paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Scion Air / Evil Scion Air / Evil Scion Air

Evil Scion Air Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Scion Air

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Scion Air
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $360

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Evil Scion 5000 psi air system was designed to win. Using on the tanks regulator lighten up your gun and use your favorite gas-thru grip. Fewer parts means fewer problems and that means more games won.

Features:

Dove Tail System
Exceptionally strong and durable
Efficiency means longer fills, no more running out of air in a clutch
Operates at 100 - 550 psi
Bottle pressure and output pressure gauges
High and low pressure burst discs
Push button on and off
Product Availability 
The Evil Scion Air is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Geeza Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
McDev (tested) hard to close at higher pressures.
Marker Setup: Red '05 Ego with black parts.
Star frame and Trigger
Star Reg
Tadao M7
Evil Scion Air
Halo B with Rip & Delrin Cone
Dye Ulta-lites x3

Eclipse E Blade 'Cocker (Blue fade to Black)
Zero B Board
Mag 44 Ram with Qevs
Samurai Trigger
Dye Boomstick 688
Bob Long, Long Shot 693/691/698
Evil Scion Air
MacDev Gladiator Reg
Halo B with Delrin Cone & Rip Drive
Strengths: Good Reg
Capacity
Push button on/off
Looks
Weaknesses: Odd size dove tail!
Review: Much has been written about the Evil Scion Air, both good and bad. Personally i've never had an issue with mine so............
The whole package is very stylish from the regulator to the bottle, i think the push button on/off is a cool feature, with my only gripe being the odd sized dovetail, a real pain if you use 2 markers and only have 1 bottle.
Performance wise the Scion has good capacity 68c 5000k and one of the quickest re-charge rates in the business (17ms as i'm aware) so can keep up with all todays high end markers. The regulator is also very easy to service (once the bottles degassed), although the manual doesn't give you too much information on how too, or what to use when servicing it.
When i finally decided to pull mine to pieces, i found corrosion on some of the internal components, bonnet, bellville springs, adjuster and retaining bearings. To be honest i don't think it had sufficient lubrication from the start and has been affected by the ingress of moisture. Needless to say it got thoroughly cleaned and re-lubed, with Dow33 for the o rings,springs, push on/off and main shaft, then a small amount of silicone grease inside the piston bore.
Since then i've had no more corrosion issues and it might explain why some people have had problems with air leaks....even so mines never missed a beat.......
Conclusion: Great package from Evil, if you do buy one pull it apart first and lube it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 12th, 2007 at 2:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pballjerk Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CO2-much worse than High Pressure, not as accurate and harder to fill up.
Marker Setup: ion, red dusted cp rake trigger,red dusted cp rail and on/off asa, dye ultralite-black dusted back and red dusted tip, redz cam lock, halo b with rip drive, and 5000psi evil tank
Strengths: Large fill size, looks, luxfer wrapped
Weaknesses: Big tank
Review: I got this tank when i got my ion a year ago. It is very good and it has a pure energy regulator on it. It is 5000 psi which means i can practice at home with bunkers. I think evil is a good company to trust with air supply and the pure energy regulator boosts the brand name and preformance. I highly recommend this tank to any1 who wants to practice or shoot in their backyards when your not at fields.
Conclusion: Good tank, giant fill size.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer9876 Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pure energy
Marker Setup: -Spyder mr2
-Red dot scope
-Pure energy 68/3000
-Ricochet apache


