paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Viking / AKA Viking / AKA Viking / AKA Viking

AKA Viking Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Viking

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Viking
[ View Photos (20) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 94
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $810

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same side, dual ball detent
3/8's of a pound lighter than the '03
Shorter profile
SCM comes standard
Relocated on/off switch
Shorter bolt
Bodies are milled for eye wiring
WAS Equalizer Board
Humphrey Solenoids (commonly referred to as the "new" solenoids)
Type 3 "Hard" anodizing in a matte (dust) finish
Double grip with Blade trigger
AKA low-rise
Factory Warranty
Product Availability 
The AKA Viking is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
maxpm6 Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
a couple of timmys and my pm6




Marker Setup: Proto matrix 06 egg ans carbon tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
really its a matter of opinions id say change the barrel and grip but others love this stock
Strengths: VERY VERY FAST
Not many people have these
Weaknesses: Not much of a looker



Review: My friend Parsa and I were at our local rec. fied and he was rocking his viking and i got to shoot it, not sure what customs he added but as far as i could tell a dye sticky grip and a diff barrel. THIS GUN IS FAST, GET A FAST HOPPER( i was using his halo b w/ victory) very accurate( i think my pm6 is better though) no chop, i swear though his gun is cursed i shot 1 kid 6-7 in the mask and they all bounced. besides that great hidden treasure.
Conclusion: Great gun, not one everyone has, priced nicely, good buy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bluelite Monday, November 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Fly-lighter but more finicky, Timmies-lighter but feel like they are going to break, Matrix-about the same weight wise and mine was nothing but trouble
Marker Setup: 04 FSP viking with crossfire, halo, freak
Recommended
Upgrades:
Milling to cut weight, clamping feedneck, Tadao board
Strengths: Efficient, Fast, Rugged
Weaknesses: Weight?
Review: I've owned quite a few high end markers and shot just about everything out there and I won't be letting go of my 04 viking. It is fast and efficient and the consistency is outstanding. I have gotten many a comment from refs after watching the chrono read the same three times in a row coming onto a field. The only thing to improve really is reducing the weight of the marker. I am in shape and after playing 11 tournament games in one day in Texas in July, every spare gram you don't have to haul around and burn energy on becomes a factor. I sent mine to DC and got it milled and it is now only .2 pounds heavier than an ion so weight is no longer much of a factor. I also installed a Tadao board and now have enough modes for any situation I might find myself in.
Conclusion: Considering you can pick one of these up for around 500 dollars currently I don't think there is a better marker in paintball than the viking when you look at it from the standpoint of performance vs. money spent and the viking will keep up with any top end gun out there with ease. It's all personal preference and I prefer my viking.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elegit Tuesday, November 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD
Dragon Timmy
Marker Setup: 2003 AKA Viking
Fully Milled
Blue acid wash
Ti Longbow
Clapming feedneck
Eyes
Upped noids
SCM2
razer trigger
Evo w/ x-board
Air America Apac
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Halo
trigger
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Quiet
Extremely efficient
Weaknesses: Heavy. This is one of the heaviest markers I have ever owned.
Review: Well I own 2 Vikings and one E2. I use the Vikings as my primarys and the E2 as my backup. It's simple: I can't shoot any other marker as fast as I can shoot my Vik (although I can come close with my blade). No other marker I have ever seen or owned has ever been so efficient on air. And few markers out there are as quiet as the vik...or excal.


Simple...
Conclusion: The best marker for me...period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb addict Sunday, October 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
e- blade cocker
mech cocker
Marker Setup: 2k4 viking, blue halo, dye UL, 45 45 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Accuracy, speed, very low pressure, durability ( it never breaks down )
Weaknesses: Heavy compared to other markers.
Stiff bolt.
Review: I got my viking used so everything was already broken in and the scm was set to about 69 psi. The bolt was broken in and it wasnt stiff and hard to move.

