paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Crossfire Air System / Crossfire Air System / Crossfire Air System

Crossfire Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Crossfire

Buy Crossfire Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Crossfire Air System
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 238
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $95

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Prices start at $95 for 47ci and are $169 for 68ci, $179 for 88ci and $189 for 114ci. Features: 850 psi fixed output, manufactured to CGA & ASTM, high flow design, and lightning fast regulation when firing.
Product Availability 
The Crossfire Air System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (24):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
1kureckert Thursday, December 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy 3000 psi and 4500 psi tanks of various sizes
Marker Setup: 26 A-5s in various configurations with remotes, etc. (I loan out my stuff for people to use.)
4 Tacamo Type IIs
Strengths: They are typically cheaper than competitors
Weaknesses: Four out of five leaked air
Review: I've bought five of these tanks both for personal use and as gifts. Four out of five of them leaked air (one from the fill nipple). The rest leaked due to the burst disk not being tightened down far enough. Plus, I found that the oversize dial, although great for reading can bend during rough play. To be honest, though, I've had to send 4 out of 28 of my Pure Energy tanks back to them for repairs also, so nothing is perfect; but the failure rate for these were higher than expected.
Conclusion: It's a good price for HPA tanks.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 20th, 2009 at 8:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NinjaDragon23 Friday, August 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Throttle 91/4500
Empire 45/4500
PMI 48/3000
Crossfire 48/3000
Marker Setup: PM7
CP Regulator
Virtue Eyes
Ego Barrel
Crossfire 45/45 (800psi)
Hybrid Halo B
Strengths: Light
Stable Regulator
Durable
Weaknesses: Expensive (worth it)
Review: This is a great tank, Crossfire has always made great tanks and this is definitely one of them. They are so light and efficient, i dont think i will ever need a new tank unless i break it intentionally. I cant even explain how much better HPA is than CO2, but whoever uses CO2 needs to get with the picture and get one of these. Excellent tank. The Dyes are just as good just a bit more expensive ( you pay for the name ).
Conclusion: Get it. Great for any marker and is offered in both high and low pressure outputs. Just as good as Dye, if not better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjgoforward Thursday, August 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first HPA tank to own.
I have rented Chromaly Pure Energy 72/3000/ 68/3000 Crossfire Chromaly
Marker Setup: Diablo Reincarnation 2 LCD BBS w/ EYES Black/Silver Fade
Halo Frontman TSA E'hopper
14" J&J Ceramic
Carlton/Crossfire 88/3000 HPA
Strengths: Better consistancy over CO2
Better efficiency over 68/3000 Chromaly
Lighter than 68/3000 Chromaly
Weaknesses: Tank is VERY long.
Not as light as 4000 tanks.
Review: After about a year of frustration with paintballs going everywhere except where I was aiming them, I began to try to figure out an economical way to make the best of what I have. Jeff from Action Center Paintball suggested that I start with switching from CO2 to HPA. However, I didn't see the $175-$250 for most of the high end HPA systems as economical. I found the 88/3000 Crossfire/Carlton at just a little over $100. It is one of the best paintball purchases I have made. The first time I used it, it was obvious that the tradjectory of the paintballs were much more consistant. Also, Chrono-which used to be a beast with CO2, became a piece of cake. My velocity is usually +/-4 fps with the Crossfire/Carlton. It was usually +/-10 with CO2. Still with a 3000 tank I was not sure how often I would need to refill during a good day of paintball. With the combination of the 88 cu Crossfire, and the tank I have been able to play three hours without a refill. In those three hours I went through about 1100 paintballs. This is easily as good as I would do with a 20 oz CO2 tank. With the 68/3000 chromaly rentals I was using I would have to refill two or three times in a three hour afternoon.
The 3000 Carlton tank is a little long, and it is difficult to stretch a tank cover onto it. Also with my marker, it makes it a pretty long reach to the forgrip if the but end of the tank is against the front of your shoulder. I have seen guys put the tank on top of their shoulder. This could be a good remedy, but it is a little uncomfortable to me. If you have deep pockets, a 4000 stubby Crossfire tank would probably be better.
Conclusion: If you are price consious (Jeff at Action Center would say cheap), and you want HPA, this is a great way to go. 88/3000 Crossfire/Carlton. I will give it an 8 because of the extra length, and the extra weight over some of the Crossfire 4000 Stubbies I have examined. However this combination is a great buy.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 9th, 2008 at 3:30 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Corrupted355 Monday, September 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI 88/4500 and 68/4500
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5:
PPS Brass barrel w/ Apex tip
X7 hopper
APE E-grip
Response Trigger
Vortex mod
QEPH
Palmer's Male Stabilizer
Armson Prodot sight w/ Lapco offset rail
OPSGEAR G36 folding stock
CMI micro-coil remote
Strengths: Solid
Lightning fast recharge rate
Stable output pressure - very consistent
Weaknesses: After it was broken in, there were none
Review: I've got an 88 cubic inch, 4500 psi, 850 psi output iteration of Crossfire's fiber wrapped tanks. I was really excited when it showed up on my front door. It's a pretty big bottle, but at 88ci, that's kinda expected. I use a remote, so it's not like I have to heft it around. I've played with it on-gun before, and it's just slightly too big for comfort, but a drop forward would go a long way to help that out.

