paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Excel Barrel / Dye Excel Barrel / Dye Excel Barrel

Dye Excel Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Excel Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Excel Barrel
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 252
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It's aluminum and comes in 12 " and 14". Colors: black, red, silver, and blue
Product Availability 
The Dye Excel Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
Transformer Saturday, August 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Alluminum, 32 Degrees Carbon Fiber, J/J Pro 1
Marker Setup: Old School Genie w/ Green 8 Stage Dead On X-Chamber and a J&J Pro 1

Classic Tricked out Spyder One w/ Bob Long Cyclone Force II Bolt, Shockteck LP, Dead on 8 Stage Black X-Chamber, 32 Degrees Electronic Grip, 32 Degrees Carbon Fiber (14") and a custom built alluminum drop forward

Black E-Force Phirana EXT PRO 2003 w/ 12" Dye X-cel
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Evil or RPS Marbs
Strengths: Quality Barrel, Quiet, Accurate
Weaknesses: Curves at longer ranges, but all barrels do that
Review: I've used this barrel on my Genie and My Phirana, and tested it on my Spyder. At 50 ft. I was laying balls one on top of another. At about 75 ft, I had about a 6 in. grouping. Most of my combat doesn't exceed 75 ft or so. It's a Dye, so it's quality. My brother has one for his cocker, and he loves it.
Conclusion: Get this barrel. If you've got the cash, get the origional Dye Alluminum (if you can find it). For the money though, this barrel is excellent.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 12:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippsterbate Friday, August 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann stock barrel (terrible)
Smart Parts Teardrop (a little better)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
response trigger
GTA expansion chamber
Dye excel 14in
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo dusk works the best.
Strengths: This barrel is pretty acurate up to 50 yards and ok plus that.
Weaknesses: It uses way to much gas due to the of porting and it lacks range.
Review: This is a pretty good barrel but i have seen better and it was much better than my tippmann stock barrel. It would have been better to cut down the level of porting and increase the distance. My barrel was almost as good as my friends Smart Parts Teardrop barrel. The had basically the same accuracy to 65 feet but he could get a little more distance. We had both stock tippmanns at the time.
Conclusion: I would recomend this barrel in the 12inch form because it uses less gas than the 14 inch version and probaly has more distance too. But overall its a pretty good barrel but there are better ones.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mills Wednesday, August 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American, Boomstick, Autospirit
Marker Setup: Black 2k2 Angel LCD
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premiums
Strengths: Price, Reliability, Honing
Weaknesses: Picky about Paint
Review: I had a 12 inch Xcel on my old Autococker. It has a good amount of porting, is pretty quiet, and obviously depending on the paint you use, pretty accurate. When I used PMI Premiums, this thing shot darts, it was incredible. I later found though, that if I used cheap paint, such as JT Carnivores, and JT Predators, that alot of the paint broke. I believe however, that the paint was at fault, not the barrel.
Conclusion: You cannot find a better barrel for the price, this ones a no brainer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1080ski Monday, August 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock autococker barrel and most of the dye barrels
Marker Setup: 2002 autococker
De excel barrel
ACI bulldog 2 Nitro tank (91ci, 300 psi)
CP flame drop forward
CP sticky grips
Strengths: Very accurate, very quiet, not too long and not too short
Weaknesses: Gets chipped easily (not bad though), a tight fit for the balls (also not bad)
Review: This barrel is great! I think it is much more accurate than most of the other barrels that i have tried. it is also very quiet and is easy to play with. This barrel is great! I think it is much more accurate than most of the other barrels that i have tried. it is also very quiet and is easy to play with. This barrel is great! I think it is much more accurate than most of the other barrels that i have tried. it is also very quiet and is easy to play with. This barrel is great! I think it is much more accurate than most of the other barrels that i have tried. it is also very quiet and is easy to play with. - i hate the 100 word minimum limit.
Conclusion: If you have the money, go for it. i am very happy with this barrel. -CHEAP-
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thermus Friday, August 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 custom barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann Double Trigger
Tippmann Veritcle Adapter
DOP Rear Velocity Adjuster
Psycho Ballistics Rocket Cock
DYE Xcel Barrel 14'
Autococker Paintball Ergo Regulator
Kill Zone Flame Drop Forward
12v Revolution w/ X Board
Macro Line Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any Diablo/Draxxus paints
Strengths: Better accuracy, better range, cheaper than most other barrels, looks good on the gun.
Weaknesses: Not as good as alot of barrels, Got scratched easily
Review: I am happy I bought this upgrade. The price was great, and I was happy with what I recieved. You can always feel safe when your buying from DYE, because they are a very reliable company. It helped alot with my accuracy and stuff. I recommend this barrel to anyone with a limitted cash flow.
