paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask

Proto Switch Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 130
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A design that is equaled by none, the Switch patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is the most secure, simple, and ingenious system of its kind. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs, just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for then lens and frame to compress together while giving stability under the most sever of impacts. The split frame and lens is secured in place by right and left turn 1/4 buckle locking tabs (Patent Pending). Once assembled, the split frame system holds your lens securely in place while providing comfort and style. In addition, the revolutionary split frame system allows the user to change lenses in seconds. In order to change a lens simply turn the locking buttons to unlock the frame, remove the lens, plop in a new one, replace the frame and lock your tabs back in place. Changing lenses has never been easier. The Switch System comes standard with a clear triodial thermal lens. Seven different lens tints are currently available, all with the clarity of a jet fighter pilot lens. All Switch goggle systems come standard with a co-molded combination density mask for flex under play.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
DarkeWolf Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
various v-force masks- armor, profiler, and a rental.
Marker Setup: what difference does it make? this is a review for a mask
Strengths: Comfort, Protection, Anti-fog, Field-of-view
Weaknesses: Re-assembly, Foam, Cost
Review: This is a review of the Proto Switch FS (Full Sport) masks, not the lower priced, lower value EL (Entry Level) mask.
The Highest selling point of the Switch, is the way that the lenses are changed. I gotta say, that yes...they are VERY easy to take out. And they stay together very well, with no worries of them coming apart in the middle of a game.
*Putting them back together, is a bit of work, till you get used to how to do it. You've got to get that curved retaining peg in there just so, at just the right angle, and then push down; to get outside frame back into place PROPERLY. So that it fits the way that it is supposed to, and not be loose against the lenses. And the locking pieces, attached to the straps, take some breaking in before they will go back into place without feeling like you are forcing them in.
Some people say that this is a big mask. Its not that bad. It doesnt get in my way, when I shoot...at all.
*It stays put, and is comfortable. I've put this thing on and moved in just about every way possible that I can think of, and when I've got the strap tightened correctly, it does NOT move. I moshed with this thing on, and it barely traveled. With some other masks that I've worn, I was constantly moving them around on my face, trying to find a spot where they were comfortable. This mask only takes an adjustment or two and then hey...its good.
*Now...the BIG question. Does it Fog? I put this thing to what I consider an extreme test. I put it on a maniquin head, put it on a stool beside the bathtub, and took a REALLY hot shower. I had it as hot as I could stand it.
When I got outta the shower, the whole room was steamed up. the mirror, the chrome railings, and the chrome trim. everything. EXCEPT this mask.
Before I even grabbed a towel to dry off, I pulled it off the head, and put it on. The outside lense instantly fogged up. I'm not sure if I was surprised or not, since this thing had been subject to a LOT of moisture and humidity.
I grabbed a towel and wiped it off. One swipe, and it was all gone. That cheered me up somewhat. Still wearing it, I toweled off, and came back into my room. 10 minutes later, it still hasnt fogged back up. Inside, or out. I was impressed.
*Field of view- its pretty good. I can see to the side, ALMOST to the edge of my peripheral vision.
*Protection- I've got a long jaw. I've been hit in the jaw once, wearing the v-force profiler. The Switch comes down far enough past my face at the bottom that I'd have to have my head tilted to get shot in the face. And the sides fully protect the ears, and quite a bit of the sides of the head, and even parts of the back of the head.
*strap- the strap stays put when I put it on. It doesnt come loose, like some of them do, and have to re-tighten the strap, once you've got the mask on.
* I've got four piercings in my left ear. Every time I would put on the rental vforce, it would snag my ear. I had to pull the sides out quite a ways to get it not to catch on an earring. And then, I'd have to tighten it back up once I had it on, because the strap would come loose. This Switch is pretty much just like putting on a hat. I just put it on. No fuss with my ears. The foam there is comfortable too.

-Now for the bad-

*Even when fully put back together, the lenses dont look quite right. You can see where the spacer is, between the lenses. Makes it look kinda cheap. But I guess if you play outdoors a lot you could get smoked or mirrored lenses.
*The foam is kinda scratchy at first, if you've got sensitive skin. But after its been worn a few times, and "broken in" then it doesnt bother at all.
*Putting it back together the first few times, until you get used to it, is a chore.
*While they don't scratch up really bad, I've got a few scratches on them, that I dont think should be there, so I'm gonna say that the lenses are made up of a slighly soft plastic.
Conclusion: All around, if I was going to buy another mask, I'd buy another one of these. I dont like the v-force masks because of how they leave parts of the face exposed. And how I am constantly adjusting them. This one stays in place, and is really hard to fog up.
Its a great mask, and I like it a lot.
I'm giving it an 8, because learning to put it back together correctly, is a pain. Till you learn how to do it. And to me, the lenses could be made to be a little more scratch resistant. Even tho they aren't bad. And because there is just a very very slight gap between the frame that holds the lenses in place and the lenses at the very bottom. Even when put on correctly.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 11th, 2005 at 8:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dockman Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra, JT Flex 7 Ize, JT Whipper Snapper, V Force Sheild, various other JT and Scott masks.
Marker Setup: Black ISC Phantom
-Pun Dual Rod Undercocking
-Pun speed block
-WWA Frantom 2 with SS inserts
-CCI Adjustable Stock
-CCI Drop Out Changer
-Red Dot Sights