When I first got it, there was a tiny leak at the threads of the 7k burst disc. I checked out Crossfire's website and they said that it was no big deal; it happens occasionally on new bottles. Just empty the bottle and put some thread sealer or teflon tape on there. I did, and it's been perfect ever since.

One of my teammates got a PMI 88/4500 at about the same time I did. The first major test of our tanks was at a big scenario game, and he blew the seal on the fill nipple about halfway through. To date, he's been through maybe 3 or 4 nipples (in about 3 months). I don't know if it's the tank or how he fills them, but it's getting understandably annoying.

As for the performance of my Crossfire tank, I couldn't be happier. It's got my velocity to +/- 3 fps on a Tippmann blowback. And even at 25 bps (yes, Tippmanns can cycle that fast... no, its not really recommended... no, I don't play with that ROF, I was only testing stuff out) there's no shootdown that I notice.
Conclusion: This is arguably the best air system out right now. Once I worked out that initial air drip, it's been the perfect propellant system. I'm very happy, and you will be too if you pick one up.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 24th, 2007 at 1:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhorgan Wednesday, August 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP Air, Pure Energy, AGD Flatline
Marker Setup: 2006 Cyborg
PBK Sabre Trigger
06 Sonic Clamping Feedneck
PowerLyte Barrel Kit
CP mini-rail w/CP on off

2006 FEP Quest
Goldmember Bolt
Snatch Pin
007 Barrel
Chip Board w/NOX
FEP Zero Drop Reg
CP Rail
NDZ On/Off
Strengths: Consistency, Quality parts (most of them)
Weaknesses: Little heavy, LP burst disk
Review: I've had this tank for a little over 3 years and, for the most part, it has been good to me. I've never had any problems as far as the regulator supplying ait to my markers or consistency.
For the better part of 2 1/2 years I had no problems what so ever. But at a tournament one day the low pressure burst disk blew out. I thought maybe it was just normal wear and tear on the part, or maybe it had something to do with the fill station at the tournament (2 other people had the same thing happen to them). So I called Crossfire and told them what happened. They asked to me to send it in to get the reg rebuilt. Customer service was top notch. I payed to send it in, but they didn't even charge me to rebuild the reg or to ship it back. The tank worked perfectly after the rebuild until recently.
After another tournament (different place than the previously mentioned tournament) my low pressure burst disk blew again. Granted, this is about 9 months after the first time. The tank held pressure for well over 24 hours at about 4300psi (it's a 4500psi tank). And then at about 3am the tank blew the disk and woke me up out of a dead sleep. I replaced the burst disk myself and put air back on it. The tank worked great for the majority of practice the next weekend but then it blew the disk again. I can see a repeating pattern here. So I'm going to stop using this tank on a regular basis and use it as a back up.
Conclusion: My overall expeience with the Crossfire tank is a good one. Minus some annoying problems. I do recommend this tank to anyone who wants a very consistently feeding tank but doesn't mind a little bit of extra weight. 8 out of 10.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chemistry Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7
Response Trigger
Flatline, Empire 9-piece, and J&J Ceramic barrels
TechT Vortex & Lightening Rod
Polished Internals
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Consistently blows low side rupture disk
Review: I purchased this tank at the end of April, first of May 2007. I filled it up, put it on my marker, and dry fired it five or six times. It blew the low side rupture disk.

Crossfire took it in under warranty, and supposedly replaced the regulator and sent it back to me. I had to pay shipping back to them. This time I got one good weekend out of the tank, and it worked well. About 2000 rounds. The following weekend, I put about 200 rounds through it and it blew the low side rupture disk again.

I sent it back to Crossfire again, I payed for shipping again, and they sent it back to me claiming to have replaced the regulator again. I filled it up when I got to a field to play, and went to chrono. It lasted 3 shots before it blew the low side rupture disk. Three shots.

This time Crossfire payed to have it shipped back to them, and supposedly replaced the reg again. It came back looking beat to hell, the threads were flat on one side from either dropping it, or tool marks. I religiously kept the thread saver on it that came with my tank. The tank was also RETURNED TO ME WITH A BLOWN RUPTURE DISK!

The local Crossfire dealer, who is not where I purchased the tank, offered to swap it out if Crossfire would accept the bad tank on return from him for a store credit. Crossfire refused this option. They want me to send it back to them (on their dime at least) for a FOURTH TIME!!
Conclusion: I've owned this tank just over a month and a half, and its been usable one weekend.

