paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
^_^ Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
- Custom Products One Piece
- System X 2 Piece
- Smart Parts Freak Jr. Kit
- Stock barrels
Marker Setup: Bob Long 2K5 Alias Intimidator Black w/ Blue Accents
- Smart Parts Freak Jr. Kit or System X 2 Piece Barrel
- Tadao Infamous M3 Board
- Custom Products Regulator
- Custom Products Direct Mount On/Off ASA
- Hybrid Gen 06 Grips
- ViewLoader eVLution 3 (to be replaced with VLocity eventually
- WGP 50/3000 (going to be soon replaced with crossfire 45/4500)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever has a good paint to bore match with the barrel.
Strengths: - Price
- Accuracy
- Weight
- Reduces Noise
Weaknesses: - Ceramic seems easy to scratch (haven't scratched it though just seems that way)
Review: I have a J&J Ceramic on my Tippmann A-5. As I needed a new barrel bad! Tippmann's are known for their dreadful stock barrels. After putting it on the A-5 I noticed increased accuracy and much better consistency! It also made the A-5 a lot quieter too! I also noticed that the J&J Ceramic is a very light barrel. It's the lightest barrel that is not carbon fiber I have held. This barrel is great, it is better than many barrels and yet is cheaper than most, only $40! I would suggest this as a immediate upgrade to anyone who is getting a Tippmann or Spyder.
Conclusion: A great barrel for anyone who wants a good barrel but doesn't want to spend a lot for a barrel kit.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BloodLustDE Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel, Proto 1 piece
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine LED 05
Empire Reloader 2
Proto 14" One piece, J&J Ceramic 14"
New Designz Clamping Low Rise
Dye Stickies
Kingman ACS bolt
Empire React 06 Gloves
Flurry Reaver Shinguards
Recommended
Paintballs:
Shoots everything
Strengths: Non-reflective

Weaknesses: does NOT self clean
Review: I got this barrel based entirely on the outstanding reviews everyone else gave it. For the price it didn't seem like it could be beat. I got a used one off of ebay and so far i'm not that impressed. It does NOT self clean at all. i'm having bolt breaks regularly (i'm working on it) and i was hoping i wouldn't have to take my marker apart after everyone and clean it, but i still had to. The accuracy seemed consistent with my Proto barrel, and it didn't seem much quieter. It's still a great barrel, an improvement over the stock for certain, but i didn't get as much out of it as i'd hoped.

EDIT #1: As the last review said it doesn't work well in cold, but maybe that's the problem. I'll try it out as it gets warmer and see what i find.
Conclusion: I'd recommend this barrel to any woods-ball players because the dull black doesn't reflect and the porting makes it hard to detect. A good barrel, good upgrade.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 8:54 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

JPW Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Razzor
Marker Setup: Old Piranha EXT
J&J Ceramic
ACI 6 stage X-Chamber
9 oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any good quality ones. I personally like Scorch.
Strengths: Teflon coating,
Available in many lengths, for many guns,
Matte black,
Accuracy,
Quiet.
Weaknesses: Only one color,
Doesn't perform well in cold.
Review: I got a 16 inch J&J Ceramic barrel about two weeks ago, then went to the paintball field and played for my usual eight hours.

Looks: 10
The matte-black finish doesn't reflect any light. This is good in anything except speedball, where it really doesn't make a difference. The barrel also looks evil, compliments of the black finish and the way it's ported. Very good.
Some people think that this barrel scratches easy. I have found that the coating on the outside is quite durable, but it looks like it scratches because other materials rub off on it. I tried scratching it with my fingernail, and it left a white mark. But I rubbed this mark off, so it must have been powdered fingernail on there. I have noticed that the finish has come of on the threads, but I expected that.

