could see everything cus of the large Field of view ,it has pretty soft rubber so it will get alot of bounces but with all the rubber its pretty heavy,don't keep ur head down for too long or it will get pretty sore,but then again im only like 14,for the older person it shouldn't be a problem
Conclusion: I would reccomend this mask to anyone that has the money,it doesnt fog and it works great
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gwapingn8 Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
only have used a few googles before
Marker Setup: 2004 autococker
empire reloader
32 degreee drop forward with on/off push button.
delrin bolt
16 smart parts progressive barell
Strengths: Nice fit. Very clear view. Price is reasonable. Easy to clean and replace parts.
Weaknesses: Trying to find a replacement lens was quite a challenge, otherwise it's good.
Review: i used this product maybe about 4 or 5 times this past year.
and on all games i played, i played the whole day.

NOT A SINGLE TIME did this goggles fog up. NONE at all.
even during that specific day that we played it was only (+5 C) out there
quite cold if you ask me. and we sweat and sweat like hell. COLD WEATHER plus
STEAM from SWEATING bodies is a perfect recipe for a FOOGY conditions.
even on our way to the game site, (it was arnold parintball) near the mountains.
some areas there was fogged up. given this conditions, I would proudly say that,
this GOGGLES did not FOGGLES! hehehehehe... i had clear vision the whole day.
needless to say i rocked that day, because i had a clear vision in where people are hiding.

no more of those.... syiet! my goggles are fogging up, cover me buddy i have to clean this first.. and put yourself in peril of getting hit while your goggles are off (like some of my idiot friends does)
Conclusion: i am sure that i will be using this goggles for a while, until
perhaps a better product comes out. for a reasonable price.

and hey did i mention. i only got this goggles for 30 bucks,
the vendor made a mistake and accidentally shipped me
the more expensive FS SWITCH instead of what i ordered
EL proto.. so i got lucky! AMAZING GOGGLES for sure!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 30th, 2005 at 7:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prozachjunkie Saturday, December 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT head shield
Marker Setup: TES with:
BL Torpedo
Psyhco Ballistics drop forward
Psyhco Ballistics Clamping feed neck
ShockTech Bolt
Eggy
Strengths: Comfortable
Lense
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: This mask is really comfortable i like the way it feels. The lense is really nice it doesnt fog up on u like other lenses do. It is easy adjust the size for it to fit on ur head. The lenses are easy to replace if u have to replace them.
Conclusion: Very nice mask. One of the nicest for the money i wouldnt get anything else.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Maj. Morninwood Tuesday, December 13th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra - Even this old thing is a thousand times better than the proto.
JT Flex 7 - At least it got bounces
JT Proflex - current setup and loving it.
Dye Invision - High dollar proto - doesn't fog as badly, but still not worth it.
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed, Evolve V2, Halo B V35, Crossfire 92-4500, Scepter barrel kit, and Stiffi Switch kit.
SP Nerve, Halo B, Crossfire 68-4500, Freak kit
WGP Pro Karnivor, Kaner kit and Halo B
Strengths: Covers head well, good vision (when you can see), easy lens change.
Weaknesses: Fogs terribly, heavier than others, very bulky, glasses wearers beware.
Review: Well, I guess they call it proto because they are testing out their prototype on people before releasing the quality product later. Sort of like a Beta release of a microsoft product, just wish there was a service pack update to correct all the problems with this mask.

