paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Crossfire Ramrod Barrels / Crossfire Ramrod Barrels / Crossfire Ramrod Barrels

Crossfire Ramrod Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Crossfire

Buy Crossfire Ramrod Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Crossfire Ramrod Barrels
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes in 11" and 13" in black or brushed stainless steel.
Product Availability 
The Crossfire Ramrod Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
toomuchice Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick, JT 2 peice, Freak, Pipe bomb, Infinity
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 05
68/ 4500 psi,
Evlution II w / Z Board
Proteus mask
JT 2 piece, Freak, and Infinity
Recommended
Paintballs:
Is irrelevent for this barrel.
Strengths: Cleans breaks easy
light
Weaknesses: Uses all your paint
Load as hell
Review: This is barrel is a joke. If you like to play recreational, dont bother even looking at this barrel. when you go through brush, the twigs and branches will stick through the rails and destroy every one of your shots. I was able to get about 3/4 of the shots that I would normally get becasue this barrel only has like 3 inches of accelarating time.
Conclusion: Do not get this barrel it stinks. it lets all your go and twigs can get in the way. the only good thing is that it cleans fast after a break.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
There is nothing similar to the RamRod, but i've used a CMI Thunderpig barrel, and the stock Pirana barrel.
Marker Setup: Pirahna STS VL G3 (titanium)
14 in CMI Tru-Flight barrel (black, very accurate)
11 in Crossfire Ramrod barrel (LOUD, not so accurate, but fun)
stock barrel (nothing nice to say about it, other than it looks good)
PMI Trimetal Expansion Chamber
Y2K Drop Forward
32Deg Macroline kit
12 v Revolution
stock bolt
DYE black sticky grips
32deg Turbo Valve
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium paint is the only paint allowed on my field
Strengths: Played a rec game two weeks ago, I was amazed by the number of positive comments I recieved from using this barrel.

Newbs were scared of it because it was so loud, and the experianced players thought the appearance was killer.

The accuracy wasn't too bad either, could hit a running player at 20-30 yards, although it appears to shine best in a speed ball environment.

Very fast shooting barrel, using my Piranha and a 12v Revvie, I whipped out 50 balls in 4-5 seconds, much faster than the stock barrel (I assume that the inside diameter of the breech is slightly larger than the stock breech, causing less o-ring drag, allowing the bolt to cycle faster)

Never broke a ball during the rec game, shooting about 1000 rounds through it before switching to a CMI Thunderpig, which is more accurate at long distance.

BTW, this barrel is LOUD. If you go for the intimidation factor when playing, you can't beat this barrel.
Weaknesses: I can't say much bad about this barrel, unless you are trying to snipe with it. Its accurate enough for rec play, but I'll be using my Thunderpig for my tournies.
Conclusion: Grade "A" bang-bang!

Sheer intimidation factor is worth the $25 I paid for it on eBay.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, August 26th, 2001
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: just about everything........
1. it may be heavy but it help balance the gun out better
2. it will shoot well with just about every kind of paint
3. very easy to clean
4. shoots good even if you busted a ball
5. very accurate
6. fun to talk to all the people that have never seen one
Weaknesses: well...........
1. loud, but that really doesnt matter if you play speedball like i do
2. you have to use decent paint you cant use any BE or any lopsided paint
3. you lose a little FPS but not to much
Conclusion: i have had really no problems with mine personaly i think it is one of the better barrels out there. it is a great barrel for a front player or a tape runner.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 31st, 2001
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I was worried that the ball wouldn't travel as far cause the way the barrel was made, it traveled just as far as my stock barrel. Accuracy was on the mark everytime. I had 0 balls bust out of around 500. I busted a ball and shuved it down the barrel to test the design and it worked just like it said it would. to me i believe you can use the barrel in any type of game, woods or speedball. so what if they hear you shooting, if you shoot first, thats all they do is get to hear you, then they get to sit out for the rest of the game.
Weaknesses: It sounds like shooting my gun without the barrel on it, therefore it is kinda loud. other than that everything is perfect
Conclusion: i slapped a 10" barrel on my spyder shutter, i mostly used marbelizer which seemed to be the best i could cram down it. It is well worth the cost when you think about how much paint you save. I reccommend this barrel to everyone looking for an upgrade.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 9th, 2001
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It was accurate, only broke around 2 or 3 balls out of 200 and they were brass eagle. I really like this barrel. I was using it on a M98. It was easy to clean when I did break a ball.
Weaknesses: It's too loud for sniping but if you play speedball or assault then your ok. If you fall you it might get dirt in the barrel.
Conclusion: I think it is a good barrel. If your on a budget to save paint. get this barrel
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kappa the Imp Saturday, April 7th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I have allready written a review, but this is after owning it for 6 months or so. Don't get me wrong it is a great barrel it shoots accuratly (although I have shot better barrels(boomstick especially) especially when a ball has broken. Yes, Crossfire made its intentions on this barrel. I can honestly say within one shot I can notice no diffrence from when it is perfectly clean. It is great for speedball but that is it. If all you play is speedball (and lots of it) I would suggest this barrel to anyone.
Weaknesses: I know some people say "what a puss, he says its too loud" but infact it really is too loud for anything but speedball I mean if you are hiding in the bushes and a group of people are after you, I can honestly say that within one shot they will know excactly where you are (not like "hey! he's over there!" more like "he's behind that mossy rock that looks like Elvis!") Plus if you shoot fast or play a game all day your ears will be ringing like after a rock concert, center, front row, in a bar. Another thing is that it is too picky about what kind of paintballs you use. It's not that they break but if you don't get the right kind of paintballs, you would be better off with your stock barrel. Not that I can't handle it, but it is kinda heavy, after a game all day you will notice the diffrence between your aluminum barrel and the Ram Rod. (Plus it off-balanced my Spyder) Works like a POS with water in it. (Only water, with paint it works fine)
Conclusion: All in all it is an great barrel for speedball. I can say my biggest complaint would be the way too pickiness of paintballs, that is the only reason I am buying a Smart Parts Progressive with my next paycheck. I am keeping the barrel for speedball, but if you buy one make sure you have enough to get another barrel for woodland games. In my opinion it is the best barrel for speedball, I mean how can you go wrong? I play front so if you play back it might not be the right barrel for you. All in all if the only thing you play is speedball buy it, but if you play all kinds of paintball I would suggest buy this barrel and one made for woodland games, or buy an all around barrel for every situation.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 24th, 2001
 