Accuracy: 9
This barrel has given my gun extra range and accuracy. It should improve a lot when I get a Boss bolt and an expansion chamber, but right now it's pretty good.
Funny story: These two guys are talking about accuracy in between games, while waiting for the other people to get out there. The guy with a fairly good electronic gun shoots a pole about 70 feet away, to prove that his gun was accurate. The other guy says "I can usually hit it 1/2 the time." And he does that. Then I come up, take aim with my crappy gun, and shoot the pole the first time. Both of them turn and frown at me.
I have noticed that the accuracy decreases when the barrel gets colder. I'm guessing that this is because it shrinks slightly, and maybe because the Teflon gets less slick. Also, the balls break more often in the barrel (this was probably because I wasn't using winter paint). The outside temp was about 35 - 45*. This isn't all that big a deal in the warmer states, but in winter Idaho it's noticeable.
Like the manufacturer says, this barrel self cleans, to some extent. After a ball breaks, you can shoot about three balls, and it is usually ready to play again. This feature doesn't work at all when it's cold, because the balls tend to break when they hit the clog, so the mess usually stays the same. Again, maybe this is because I wasn't using winter balls.

Noise: 10
There was a noticeable decrease in noise after the stock barrel, and even my Razzor.

I can't think of anything else.

Edit: I realized that it could be inaccurate because of the size of the paintballs. I tested that by taking the barrel off and rolling some through. About half of them got stuck.


Conclusion: I recommend that you get this barrel if you have a low budget. It only cost me $30 dollars, and it performs very well. But, if you have more money, you should get the Edge barrel kit, by the same manufacturer.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 9th, 2007 at 10:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb46816 Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
i've only used the stock on my spyder other than this
Marker Setup: Spyder rodeo
stock barrel
vl 200
20 oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
i have used Draxxus Midnight and cheap White Box Paint
Strengths: -They are black so they go well just in about any place
Weaknesses: -The one i got was a little too short(12'')
Review: ***All Of My Reviews Are Edited And Re-Edited***

I have used this in my backyard and paintballing. Really it was too much like the stock on my rodeo so i sold it to a friend who had a victor II. The one i had was too short, but the black was a good match with my gun. I didn't have anything bad happen with it, except one time i broke cheap paint, and playing in winter with it isn't a good idea. The only difference between this and my stock was that this toned down the curving of paintballs alot.
Conclusion: Don't get ceramic barrels if you play in the cold alot, condensation makes the paintballs just slip out the barrel.

But if you get one, make sure you get bigger than 12''
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 13th, 2007 at 6:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Black_Shadow Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom pro stock barrel, stock WGP barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT
RT
Evolution 2 with Z-Board
14" J&J Ceramic
Polished Internals
Various Trigger Mods
12oz Co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anymost anything, (you COULD use Wal-mart brass eagles, but why would you want too?)
Strengths: Accuracy
Consistency
Self-Cleaning
Volume
Weaknesses: None I can think of...
Review: Best 45 bucks I ever spent, i've only put about a hopper through it, and this thing is CRAZY accurate... the only thing that i've seen shoot straighter is a laser beam...

i bought this barrel at the proshop at one of my local fields and used it about 2 minutes after i got it. the first thing i noticed was i could shoot so much straighter, i found i was using MUCH less paint to hit my target. I was playing back and my third shot with this barrel right off the break i picked a guy off right in the shoulder from about 120 feet away. the same game a fellow made the mistake of sticking his head up above a bunker and i popped him with one round right dead center of his visor.

I had a break in the barrel and cleared it completely with one swish from the stock tippmann squeegee. The only thing was the paint got in the porting but it blew out on my next shot.

this thing is also alot quieter than the stock barrels i used, very handy if your in an ambush or the like...
Conclusion: This barrel is sick, and i doubt you can beat it for the price. a guy I was playing with had an angel with a freak kit and he was impressed by how accurate and consistent it was...

