paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Excel Barrel / Dye Excel Barrel / Dye Excel Barrel

Dye Excel Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Excel Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Excel Barrel
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 252
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It's aluminum and comes in 12 " and 14". Colors: black, red, silver, and blue
Product Availability 
The Dye Excel Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
polishpbplayer Sunday, May 28th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
progressive- alot better
tippy stock-just as good
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
collapsible stock
remote
4+1 harness
progressive barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything besides be
Strengths: Its quiet.
Weaknesses: Not a good barrel period. U get wat u piad for.
Review: This barrel plain old sucks. Its usless. I did better with my stock then anythin else. Realy my progressive owns this barrel in accuracy even though its a lil bit louder. My first three shots out of it were all chops. Really right from the start it sucked. Me right at the end of the day i sold it to someone else cause it just was horrible. Really if u waste your money on this barrel poor u. Sell it right away and get a smart parts progressive for same price but alot better.
Conclusion: Dont buy this barrel horrible.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ION freak Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Pirahna gti
Pure energy 42 ci 3000 psi tank w/ RedZ cover
Halo tsa hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI marblizers
Strengths: -Quiet
-Ez 2 clean
- Low cost
Weaknesses: -None
Review: I liked this barrel. My fines all have boom sticks but I think this is up there with them. I have used this barrel in rain, snow, and 100 degree weather. this is a great and reliable barrel. it is also a good starter barrel. the main strength with this barrel is that it is quite. with the low cost of the barrel you can use the money to upgrade your gun or hopper.
Conclusion: Great low cost quiet barrel. the only thing is keep out of sand and mud (like all barrels it will chop balls ) I give it a 10 because it is a good barrel and performs well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tak14 Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive, Freak Jr,Ultralight
Marker Setup: 05 Shocker SFT, CP 48/45, and Pulse Loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything except Brass Eagle.
Strengths: Quiet, fairly accurate, good price, and somewhat lightweight.
Weaknesses: Nothing really worth mentioning.
Review: The Dye Excel barrel is a fairly good barrel for the price. I used it on my old Spyder TL-X and it was definitely an upgrade from the stock barrel. It was more accurate and quiet and it served me well both on the field and in the woods. It also has the reliability and name you trust, Dye.
Conclusion: In conclusion, the Excel is a good barrel for the price. This barrel isn't the best out there, but it is just as good as any other barrel around it's price range.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 17th, 2007 at 12:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wise690 Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 2 piece 10" barrel
Marker Setup: 04 WGP Nightkast
Recommended
Paintballs:
...
Strengths: Light
Many different lengths
Cheap
Looks
Weaknesses: None
Review: First off, this is the cheapest cocker barrel I could find that was worth buying. It is very light-weight compared to many other average barrels. The inside of the barrel is very clean and doesn't throw paint everywhere. It comes in several different lengths and it looks great. I got mine in a 12" length and I think the length goes as high as 16".
Conclusion: This is a great barrel avaiable at a cheap price. I give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 27th, 2006 at 11:06 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballa1122 Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels
Marker Setup: 04 prostock cp drop, dye xcel barrel, halo b
Recommended
Paintballs:
all the ones ive used work great
Strengths: Looks
Accurate
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Great barrel even though the price is kind of high and the color blue does not match the color blue on the 04 prostock its a little darker but not too bad although it says its 12 inches its only 11 inches on the gun a;so the xcel label isnt on the side its on the bottom when screwed in
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

travschm23 Saturday, April 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Have seen
-98C Flatline
-All American
-Stock E99 Avant Barrel
Marker Setup: Right now it is rigged at
-E99 Avant Body and internals
-Spyder Rodeo Trigger Frame
-Spyder Rodeo Reg.
-Dye Excel 14'
-Evo II-Functions Feedneck
-Rodeo parts soon to be replaced!
Recommended
Paintballs:
The only ones I have used so far are cheap ones from KMART.
(200 for $4)
Strengths: -Nice Looks
-Quiet
-Improved Accuracy
Weaknesses: -Material used seems a little fragile(probably isn't though)
-Scratches fairly easy
-Threads
Review: I just shot this barell for the first time today. About 500 shots and no chops. I am pleased so far. NO breaks yet but not many shots. It was wayyy more accurate than my stock barell, was quieter than the stock, and looked better too. I'm not sure exactly what it's made of but it seems a little fragile but that's probably just me. The threads have slightly gotten scratched up but it still fits on snug witha little rough spot when I put it on. When I get to shoot it some more I will update.
Conclusion: So far it seems to be a good purchase for me but I will be updating soon when I can get some more shots in which should be soon.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 3rd, 2006 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

