paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Viking / AKA Viking / AKA Viking / AKA Viking

AKA Viking Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Viking

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Viking
[ View Photos (20) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 94
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $810

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same side, dual ball detent
3/8's of a pound lighter than the '03
Shorter profile
SCM comes standard
Relocated on/off switch
Shorter bolt
Bodies are milled for eye wiring
WAS Equalizer Board
Humphrey Solenoids (commonly referred to as the "new" solenoids)
Type 3 "Hard" anodizing in a matte (dust) finish
Double grip with Blade trigger
AKA low-rise
Factory Warranty
Product Availability 
The AKA Viking is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
(É)šÜ„£ÔÜ•*8©8 Tuesday, September 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
impy / automag/ cocker/
cant compair whole different class
Marker Setup: 2004 red featherlight excalibur
was/eyes/unimount/sidewinder
Recommended
Upgrades:
scepter system
Strengths: best on:
air /lo maintence/ fast/ reliable/ quite/ built to last............AKA
Weaknesses: Older models were to heavy
Review: best marker out of the box by far! i owned a older model excalibur . not once ONCE gave me any problems!! only thing i did was change my 9 volt battery like 4 times. clean the bolt & wipe down the body , thats it, no JOKE!.
never had a chop since i owned it / couple barrel breaks due to egg shape paint..........lol.
now im stepping up and moving to a 2004 featherlight. yeah i couldve got any marker i wanted @ $1400.00 price tag. BUT I CHOOSE THE BEST OF THE BEST!

Conclusion: buy a cheap marker get a cheap marker.

ive see timmys nice marker, but mass production is not for me. sorry BOB
ive tried dm4s sick fast but trouble shooting not for me. sorry DAVE
04 shocker very light first shot drop off not for me ........................FSP hehehe

not because i own one im giving it a 10. beacuse the only way to find out its a ten is to own a AKA .
light /fast/ quite/dependable/low maintaince or should i say none?/ sick looking/ and built to last .
get one before its all gone , thats all i can say, the rest is up to YOU.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 29th, 2004 at 2:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darktrooper5 Tuesday, September 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
E- cocker, karnivore,DM4,shocker, alias timmy, A4, a bunch more
Marker Setup: 2004 Viking
eyes
Cp two peice barrel
cp rail
hybrid lady grips
ccm feedneck
halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
a fast loader; even more important if you don't have eyes
a barrel with interchangable backs( barrel kit)
eyes and covers ( if yours didn't come with them)
Strengths: Accurate
Good stock barrel
Amazingly fast
Rarely chops without eyes
Looks
Consistency
Weaknesses: No eyes in my model:(
replace feedneck
was out shooting my egg!
Review: I love this gun! when i first bought to replace my ebladed 03, everybody asked me why i didn't buy a timmy. i didn't buy one cause i heard that vikings were awesome guns. I had seen them in action before and had shot one. i liked it more than the timmy I used right after it.

I have a 68/3000 nitro tank and shots per fill is very important to me. Out of my viking (which comes with a sidewinder reg) I can get about 1000 shots out of 1 air fill. the velocity doesn't spike as bad as I thought it would.I have done the short break-in period which means that things can only get better.

The viking is fast and accurate. i have yet to mess around with the settings on my pandora board. I will once my eyes and halo arrive. I have only chopped a few times with this gun because of outshooting the egg and bad field paint. i love to go up to guys with shockers and timmies and just blow them away with my guns outstanding preformance. i feel that it has upped my game somewhat. even though i thinbk it is the player and his experiences and not just the gun.

The anno is very well done except for that it is only in one color black and im not sure if you can re anno it. i have yet to scratch it after rigurous play. This gun doesn't feel like it will break in my hands.

I have tested a lot of high end guns. this is by far one of the best out there. Some say that it is even as good as a DM4. The sad thing is that these are not in production anymore due to legal complications against the company. I say get one while you can because these are good quality products that are made to last. AKA has done a great job.

