paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Protium / JT Protium / JT Protium / JT Protium

JT Protium Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Protium

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Protium
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 34
Average Rating: 8.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The newest marker offerings from JT™ are here for 2004! Our mid-level marker line holds true with the Protium™ marker. This marker is designed to bring all the best features together for the intermediate player to put into play. Information Center with High-Definition, Organic Light-emitting Diode (OLED) Display Screen, Omni-Pressure™ (400-800 p.s.i.) operating system (CO2 / N2, Delrin™ Anti-Chop Bolt with Quick-strip Pin, Single Adjustable Ball Stop, TriTouch™ (three-way) Adjustable Trigger, the one and only Gorilla Grip™ Self-Sizing Vertical Feed Port, PowerTransfer™ Bottom-line, ColdFuzion™ Conversion Chamber (converts liquid CO2 to useable gas), High-Voltage (9.6V) Nickel Metal Hydride (rechargeable battery), Fully-adjustable Foregrip Regulator and Custom Aluminum Grip Frame and Valve-Spring with Dwell Adjustment.
Product Availability 
The JT Protium is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
jbwin Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Spyder Electra with rocker (this gun rocks)
Icon Z
Pirana EVO special edition (this gun rocks too)
Marker Setup: Protium
14" AIM barrel
48/3000 N2
Egg II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Frame and Trigger (if possible)
Barrel
Egg or faster (depending on how fast you shoot)
Strengths: Cheap
Fast (if you can walk it good)
Accurate
Anti-Chop Bolt
Fully adjustable trigger
Weaknesses: Trigger (too weirdly shaped but I manage)
Stock Barrel
Can't read Display screen
Review: I have used this gun in one paintball outing and in that outing I put about 3000 rounds through it. The trigger on this gun is awkward because the trigger guard is very close to the trigger and the trigger is curved. It is fairly accurate and can be fast if walked right. I bought this gun on Ebay for $56 (brand new) so I don't have a whole lot to complain about. Unless you shoot slow you will need to buy an Egg II or faster hopper. With those 3000 rounds through it I didn't get one break. One ball did bust but it was in the hopper as it was going into the gun so I don't know what happened. I did have a little trouble walking this gun but I can walk it ok. I used my friend's EVO special edition and the protium doesn't compare with it. I was spewing paint all over the field with the Pirana so I would definitely have to say buy a new trigger for the Protium.
Conclusion: This is a good gun but you will have to be willing to spend some money on a hopper and a new frame (if you can put one on it). I like this gun but there are definitely better guns out there.
Please contact me if you are able to put a different frame on this gun.
I will edit and probably raise my rating if i can put a new trigger frame on this gun
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 11th, 2006 at 8:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pindrop Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Electro-Sear Stacked Tube Blowbacks models from 1986-2006
Marker Setup: Mongoose LCD Pro Backman Setup, PMI Razor, HALO TSA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Grip, Drop, HPA, Bolt, Springs, Valve, Electronics
Strengths: Shoots Fast!
Weaknesses: Its Tall
Review: I shot this at pev's and it was wicked. It is super fast and you can actually walk it, It was however highly modifyed from the original. (WE DO NOT USE MARKERS STOCK WE USE THEM AS A BUILDING PLATFORM TO MAKE PIMP MARKERS, HOW THIS MARKER IS STOCK I HAVE NO IDEA BUT I HAVE SEEN ONE THAT CAN PUT A STRUGGLE TO MY GOOSE) I have always hated JT but they really came through on this one. The marker is very tall compared to the EGO, Timmy, Flash, Orrcales and so on but it is super short so it makes up for it.
Conclusion: It costs to much money to make it tourney playable, but if you want a marker that you can take out onto the field right out of the box and own alot of rec players then go for it...
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 11th, 2006 at 12:44 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jtpro28 Monday, January 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares to how bad this is. my spyder was better
Marker Setup: 06 ego
star frame
vitrue board
hybrid grips
cp asa
Strengths: Ahh it shoots a paintball
Weaknesses: C-c-c-c-c-ch-cho-chopy
made of like concret
Review: I got this gun thinking it would be the greatest gun in the world. (along time ago) it finnally arrived in the mail and i was sooo happy. i took it out of the package and the paintjob and the body looked terrible. its like they put cement on it and spray paintend it. there was liitle dents and dings in the body. i was very dissapointed. ok well now i though to myself, who cares how this gun looks, lets go test it.i put a board up in my backyard and shot a paintball.....YAY. it shoots straight. with a new barrel....i was very happy. ok so i though id see how fast i ccould shoot it, i started walking the trigger and like 10 balls came out good till it CHOPED. and CHOPED it did. again. again. again. again.again.again. and again. i was like wtf. so i cleaned out all the paint and went back to shoot it. CHOPED. CHOPED. CHOPED. CHOPED. ok well i was like this sucks nut. anyways i still took it out to play one day. i get out there and get in the game and i pull the trigger.....CHOPED. i was fed up. i called myself out of the game and took it over and took it apart to see wtf was going on. now this doesnt have eyes so i figured it was that. anyways i took it apart and couldnt find anything. i didnt get to play at all because i had gun problems ALL DAY. it wasnt fun. i couldnt even ship it back for my money because the stupid trigger shot counter. i just pulled the trigger around in my house and the shot counter went to like 10000. so i couldnt get my money back.
Conclusion: Not worth your time any money.
Please save yourself and dont get this gun.
It has no eyes and chops like a mother.
If you get this gun....well your a homo
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 16th, 2006 at 8:40 am PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

