paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Viking / AKA Viking / AKA Viking / AKA Viking

AKA Viking Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Viking

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Viking
[ View Photos (20) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 94
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $810

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same side, dual ball detent
3/8's of a pound lighter than the '03
Shorter profile
SCM comes standard
Relocated on/off switch
Shorter bolt
Bodies are milled for eye wiring
WAS Equalizer Board
Humphrey Solenoids (commonly referred to as the "new" solenoids)
Type 3 "Hard" anodizing in a matte (dust) finish
Double grip with Blade trigger
AKA low-rise
Factory Warranty
Product Availability 
The AKA Viking is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
p8ntballguy1234 Thursday, January 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shockers, Angels, Timmy's, Cockers, anything out there, and they arre all blown away by the viking
Marker Setup: Viking, Coquest, Halo B, Jt barrel set
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrels, and thats it
Strengths: Everything, won't chop, very consistant, and very little kick.
Weaknesses: Nothing, except that it doesn't have that many extremely cool mill patterns available.
Conclusion: I really like the viking, and will only shoot it or some other form of it. IntegraRoxer is highly mistaken when he disagrees that the trigger is not three point adjustable. In fact I doubt he even knows what it means. 3 point adjustable means three things can be adjusted, the pre travel, post travel, and micro switch activation. It doesn't mean you don't have to take it apart, plus if you are dumb and wreck your gun, why should aka buy you a knew board?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FSP-Diablo Wednesday, November 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, Shoker, Pretty much all of them at some point or another
Marker Setup: PBX Version of the Viking:
Cutom Mill
Magnetic Trigger (Awesome)
Warp Feed (Like it should be)
B.O.A 10" Barrel
68 4500
12v revy
drop zone3
Recommended
Upgrades:
doesn't need any but I like to go all out
Strengths: Everything.

Shoots as straight as a cocker, only alot FASTER!!!