1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Decently accurate. Not as good as the freak, boomsticks, cp two piecers, or J&J two piecers. Shoots through breaks well.
Weaknesses: Horrible gas efficiency. Expect to get less than half the shots you normally do out of your tank. Think about it. The barrel only gives the paintball about 3 inches to accelerate to full speed before all the gas is lost when it enters the rail section of the barrel. Extremely loud. Once you start shooting everyone on the whole field will know where you are.
Conclusion: Avoid this barrel. There are much better ones out there for the same price. If you're so afraid of breaks then use better paint, learn to pull your trigger better, and get a powered loader.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 24th, 2001
Strengths: when i first started you use this barrel i was really amazed at how accurate it was. And now ive been using it for a month now i havent broken a single ball. But i did crack a ball and droped it in the barrel to see if it would screw up the accuracy, and it didnt even faze it. i really like the design physicaly and mechanicly. i would vote this the #1 barrel even though their are expensive barrels that are a little more accurate. BUT dont get me wrong the barrel is very very accurate.
Weaknesses: the only thing that could be bad is that its loud. And another thing is that if your playing in a forest and your trying to rest the barrel on a bunker, alot of dirt will push up thrue the barrel and that can mess up your accuracy. But this is a very very rare problem, even if your in that situation all you would have to do is hold the barrel underneath with your hand so dirt wouldnt push up thrue it.
Conclusion: My conclusion is that this barrel stands out from the rest. This should represent a properly built and manufactured barrel. Its well desighned, and precisioned built. I would recomend this barrel from a newby to a pro. Its accurate and doesnt brake balls but at the same time it price is unbelievable. I give it a 10+
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kappa the Imp Monday, March 12th, 2001
Strengths: It is dead on accurate. I shot the pole on a basketball hoop at least 120 feet away in with two shots. Equal distance as a boomstick.(Trust me I have used a boomstick in the same situation) It can use crappy paintballs(Brass Eagle, Viewloader etc.) It looks and sounds very cool. In an indoor course it sounds like a shotgun going off. (Major intimidation!) It is impossible to break a ball in it. Plus it looks really cool.
Weaknesses: Maybe because it is hard to use the feature on it that says if you break a ball it still shoots straight. (I have never broken a ball in it (2500 rounds (Pursuit, Accuball, and Viewloader) If for some reason you use Viewloader paintballs this barrel doesn't shoot them as acurratly as Acuball and Pursuit. Personally I found that Pursuit work best, for Pursuit paintballs. I intentionally broke a ball in the barrel and it shot better than my stock barrel, almost as good as clean, but not quite. Compared to any other barrel with a broken ball in it this baby is like graduating high school as a junior. The only other bad thing is that if you play at a place that is very strict about having a barrel plug is that it is about 8 inches long, so wear pants with deep pockets.
Conclusion: The barrel I used is 11 inch version, the boomstick I mentioned is 14 inches. I used it on a Spyder. It is definatly worth the $70 unless your sole position in paintball is sniper which I guess you should get a flatline or boomstick, I don't really know; I've never had the patience to be a sniper. After playing around with one of my friends the only barrel he would consider is a Ram~Rod and I'm sure after the guy I'm shooting at gets out a few times they too will decide that a Ram~Rod is worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:54 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 18th, 2000
Strengths: this barrel is great. very very acurate. and if u do have a ball break, it does not effect the next shot at all. u can not get anymore acurate then this barrel. it is dead on acurate. i have a parannah gun and i have the 11" and 13" ramrod and they both proform exactally the same....great!
Weaknesses: the only think bad, is that it is loud. really loud. but i mean since the barrel is dead on acurate, DONT WORRY ABOUT THE LOUDNESS, i sure dont.
Conclusion: well anyways the barrel is a great barrel. to me, the best barrel in paintball today. and its only about $69.99. well worth the money!! this barrel is not at all simular to any other barrels today! even the dye boomstick does not compare to this in anyway, including acuracy and prformence. I FOR SURELY recomend this barrel to anyone! plus no needing to squeege out ur barel for any reason, even if u have mud and rocks in this barrel, in 1-2 shots it is clean allready! A MUST HAVE BARREL!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media