j.a.m. Tuesday, January 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder aggressor xt (not nearly as good)
Marker Setup: Evil pimp
ghetto 7 board
Halo B
Crossfire 68/4500 fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
n2
fast hopper
Strengths: Fast
Cheap compared to other guns like it
Accurate
Omni-pressure adjustment
Awesome electric grip
Weaknesses: bad stock barrel
Semi-auto
Caps @ 13bps, not 15
Review: I love this gun. great price and looks awesome. I don't like how quickly it shifts from blue to silver though. It isn't the best gun though, and it isn't for any really serious paintball players. This makes a great 2nd or 3rd gun though. I love the electric grip. This was a huge step up from my agressor. This is a very underrated gun. Because JT isn't really known for making guns this gun isn't really given much respect. This is a good 2nd gun that is easy to upgrade into a great gun.

EDIT
I shot this gun a lot more. I was shooting at the box my HALO came in and several paintballs went through the exact same hole. I completely take back the innacuracy statement. I've also gotten stronger and now don't care about the weight. great gun!
Conclusion: I love it. But this is just my 2nd gun. But for me it is a definite 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 17th, 2006 at 9:36 am PST
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

bunker101 Monday, June 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp pro stock autococker w/ halo b-drive, 68ci 4500psi nitrogen, 14" freak
evil pimp
Marker Setup: jt protium, ricochet apache, 20oz co2, 16inch j&j ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
kingman/spyder rocking trigger frame
almost any topcocking intmidator bolt
if you dont like the tank in your shoulder i would recomend a ullet dropfroward w/ on/off switch
Strengths: Accurate
Pretty nice stock barrel
shoots almost as fast as you can
rarely missfires
Weaknesses: When and if you miss fire very loud
Review: This gun is high in bps accuracy if you get atleast a 14" barrel (i think) pretty heavy with everything on it compared to my Spyder Xtra or Tippmann 98 custom. never chopps, very constant, very reliable.

Not one of the guns that if you dron it it will break it can withstand alot of s*** that ive thrown at it. Can get bulky if you dont have a larger dropforward. loud when....if you miss fire. Tell me if you do cause i havent yet. Good for realy just taking anger out on people in a match cause the balls will go as lonmg as ur pulling the trigger. Co2 works fine but i would recomend N2 because its lighter and lasts longer.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a mid level marker that can do what you need it for i would buy this gun especially for the price!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

E-Bladedcocker8 Sunday, March 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I shoot an impulse, by far better
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse/ function trigger/ check it unimount/ ccm feedneck/ECS programmed vision board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Um, the only thing you can get for it is a barrel.
Nitro if you don't have it
Strengths: Looks
Screen
Feedneck
Weaknesses: Reliability
Trigger
Speed
Price
Review: Well, I don't like this gun much at all. The trigger is very heavy (in actual weight) drilled holes in mine made it much better. Um, as far as reliabiliyty goes, my bolt has cracked, my reg has been completly rebuilt twice. If I could go back I would buy a Mongoose Reincarceration 2. That gun is much lighter and faster.
Conclusion: I wouldn't buy it, buy a mongoose reincarceration 2. Faster Lighter more reliable.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