r_c_ole Friday, March 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick, Dye Ultralite, Tippmann Flatline, Tippmann Sniper Barrel, Smart Parts Progressive, Smart Parts Teardrop, 32 degrees Terminator, all Hammerhead, & most Lapco products.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c, Flatline, Cyclone Feed, Palmer Stabilizer, Full Boar Rear Cocking Device, JT Proteus, & Flurry Emmisary Tactical Vest
Recommended
Paintballs:
Med-Large Bore
Strengths: Big improvement overstock, not finicy, consistently accurate.
Weaknesses: See below
Review: This barrel is an excellent addition to anybody's arsenal. If you already own any of the barrels I have listed above you probably wouldn't need it but is a great improvement over almost any stock barrel out there. Basically this barrel is an excellent purchase for anyone looking to upgrade from stock. If you are planning on buying something like a Flatline in your future you would love to have this for those days when paint just won't agree with your flatline. If your dreams include a boomstick or ultralite you could skip this barrel, but again @ $27, for a Dye product, how can you go wrong? Most barrels in the $30-$65 range perform the same as this barrel when paint is properly matched. Hammerhead and Lapco products slightly outperform this barrel, but you will spend better than $50 on any of those. With their not so flashy finishes Hammerhead&lapco might be a little better suited for us scenarioball players (I love to use my Excel @ night anyway though).

For price, I shouldn't say anything, but they asked for weaknesses, so here is my nit- picking: 1. It doesn't clean easily when paint does chop, 2. Finish isn't particurally woods friendly, 3. Finish scratches easily, 4. I expected it to be a little quieter when I bought it. I could have just been disappionted because by buddy's 32 degrees was quieted than my dye barrel.

8/10 for accuracy - it will generally keep shots grouped.
6/10 for stealth- there are much quieter barrels, but it is acceptable.
10/10 for price- @ $27 on discountpaintball.com, you can't go wrong.
8/10 for paint compatability- good with any med-large bore.
Conclusion: Why not get one, for $27@ discountpaintball.com, you can roll with people who spent much more.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 10th, 2006 at 10:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GreenGenes Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
14 inch Dye Excel
20 & 12 oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
larger bore
Zap Amp
not brass eagle
Strengths: Looks
Percision
Price
Range
Weaknesses: Can come slightly unscrewed (review)
Review: To start this review off, I got this barrel to replace the stock barrel. I got this barrel used from my local paintball shop, but it had only scratches on the outside. When compared head to head with the stock barrel the grouping is much much tighter therefor having more precision. A larger bore will be the best match. I used amp and liked it a lot. Way better then the stock, and can compete with barrels that have double the price tag. The one problem I had just recently came up. Near the end of my third game I started chopping balls like crazy. So I cleaned it up and started to play again. Then in another three of four games I had the same problem. Finally I figured it out. The o-ring was old, and would allow the barrel to slowly twist off over a long period of time. All I have to do is make sure I twist the barrel every so often.
Conclusion: Good barrel overall. Get shorter barrel for speedball and go for the 14incher for woods ball. It has a nice black finish. 8 because of the o-ring and because there are barrels out there with better range and percision but the excel has a great combo of the two
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pblover69 Saturday, February 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop-same, if not worse
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, Broken Remote, 20z tank, 12'' BLUE DYE XCEL BARREL, 12V Revy
Recommended
Paintballs:
not so cheep paintballs or else it'll curve
Strengths: -Quiet
-Accurate
-Looks sexy
Weaknesses: if anything, when a ball breaks, you're F-d
-distance could be better
Review: ok, first of all, for less than 20 dollars this barrel is THE BEST. This barrel is a competitor to some $100 barrels. It is quiet and it is accurate, but when you break a ball IT WILL HOOK, and it will continue to hook more and more until it just hooks right as it comes out of the barrel. The Distance could be a little bit better, but for the price, it is THE BEST, and besides it's a DYE product, so you know the quality you're getting
Conclusion: I say get it while you still can, but make sure you have a good squeegee on hand at all times
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sasquatch32 Monday, January 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
just stock barrel
Marker Setup: piranha gti with revy (x board) and co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
none
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Inaccurate, breaks balls,
Review: the only thing this barrel has going for it is the price .However it is even cheaper to not buy it and use a stock barrel which is more accurate. it is very inconsistant except that it always breaks balls. i tried this barell on several guns with the matching spyder threads and got the same results every single time .
Conclusion: Save your money, this barrel sucks.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media