paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Pants / Proto Pants / Proto Pants / Proto Pants

Proto Pants Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Pants

Paintball Pants and Shorts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Pants
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 36
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
So you want a pant that can withstand the blast of a forty ton ballistic missle huh? Or maybe just a pant that will hold up to the rigors of a torturous tournament season? Well look no further. The 2004 Proto pant can last through this season and the next, and the next. With as many features and as much style as we have packed into this pant, you may wear it for the rest of your life.
Product Availability 
The Proto Pants are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
nerdcore Friday, June 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Hybrid pants - no padding but built to last!
Empire Inverts (before Invert itself existed) - hated those pants; knee padding didn't even cover my knees when i knelt!
Marker Setup: ul'd DM5 w/ Critical trigger, Hybrid Hedlock, CP asa & EPEK flow plug.
CP 2-piece
Halo B
Crossy 68/45
Strengths: Simple design
Generous knee & crotch padding
Cargo pockets
Light
Weaknesses: Really "crispy"*
Could use more venting
Review: Bought these on sale years ago to replace my Dye Hybrids. The Dye pants were and are still in good shape but they have zero padding. The Protos have enough padding for my needs (crotch & knee - as a back player, i don't slide often).

However, i wasn't able to WEAR the Protos because the sizing is different than the Dye pants! The Dyes are large and fit up to 38 so i ordered large in Protos, thinking, as a branch of Dye, the sizing must be the same. Well, a large in Proto means about size 36. Bizarre. Anyway, about 2 yrs since, i've finally lost enough weight to fit into these things... and now they're a little loose. Nice.

Pants fit pretty well. They tighten similar to the Dye Hybrids, by adjusting velcro straps on the sides. Length is just right for me - don't even need to use the drawstring cords along the pant cuffs.

Padding around the knees is generous no matter where your knees are inside the pant leg. Same with the crotch padding - protect the boys no matter where they hang!

On the field, i've got plenty of maneuverability and they're pretty light pants. They are, however, not vented very well, so on some really hot days i can foresee these things coming off during lunch and the SECOND last game ends. But the trade-off is durability, and these pants feel durable. Did some scuffling around on mostly hard dirt at the local field and the pants still look new.

*Along the same token of durability, these pants are super "crisp." By that i mean they're somewhat stiff & make that shwoosh shwoosh sound when i walk. I imagine they'll soften up over time but it's both annoying and funny right now.
Conclusion: Good pants, i got these for a good price. But these are the 05 Protos so this review is somewhat pointless now.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WillyW0nka Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Teams- Knee area more comfortable, but not as easy to run in.
Dye Hybrids- Exactly the same with the exception of a pad on the butt for your pack. I wish these proto's would have come with the pad, because it helped quite a bit.
Marker Setup: Black/Silver Virtue'd Alias
Halo B
68/45 PE

Strengths: Comfortable
Padded zipper area
cheap
durable
Weaknesses: No knee padding at all
Back of pants aren't padded
A little TOO baggy
Review: These pants are a pretty good buy if you can find some for cheap and don't mind wearing some older gear.

Padding: 3/10 There is no padding in the knees, only reinforced material. Its durable, but still doesn't save your knees from the hard ground. If you play indoors, I reccomend you wear knee pads. I play outdoors on usually-muddy fields, so they're perfect budget-pants for me. Luckily the zipper is padded, thats always a plus.

Price: 10/10 I bought a pair for $20. They're hard to find but if you can find some of these or Dye Hybrids at a store on clearance for this price, definately pick some up.

Style/Design: 7/10 They look fairly cool but they're just too baggy. I can understand wanting baggy pants for bounces, but these look kind of silly they're so poofy. Its extremely comfortable though. The design on the sides looks great, and the orange/reddish color is awesome. They're fairly durable pants, you shouldn't have a ripping problem.
Conclusion: If you're looking to find some older pants on clearance for cheap, look for these guys. Most shops/stores that still have them are asking under $30. Although I'd prefer '04 Dye Hybrids, these are about as good. If you're looking for the "Ultimate" pants to play hard tournament ball, these probably aren't the pants for you.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FreakySpyder Thursday, June 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2005 Empire Invert
Marker Setup: 2005 Angel Speed
Dark Seoul Custom Red Grips
Dual Volumizers
Soft Face Bolt
G7 Laser Eyes
System X Mico Shuttle
NDZ On/Off
Trinity T-Lock Feedneck
Freak Barrel Kit