Theres no doubt, if you need a barrel you can't beat a J&J Ceramic
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 19th, 2007 at 12:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Big T-Man Saturday, February 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Terminator
Marker Setup: GT Commando 2
20" JJ Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
Strengths: Cheap. Accurate. Lightweight. Good distance. Doesn't chop paint.
Weaknesses: Not a one
Review: I hadn't played for literally two years until today. Even though I hadn't played in so long, I probably got more hits than anyone at my arena simply because with this barrel I could lag back on my end of the field and pick people off without any problem. Also, every other barrel I have ever used on my Commando 2 has chopped paint at least once or twice per day; this barrel never chopped any paint and I didn't clean it out once. Extremely good barrel, especially for the price.
Conclusion: This is a godsend for players without a lot of experience and even for those who do.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FallenBaller Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other barrels, for the price and the reliability i have yet to give up my J&J.
Marker Setup: 98 custom with RT trigger and 14inch j and j
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premiums work very very well, other bore matchers.
Strengths: ACCURACY is godlike for the price, you cant go wrong.

PRICE

Shoots through breaks

Weaknesses: Scratches a tad bit easier than other barrels, just treat it well.
Review: Ok, so i read all the good reviews about the JandJ barrels, so I decide to pick one up for myself. As i buy it, my wallet didnt get all that much lighter with the 40 dollar price tag, I mean come on guys, 40 dollars for the accuracy and shots through a break ability that'll make your skin crawl is a fine deal. If you tend to be the player who doesnt see the tree coming around the corner while being chased down in a scenario, dont go whining here if ya scratch it up a bit. With care the finish is fine.
Conclusion: For the price to quality ratio, you CANNOT go wrong with this barrel. Any Nay sayers can go back to their 150+ dollar Dye barrels, while I go guy an extra case of paint with money to spare with my J and J.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball_305 Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock spyder barrels, proto barrel,
Marker Setup: spyder imagine LED, dye sticky grip, jj ceramic 14 in barrel, delrin acs bolt, rocking trigger frame, EVO II hopper, 20 ounce carbon fiber compressed air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any aslong as there not complete crap
Strengths: light, always slick, looks NICE, good accuracy range
Weaknesses: scratches VERY EASILY
Review: this is a great barrel for its price. I do not recomend it to any one into hard core woodsball unless ur gentle with it. On my first day playing with my new barrel at woodsball i looked down a t my barrel to see a 6 inch scrath along the side of the barrel most likely from when i was crawling behind a bunker and it hit a rock or something. Its no exremely fragile but the finish does scratch pretty easily. besides that, its an amazing barrel. for the price.
Conclusion: Great over all, kinda fragile
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Masg11 Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock Tippmann 98 custom 8"
stock Tippmann 98 pro anodized 11"
Stock ViewLoader Genesis barrel 10"
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
J+J 20" Ceramic Barrel
ViewLoader 50rd hopper
9oz CO2
Unknown 6 pack with 6x100rd tubes
Recommended
Paintballs:
Unknown
Strengths: intimidation
Quiet
Weaknesses: Size
weight
Review: I got this barrel today and right out of package it amazed me. I have not tested this so I will be doing a rewrite ASAP. First the fact its 20"'s long!!!! huge intimidation and there porting holes 2/3's of the way down I connected my 9oz and dried fired and its a little quieter than my tippmann stock 8" but not a huge difference. The weight with a almost empty 9oz on the back and having nothing bigger than 11" barrel makes the balance a little new to me. I then walked around the house with it to get a feel for the length and its definitely a new experience
Conclusion: it will definitely maker you smile when u pull it out the box but be warned for those who never owned a barrel this size before. I give this a 9/10 because there is always something to improve
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

woodsballa 1 Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom 16" Whisper Barrel
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Tactical, Halo b-rip drive hopper, J&J 16" Ceramic Barrel, WGP 20oz tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I haven't found any that haven't worked well yet.
Strengths: Very friggin quiet, Accurate, Pretty gas friendly.
Weaknesses: None!!!!
Review: I have just recently bought this product at my local pro-shop. When I first saw it, i figured it was goin to be great but s**t. THIS THING IS AWESOME!!! I bought it for my autococker which is already quiet enough, but when i shot it the store owner came out side wonderin if i shot it yet. I had already shot 140 rounds. He was frigin amazed, and so was I. As for its accuracy, their's no word for it. You have to buy this barrel to see for yourself. But, I can tell you I can shoot you in the head from 50 steps without you knowing I shot until its too late.
Conclusion: You have to buy this gun it is SWEET.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media