-Proto rail
-Halo B w/v35 and rip drive
-Evil 45/5000 tank
-Redz pepper stickz kit
Strengths: -Lite
-Looks
-Mine is a little different and it was cheaper
Weaknesses: -Had a leak when i got it
-Hard to take of at first
Review: I got this tank for christmas along with my Proto Rail, the tank was 260 dollars (had a standard regulator not any fancy ones). When I filled it up and put it on my gun it shot great good refill rate and pretty consistant, when I went to take off the tank it wouldn't come off, it was stuck on my gun! When i finnaly got the tank off the pin got stuck in the open position releasing air, put the tank on my gun and emptied the tank. Went to the store and all it took was some lube inside of the regulator and it was fine after that it was fine. The Proto rail with this tank, and a halo B makes the gun perfectly balanced on the trigger, only tank I have found that does that.
Conclusion: Buy it, it is very good I havent tried out the more expensive regulator but the one I have is awsome. I give it a nine because I did have some dried up orings that was easyly fixed and compared to pure energy is a little expensive.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CO2 tanks
Marker Setup: Shocker '03 vision with:
-HE Bolt,
-ShockTech gas thru grip,
-Shocktech feedneck,
-New Designs Roller Trigger
Smart Parts All American two piece 12'' and 14'' with freak kit.
Halo B with Rip
68/4500 Evil Scion HPA with Dye Rhino Cover
Strengths: Consistency
Reliability
Regulator
Weaknesses: Weight
Need to use Evil rail
Review: I got this tank already on my marker when I bought it, so I didnt have to worry about the installation features. I do know that you will most likely remove your markers regulator and put a Gas Thru grip, which costs money, so thats one point against it so far. The tank itself is quite heavy, I noticed a huge impact on my shocker. You also need to use the Evil rail, so it doesnt allow for many options with drops or other rails. The tank also does not come off of the rail, so you have to fill it by handing over your entire marker to get it filled. This is not a huge problem mind you, because most of the time you would have your marker with you anyways. The on/off can be somewhat difficult to press at high pressure, and it also needs to be oiled to work properly, so remember to maintain that along with your marker. The tank's regulator is incredibly easy to use, it has dials for the PSI as well as the air in your tank. The rail is very nice, and very comfortable. The fact that it has a regulator built in allows you to remove weight from the rest of your marker. The tank is incredibly consistent. Firing +/-18 BPS there is hardly any drop off. I have had no leaks from the tank whatsoever, and it has a firm design. I enjoy the fact that the tank is always attached to my marker, because I can never leave it behind or forget it, its one less thing to worry about. The regulator is top notch, I havent noticed any drop even at high rates of fire. The on/off works incredibly effectively. My friend has a tank with an on/off, and he hadnt used his marker for a couple weeks, and his tank had lost over 500 PSI when he picked it up again. I've left the Scion sitting for 3 weeks, my PSI hasn't dropped at all, its still the same as the day I finished firing it.

There are a fair amount of weaknesses noted with the Scion
However, the positives are not overly exerted in my review in an attempt to keep it unbiased. The tank works, and works well. The rail is nice, the regulator is flawless, dropoff doesnt exist, the on/off works effectively. The rail and tank are built to last, and I can't see anyone having any problem with them.

If you have the extra money to put at Gas Thru in, or if your marker doesnt have a regulator this tank is for you. If you need something lighter, or you want your markers regulator, rail, or drop, the Scion will not work for you look into a Crossfire.

I love my Scion, there is a lot of baggage that comes with it, but once its setup, it works and it works well and you will not be disappointed with it. Guarenteed.
Conclusion: The Scion is a great tank if your will to do some extra work to your marker to get everything running smoothly. The setup takes some time, but once complete its one of the better tanks out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

supriordrumr Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: -smart parts nerve
-flame drop forward
-shocktech feed neck
-virtue board
-wave trigger
-freak barrel insert kit
-halo B hopper with speed feed upgrade
-evil 5000psi 88ci tank
Strengths: Well its 5000psi and lasts pretty long (looks sweet too). also, its very light
Weaknesses: I have the 88ci and its a beast to carry on the gun.
Review: I havent had any problems with this tank yet and i hopfully never will. my advice is that if you find one for under 260$, then get it. other than that, its probly not worth your money. although mine is big, a drop forward fixed that and now it feels great on my gun.
Conclusion: Like i said, if you can find it for under 260$, then get it. overall, its a pretty nice tank considering i got it for like 209$ i give it an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 26th, 2006 at 8:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pballfreak725 Saturday, September 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just c02- not much of a comparison, the c02 sucks
Marker Setup: ion stock, redz cam lock, redz 2 piece 14inch pepper stix, halo b with rip drive, evil scion tank, dye rhino cover, and custom products red blade trigger.
Strengths: Size, company, air efficiency, fits asa's easily
Weaknesses: The price
Review: i got this tank about 6 months ago when i got my new gun. It is a great tank so far. I tis 5000 psi which is great because u never have to worry about how much air goes into ur tank. IT is a good tank and i like it very much. However, it is very expensive. I still think it could go down a little in price. 50 word minimum, blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah. Sorry......
Conclusion: Great tank, air efficiency, and the size is great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sureshot98 Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure energy 72/3000 steel
co2
Marker Setup: sp ion
cp roller trigger
all american
68/5000 evil scion

coming soon
virtue board
Strengths: Light
cheap
light
fast fill
did i mention light
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I got this tank at my local shop boston paintball. i took it home and tested it out in my backyard. with an ion i was able to get around 1100 shots off. the tank holds a ton of air for the size. the only bad thing is that none of the fields in the area can fill to 5 thousand. but still, great tank i highly recommend it. next to the steel tank, this thing weighs next to nothing.
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