Crossfire has shown no competence in their ability to produce a quality product.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dees_Troy Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Air America, CP Air, PMI, Centerflag, AGD Flatline, Java, etc.
Marker Setup: Delrin Turtle Mini Midget Autococker
e2 eBlade with Powerex 9.6V battery
MP4 Ram
Tickler LPR
Twisted products LPC / front block screw
CP Shorty HPR
MQ Valve
Pulse with RF chip
45/45 CP AIR tank
Deadlywind Wisper carbon fiber barrel with full Freak set of inserts
Strengths: Reliable
Fast Recharge
Great Price
Weaknesses: A bit heavy
Review: Crossfire tanks are almost an industry standard now. They have incredibly fast recharge rates and are extremely reliable. You almost can't go paintballing without seeing at least one Crossfire tank. The price is also very good.

I've had a couple or 3 Crossfire tanks and the regs have always worked flawlessly without any leaks. The one leak I have encountered came from a leaky fill nipple which was easy and cheap to replace and can happen to any tank.

The stock gauge is fairly large and easy to read. This can be a good and bad thing. Large can also get in the way of your wrist.

Crossfire regs are also not made with the lightest materials and are not the smallest regs on the market, so they can be a bit heavier and longer than some other products.
Conclusion: It's a great product at a great price. You really can't go wrong with a Crossfire tank.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

soccerjacks12 Saturday, May 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire -68/3k: Lighter, holds more shots
PMI PE 68/3k: " "
PE CO2- Heavier, holds more shots, colder, freezes up my gun
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha 05 GTi EForce
Flush Cocking
Red Bolt
Extreme Rage Trigger
Dye Sticky 3 grips
14"CP Classic One-Piece Barrel
Reloader B
Crossfire 47/3000
Strengths: AIR!
Consistent
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: I receieved my Crossfire 47/3000 psi tank from a friend for free. I was very grateful to receive such a hyped product, and it deserves it. The regulator on this tank is extremely consistent, giving me +/- 8 on an unregulated Piranha. Air is a great improvement over CO2. The only downfall of this tank is the weight. Being a metal tank it is quite heavy compared to a fiber-wrapped. It doesn't bother me too much when I'm playing because I am decently strong and I don't pay attention to it in the game.
Conclusion: Great product. If I had the cash I'd buy a Carbon Fiber, but this works.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

epygit Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Pure Energy 68/3000
Marker Setup: Ion
Q-Lock
Hybrid ASA
ANS Trigger
Empire B
Crossfire 68/4500 LP
Strengths: Amazing
Recharge
Lght
Good Looking
Weaknesses: None, maybe price... but thats what comes with a good tank
Review: The Crossfire Nitro Tank is certainlly one of a kind. It is amazing! It's recharge rate is fantastic. I held this tank up compared to my 47/3000 Steel Crossfire (Both tanks empty), and the 68 CI was lighter than the 47 CI. Obviously because it is Carbon Fiber. This tank has good looks to add to it's statistics 10/10 No doubt.....
Conclusion: The best name in paintball... A great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lopez17 Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy, Dye and Centerflag tanks. While the other tanks are solid performers, the regs and quality of Crossfire tanks is unsurpassed in the industry.
Marker Setup: I shoot a 2K5'd GZ, Excalibur, FL Viking, Texas Storm, Ripper, Ripper 2 and Ripper 3 Intimidators. I run a Halo or an Empire Reloader B (and now a Pulse) with a PMI Pure Energy or Crossfire Tank.
Strengths: Highly precise and consistent performance from the Tank Regulator.
Weaknesses: Availability. Due to carbon fiber shortages some are hard to find NIB.
Review: Crossfire tanks/tank regs are consistently rated the highest or among the highest in all quality test. These tanks are amazingly consistent both in the High Pressure and Low Pressure output versions. I had primarily used Pure Energy tanks on most of my high end markers, occasionally swapping out for friends tanks (Dye, Centerflag). Due to it's price, I bought a used Crossfire tank and haven't looked back. It's been amazingly consistent on my Intimidator and last year I bought another used tank near the end of it's hydro.

In addition to quality tanks, CF also has a unique program. You can send them your tank (of any company's manufacture) and they will replace the regulator with a Crossfire for a reasonable price. They also offer in house hydro testing services as well. I had this done with a PE tank that was nearing the end of it's 5 year test life. I had the tank back in less than two weeks with a new LP reg on the bottle. Like every other crossfire tank it's been highly consistent and has worked well on my Intimidators, Viking and Excalibur.

The company puts out a quality product and is there to support the consumer. They're a class act and their products speak for themselves.
Conclusion: A highly recommended tank without any of the issues or problems that lesser companies have.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (24):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media