paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Excel Barrel / Dye Excel Barrel / Dye Excel Barrel

Dye Excel Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Excel Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Excel Barrel
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 252
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It's aluminum and comes in 12 " and 14". Colors: black, red, silver, and blue
Product Availability 
The Dye Excel Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
blakspot711 Thursday, October 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
worr pig
nite stick
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Reloader
20oz
12"Dye xcel barrel
ANS vertical feed
A-5 coming
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Midnight-no breaks
Strengths: looks
price
noise
Weaknesses: accuracy
Review: I expirienced absolutley no difference in this barrel then in my stock barrel,
except for perhaps better range. There was also definetly anoise reduction,
but if you want it quiet, buy a nite stick.This review contains too few words? wa?
still not enough words ,ay?fine ill just type my thoughts.
Conclusion: Buy it for looks and price. Maybe it'll work better 4 you
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AccessTime Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Stainless Steel barrel, assorted no-brand barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT, vertical CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium is all I've ever used, they work fine. Others may also work fine.
Strengths: Lightweight, Relatively inexpensive. Black.
Weaknesses: A bit longer than is really needed.
Review: At the shop I got my A-5, it was the only barrel avaliable (other than flatline). There is nothing wrong with this barrel. It is lightweight and accurate as any other. It works great with the standard paint I use (PMI Premium). The ball-to-barrel match is near perfect with this type of paint. Also, I can go a whole day, firing 1500 rounds without breaking a single ball. On the downside, it's a bit longer than is really necessary. Generally not an issue, but a problem if you ever need to get too close to a bunker. Durability does not appear to be a problem, but this is Aluminum vs. Stainless steel.
Conclusion: This would be a good barrel for rec-ball players looking for more accuracy and don't mind adding about 6+ inches to their marker (over stock). Ideal for people who like being close to the action. OTOH, if you want to shoot farther, get a flatline, and if you want something more durable go with the stainless steel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shutter 4 life Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ultra-light
Marker Setup: Spyder shutter
12v revolution
14 inch dye excel
sprint trigger frame
Recommended
Paintballs:
i recommend midnight (draxus).
Strengths: um the 14 inch is good because it is accurate at close ranges.
Weaknesses: um not good in wind curves little but thats crushal in a game.
Review: um overall i like this gun because it is cheap and does not bend if you hit against a tree has a very unique cannon shape at the end and looks good on ur gun. For as long as ive had this barrel i have had very little problems the only thing is its not as accurate at far ranges then i would off expected but for 50 bucks u cant beat that.
Conclusion: i recommend u buy this because for the price and the barrel pretty much explaines it all a very good barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GC 6(sic)6[ST4] Monday, October 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Whisper 14"
J&J 16" Ceramic
Marker Setup: 98c
Dye Excel 14" barrel
Expansion chamber
68/45 centerflag tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything from PMI... I use a large variety of paint. almost anything, cept small balls.
Strengths: Cheap
Quiet
Accurate
Weaknesses: None, so far.
Review: Great barrel for the price. Unlike other Dye barrels, it is cheap... and works great.

Small paintballs don't go straight that often... like Diablo Dusk. Just be careful of what paint you use... and once ya chop... it will continiously chop until you use a squeegee...

I would reccomend the barrel to anyone...
Conclusion: Great barrel, cheap... I love the barrel so far, it has worked great in the past 3 months I have used it. I would take this one over almost any barrel for a 98c... or almost any gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

focwolf Tuesday, September 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock spyder extra barrel
Marker Setup: spyder extra
20oz Co2
14" lapco big shot
polished internals
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs and Pmi premium
Strengths: -quiet
-acurate in normal conditions
-shoots most pain well
Weaknesses: -gas hog
-hard as hell to clean and never gonna shoot through breaks
Review: This barrel is ok at best. Its not much better then my stock barrel. In fact when i first got it i did a spread test and the had the exact same spread (10" at 35'). Never ever get it wet and always carry a squeegee because if you get anything in this barrel watch thoughs balls curve.
Conclusion: In conclusion I would just like to say that this is a good barrel in fair weather but if you play in the rain or break a ball in the barrel nothing but a hose is gonna get your accuracy back and even if you do have a squeegee on hand your gonna have to shoo the paint outa all that porting. so only get this barrel f you never plain an playing in rain.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