I bought this to replace an older Flex 7 and Spectra Pro (both of which lasted for many many years of play.) I guess I had fallen into the hype of everything Dave Youngblood releases as much as all the other schmucks who thing DYE can do no wrong. Lately I have seen too many things manufactured by DYE that did do anything revolutionary other than to clean out my bank account. DYE has definitely created a cult following with the belief they manufacture quality products, and that was the case back in 1998-2000, but now it seems they are more about the almighty dollar and less about customer satisfaction. The Proto mask was nothing short of a complete disaster. I do wear glasses and it would have been nice to say that the Proto would allow this, but the mask fits so close to your eyes, there is no chance to get even a piece of paper between the goggle and your face. Also, the nose is very tight and really pinches because the ergonomics do not fit anyone other than those with the smallest faces. I purchased the fan with the proto mask in hopes I could wear my glasses as I have with all my JT's and even my friends profiler I borrowed, but this was to no avail. But it doesn't really matter anyway, the fan is worthless as well. Something else that DYE overlooked. The fan is merely a noisemaker and I have blown more air when I break wind than this thing dished out. Even with the thermal lenses of the FS series, you couldn't help from fogging. I don't know if you can really call it fogging though, more like widely scattered showers in the forecast. Within 5 minutes of having the googles on, even on dry days the goggles look line they are raining in between the layers. And don't say it is a bad lens. I have three lenses for this thing, a blue to clear fade, a smoke to clear, and an all clear, each purchased at seperate times and different retailers and they all rain condensation badly. The mask just does not offer enough venting to clear out the sweat and breath. However, I understand this is marketed as the lower line from the DYE invision so it is designed for the amateur or beginner player or moderate pro, but I would still expect more from these. The DYE invision fogs up almost as badly, so I would blame it on poor R&D regarding the ventilation. Furthermore, cleaning these things is an absolute pain. Thank goodness for the rapid lens change because it allows me to take the lens out to wipe it down completely. It cannot be wiped out in the field without smearing rendering the googles utterly useless. The foam is also the sorriest excuse for comfort I have seen. Nothing compares to the wetex foam of JT or the dual density foam used by V-force, empire, and others. The foam might as well be like burbur carpet against your forehead, it is very irritating, does not collect sweat very well, and has no real plush softness. It compacts so much your head is actually rubbing the hard plastic. Also, the glue is very weak. I have to carry super glue or gorilla glue with me all the time to re-attach the foam as it comes off just about every time I remove my mask. This has also happened to three other teammates who opted for the Proto. Right now, only one of my teammates is still using it as well. The only thing the Proto mask does do right is protection, which thank god you have, because you certainly won't be able to see anyone attacking you with as poor as the visibility becomes in this thing. I hate to put down a product this much, especially since I have used DYE products in the past, I owned a DM4 and a Dye Reflex Autococker for years, but the quality control has lapsed in all of their products. I know I am going to get flamed for saying that, but I don't care. I am in my late twenties and not some immature teenager who has to have his mommy buy him everything he wants. When you have to work hard for the money you have, you hate to see it go towards a product that has such low quality and a poor return on your investment. The proto switch FS is nothing spectacular and the flaws greatly outweigh the advantages of the quick change lens, but I know it won't matter to the pballers who must own everything that says DYE on it just for the heck of it. This has become such a over-commercialized sport, I am expecting Old Navy and Abercrombie & Fitch to start marketing it as well. As long as people keep biting their tongues on poor products for fear of being flamed for telling the truth, junk like this will continue to get manufactured.
Conclusion: For those of you who want a quality mask at a decent price, there are much better choices. JT, the new Empire E-Vents, V-Force Profiler, and even some of the offerings from Scott have better visibility than this mask did and much better comfort. Save your money and maybe the next (Proto)type will have the bugs worked out. We could always call it Proto Switch Service Pack 2 instead of FS which for me right now means...For Sale!
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

patentpending Monday, November 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
proflex and invision
Marker Setup: 2003 angel speed
CP barrel
Cobra trigger
a4 soft face bolt
KAPP rail
KAPP on/off asa
91/3000 ACI bulldog 3 HP
minireg mod
Strengths: Quick lens changes, looks good
Weaknesses: A bit pricey, lenses are weak
Review: I love this mask to death, but the stock lens(yes, the lens on it is a antifog) fogs up easily, and scratches easily. I switched it out for a smoke lens and I don't have the same problem anymore. lens changes are quick and easy, and the mask looks great, but the price seems a bit high.
Conclusion: I think that if you are looking for a new mask, you should definitely look into this one because it is a great mask, but some people don't like how it looks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarCry Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra, Flex 7, Proteus,
Dye Invision
Extreme Rage 20/20
Marker Setup: '05 Prostock
E2
Dye Boomstick
CP Reg
CCM Feedneck
Halo B
68/4500 PE Tank
Strengths: Large field of view
Bouncy
Ventilation
No Fog
Quick lens removal
Weaknesses: A little glare (not a big deal)
Review: When I first got the mask, I went paintballing the next day. At first I was slow to take out the lens, but I have mastered it now. This is the best thing that I have ever spent my money on for paintballing. There s a little glare with the clear lens, but you don't notice it after a while.
Conclusion: This is the best mask that I have ever used, it is so practical and it looks cool.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

schmoo Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Many, all superior to this one.
Strengths: Very comfortable
Excellent coverage
Excellent field of view
Weaknesses: Condensation between thermal panes
Review: This is a very comfortable mask with full coverage, an excellent field of vision, great ventilation and breathability. However, the seal between the lens panes seems very poor and spontaneously becomes unglued, resulting in rivers of condensation between the lens panes, rendering the mask unusable. After my second lens replacement exhibited the same issue, forcing me into borrowing a rental mask yet again, I reluctantly gave up on this product and purchased that of a competitor.
Conclusion: This mask has so much potential, but the thermal lens seal problem kills it. If you can't see, a mask is useless. Avoid this product.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media