2004 Vision Shocker
Predator Board
CP Reg
Critical Rail
AIM Skyforce On/Off
Trinity T-Lock Feedneck
Dark Seoul Cutom Black Grips
Hybrid Bolt Guide
HE Bolt
NDZ Roller Blade Trigger
Snatch Grip
Freak Barrel Kit

Tippmann SL-68 II
Hopper Adapter

68/3000 AGD Flatline Adjustable
88/4500 PMI Pure Energy
6 oz CO2

Empire Reloader B
VLocity
VLocity
Strengths: Light weight, Cool, Nice designs, padded crotch, cheap.
Weaknesses: No real squeegee pocket.
Review: Let me start off by saying I purchased these pants new from paintballgear.com for $20. So I got a great deal. I got the red ones. They match my 2005 Evil Jersey pretty well. They are pretty light compared to some of the other paintball pants. There is also some mesh linging like what you find in swim trunks, that help to keep you cool. I havent had any rips in them yet, the adjustable waistband is great for a big guy like me, I just bought them bigger than normal and sinched it down till it fit. The only downside to these pants is the lack of a real squeegee pocket, yes the cargo pockets have little holes in them so you can slide it in and out, but on the Empire pants there is an actual seperate pocket for the squeegee so it fits evertime, and you dont have to worry if you have alot of things in your pocket, or if you accidentally push your squeegee in too far that it goes into the pocket all the way, then your stuck fishing it out. I love the padded cratch, saved me more than once. Other than that they are a great pair of pants.
Conclusion: If your looking for a great pair of pants that wont cost you an arm and a leg, and you dont mind "last years model" then these are right up your alley.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballa910 Saturday, October 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
jeans, thats about it
Marker Setup: 2004 bko 4000 psi high pressure evo 2 stock barrel and bolt
Strengths: Comfortable when kneeling, breathable
Weaknesses: I have yet to find any
Review: These pants are probably the best buy i have ever made. They are breathable up on the inside part of the legs up to the crotch. they have an elastic crocth for flexibility and ajustable waist so it'll fit u 4ever. padded knees and crotch, so they are extremely comfortable when kneeling especially in airball. padded butt pack and 2 elastic loops so u can hold a pod on your butt/ lower back. u dont have to wear any knee pads under these pants but u can if u want a ton of comfort or u kneel down all the time.
Conclusion: 10 out of 10 because I could not find any weaknesses, and they are very brethable and extremely comfortable all day long
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpEeDy ViRtUe68 Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
jeans (tore)
tear aways (tore)
slicks(tore)
Marker Setup: Piranha e-force
14" empire 2 piece .687 bore
Intruder expansion chamber
Strengths: Crotch protection
Looks
Design
More breathable then i thought
pockets
great material used
cost
Weaknesses: not much padding
you NEED knee pads
Review: i got these used and its 2006 and they are 04's they are great! I took them out of the box and I imediately slid around in the living room with my gun, they were what I had expected and some. I have a small field made of boxes and chairs and things downstairs, and I have cement down their, weren't the best down there U stopped shorter when i was sliding and i could feel the cement and it stared producing wear on my knees, not the pants my actual knees. if you are a medium sized guy like me 5'9 170 36" waist these pants are perfect for you. i believe you can adjust there from i believe 32-38 or 40 (im not for sure). buy these, i would actually recommend wearing these on a date, they are nice for my first pair of paintball pants. they over acceded what i was expecting
Conclusion: Pros: they are cheap $20 and they were used, and they arent all that much if you buy them new somewhere in the range of under $40 or at $40 they look sweet...with a few paint stains i bet they will be 60x better becuase of character. so many pockets, take a squeegie and a swab along on the field. crotch protection all of you guys out there know how much this hurts and you cussed up a storm becuase it did, get these. enough room for your wallet a few tools etc. they are very breathable, you wont get as sweat out there.
Cons: padding. knee pads arent all that great, buy some 05' dye or proto knee pads i heard they are excellent, but if your not all that agressive or you play back or dont slide much, these pants are perfect for you, inefinatly. you'll need some slider shorts for these, not to thick becuase the meterial is extremely durable, i would buy the sliders for extra comfort.
go to your local store and pick up a pair or 2 buy a pair for you and a buddy, or go to pbr's great fourms, and look for them their, i bet someone has some for $25 or under here, becuase i found them eltse where for $20 shipped w/ a sticker :D

go and get em'
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tom_D Friday, December 9th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BDU pants
Marker Setup: M98 with palmers stabalizer, 16 inch night stick, 32 degrees large drop with on/off
Strengths: Makes it easy to wipe
Fit a little better than BDU's
Dry extremly fast
Weaknesses: Price
No padding
Review: After reading the reviews on this site I was convinced that these pants would have some crotch padding. As fortune would have it, all the reviews I read were blatent lies. There is no padding in these pants what-so-ever.