Conclusion: Buy one now. forget the matrix and shocker these are it. Try one for yourself. I highly recommend. Two thumbs up!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 18th, 2004 at 10:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Krash2k Wednesday, September 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM3, DM4
Marker Setup: SCM 1
Blade Trigger
Pandora
Eyes
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck
Barrel
Eyes
Pandora/WAS
Strengths: Efficiency, performance for price, speed, never chops paint
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is .687, can break paint if you get bad paint,
Review: Vikings are excellent markers. For the price you pay, they are phenomenal out of the box. Unfortunately, my trigger is *very* stiff, and there is the whole matter of 10k shots break in. Other than that I am extremely pleased with it, though I have yet to shoot any decent quality paint. A definate buy if you can get one used. Get an 03, or an 04 as they accept eyes.
Conclusion: Get one now today now today.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Gustopherus Tuesday, August 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Worrbladed Autococker
Freak Factory Impulse
Dye Matrix
Marker Setup: 03 Viking #A0592 - Halfmilled w/ Pandora board.
68/4500 NitroDuck MegaReg system
Javelin Barrel - soon to be Stiffi or UL
Eggo 2 Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B; Qloader; SOMETHING FAST
Barrel
Eyes
Nothing else needed... this gun is nearly perfect.
Strengths: Consistency
Quiet
Fast
Low Maint.
Looks great... very unique.
Weaknesses: Not easy to find a place to drill for eyes...
Won't be made anymore.
Review: I traded my worrbalded cocker for this 03 viking and I couldn't be happier. The vike is very consistent over the chrono, very quiet and feels great to shoot. Much less to deal with than with the cocker, lube and rock! The gun is fast and if I put it in the fastest setting I can easily outshoot my Egg (it is slow and only gets about 14-15bps)... until I get eyes installed I am going to run it at the 13bps setting, just in case. A faster loader would also remedy this... because most people can't shoot over 15-16 and the Halo or other high speed loaders can easily do that. Finding someone to drill for eyes is a little harder than I thought, but worth the trouble. The trigger is a little weird if you are just fiddling with it when the gun isn't aired up... but once you throw air on it, it comes alive! Very easy to sweetspot and find a good feel for snap shooting... very solid feeling. Not a light gun, but not overly heavy either. I would say lighter than a trix and heavier than an imp... haven't weighed them though. Stock Javelin barrel is also good, much better than any other stock barrel I have used, 12inches is a little short for airball... but most people upgrade the barrel first on any gun they get... so this isn't a negative. At least with this barrel you will have a good back up in case something ever happened. AKA makes great equipment and backs it all up, their support is something other companies need to model themselves from.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun to anyone looking for something a little different... something quite and consistent and something that is very highly regarded as being one of the best paintball guns ever made. Have to give it a 10 because it won't allow a 9.9
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 31st, 2004 at 2:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Sunday, August 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACEd Angels: fast, cheap, but sloppier and not as well-constructed or simple.
Timmies: too long, too cheaply made for my tastes.
Trixes: nice, but I just don't like the feel compared to Vikings.
Marker Setup: Well, since I am not reviewing any one marker, I shall list what I've owned.
Unmilled WAS/ACE 03
Another one of those.
Unmilled WAS/ACE 04
1 of 2 BWAC milled 03 [WAS/ACE]
Recommended
Upgrades:
Let's see. The internal 03 LPR is fantastic, so an SCM is not needed. An MM or DC volly is very nice to have, as is a clamper of some sort. Trigger's all about preference. Barrel is as well. Inline reg is obviously perfect the way it is.
If you have a blind Viking, don't kid yourself; ACE is the best upgrade you can get and will transform your marker into an absolute beast.
Strengths: Too many to list! See review...
Weaknesses: -Some see it as heavy. I see it as solid.
Review: Ok, strengths:
-if not light... then solidly built and very well balanced.
-Fast...fast, fast. Deathly fast.
-Tadao! Yes, it's out now.
-Effiiciency. Incredible when stock, even better when broken in.
-Looks! Unmilled Type III black has a grace all its own, not to mention some of the milling styles coupled with anno...it's nuts.
-Regs. Best in the business, hands down.
-Warranty...and it's renewable as well!
-Trigger. Great feel to it
-It's...rare. Serial number pride is a good thing.

The Viking is one of the nicest guns I have ever shot (I got to shoot the one that Zak Vetter used in his Victory board vs Qloader video.) Even with a revvy, it rips, The trigger can be set up to be pretty much nothing at all, just like me Timmy...

The Viking is a lot lighter than I thought it would be, even unmilled. Effiiciency is great, and it rips like no other.