Conclusion: I would say buy it if you can't afford some of the other higher priced barrels. It is definately a worthy item, and for 35 bucks its not a huge dal if you don't like it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cockerboi Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sys-X 1-Piece, Tru-Flight
Marker Setup: 2k2 Red Vert. Feed cocker
47/3000 Crossfire HPA
Black Rico 2k
Black DYE hinge
Recommended
Paintballs:
SMSC's Field paint
Strengths: Quiet, Dead accurate, cheap
Weaknesses: none
Review: This is a very good barrel, It is Very quiet, all I can hear is the back block slamming back and forth, it is deadly accurate, the accuracy compares with higher end barrels, its super cheap, bought it for 35 bux off a friend. I love this barrel, but I will part with this barrel to use a Kaner, in the future.
Conclusion: Very good barrel, quiet, accurate, and cheap what more can you ask for? 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 19th, 2003 at 6:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pacman32 Saturday, July 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A 98 Custom with a 14 in. DYE Xcel, Dead on Paintball Pro Style drop forward, 32 Degrees Hyperstar Bolt, and 48 cu in. 3000 PSI Compressed Air Bottle
Recommended
Paintballs:
32 Degrees Competition, Draxxxus Midnight, Big Ball. Any decent relatively cheap paint will work, and even if you like to spend more on paint, then I'm sure it will shoot even better. But I have not had a problem with $50 dollar paint.
Strengths: -Accurate
-Quiet
-Economical
Weaknesses: Some of the Xcel Barrels aren't threaded to show the logo.
Review: This was the first upgrade that I got for my marker because I was tired of shooting stock. If you are to purchase this barrel, try to go for the 14 inch, because its not too long for front players, but not too short for back players. I have been using this product for two years, and it has never let me down. The only thing that I have found wrong with mine is not threaded to show the Xcel logo on the side of it, because it screws in, and the logo points to the ground. A really good, economical barrel for the beginner to advanced player. If you're pro, then spend money on a freak if you're convinced that 120 more dollars will make you hit every opponent. I got mine for around 30 dollars and it shoots just as straight as a boomstick, or a freak, or an all-American.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel as your first upgrade, if you're tired of stock and want to actually start hitting people.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilmoo Thursday, July 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Spyder Barrel - Dont come Close
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor
DYE Xcel 14" barrel
VL Quantum Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have only used 2 different types of paint with this barrel and both shot v well
Tomahawks and Zap Chronics ( Bright Yellow) of course :)
Strengths: Quiet
Looks "The Part"
Weaknesses: NONE
Review: Very nice barrels, aims very good on my spyder and is nice and quiet too. It can be pretty annoying to clean but that can be fixed by just running water through the holes on the side of the barrel or right down the middle of it, to clear out any paint or stuff that has gotten in there.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone upgrading there barrel and not wanting to spend overtly amounts of money on it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballEvans Monday, July 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boom stick, J&J ceramic.
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN 98 custum w/ Java tuck tite chrome drop forward, ACI exspansion chamber, J&J ceramic and Excel, rear velocity, Lapco chrome site rail, 32 degrees gel grips a double trigger and a hyper star venturie bolt (soon more to come)
Recommended
Paintballs:
medium-Big boar balls work best like most rps paint and nelson. Anarchy, nel-splat pmi premeums ect.
Strengths: very acurate, looks great made by good company.
Weaknesses: kinda laud on my tippmann but nothing else.
Review: This is a great barrel I was useing it the other day and it worked great its not as acurate or quiet as my J&J ceramic but its still a good barrel. I did a test with my 98 with pmi premiums w/ my J7J and the Excel and the J&J was much more acurate I believe its more acurate becasue of the porting desing. This barrel looks sweet!!!! It looks like a machien gun barrel the way its shaped and the style of porting.
Conclusion: sence this barrel is not as good as my J&J on my tippmann 98 I will give it a 8 beacue I think the J&J ceramic is better its cheaper too.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fred1 Saturday, July 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
my stock barrel
Marker Setup: (green) R.A.S. Persicuter with M3 black dragun E trigger, Dye xcell / smart parts teardrop,
green drop forward, pmi gas thru, force 3 cyclone bolt, beaver tail PMI perfect HP tank, 12 volt revelution
Recommended
Paintballs:
my personal all round favorite is the original nelson (nel splat)

use PMI big ball once what a mess lots of breaks (dunno if its the paint)
Strengths: -VERY quite
-VERY accurate
-VERY light
-GREAT price
Weaknesses: none at all i love it
Review: the first time i used this barrel i was like WOW best thing i bought as an upgrade
it was so quite way quiter than i thought it would be
and accuracy WOW very very accurate

I would recomend this barrel to anyone especaly people who dont want to spend to much money on a barrel so far it is the best barrel i have ever used.
Conclusion: get this barrel you will love it it is accurate quit and very cool looking

and a very great price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media