paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask

Proto Switch Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 130
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A design that is equaled by none, the Switch patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is the most secure, simple, and ingenious system of its kind. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs, just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for then lens and frame to compress together while giving stability under the most sever of impacts. The split frame and lens is secured in place by right and left turn 1/4 buckle locking tabs (Patent Pending). Once assembled, the split frame system holds your lens securely in place while providing comfort and style. In addition, the revolutionary split frame system allows the user to change lenses in seconds. In order to change a lens simply turn the locking buttons to unlock the frame, remove the lens, plop in a new one, replace the frame and lock your tabs back in place. Changing lenses has never been easier. The Switch System comes standard with a clear triodial thermal lens. Seven different lens tints are currently available, all with the clarity of a jet fighter pilot lens. All Switch goggle systems come standard with a co-molded combination density mask for flex under play.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Beau Robinson Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision.
Marker Setup: Proto Switch with faded lens.
Strengths: Great view, easy to switch lens in and out, durable, looks, and is extremely comfortable.
Weaknesses: Have not found any.
Review: When I pulled my mask out of the box I kind of stared at it for a moment. I read the manual and took out the lens. When I first tried to put back in the it was a little hard. But after that it is really easy. I would reccomend one thing which is a faded lens so you can see in the sun. Though it isn't needed. The mask did extremely well. The only thing is, it is a little big. So you have to keep a very low profile.
Conclusion: My over all thought is that this mask is worth every cent. I would reccomend it to anyone. If you are thinking about buying one you should.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

young1 Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt proflex, profilers, dye invisions, 32degrees.
Strengths: Foam is good and low profilers. The lens come off easy.
Weaknesses: They fog up after alittle and they are muffle your voice.
Review: Proto switch goggles are nice goggles and the lens are easy to take off and clean but the lens fog up to easy at times so that and the goggles muffle the sound of your voice and its hard to communicate. The foam in the goggles are nice and the goggles are a nice fit.
Conclusion: These goggles are great but I wouldnt get them do to the fogging and muffle.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dragon 73 Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
v force masks-dont even come close
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X ,32 degrees large drop forward,clamping feed neck,32 degrees electronic grip frame with sweet spot trigger, J&J "14" barrel ,ACS Delrin Bolt, madman spring set and reloader ll hopper.
Strengths: No fog
GREAT foam
Fit
Clear lens
Rubber visor and lower mask
Full face coverage
Weaknesses: Price
Just a tiny bit of a bigger profile
Review: Strengths-
Full face coverage: Unlike some mask's out there this actually protects your whole face and ears even when talking.

Fogging:I haven't experienced any fog with the mask even after hours of play.The lens and the ventilation of the mask prevent any fog from forming on the lens and interfering with your game!

Rubber visor and lower mask: The lower part and visor are made of a very strong and flexible rubber to allow bounce's if hit in that area.The mask around the ears and goggles is hard plastic however to protect your face and ears.

Foam:This mask has two layers of foam in it.The first layer is a rubbery squishy type of foam,while the second layer (the one that touches your face)is a soft spongy type of foam that can soften even the hardest of blows.

Fit: The mask "hugs" your face and doesn't move around at all even when running and diving/sliding.

Lens removal:This mask has the simplest and best lens removal system there is.You simply twist the straps with a 1/4 turn pull out the goggle frame and lift out the lens.It actually only takes a few seconds! But don't worry the lens can't come out by accident the straps LOCK it into place.

Looks:This is one of the coolest /best looking masks you can get.People really notice the looks of it.

Color's:The mask is available in blue,green,red,yellow,gray and black.

Weaknesses-
Profile:The mask has a tad of a bigger profile but it's not that big at all.It's about the same size of the Invision mask or even the V-force armor.However it actually protect's your whole face unlike mask's like the profiler which leaves whole sections uncovered.Trust me this mask is normal size and it's not that big.

Cost: The mask cost me a little over $100 CAN,but with type of quality I can't complain.
Conclusion: If you want a high quality mask with great protection,foam,looks and lens with no fogging problems then "make the switch".
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 6th, 2005 at 8:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rockerdoode Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I used a really crap PMI goggle that came with the gun package, I've upgraded guns and since I'm getting into more competitive play I decided to upgrade my mask as well.
Marker Setup: -Black 2004 BKO
-Shocktech Drop
-Empire ASA
-45/4500 Pure Energy tank
Strengths: Great Vision
VERY Comfortable
Weaknesses: Well, you do see your reflection, but no biggie.
Review: I got these for Christmas and wore them almost for an hour before my little brother punced on me and tore them off, I had forgotten I was wearing them. They are VERY comfortable and totally worth the price in my opinion. I went paintballing on the 26th and it was raining and cold, no fogging, at all...and i do a lot of running, so thats saying something.
Conclusion: As I said earlier, you DO see your reflection, but after a bit you can't even tell its there. Since it doesn't have like one of those heat sensors like in Predator I'm going to have to give this piece of work a nine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

es916 Saturday, December 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Java Mask, The cheap one
Most JT masks
Dye Invision (wow, I liked that one a lot too.)
Marker Setup: WGP 2002 Autococker
- Too Many Upgrades To List
2004 Angel Speed
- Stock for the most part but new barrel and halo b to come
- 68/3000 HPA Crossfire for the Cocker, and 68/45000 Crossfire LP for Angel
Strengths: Great Lense
Great for people with glasses
Lightweight
Weaknesses: None at all!!!!
Review: I have used a lot of different masks and I think that this one is the best, and I mean best, that I have ever used/owned. I love this mask because it never fogs on me and if it does then it wouldnt last more than 2 seconds before it clears. I wear glasses and these are the first mask that actually fit for me, they are so damn good for this. They weigh almost nothing and they look absolutly great. They cover everywhere they need to and wow... Just get this mask, you cant go wrong at all.