this marker is intense, I love it, If you got the dough, DO IT!! stop reading all these reviews and get one
Weaknesses: Umm...
...
...
...
Sorry Can't say anything bad, cuz it hasn't given me reason.
OH wait, no one ever knows what it is, they think it is 10 diffrent guns pit togeter, then i tell them that all the diffrent parts they think are random, are really all made by aka, and you just see all of them on cockers. But I don't see this as being all that bad unless you want a fancy Angel that just gives you a look, personally i like it when people don't know what i shoot, and then want to know where to get one after they see it in action.
Conclusion: GET ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I will always love my cocker (as should we all) but the marker put my cocker on the shelf, and my game has only inproved, except i go through a lot more paint
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ccrnnr9 Tuesday, November 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP vision impulse
2k2 fly angel
BM2k
Almost every spyder on the market
Black draguns, tippmanns, etc etc.
Marker Setup: 2k2 AKA Viking (#67)
CP red flame drop with on/off
10in dye boomstick (ss back)
aka javelin stock barrel(12in)
run on 68/4500 crossfire(red reg-800psi)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new trigger...the low rise is fugly, but allows you to tuck in lower...its all personal preference!
Strengths: This is a very smooth gun with a very smooth trigger! The trigger is 3-way adjustable(I think). I actually like the stock setting of the trigger, so I have not adjusted it! The trigger is a bit controversial, because of the fact that it is plastic and tilted a bit backwards. I know alot of people like the triggers to be straight up and down, but I like the feel of this trigger! I had a 2k2 vision impulse and had to sell it for money to buy a car, now Im back in the game with this sweet peice of machinery. I would definately try to find a way to shoot this gun before you buy it! The trigger feels almost like a bushy trigger, except with no slop. I dont like stick or clade triggers, so I will stick with the stock...its fine for me! The plastic actually seems to make the gun easier to fire fast, because it is soooo light! I love it!
The effeciency of this gun is unbeleivable! I get over 1300 shots on my 68/4500! When you get the gun, turn the bolt around backwards and you will find and dry fire about 4000-6000 shots to get it broken in...turning the bolt around backwards will just give it better effiency!
The bolt design is another plus of the gun! It is hrad to explain, but the bolt slides straight in, then tilts to the left of the body, and clicks right into the hammer...unlike imps or bushies, there is no way to have the pin miss and not engage the hammer...this makes the gun easy to clean if you get a ball brak in the middle of the game! Just run a straight shot squegge through thw whol top chamber, and you will be good to go!
The sidewinder(the strock reg on the viking) is a great reg...I still cant decide if I like it as much as the max flo(definately more confortable than the MF) but its definately good! The bottom of the reg and can turn 360* enabling you to attach the hose and fittings anyway you want! This is just one of the many ways that AKA has thought out and gone above and beyond the limits!
The stock barrel is very effecient, the only prob is that mine is a very thin bore...I got a dye boomstick with mone, and it can shoot almost any paint well!
The body is sooo sturdy, yet twice as light as my impulse(keep in mind, the imp had the horizontal MF, so that made it more heavy, but still this is one freakin lightgun). The anno is very thick, and milling although basic is done very well. No burrs or mistakes on milling from the factory! Lastly, it has a life time warranty! You cant beat that! AKA is probably the best company in pb...wdp is awesome too!
I think those are all of the goods...NOW TO THE BAD!!!!
Weaknesses: Scared you didnt I? Thought I was going to rant and rave about the badness after I told you all those good things...well you are wrong!
The only thing I dislike is the Low rise vet feed, it looks ugly, and is very wide making hopper fits tough...I had to put a couple wraps of electrical tape around the neck of my revy to get it to fit..I am getting an evo2, and I hear the necks on those is very large, so maybe they will fot perfectly!
The trigger, although great for me is not for everyone! AKA and a couple other companies offer aftermarket triggers(30-40$ range i think!)...I dont see the need for one, but maybe you will!
I guess the body is a litlle wide, but it feels much more sturdy than any gun ive used! Keep in mind every gun has at least one downside!
Conclusion: Man this is sweet! Ive always been a fan of quality not quantity, and this is what this is! AKA takes their time to make your gun...(i dont even think that more than 700 have been made!) I like the fact that when I go to the feild everybody is alweays asking "hey whats that?" "Thats sweet!" "You only paid 750$ for that??!!" "Man I should get one of those instead of an angel, impulse, etc." (disclaimer, I love angels, but they are too common for me!...I like being original! You should give this gun a try...definately worth your money!

P.S. the aka forum on pbnation.com is now the officail forum for aka! (this is what aka will refer you to for help) many aka techs frequently visit these forums!

P.P.S.
I have never given any other gun a 10! Even when I had my vision imp, I gave it a 9!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jpapalsmurfb Saturday, September 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month25 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Tippmann model 98.
-Autococker: Range, accuracy... maintenance. Mine broke down constantly.
-Model 98: Speed, price, reliability.
Marker Setup: Indigo hard anodized viking. System X drop forward and Extreme Rage timer grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing for performance. A wide array of barrels is always nice. The stock barrel is great, but finding a paint match for it can be difficult at times.
Strengths: What isn't. This gun incorporates the pros of every paintball marker made. Speed, distance, consistancy, accuracy, durability and a decent price to boot. Playing with this gun, I had no problem matching the speed or distance of any gun out on the field, including cockers and angels.

--Quality and included features.
The quality of this gun is incredible. Out of the box it just feels solid, like it was lovingly crafted and nothing was forgotten. It includes a bag, Javelin barrel, barrel condom and configuration software/manual on floppy.

--Trigger.
The trigger is very nice. Some have complained about the inward slope of the bottom of the trigger, but I find I have no problem pulling good strings of paint regardless of the design. The trigger is adjustable in possibly more ways than you need. I have it set up to be very short, and walking my fingers to get off long strings is neither difficult or tiring.