[Revised after a while, heh]

Well, I have now gone through 4 Vikings of my own, and I can safely say that the first impression was definitely accurate. These markers have proved their worth to me time and time again, and I can't quite say that I'll be able to shoot anything else ever again. It was timebomb that said in his original review...they got everything right with this one; you can finally concentrate on...playing the game! All hail AKALMP...
Conclusion: Buy one. Keep it, love it, and go play some goshdarned paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 8th, 2005 at 7:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TerminatorVenom Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
02 Angel, 04 shocker, Strange Impulse, E-bladed 'cockers, Dragon Intimidator, NY Xtreme Matrix, various others...
Marker Setup: '03 Viking
-stock (its getting a new pandora board w/ eyes and mighty max as we speak)
-14" CP barrel
-Eggy 2 w/ Z-board

Back-Up:
'02 Black Magic
-Shocktech hinge frame
-ANS Jackhammer II
-ANS ram
-STO 3-way
-SupaFly bolt
-Kapp ball detent
Recommended
Upgrades:
-barrel (of course)
-new board with eyes (AKA no longer supports the WAS board due to some first shot drop off issues so its now Vaporworks' Pandora board)
-fast hopper
Strengths: -VERY fast (even stock)
-light (compared to my Black Magic)
-not an air hog!
-durable
Weaknesses: None except for its a pain to adjust the velocity.
Review: I've had it now for a few months. I used it most of last season in about 5 tournies and it performed awesome. Back in April when i first shot it i could think of one word... WOW. it is so fast! It totally blew me away, even with the stock Nelson board, it was very impressive. Now keep in mind, it doesn't have eyes (im talking about the 03 model not 04) but at the times when it out-ran my eggy it was low-pressure enough that it would only pinch and not chop. It has never failed me, this is built like a rock. How is it on air you ask? Well, the AKA name should answer that one. This is VERY easy on air and extremely consistant. Also, if you need to, you can take adjust the trigger to the exact point where you want it but i wouldnt recommend disassembling the gun past taking off the trigger frame. The only thing i didnt like was having to use the reg. to adjust velocity but thats a minor thing.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a very well designed gun. Its fast, light and performs well stock. I'd take it over ANY Smart Parts gun anyday.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghost271 Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
'98 HSW Shocker S/F - SLOW compared to the Viking and has more more kick than the Vike. Accurate, Accurate, Accurate.
Angel Speed - My Viking is easier to walk and as fast if not faster.
E-Oracle - Nice marker to shoot but not used to the 'feel' of the cocking being done by electronics. These things rip but not as fast as viking.

Marker Setup: '04 Immortal Viking
48/3000 Pure Energy
Full Freak Kit, Switch Kit
Apache Ricochette Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit
Strengths: FAST !!!!!!!!
Reliable
Next to no maintanence
Quiet
Light
Weaknesses: Break in period for reg.
Review: Let me start by saying that I have been playing this sport for the past 14 years, and have been following its evolution for 18; ever since I bought the first issue of APG back in 1986. I have seen the electro revolution take off and the advancements made in this area sky rocket. I had researched on a daily basis all I could on the latest guns for almost the last 2 years because I wanted a new tourney level marker that could meet all the criteria I desired. I believe I have found that marker.

Well I got my marker from OTE about a month ago. The milling is sweet ass and makes the gun nice and light. Only 25 '04 Immortals were made, and only 5 in my color. This made my purchase a good investment on the rarity alone. I was trying to decide between the Viking, DM4, DYE Matrix, Cyborg, X-Mag,and Fastback Racegun.

I have played several games with this gun and am pretty impressed thus far. I have only shot 2 types of paint with this and I will say right now that the case of RPS Premium I shot was S**T. My balls were all over the place with this paint. The other kind I used was Midnight, and that shot alot better but still not as nice as I would have liked. I am going to buy a case of BLAZE next time and will update when I've done that.

There is supposed to be a break in period with this reg and the marker as a whole. I figure the reg will settle in after another few cases. Right now I am getting fluctuations of +/- 7 fps. Myself and others have attributed this to the poor and inconsistant sizes of the paint I have been using. Again I will do a better test with the Blaze sometime this month. I will use both my closed bolt '98 Shocker and the Viking with the same barrel and insert and see what sort of differances there are.

The efficiency is amazing. Out of my tank I am getting just over 1/2 a case. Pretty damn good in my books !!

This gun RIPS ROPES !!!!!!!! I mean I had never walked a trigger before and this thing is soooo easy to. The Pandora board is top notch. Adjustments are done via the trigger and/or cable link. Everything from debounce,dwell,eyes, and bps can be set. There are also some presets that can be used depending on the type of loader you are using.