PAINTBALLER4LYF Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon E
Spyder Fenix
Spyder Imagine
Basicly this gun is a spyder clone
Marker Setup: Raven Primal
Viewloader Revolution W/ X-Board
Crossfire 3000psi / 68 ci compressed air tank
14'' J&J performance barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you shoot less than 14bps you dont need an electronic hopper
Barrel seems good and matches the gun perfect
Compressed air tank, co2 might mess up the gun
Strengths: ** Read Review Below **
Weaknesses: ** Read Review Below **
Review: Strengths-
This gun looks good
Accurate
Fast shooting
Air efficient
Trigger looks wierd but its really good
Comfortable Grip
Easy to take apart
If you shoot under 14 bps you dont need an Electronic Hopper
Easy to take hopper off
BPS is about 17 bps
Great gun to get as your first gun

Weaknesses-
The gun can only shoot Semi but on full auto all you do is chop paint anyways


Conclusion: If you cant save up another $200.00 for an impulse because your cheap or this is the first gun your going to get than get this gun a lot of people will want to use it and think its a really really expensive gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

paint 2 da ball Sunday, January 23rd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt 6.0, Dragun TES, Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Ul'd PM6
68/4500 NitroDuck
Evo 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
A different gun look in review for more info
Strengths: Looks
It shoots
Faster then normal blowbacks but not much
Weaknesses: Doesnt walk.
Not a quality gun.
Review: This gun was a very big dissapointment for me.
At first i was a kinda newb going into the paintball scene and saw this gun on internet two christmas' ago and thought it seemed really cool because it was good looking and had a trigger close to the frame (which i thought meant it can shoot faster).
Well turns out after a couple months this gun does not walk, and was a waste of 250$(the price of them a year or so ago) when i could now have spent that 250 on an SP ion or an autococker trilogy pro or something.

Don't buy this gun unless your just playin woodsball or recball therefore it will serve its purpose to shoot at people and somewhat accurate
Conclusion: Dont get this gun for a start get a tippman or spyder or something.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 10th, 2007 at 10:12 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bryz51 Thursday, January 6th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spider sport (dont ask)
Marker Setup: 14" Razzor Barrel (it has the same colors as the protium and fades)
Empire Loader
3000 psi Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
even though great stock barrel it could use another. also u should defenitly use nitro with this gun. BELIEVE ME for sum reason c02 just sucks w/this gun.
Strengths: -fast
-LCD screen
-nice stock barrel
-rechargable
-beautiful.....!
Weaknesses: -Itss kinda loud but who really cares
Review: I gotta start off by saying that this is my first electric marker and im defenitly impressed.
First of all, this gun is like the most gorgeus gun ever made. I would make sweet passionate love to it by the fire side.

Second is that this gun is fast and accurate (even w/stock). Another thing is that it comes with a rechargable feature that comes with the recharger and everything!

Third is that its a great gun for begginers/pros.

Fourth and most importantly is that no gun matches it in its class of under 500. You just cant go wrong with this gun!
Conclusion: If ur deciding on a gun that has all the features of a high end electric gun than why look any farther. Get this gun now. Its price is unbeatable (i got mine for like 300$) and ull save like 200$ that u could buy equipment for it. Please dont judge this gun by its price. Read the reviews. YOU DONT GET MUCH BETTER THAN THIS!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 27th, 2005 at 4:25 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

superniceguy Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder fenix is similar
Marker Setup: Right now i am using the standard marker and a regular hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better hopper, longer barrel.
Strengths: Close trigger, firing speed, electronic trigger, timer, total shots, apperence.
Weaknesses: A bit loud, and it is only a semi auto.
Review: I like the looks, because of the waves on the body, and how the color changes from dark to light. The trigger is very close, it is so close u can accidentally pull it. Very light in weight, and easy to use. The accuracy is all right but u can fix it by getting a new barrel. The price is pretty good.
Conclusion: Galyans good prices tells you all the information. If I was you I would by it because it is a good price and a good gun for advanced players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media