The barrel that the viking comes with the javalin is really heavy and not a very good barrel. So I bought a dye ultra-lite and my viking is amazing.
Conclusion: For the price and the performance the viking is the way to go. But if u dont have the eyes i would suggest getting them and also getting a new barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 19th, 2005 at 10:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bunkerking1337 Wednesday, September 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about every high-end electro gun out there.
Marker Setup: BL 2k4 Black Alias with blue sleeve.
clear Halo B loader
CP Unimount
CP adjustable ram cap
45/45k Crossfire HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
You don't really have to get any upgrades for this gun. Its great stock.
Strengths: Fast, accurate, durable, reliable.
Weaknesses: Like someone else said its kind of plain.
Review: When I was on a local D-III Xball team one of the guys had this gun. I had heard about the Viking but I never got to actually use one. So finally I met someone with a Viking and I couldn't believe how great it really was..it was everything people said it was. The Viking was fast, accurate, durable and very relaible. Its too bad that AKA stopped making them I would love to buy one of these.
Conclusion: Like I said above AKA stopped making the Viking so it might be hard to find one. If you can find one though you should definitly buy it the Viking is one of the best guns out there. It does live up to everything a tournament paintballer wants in a gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Eyecare Thursday, June 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many, from AM Illusion and Carter Buzzard to Eclipse Shocker (old style), Timmy Classic (upgraded), FFLE Autococker, etc. You can view some of them here: (just cut and past the link)
http://community.webshots.com/album/75671561Qqiivm
Marker Setup: Current primary marker is an '04 Viking
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed
Strengths: Shoots fast, accurate, easy to maintain, rugged
Weaknesses: Price. Even used models don't decrease much in value.(Might also be a strength)
Review: AKA makes great products. Their Excalibur /Viking line are in my view one of the finest examples of marker engineering and performance in the non-rotary valve style of guns (most guns aside from new Shockers and Matricies). AKA has always promoted function over form, an although you can get customized (milling and special anodizing) Vikings you can't re-anodize these once they've been anodized without affecting their tolerance. The construction, engineering, everything is all first rate.

The '04 Viking was the last of the breed (after SP started suing everyone for electronic triggers) and incorporates a number of improvements over earlier models to include eyes, WAS board (or alternate), and the SCM (Soda Can Mod - essentially an inline LPR). I've been using an souped up Timmy Classic (all the important things like LP mod, WAS board, PBK bolt and detents, larger barbs and hoses, carbon fiber Techna-Trigger, reverse polarity magnets, etc.) for quite some time now and am quite happy with it. I just thought it was time to try something new. As I've been looking at the '04 Viking for quite some time, I passed over getting a new Shocker or DM5, which were my alternates.

First impressions:
I was somewhat impressed by how well these Vikings held their value over the years. Any other gun decreases dramatically in price but this one hasn't. Perhaps it's because of it's relative rarity, or high quality, or performance , or all of the above. The one I got (used) is the stock black "04 model with the SCM and MiteyMax (volumizer), a custom JMJ trigger and a WAS with the latest software revision. The dwell had also been upped to 10ms. It has two side-by-side detents on the left side of the chamber and a low rise clamping feedneck.

Setup:
Well, the 9 volt battery was already in place. I had to read the manual on how to set the WAS using the trigger as the Viking has no LCD. This is really simple to do and I didn't have to adjust anything aside from putting the eyes in the "Forced" mode. If you've used any gun with a WAS board before this is simple. I took the bolt out and reset it. The trigger isn't as easy to adjust as on a Timmy. It's more like an Angel in this regard. I replaced the trigger return spring that the former owner had taken out as I like a bit more tension on my trigger. Everything seemed to be in good order.

Performance:
All in all, nothing fancy in the milling/color department but this was expected. So let's go to where the money is: how does it shoot? Very well, thank you. I can shoot this significantly faster than my Timmy (and my Timmy is not slow). The trigger is almost too sensitive. Of course I can adjust this but it's so much fun shooting ropes. And more importantly, it shoots where you aim it. It's fairly consistent at the chrono; +/- 5, but I was using old balls from last season so it might be better with fresher balls. No breaks using a Halo-B/rip drive.

