paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask / Proto Switch Mask

Proto Switch Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 130
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A design that is equaled by none, the Switch patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is the most secure, simple, and ingenious system of its kind. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs, just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for then lens and frame to compress together while giving stability under the most sever of impacts. The split frame and lens is secured in place by right and left turn 1/4 buckle locking tabs (Patent Pending). Once assembled, the split frame system holds your lens securely in place while providing comfort and style. In addition, the revolutionary split frame system allows the user to change lenses in seconds. In order to change a lens simply turn the locking buttons to unlock the frame, remove the lens, plop in a new one, replace the frame and lock your tabs back in place. Changing lenses has never been easier. The Switch System comes standard with a clear triodial thermal lens. Seven different lens tints are currently available, all with the clarity of a jet fighter pilot lens. All Switch goggle systems come standard with a co-molded combination density mask for flex under play.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
xXblinkXegoXx Friday, November 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flex 7, Profiler.
Marker Setup: gold 2k3 shocker, dye stickys, freak kit, nitro, halo b, he bolt kit.
Strengths: comfortable,streamlined, nice looks, very adjustable, chinstrap feels NICE, as does the whole mask, vision.
Weaknesses: ummm... NONE!
Review: lets see. first off, this mask is COMFORTABLE. i didnt even know the mask had a chinstrap until i bought it, and it was a very very pleasurable suprise. i cannot tell you how much a difference a chinstrap makes in the stability of the mask as a whole, and the field of vision is superb. this mask fits like a glove, and the lens change is very easy, the first time might take you a minute, but once you know how to do it its about 30 seconds tops. this mask is all around great, its flexible, but not too flexible in the face, and the lens are very hard to scratch compared to flex 7's. in fact, i bought these to replace my flex 7s cuz the lenses kept cracking, and with the switches, they wont break for a long long time, and when they do, its a sinch to replace.
Conclusion: This is a superb all around mask as i have stated above. Ill keep it short and sweet, comfortable, affordable, clear.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonmichael Monday, November 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye mask
Marker Setup: dragun tes with 10 piece empire barrel kit halo b cross fire 68 4500 and 32degrees flame drop
Strengths: Good range of view very small very easy and fast to change lens
Weaknesses: Kinda hevy but you'll get used to it
Review: Its a very nice mask very comfortable very small and look good
and is very easy to switch lenses and clean lens
it is not the lightest mask out there but you'll get used to very fast and with all proto gear looks very good it comes with a chin strap wich dosen't bother me but some it will but it helps keep the mask on and it is very well paded all over the mask
Conclusion: Its very good and would recommend it to any one
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 15th, 2004 at 6:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Friday, November 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage X-Ray - A cheap mask that doesn't compare with the Switch.
I tested a JT Elite - Also not nearly as good.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-Grip, Flatline, Centerflag Regulator.
Strengths: lens is terrific
No fogging
Quick lens change
Comfortable
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Nothing yet
Review: After reading the good reviews on the Switch I decided to buy it and haven't
been disappointed. With the X-ray I would always have fogging problems,
but not any more! This mask has it all: great vision, no fog, easy lens change,
comfort, and a quality construction that will last years. So far I've been hit twice just
below the lens and cleaning was a snap, just twist the snap lock tabs and pop them
out; You can then take the lens and frame apart. You can see so clearly with this mask
it's like you're not wearing one at all. You can hear well when wearing it too. And the foam
is very comfortable. This mask has everything I want.
Conclusion: Go out and buy the Proto Switch. You won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BrutalLlama1289 Wednesday, October 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT N-vader
other friends masks
it blows all other masks out of the water. deffinatly
Marker Setup: FBM Gothic Impulse
Strengths: Quick detach visor verry sturdy
incredably durrable
clean lines
Weaknesses: Stupid non removable chinstrap
Review: Quick detach visor but verry sturdy once in place even under fire
easy to take appart and reassemble because of the quick latch design that is incredibally strong
great thermal lense
great comfort and breathabillity
convienant to tighten
the easiest mask ive cleaned
light weight and un obtrusive
held up well in speed ball, feild ball, and rec ball
i needed to remove the chin strap right away
Conclusion: A must have mask for any vet or newb hands down the best mask
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 23rd, 2005 at 5:06 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Spidey Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only other mask used was JT softstream....no comparison at all.
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
14" silver progressive
green 12V revvy
12 oz co2 w/ cover
CiP sure fit feedneck
Strengths: Durable
easy-changable lense and cleaning
strong protection
crystal clear vision
super comfortable
Weaknesses: Slightly heavy
see your reflection in the lense
fogs after 2 hours (just me personally)
Review: I was looking fo a strong thermal mask that would protect me. I found exactly that. This mask in my opinion is one of the top-of-the-line masks on the market. Solid design. clean lenses quickly via the switch system. lense is practically invisible unless you look closely and see your reflection, but while your playing you just forget about it, it doesnt disrupt any vision at all. I seem to be able to fog thermal masks...I have the switch turbine fan on its way to me right now, look for my review on that later.
Conclusion: This is definately a great mask for someone of any level. It will probably be the only one you'll ever need. I give it a 9 because of my fogging problem, but keep in mind thats just me, i've heard it doesnt fog for others.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 at 3:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintintexan Friday, October 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
vforce shield-good mask
jt enforcer-another good mask
Marker Setup: Dragunfly w/freak
2in drop
3000/48cu
Strengths: Light compared to the enforcer and clearer lenses
Weaknesses: Foam is kind of low quality
Review: Well i was able to try this out for the first time and firstcallpaintball had a nice sale on them, unfortunately it was the lower end models that were on sale. However, low end or not i still love this mask. Its fairly light and the straps hold very well. Also the lenses were very clear especailly since my old jt's ive been using for 3yrs without replacing the lenses were scratched sooo badly that i wondered why i didnt pick up a new mask a long time ago. ANyways back to the review, this mask didnt fog up on me until i played a few rounds non stop in the "jungle" where it had a double canopy and i was crawling running and just plain breathin hard. When in did fog up it wasnt enough to take my out of the game in fact it only blurred a little, thats all. Other than that i really enjoyed this goggle system. The only thing i would have to complain is that the foam wasnt as comfortable as the JT's.
Conclusion: Great mask only fogged at the extreme occasions and its fairly light compared to the JT's. Foam kind of sucks but thats not a big deal and the lenses are absolutely beautiful. Buy 'em. I give it a 9 bc it did fog up in the "jungle' area but all my other masks did also but still...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