Any one that says that these pants are worth the money has never worked a day in thier life and has no idea what a huyndred bucks is worth. They are the exact same quality and material as the ten dollar wind breaker pants you can buy at wall-mart. Except they have a few pockets, and an adjustable waste band.

Conclusion: I got these pants on clearance for twenty bucks on an online web-site. At first I thought I got severly ripped off, but now, after wearing them for a season. I see that they are very comfortable, and dry very quickly should you get them wet during a game. I just may buy another pair. (on clearance) Nothing I would pay a hundred bucks for.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 24th, 2006 at 5:12 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jack69 Saturday, November 12th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None because these suck.
Marker Setup: Black SP-Ion w/ trinity on/off asa, trinity clamping feedneck, and trinity S trigger.
Smoked Halo B w/rip
WGP 50/3000 aluminum tank
Strengths: Theres no strength besides the fact that there just pants and they suck.
Weaknesses: Everything.
no padding
crappy stitching
the pull strings fall off and come loose
Review: These pants are a disgrace. I can't belive i paid 68 bux for these. COMPLETE rip off. At first they look cool but they suck. I slid in them and I completely ripped up the knees the first time i used them. Lets face it these pants are cheaply made and NO ONE Should buy them. Not even nubs. If you are a front man, do not even slightly consider buying these EVER.
Conclusion: They suck
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

eazy e Sunday, August 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
camo pants
Marker Setup: spyder pilot acs (red to black fade), check it products feed adpater, eggy 2 ,smart parts teardrop, 32 degrees spring set, compressed air tank
Strengths: There so comfortable, they look cool
Weaknesses: They get dirty really fast
Review: Well I want to look the part of a paintballer cus I want to be a professional. so i bought these cus they were on sale and they looked pretty cool. I got them in grey and they look so cool. these pants looks really cool wit my blue jt liquid jersey. They get dirty really fast when I play woodsball but hey thats what there made for. they are alos very nice in speedball. When they get dirty my mom jus washes them and they look like new. Get these if u wanna look cool when you go paintballing.
Conclusion: Get them!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Psycho_warden Thursday, August 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
A pair of BDUs from the Army Surplus Store.
Marker Setup: Acid Black/Blue Stock Class Phantom
Strengths: Very comfy, durable, sizes, looks
Weaknesses: Not too many pockets
Review: I am writing this review on the 2004 Proto pants.

The good:
These pants are very comfortable, I wear them everywear, although the old ladies at church yell at me for being "inapropriate" they should be happy I have pants on at all. When I was buying these I tried on 3 other pairs of pants along with these. JT, DYE, and Empire, and these are the ones I liked the best, so I got em.
These pants adjust to size alot. The ones I have go between 30 and 38 or something like that, I dont know, but its a very good thing.
These things are durable, you can slide and dive to your hearts content, and nothing will happen.


The bad:
The only bad thing that I can think of, there arent too many pockets. I think there are 3 or 4, 2 on the front, one on the butt, and I think there is one on the leg.
Conclusion: These are very good pants. The 04s can be found for rather cheap right now and they are well worth the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippster16 Thursday, August 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
some random black pants from dicks
Marker Setup: 98c, 16" tru flight , empire reloader, double triger
ion stock
Strengths: They look real cool
Weaknesses: Not enough padding in places
Review: I bought these at the store for 50 bucks they are the 04 model grey/black. they are ruggedly made, the pants seem unrippable. they have pockets like normal pants, cargo pockets and adjustable waist. i wear size 32 waist i bought large. they can adjust to alot of sizes. they look real cool good enough to wear around anywhere,
Conclusion: they are cool pants its DYE hotness without the dye price. plus they came with a proto sticker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media