Ball breaks:
Well, I haven't had one yet so I broke one on purpose in the chamber to see what happens. It seems to clear fairly well but I'd still use a squeegee on the field if I have the time. The eyes didn't seem affected, even with the fairly thick Chronic paint I used. Some paint residue leaked out of the eye cover. This probably implies there's a small leak where the eyes or detents go in the body but it didn't sem to affect performance in any way. Cleaning on the field is fairly easy. You can slip the bolt out and run a swab straight through. Off field cleaning , especially where removing the eye cover on the ball detent side is a bit more complex. Actually it's easy to do but be careful not to lose the ball detent compression springs. I lost one while I was checking out my gun and had to jury rig one out of an old ball-point pen spring. It still works though.

Options/Upgrades:
The bad news is that as a low volume gun there really aren't a whole lot of upgrades available for your Viking. The good news is that it really doesn't need any. I already mentioned the MiteyMax and JMJ trigger on mine. Not sure if the clamping low-rise is a standard feature or not. Not sure if mine has an SCM 2 or 3 either but this can be upgraded. You have an option between the WAS and Pandora boards I believe. The Pandora has some automatic modes I think. (Not that you'll need it with this gun.) An enthusiast may want to switch the Sidewinder for a 2-liter or 2-liter plus as it's supposed to be the best reg available (performance wise, not looks again) but if you do you'll have to shoot half a case of paint to break it in properly. You can also get a "quad detent" setup but this involves sending your gun back to drilling and eye cover modification. I really haven't seen a need for this yet. I also noticed a quad detent tuning kit so I presume you can adjust the tension of your detents if needed.

Service/Support:
I can't comment on this as I haven't had to use it yet. AKA is known to stand behind their products but they are a small family operation so results may vary depending on how busy they are. Probably best to call them if you have questions first.

Conclusion: BLUF: (bottom line up front)
If this gun doesn't work for you then it's probably not the gun.

I rarely give 10s but the '04 Viking is a great gun and arguably the best of this breed. Reliable, easy to maintain, accurate, efficient, shoots very fast. What more can you expect? Meets all my expectations and more. Get one while you still can.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 30th, 2005 at 3:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Doc Wednesday, May 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, this was my first true high end marker
Marker Setup: PPS Hound's Tooth w/ stab
2k4 AKA Viking
-Pandora Board w/ eyes
-Halo B
-Empire Barrel Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
-good loader
-barrel kit
-make sure you get eyes!!!
Strengths: -Efficiency
-Easy to clean/maintain
-Fast
-Stock reg
Weaknesses: -Rare
Review: I got a Viking because I was looking into "one last marker to complete my collection." I wanted it to be electro, and I wanted it to be perfect.

The Viking, IMO, comes as close to that as you can get in reality.

I have never had a problem with it, and it shoots fast. The consistancy is easily maintained due to the fact Vikings come stock with the sidewinder reg.

The rarity of these markers makes them both nice to have for show and bad because it's hard to find things specific to them. Fortunately, you don't need a lot.

If you have eyes, a barrel kit in cocker threads, and a good loader (Halo B or Empire Reloader B), you'll be good to go.

This marker will not fail you.
Conclusion: I found the Viking to be the best electro on the market. I love this baby and she's never leaving me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamSlayer76 Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: 2004 Nerve enough ?
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not really sure. I guess an new switch and board.
Strengths: Really Fast
Accurate
Nice Milling
Weaknesses: None that I know of.
Review: Well I test fired this a long time ago at Extreme Rage in Ft. Myers. It was fast. really fast.
That really all. It was hooked up to a Halo B with Vic board. Doing like 25 bps with debounce settings on. I shot like 2 strings and a few snap shots all accruate.
Conclusion: I would consider purchasing one, and I would recomend it to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazzy88 Saturday, April 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have used a angel timmy ecocker and a dm4 i love my viking it is awsome never chops halls ass and i love it. the only compain is a little heavy but not a big deal.
Marker Setup: i use my viking with a was and spector barrel kit. it rocks
Recommended
Upgrades:
was board and good barrel
Strengths: Never chops and very air effient.
Weaknesses: It is a little heavy
Review: I love this gone i wont shoot anythinng else it rocks. the only other gone that compares is a ecal. I hate smart parts for suing aka. The dm5 is also hella nice but not as good as a viking. Every gone owner should buy a viking. please leave a reply if u dont like viking or aka.
Conclusion: I give this marker a 10 out of 10 it is awsome i cant get over its speed and accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ptballer45 Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Angels
Various Timmies
DM4
Karnivor
System X NME (Just got this one)
Marker Setup: Bone stock 03 Half Milled Viking with WAS board and EYES.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing. Do not mess with it, TRUST ME. I love to tinker with and upgrade my guns more than anyone, but do not touch a stock Viking. There is really no need to at all.
Strengths: THE MOST RELIABLE PAINTBALL GUN I HAVE EVER OWNED. Fast, Accurate, Hassle Free.
Weaknesses: Some will say it is heavy and ugly. They do not make Vikings anymore.
Review: Wow where do even begin? I have used them all. In fact my team was just sponsored by System X and we are now shooting their new NME marker. Well after just over a month, I finally had to put the NME back into the case and break out the Viking. To give you an idea how highly I think of the viking, I will actually be using it over the NME this weekend at the NPPL in Huntington Beach (we are Division 1 and will be playing Pros!!) The Viking is just that good. There is a reason I have kept it for over 1.5 years.