The extent of maintanence is this. Oil the bolt, and but a few drops into your ASA before screwing in your tank. Thats it. Done.

These guns feel solid and indestructible. I would recommend a viking to anyone who wants reliability, low maintanence, insane rates of fire, and a top end tourny marker.

Buy yourself one before they're all gone.

*Edit - UpDate Nov.29 '05*

I figured I'd go ahead and give a recent update since I've had the gun for over a year now. This gun impresses me more and more every time I use her. I have played a full-time season of weekly practices and monthly tournaments in the great northwest over here, and the marker continues to perform better than anything I've seen on the field. Especially with all the rain we get here, I see Timmies, shockers and DMs crapping out from the moisture all the time, but my Viking has had no problems. My last review my concern was consistancy. This is no longer an issue as the reg has broken in now and it is the norm to get +/- 2 fps at the chrono. The only other gun on the market that has stolen my heart has been the Matrix family. Between the two, I can fire my viking faster, and it seems I can one-ball a 3" wide post in the ground repeatedly at 70ft more consistantly than the DM4. However; once i start to really let lose with the viking I do find that it starts to kick a lot more than the DM. I like the DM4 more for the reason that I feel less recoil when ripping ropes with it and I like the trajectory more with the spool valved gun. About two weeks ago I also measured and weighed my Immortal with the Dm4. With regs, on/off, and barrels, they both weighed exactly the same. Also IIRC the viking was about 1/2" smaller in height and length.
In summary, these are the only two markers I feel confident taking on the field. But let it be known that when I get my DM4/5, it will be my backup to the viking.


I would like to up my previous rating of a 9 to a 10. I was concerned that maybe I should have bought a DM4 instead........not anymore. You couldn't pry my Viking from my hands now. If you see one of these markers on the field, they will sell themselves.

Conclusion: I think I've said all that there is. I am going to give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 29th, 2005 at 3:01 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SKRuB Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DARK Angel LED
Marker Setup: 03 Viking, WAS Eyes,Switch,Covers
12" Evil Pipe Kit
14" ultralight
45/4500 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
If not on it already pree 2003, get was and the eyes
Strengths: Fast,Efficient 1000 shots on 68/3. Tight Profile
Weaknesses: A little Heavier, but with a 45/45 its so light
Review: I have tried timmies,angels,shockers,matrix's(dm4), and this is easily the fastest sweetest shooting marker i think available. but its not so get a used one and its still gonna rock. The only bad thing is that it is a little heavy, but iam a weakling so its no porblem for some of you bigger d00ds, and the fact that you cant get these new anymore. otherwise is a slick fast shooting gat/muppet killer
Conclusion: Awsome marker, I would buy an aftermarket one if i could.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coopedaddy Wednesday, July 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen, Autococker, Spyder AMG, BKO
Marker Setup: 2004 AKA Viking w/ Pandora Board and Turmoil Eyes
No-Rise Clamping Feed Neck
32 Deg. Drop and ON/OFF
Java 68/3000 psi Tank
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anit Chop Eyes and a Fast Hopper. Trigger may be adjusted to satisfaction or you may want to look into a new trigger.

Evil Pipe Kit or another Barrel Kit.
Strengths: Great Efficiency, Fast Shooting, Low maintenance, Most Importantly, RELIABLE!!!
Weaknesses: None that I have seen
Review: I have owned other guns and played using other guns and while others might be more flashy our lighter, this gun is definitely the one I prefer. The Air Efficiency is amazing, the consistency of the shots is awesome and the recoil is minimal.

Upgrades are available but are not completely necessary because this gun comes to you souped up to a high level. You can have a sweet gun without touching it.
Conclusion: Beyond a shadow of a doubt I would recomend this gun to any paintball player looking for a tournament quality gun. Shoot it and it basically sells itself.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dudeguymanthing Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: 03 blue viking, stainless freak kit, 68/4500 pure energy tank, check it on/off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel and the WAS eyes
Strengths: Speed, fairly accurate, air efficiant
Weaknesses: Consistancy
Review: This gun rips. The only thing that needs to be done to make this gun better is to make it more consistant over the chrono. Other than that it is fast, accurate, and efficient. What more could you want? I know alot of people say the looks arent that great but i personally think the gun looks sweet. I guess it is all in what you are looking for.
Conclusion: Hands down i would give the viking a 10. there is no reason not to.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media