Prolite, VM68, 3357
Strengths: Comfortable, very comfortable.
Great coverage
Fits over my glasses
Easy lense change
Weaknesses: Tad heavier than other masks (not a big issue)
Review: Having used god knows how many masks over the 11 years I have been playing I can honestly say this is one of the most comfortable masks I have had the pleasure to own.

The quality of the mask is great, everything fits perfectly and looks good. The dual layer foam is some of the best foam I have seen on a mask making for a nice fit even around my larger than normal head. The lower section of the mask is nice and flexable but still firm enough to not loose its shape easily but still get a bounce or two.

The mechinism to remove the mask can be a bit of a struggle to get used to at first but once you know what to do it is pretty easy, it takes me about 20 seconds to change the lense for me.
Conclusion: Great mask for the money, if you are looking for a new mask with great quality, that is very comfortable, and easy lense change this is a mask you should look into.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 29th, 2005 at 2:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ViolentT Friday, March 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
When i first played paintball, I rented masks, I then got my tippmann package, and used a Vforce standard. i have also used Invisions, Profiler, and JT Proflex, (very soft);
Marker Setup: Tipmmann 98 Custom, CMI Tru-Flite 14'' Sniper Barrel, 12volt Revy with Xboard, Expansion Chamber, Crossfire 47/3000 PSI Nitrogen Tank Soon to be coming ( Smart Parts Ion, Egg or Halo B, Freak Jr. or Freak, and Crossfire 45/4500 psi tank)
Strengths: Its very confortable, easy to clean, and the lens are very clear and fog resistant.
Weaknesses: When you first try to take out lenses it is kinda tough
Review: I was sick of using S**T masks, so i worked up enough store credit at my local field by reffing and i bought a proto mask, it was cheap too for such a good mask, it cost thirty-four dollars. Its very fog resistant. I was amazed at how much better I played with a good mask. I still use it now even though I have enough to go get a profiler. I think this is a great mask for the money.
Conclusion: I think this is a great mask for the money and any paintballer who is looking for a really good mask or cheap mask, should look into buying this.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer801 Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt-Pro Flex
Dye Invision
V-Force Profiler
Lots of Cheap Goggles
Strengths: Good Looks
Feel Good
Sleek
Durable
No fog
Perfect Price
Weaknesses: None that I can think of
Review: To me these are the best goggles ever. There good for speed ball becouse of the sleek shape. They are pretty much imposible to fog up. I breathed up into the lense when the weather was about 32degrees and they did not fog at all. The two layer foam makes them feel good. Since they have DYE styling the look great. The price is right too they are not too much like Jt-Pro Flex or Dye Invision but not so cheap they are cheap.
Conclusion: For the price and features this is the best googles you can get.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sweden2 Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
rental mask, name unknown
Marker Setup: odyssey o3m, pure energy 48/3000 HPA, brass eagle 200 gravity
Strengths: Comfort, you see a lot, nice lens, it never fogs, and good looks.
Weaknesses: It makes me sweat on sunny days.
Review: This is a very good mask it has soft things on the ears which gives more comfort I've used my brothers mask and it is not a good feeling with no ear things. this was the first mask I ever got and the last one I will ever have. I think you should get a sun-protection lens because it's very annoying with sunscreen.
Conclusion: Buy this mask if you have a price range between $60-80 bucks you'll love it and it has a chin strap so it doesn't fall of
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Psycho_warden Thursday, February 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Nvader
JT Spectra
Marker Setup: Acid Black/Blue Stock Class Phantom
Strengths: Comfortable, Very good vision, No fog, Lens Removal
Weaknesses: Price, chin strap
Review: I got this mask. They shipped it very quickly and all that good stuff. Now onto the review. The mask I ordered was Black and Blue, to match my new Phantom. The colors look very good on the mask. And the visor just adds to the looks. The lense is one of the best points of the mask. It allows for a very good view of the field. I cant even see the sides where the lense meets the frame. The lense that comes with it is a double thermal clear lense. I took the mask off and breathed into the inside of the mask to see if I could get it to fog, but no luck, the anti-fog concept works very well. The bottom part of the mask is soft enough to allow the occasional bounce while keeping you in the game, but protects very well. The mask breaths really well and has good ventalation. I am wearing it right now and have been for about 30 minutes, and no fogging or breathing problems yet. The lense removal is very quick and simple once you get it down. I have two lenses for it, the clear one and a chrome mirrored one. If you get gogged, go to your bag and do a quick change of lense, and your back on the field in less than 5 minutes. This mask is very comfortable, and I have a pretty big head, it does put a slight pressure on my nose, but my nose is huge, thats what happens from breaking it three times.