--Accuracy and range.
The accuracy rivals that of cockers, and is definately as good as an angel. Range is just as good. I came from using a broken cocker most games, before that a tippmann, and the range and trajectory of this gun are excellent. Well suited to both front player and back. For anybody that worries that the open bolt design of this marker may cause an arcing of paint when firing, don't worry. The paint flies like darts, with a great deal of distance and flat trajectory that is rivaled only by an excalibur.

--Battery.
Battery life is great, my viking is still going strong after shooting 5 cases through it. When it dies, just swap in a new 9 volt. No worrying about chargers or proprietary batteries.
Weaknesses: There is only one thing that slightly bugs me about the marker, and that is the lack of a computer syncing cable to connect the viking to the computer to make firing/dwell changes.

A low pressure reg tool is needed to lower the front reg pressure, and is also not included.

I cannot blame AKA too strongly for either of these however, because out of the box the viking performs great, and these tools should only be required by advanced users who wish to tweak their gun to the fullest.
Conclusion: A great gun for a great price. No gun that I can think of rivals the price to performance ratio of this marker, perhaps with the exception of the bushmaster BKO. It shoots great out of the box, and is just a lot of fun to play with, without the worry of running around with a delicate gun that you feel like you'll break if you look at it wrong.

One last note. There is a lot of misconception about the break in period of the viking. The viking is made with very tight tolerances, and is tuned accordingly. After a dozen or so cases (or equivelent shots) run through the marker, these tolerances are relaxed slightly, and can allow for a greater rate of fire, and the lowering of the front low pressure regulator. The plus to this is having the bolt handle the paint at a lower pressure, eliminating bolt chops. This break in isn't needed before playing with the marker, and just gradually happens as you play more and more with it. The only time I've bolt chopped with this marker anyway is because my hopper couldn't keep up.

This gun is a well crafted professional tool, and will give you years of performance, and all the gun you could need.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

BobVikingOwner Sunday, August 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dynasty Mamba Angel
Marker Setup: 45/45 crossfire tank 12v revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel, nothing really else
Strengths: I bought this marker new, even if you don't want the gun, you can trade it for something twice it's amount, but you will want the gun if you fire it, shoots great with the javelin, gas efficient, it's soo good that you hafta break it in, lol, really durable, and solid feel
Weaknesses: you need at least a 12v revy, what doesn't
Conclusion: This is a good marker, a new barrel would help, but isn't really needed. And it takes cocker threads, so you could get all cocker barrels. I kick arse with this barrel, and you will too, buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EvilPopTart Wednesday, August 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Different varieties of angels. Intimidators, Emags, and most electric sylidoid guns.
Marker Setup: 2k Cocker with nothing stock except the AsA on the body and the ball detent.

My own personal Viking is on its way from the proshop.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would suggest a nice 14 inch or so ported barrel. Its so gas efficient that longer barrels could and should be used. Also: Get a Halo B because once you get a feeling for it, you will be able to rip on it. Maybe if you wanted, get a high rise or a stick trigger.
Strengths: Excellence speed. Amazing consistancy over the chronograph. Great gas milage. Impressive durability. Just has a solid feeling to it. Its build by AKALMP so you know its great. Also has a wonderful warranty.
Weaknesses: The wait time for getting one. The average waiting time is 8 or so weeks. That is unless you get one from a shop that has them in stock but they are few and far between. Also, you have to break it in. Run a couple of tanks of air and a couple hundread rounds of paint. Just an hour or so on the chronograph field. After that, some people like to lower their lpr so that instead of chopping, the bolt just pinches the ball preventing breakage.
Conclusion: Great gun. Earns a 9 out of 10. It you want an electric marker that is of great quality, and don't have the cash for an Angel, this is indeed the gun to buy. I anticipate my own which should arrive in a week or so. (today being 8/7/02)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IntegraRoxer Wednesday, July 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, shockers, intimidators.
Marker Setup: I now have a 2002 orange intimidator with a 68/45 conquest and a full jt kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Assembly lube, a barrel that has a true hone,
Strengths: The good of my (ex) viking:
First off, its pretty nice looking. Its cool. I had a dark black milled viking.
They have a decent trajectory and it is relativly quiet although not as quiet as say, a matrix. While it lasted, the boot-up time was pretty fast.
the design of having the parts in sealed tubes is good, but it does limit the ability of yourself to troubleshoot.
Weaknesses: Ok. here we go.
first off, there is the break in time. Why should a marker have a break-in time. You don't see angels and Timmi's and whatnot with break-in periods. Second is the trigger. Its 3 point adjustable, right. Wrong. You have to take the freaking frame off the body to adjust it properly. I had problems with my board and had to argue with AKA for 2 weeks to get them to send me a new board.
Conclusion: im giving this marker a 6. I am grossly unhappy with this purchase. I waited 3 months for a viking and paid above the msrp for this marker and I get something that has more flaws than it has strengths. I admit its a nice marker but it has some design issues and the technical support by AKA was troubling. I ended up selling this marker for alot less than I paid for it; I ended up with an intimidator. I would reconmend this marker to alot of people, it is a good marker but there are alot of hurdles that I think aka needs to rethink. I might buy my girlfriend this marker because she is sold on the advertising and maybe after that we will need to redo this review.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