frankunstein_08 Friday, October 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision, Brass Eagle(Exact name unknown)(came with my Stingray)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom; Double Trigger, Dye Ultralite 14", 20 oz Aluminum tank.
Strengths: -Quick release goggle-Removeable visor-Many different colors
Weaknesses: -Fogs(like all masks)-Chin strap gets annoying
Review: This goggle is very reliable. It will handle most anything you can dish out. I played with this in a woods for about 2 hours and only fogged on the last game. This mask looks like an Invision, acts like an Invision, but costs less(atleast were I got it). Good for all people, young and not-so-young.
Conclusion: BUY IT! This mask is beautiful. You can also get different colors on the hard goggle and different goggles. I recommend having 2 goggles. That way you can have one in your mask, and one in a bucket of water so you can switch them around to reduce fogging.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toastman923 Friday, October 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Scott mask from the Model 98 package; doesn't even compare
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Double Finger Trigger
Response Trigger System
Halo TSA Frontman LED
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Strengths: -Very comfortable
-Rubber composition
-Looks awesome
-It's made by Dye
-Hasn't fogged yet
Weaknesses: -It feels like it does't cover the entire face, but it does
Review: This mask is awesome! It has great comfort, and easy to remove lense, it's made of rubber, and looks really cool. I played for an entire day and it NEVER fogged up. Another great feature is that the curve of the lense magnifies everything in front of you a bit, and even slightly gives you a wider range of view. And because it's made by Dye, you know its a quality mask. It's got to be one of the best looking masks on the market. I recommend this mask to EVERYONE!!
Conclusion: Great mask, worth every penny!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

team1shot1kill Thursday, September 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
some rental mask
jt elite headshield
invision(tried on only)
Marker Setup: 04 piranha EVO
boss blade trigger
egg loader
3a KO barrel 16"
68/4500 3A nitro
dye rhino tank cover
Strengths: Cushion
Color choices
Changing lenses
Weaknesses: Chin strap doesnt loosen much
Review: After about 2 weeks wait for this mask i finally got it took 2 weeks because my local pb store had to order one so i waited until tues the next week so i go in on wed and they say the new guy sold it so they got another one and gave it to me the next day(today) and the red isnt the red you see on the pictures its more of a blood red to darker type red but still red nonetheless i put the visor on and tried it on the foam is like WOW its quite orgasmic so then of course i had to test this amazing 1/4 turn buckle thing and it is simple i enjoyed it the plastic is soft and looks like it can take some bounces
Conclusion: All in all the is the sexiest mask you can get with a mirror lense your stylin'
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

philyup8 Tuesday, September 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt headshield, Scott something mask
Marker Setup: Green 2003 Autococker with Dye Boomstick, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Evolution II hopper, and 3a 47/3000 nitro tank.
Strengths: Quick lens change
Low profile
Good field of vision
Weaknesses: Fogs up
Got the EL so its hard plastic
Review: I got the Proto Switch EL. The face mask part is plastic so its not as flexable and wont get bounces as much. The lens change is amazing. Evertime I get shot in the face (rarely lol) I can easily take the lens out everytime and clean it fully. I love it. The only bad thing is mine doesnt have a thermal lens so it fogs up like crazy. One problem that i keep having is the black spongey stuff that seals my face gets filled with sweat and having my face pressed up against it rings it out and it drips down onto the inside of the lens and i cant see anything. Ill just get a thermal lens and it will be all good. This mask is great, quick easy lens change and cleaning, low profile, good field of vision
Conclusion: Its a great mask, I got the EL so it was under $30. Great mask for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media