There are only two problems that I could find in this mask, and both are not that bad. One is the price, I got this mask for $75 shipped, but this mask is a very good mask and is worth it, plus the DYE Invision and V-Force Profiler are more. Second is the chin strap on this mask, but all masks are required to have this now ever since someone had their mask "fly off" on the field.
Conclusion: A very good solid mask. Good for big heads and has never fogged on me. Comfortable and quick lense change.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 17th, 2005 at 11:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LongBall83 Thursday, February 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NVader, PMI, Brass Eagle, Dye invision
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 C with low pressure set up and flatline also Spyder Xtra with a teardrop and Dye Xcel
Strengths: Superior construction
Great range of sight
Comfortable
Easy to maintain
Good protection
Does not fog
Weaknesses: Tell you when I find one and I will be surprised
Review: I came by this mask out of necessity rather then want. My Dye Invision got crushed and had to get a new mask. This was the only one I had a choice of. To be honest, itís the best mask I have had ever. The best features are the ľ-turn lock system that holds the lens in place! This is unbelievable it is so quick and easy and beats any mask I have owned in cleaning and lens replacement. The field of vision is wonderful and the anti fog lens really works. The only time I had fog was when it was cold and raining and my face was exuding heat like crazy from running around. I believe the fan would solve this but then again I do not play in condition like that enough to make it worth buying! What can I say this mask is awesome!
Conclusion: To conclude this mask is worth the money it is easy to use and is adaptable to any condition you can thing of. One thing that I think would help is some more accessories from Proto like straps and goggles and other things of that nature
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lawnboi Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt masks, pmi, scott, invision
Marker Setup: b2k4 w/pds
evil detonator reg
halo b
crossfire 47/3000
Strengths: -Easy lens changing
-Good venting
-Comfortable
-Good protection
Weaknesses: -There a bit bulky but that is ok
Review: This is the best mask i have ever tried on. The lenses are of the best clarity and changing them is the easiest of all the masks i have ever seen. This mask has good venting so when you breath your hot breath wont bounce back up into your face. It is also one of the most comfortable masks i have ever worn, when im playing i cant even tell im wearing this mask.
Conclusion: Very good mask worth the money. If you have a junky mask get this one cause it is one of the best
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 21st, 2005 at 4:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smallTALK_snipe Friday, February 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
scott vectra-first mask -all u need is anti-fog its great
tried out jt nvader-pretty good but th proto system is SWEEEET
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5E
Teardrop barrel/ PMI Razzor
"Bandit" Bolt (Anti-chop)
72/4500 Nitro Duck Aluminum Preset Nitro
Viewloader eVolution II-w/Y-Board
Strengths: Lens changing, adjustable visor, sweet feel.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is an awesome mask. I jut got it the other day and I cant wait to play. I went snowmobiling with this on and it didnt fog. Thats a good sign. It fits awesome to my head. For $65 this is way better than a dye invision. This is the best mask to hit the market. Soon enough everyone will have one of these. As to the weight everyone is complaining about, WHO CARES. Your a wuss if you cant take a 2lb mask. Maybe im used to my football helmet o well. Save up your moneyfor this it is great.
Conclusion: Awesome mask, actually the best mask out there. Great price too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

okmijn Monday, February 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
dye invision, v force armour
Marker Setup: 2004 bko, eggII, pure energy 3000psi 72ci tank
Strengths: -Very comfortable
-Good protection
-Light
-Good vision
Weaknesses: -A bit to big
-Reflection between lenses
Review: I picked this mask up a week ago and I was amazed at the look of them and the comfort. I was wearing them around to house just to get used to them and I forgot the I was wearing them!! Then I went to dring my pepsi and I spilt it all over my shirt. The lenses are very clear, but you can see a little bit of a reflection, not that much but its there.
Conclusion: I recomend this mask to anyone just getting started or any tournement level player. I find this mask to be just as good as the dye invision if not better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media