anders98c Tuesday, September 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
whisper barrel
Marker Setup: Model 98 Custom
DYE Xcel Barrel
ADCO Sure Shot Red Dot SIght (doesnt do anything)
Promark Double Trigger
Rocket Cocker
Recommended
Paintballs:
i dont really know
Strengths: This thing shoots really freakin srait
Weaknesses: none really its pretty good
Review: This is a really good barrel i got mine for 40 dollars (but i had to pay 50 because of shipping). So i went out and played with it and i thought it was kinda sucky cause the paintballs were still curving. But once i took it out with some different paint and i played civil war with some kids and hit this one guy 5 times in a row in a 4 inch group. It was pretty awesome.
Conclusion: You should get this barrel its pretty good for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blood Moon X Friday, September 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock spyder barrel
Marker Setup: spyder imagine, richochet ak, 32* flame drop, 14' xcel barrel,
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any kind of paint is good but just not any brass eagle paintballs.
Strengths: Makes your gun very quiet, you can shoot much further, looks cool.
Weaknesses: its sort of hard to clean cause of the porting but its not that inportant.
Review: I really like this barrel. Its very quiet shoots far and looks good on my gun. One thing i hated and nothiced that alot of people have this problem is that the xcel logo is upside down. But thats ok cause when you see a barrel this cool looking youll know its the xcel.
Conclusion: This is overall a very good barrel and i recommend it for novice players that need that extra edge in the game.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 5th, 2003 at 8:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DarkWombat Sunday, August 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra stock barrel
98 custom stock barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra with Xcel barrel and 12 OZ C02
Recommended
Paintballs:
any RP paint
Strengths: accurate
quieter than stock barrel
looks cool
good price
Weaknesses: poor accuracy after ball breaks
hard to clean out everything
Review: I've had this barrel for about a month now, and I finally got to use it in my first game. The anodizing looks really great and smooth so it won't scratch easily, and it looks pretty cool. But I was amazed at the accuracy and range I got over the Xtra's stock barrel. I could shoot a good 120 feet or so and still hit right on the mark. But eventually I had a ball break, and my barrel had some problems. I cleaned it out to the best of my ability, although it still wasn't as accurate as eariler in the day. I could see dirt streaks down the barrel, and my swab couldn't get them. I even tried washing it out, but it was hard to dry the inside with the swab wihout adding more dirt. Maybe I should get a sqeegie. But don't get discouraged! It was a hot day, and paintballs swell in hot weahter, so it may have just been a combination of mother nature and lack of a better cleaning aid. This barrel is a very good improvement over the stock barrel, although after gunk started getting inside, I switched to the yet unused stock barrel and got somewhat better performance. Spyder owners, this barrel is for YOU! Just make sure you have a good barrel cleaner.
Conclusion: This barrel is very accurate and affordable, as well as quieter and has good looks. It is a great improvement over the stock barrel. The only problems I have with it are that it is difficult to clean with a swab and that it isn't very accurate when it has a break. Buy a good squeegie and this barrel and kill some autocockers!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

McTwist Thursday, August 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine black
14" Dye Xcel barrel
eVLution II hopper
clear stock elbow
Psycho Ballistics Bullet drop forward with macro line
Twisted Spyder volumizer (COMING SOON!)
Pure Energy 12 oz. and 20 oz. Co2

Strengths: Not very loud, shoots straight, adds an extra ten yards, price
Weaknesses: I haven`t found anything wrong with it yet
Review: This is a good barrel for around $30. It shoots pretty straight, even if you have your velocity all the way up! Its not that loud, in between. This barrel gives you around an extra ten yards. Its similar to the J&J Ceramic barrel. Its not so good for sniping in the woods because it does make some noise.
Conclusion: Good barrel, great buy. Nice for beginners and advanced players too.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KenRStac Tuesday, August 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Not Many
Marker Setup: PMI In-Line Reg
Dye Xcel Barrel
Check-It Stick Trigger
CMI Drop Forward
Macro Line Kit
Max Flow Assault Block
Ricochet AK 9v
SpuDnuKe'l Nylon Bolt (With Autococker cocking rod)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Great American Paintballs (The choice of Dynasty)
Strengths: Accurite
Quite
Cheap
Looks Cool
VERY LIGHT!
Weaknesses: The Porting id hard to clean.
Review: This is a great barrel for somebody who is competitive and plays tourneys but dosent want to put a lot of money down on a barrel. The Barrel is light and easy to use, plus it looks great on almost and gun. If you have a gun that isnt black you can always buy a J&J custom Xcel to matxh your gun. Buy this barrel if you want accuacy and dependibility at a goood price.
Conclusion: Great barrel, another job well done by dye, the makers of the best barrels on earth.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media