girtuskaun Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pmi 68-4500
Marker Setup: Naughty dogs freestyle7-Halo B-72ci 4500psi pmi tank-
Strengths: Nothing at all Looks maybe
Weaknesses: Break,
Dangerous.
Inconsistant.
Review: Ok, i had tested this thing on my friends gun at owens. He was all happy and excited to try this on his new ion. He went to the register to get it filled and I heard the loudest explosion ever. The tank blew up!!!!!!!The burst disk and the whole top area had blown right off and dented the wall very deep. My friend being the stubborn kid he is returned it to pbwiz and got another one. The next day the exact same thing happened at Osg(a whole different arena.) This thing is bad news.
Conclusion: DO NOT BUY THIS unless u wanna waste 350 dollers
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

WildCard38 Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nitro Duck preset and adjustible tanks, Angel A.I.R., Pure Energy preset, Air America Armageddon, Smart Parts Max Flow.
Marker Setup: #1 - SFT Shocker, Evil Scion 68/5000, Empire Reloader B, TonTon Trigger Frame, Turbocharge bolt, CP regulator, NDZ detents, NDZ 15* ASA, NDZ HALO No-Rise feedneck, 16" All American Full Freak kit.

#2 Shocker SFT, Nitro Duck Adjustable 68/4500, Reloader B, Stinger Bolt, CP regulator, NDZ Detents, Check It clamping feedneck, 16" Freak
Strengths: Weight, size, push buton on/off
Weaknesses: Leaks, can't use aftermarket rails only.
Review: First off, I was impressed with the way this system functions. Mounted on my shocker, I get tight with the gun, but not too tight like I've had in the past. The regulator is easy to adjust along with turning on and off with just the simple push of a button. Even though Evil says you can use this as the only regulator in a setup, I choose to use it with a CP regulator also. I have the Scion set at 500psi and my CP set at 170psi which keeps me shooting in the high 260's. (I mainly play at an indoor field with a 275fps max)

Next, the problems I have with this tank. From the first time I played with it, I got a fill at the end of the day so I could still tweak my board setting later in the week for fine tuning. A 4500 fill on sunday night with the reg turned off, turned into a 1500 fill about 26 hours later. I asked a teammate that was using one also and he said his did the same thing. I went back to the shop that I bought it from and they said that was normal for a tank to slowly loose pressure, that it was a "safety precaution" with the air system. I asked another person that has a Scion and they said they have no problems like this with theirs. Also, over time I noticed that the adjusting cap on the front of the regulator where the adjusting screw is in has rusted inside the threads. So if you end up getting one of these, I recommend putting a thin layer of slick honey or some other lube to keep it from rusting. Finally, you can't use an aftermarket rail with this tank. I have yet to find one that fits the dove tail milled into this regulator. At least Evil gives you a rail that fits this tank. Even though it's basic and far from great, a little blue lock-tight goes a long way with this rail. All 3 screws (2 into the grip frame and one in the front locking the reg on the rail) should have some lock-tight placed on it. Remember to use BLUE and not RED or you will have a heck of a time trying to remove it later.
Conclusion: They say that nothing is perfect and this holds true with the Scion. I've learned to take the good with the bad, and the bad doesn't outweigh the good. The fact that the adjustment screw area is rusting out and the tank doesn't hold a fill doesn't over shadow the fact that this is a small, lightweight setup that is easy to use. Going by the checks and balances, I rate this system as a 7 because it's problems are strong enough not to rate it an 8, 9, or 10 but they are not strong enough to rate this system lower being that it is slightly above average.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xxdmxx Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy PMI 68/4500
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix, Freak Barrel, 45/5000 Evil Scion, CP Roller Trigger, AdvantagePB Virtue Board, Shocktech Feedneck, STD JDS LPR, CP Inline Regulator, Evolve Bolt, HALO w/ V35, Dye I3
Strengths: Read Review
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: I received this tank in a trade. My first thought was woah it looks so awesome. After I went to the local store grabbed an air fill and tested it. It was putting out a good pressure so I didn't touch it. It was a bit heavier and longer than most tanks.

Pros:
Consitant
Keeps up with my gun
No shoot down at output of ~400 psi

Cons:
Rail
Heavy
Price if bought new or at MSRP

Conclusion: Get this tank it really rocks. If you are a sissy and can't take any extra weight do yourself a favor and buy a pump w/ 12 grams. The added weight and money is TOTALLY worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media