studmn44 Tuesday, July 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel or anything similar to an angel
Marker Setup: Cocker with shocktech slide trig and bomb 4 way, micro rock, centerflag reg, and freak system
Recommended
Upgrades:
freak
Strengths: this thing is really fast and accurate. can keep up with angels. a few hundred dollers cheaper than angels. velocity is VERY consistent. awsome gun straight out of the box. you can get them with awsome milling, colors and acidwash. i have shot many 280's in a row over the chrono. this thing is amazing.
Weaknesses: nothing. i love this gun. it is one of the best guns you can buy i think
Conclusion: if your lookin to buy an angel or somthing like one look at one of these first. this thing have the most amazing consitency over a chrono that i have ever seen in my life.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Voodoo impulse, angel lcd, adrenelin angel, matrix, excaliber, pretty much everything
Marker Setup: Benchmark universal cradle
68 cu 3000 psi crossfire
12 volt revo
12 inch freak i will be getting soon
What else do you really need?
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward and a freak barrel system.
Strengths: Everything this gun rocks out of the box with no performance upgrades added and i havent even lowred the LPR yet and still prolly only chops once a day and then that will be NONE A DAY once i lower the LPR to about 60 psi
Weaknesses: Nothing its lacks accuracy and distance compared to the excaliber but it also lacks the extra 500 dollars.
Conclusion: This is the best gun out hands down. It out performs anything i have evey shot except maybe an excaliber. AKALMP makes the best guns out i would say what gun have you ever seen come out of there factory and people not be extremly satisfied with it? NONE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Shocker-great distance!!!, heavy+slow though, GASHOG
WS Dark Angel-good distance, fast,
STO Cocker-okay speed+distance, pain to clean when you chop
Rt Pro Mag- CHOPS WAY TO MUCH!!! but super fast!( wait.... thats bad..)
Marker Setup: 02' smartparts SHOCKER vert feed vert reg setup w/ stock AA and Werm Delrin Bolt 8'' on/off NW drop w/ 88/30 Crossfire tank w/ angel skins (black)12v Rev (no need for X board, remember.. shocker...) and lastly a
Soon to get:
Total Freak Sys. w/ AA front
Recommended
Upgrades:
good as is! Id put a freak AA on it
Strengths: omg... what can i say? I was about to cough up a grand for a Fly Angel when all of a sudden this baby falls into my lap!!! SWEET GOD!!! the viking is SUPER FAST and quiet! the thing is way lighter than my shocker and is super accurate with the stock jav. barrel! It's a beuty especially if you get milling. BLOWS ANGELS OTTA THE WATER!!!
Weaknesses: after a string of about 100 or so rounds at about 7(+/-) bps you experiance a noticable amount of drop off... WHO CARES!
Conclusion: sweet JESUS!!! for way less than what I was gonna spend on a Fly Angel PLUS is alot sweeter cuz its from AKA.. BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media