I hate working on guns, techin them, trying to fix them, etc. I used my Viking for over 1.5 years, every Saturday, WITH NOT ONE SINGLE PROBLEM. NONE. ZERO. This is no exaggeration either. Most ballers in Vegas know me and the Viking and can attest to the fact that I never break down. I turn it on, play all day, turn it off. Thats it. None of this taking it apart every month to clean and relube everything. This is in Vegas where it is super dusty too. On top of that, I have never, ever, chopped a ball. My friends with Timmies always seem chop, but not me. I can't stress enough how tough and reliable these are. Just put a little AKA oil on the bolt and in the bottom line, and you are good to go. I am the only one on the team who has never had their gun go down.

Accuracy is as good as any gun. In fact, just yesterday, after my NME went down and I'd finally had enough, we broke out the Viking and had a little shoot off. It consistently out shot 4 NME's in terms of accuracy. We were all shooting .689 ultralights, with the exact same paint. We shot targets at long ranges and short ranges. I easily hit water bottles with the first or second shot, while they usually needed 4-5 shots. The viking can hang with any gun in terms of accuracy.

Gas consumption. Nothing to worry about. Fill up to 4500 and you should get just about a case of paintballs before you refill. One of the most efficient guns out there.

Speed. The Viking can again hang with any single paintball gun made, period, end of story. Don't believe me? Jim Drew, the make of the WAS board, plays on our team, and you should see him shoot his Viking. WOW. Look for him at tournaments and you will stop wondering if the Viking is fast. By the way, he also owns pretty much every top end marker made, yet he always seems to be shooting the Viking. The Viking will shoot as fast as your loader will feed.

Consistency. With good paint, over the last year, my viking has averaged +- 5 fps. I set it at 280 when I first got it, and have never really needed to do much adjustments. If I do, it is not even 1/8th of a turn. My chrono procedure goes something like this. Turn gun on, shoot several balls just to settle it, shoot three times over chrono, turn gun off, go play. Gone are they days when I spent 500 rounds just trying to get a gun chrono'd (Although they may be back now that I have the NME -but that's a whole different review).

OK, so it is clear i like the Viking, but it has to have weaknesses right? Well, I think the main weakness is they are ugly as sin. Most look like big black blocks. Even the custom Vikings do not even come close in terms of looks to say a stock DM4. If you are the type of player that needs a pretty gun, stop reading right now and move on to another gun quickly, because they Viking won't be winning any beauty contest. Some say they are heavy. I have not really noticed this. I personally don't think this is an issue.

If you want to focus on playing paintball, and not worrying about a gun, this is for you. With a Viking, you can play as rough as you want, and it will keep going. It is super reliable, ultra fast, extremely accurate.......and ugly as hell. The pro's outweigh the cons for me.

Oh ya, thank Smart Parts for suing AKA and making them stop producing the Viking. I always make sure to stop by their display and let them know I do not appreciate them and what they did to AKA.

Conclusion: Again, I love my Viking. In fact, I like it so much I'm going to buy a second one while I still can. The prices have really started to shoot up as more and more players realize what a great gun it is.

Think about it - here is a gun that always works, is as fast as any other gun, accurate, effecient, etc. What more can you ask for? And you still can get great Vikings for $850. Compare that to most new guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media