Conclusion: You would be a fool to get any other mask, maybe the dye invision but they are about the same i.m.o. If you want a set that will last you and work great, you cant beat these at all. This would get 20 but the scale is 10 so thats what I give it! Proto what a wonderful job you have done!!!!1
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theprotokid Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any thermal mask
Marker Setup: ProStock Autococker black, Apache Loader, 20oz A/s tank
Strengths: Doesnt fog
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy, but doesnt really bother me
Review: When I first got this mask, I was very impressed. Very nice look, nice visor and goggle bag that came with. There is really nothing to complain about except dont clean the inner lense with windex or anything harsh or the thermal coating will rub off.

Some people think it might be a little heavy, but doesnt really count as a weakness.
Conclusion: Get this mask if you have on good for you, if you dont buy one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

clintoballs15 Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
jt flex 7, invision, various rentals, vforce morph
Marker Setup: silver bullet
egg 2
20coz
4+4 redz dimension
Strengths: Comfort, no fog, stays on well
Weaknesses: Pinches the nose closed
Review: Great mask i highly recommend this mask to anyone who is looking to buy a new mask. I got it from my friend who won it at a pb 5man turney. one of the better deals in life. only paid 20 for a 70+ mask?
I use it in rain ,heat humidity and it never fogged on me once



BUY PROTO SWITCH if your too cheap to go out and buy a profiler which are the best ever
Conclusion: BUY it now
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MattCrepp Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT flex 7; JT proflex
Marker Setup: 03 Cold Fusion Cocker
AA Messiah
AA Armegedon
16'' boomstick
other stuff
Strengths: Good ear protection, easy lense clean
Weaknesses: Heavy, crushes my nose slighty even when properly adjusted
Review: First off I have a big head. Moving on the ventilation is really good and has never fogged, lenses are single layer so water between the lenses isn't a problem. Protects your ears very well cuz I always seem to get hit in the side of the goggle when going cross field for paintchecks while reffing. Goggle look really cool some people say i look like an insect if you think thats cool.
Conclusion: The Switch is a quality product and work just fine. If you your head doen't look like a big bowling ball. Make the Switch.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tybalt68 Friday, December 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt nvader, jt flex,
Marker Setup: spyder xtra, dye excel barrel, esp grip, shockteck superfly bolt, wdp spiral mini regulator, dye 70 ci HPA, and a egg on top. all chromed up and looking sexy.
Strengths: No problems with fogging, field of vision, ease in dismantling/cleaning, overall appearance.
Weaknesses: With the chrome lenses there are reflections inside the mask. you get use to it.
Review: this is an awesome set-up. well designed for performance on the field, stripping and cleaning off the field, and just in the way it looks. it's as easy to take them apart as they claim. a couple of twists and everything starts popping off. it's a little more difficult to put back together, getting the lenses to seat properly in the frame, but with a little practice that gets quite easy as well.

with the two-ply thermal lenses i've had no problems with fogging. they do tend to scratch, but hell, what doesn't?

it seems rather low profile which creates less things to get shot at, but that also means a little less coverage. it's give and take kind of thing, you'll have to decide what you're looking for. i'm happy with the balance of the proto.

the look and color choices are awesome, as are all the various lens styles. they might not be for rec or forest players, but everyone else will love them. go for the olive mask with chrome lenses for a nice master cheif/ halo type thing. i have the chrome lenses which rock on sunny days, and look the $H!T. however, they get so dark inside small reflections of light bounce of my stunningly sparkly eyes and back onto the inside of the lenses creating a bright spot or two that you have to get used to and learn to look through.

as nice little bonus, new lenses seem to have some sort of futuristic coating (dare i say teflon) on them that allows paint, at least cheaper/thinner paint, and water to roll right off like a car that was freshly waxed, making those pesky head shots a breeze to clean off.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this mask. it scores at least a 9 across the board in any catagory i can think of, and can even make me look sexy. I was the first on my team/crew to get a proto mask, but within two month almost everyone has one or has one on order.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eminem3159 Sunday, November 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT
Marker Setup: 03 shocker #623 , rip trigger, talon grip, dye sticky 3 grips, HE bolt, dynasty board w/vision, empire reloader b, max flo 68/45.
Strengths: Easy to clean
Don't fog outdoors
Wide view
Easy to Communicate
Weaknesses: People might not think there as good as the higher price goggles but they are!
Review: Pros:
Easy to clean
Don't fog outdoors
Wide view
Easy to Communicate
Padded
Comfortable
Lens removal
Looks

Cons:
People might not think there as good as the higher price goggles but they are!
May fog indoors (pretty rare)

I would definantly buy these whether you are a beginner or a pro everyone needs a clear view of their target right?
Conclusion: This is one of those must have upgrades. A player cannot perform if he/she cannot see their target!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media