paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  Last
        Next Page
shanejohnson200 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
16" JJ Ceramic (this one. Excellent)
14" Lapco Bigshot (good)
14" SP Progressive (poor)
Stock Spyder xtra (poor)
Tippmann ? 16" (Came with my old 68Carbine. Decent)

Marker Setup: 2004 Spyder Xtra (ottersc's LP mod)
AKA Lightning bolt
Maddmann rocket valve
32deg spring kit
ESP E-grip (LED model)
PsychoBallistics Long Bullet drop
Palmer Stabilizer
Q-loader

For scenario, I add:
Gunhead O-Stock
BKL Cantilever riser
A-1 Optics 1-2x red dot scope (really...who needs more than 2x in paintball anyway?)
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have really only tried Super Swirls, PMI Premium, Heavy Metal, and Big Ball. I like Premiums the best, but with this barrel, they really all perform about the same in terms of accuracy.
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Light
Weaknesses: None so far
Review:
I got this barrel not too long ago and was instantly blown away by how accurate and quiet it was. I hadn't completed the LP mods on my gun; all I had was the bolt, which wasn't even installed. What an incredible difference it made over stock. I also tried my brother's SP Progressive against it, and this barrel was still accurate.

Now, with the LP mod complete, the accuracy seems to have tightened up a little, but the volume has dropped considerably. It went from a loud "pop" with the stock barrel, to a muffled slap with the JJ at first, and now it's a barely audible "whoosh".

As far as a close inspection, the machining was flawless. the inside was shiny at first, and now it has become slightly more dull, but everything I've read says that's natural for ceramic barrels. It hasn't affected accuracy in the slightest, so I'm not worried.

It's so light it feels like you can snap it with your bare hands. I didn't try, of course, but it really does feel that light. The next step after this barrel for me and probably most other ballers out there is a drop forward, to balance the weight out better.

I plan on getting the 20" just for kicks (and because I'm happy with my gun now, and I feel the need to play around with different things for it) and also the 12" to have a more speedball-esque setup. Heck, at 20-30 bucks a pop it's easily affordable. Just means I'll have to skip a steak dinner one night ;)

Honestly, I have a lapco bigshot and I haven't been terribly impressed with it. Of course, it's on an old and gradually wearing-out 68 carbine, so that's probably a huge part of the equation. But, why pay 60 bucks for a great barrel (don't get me wrong, I LOVE lapco products) when you can pay 20-30 for one that's just as good?
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to anyone on a budget who wants accuracy and silence. Anything that can make a stock Xtra shoot 6" groups out of the box is worth a look.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vipergt15145 Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Pilot ACS '05 (Its ok, but this barrel slaughters it)
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS '05, Black Halo TSA LED Frontman, 14 inch J&J Ceramic Barrel, 20 oz. Co2 tank, Empire Fast Pack 5 '06.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any but Zap.
Strengths: Shoots clean, nice looks.
Weaknesses: O-ring is kinda hard to get in.
Review: This barrel is the best barrel I've ever used. I hit a 6 inch wide tree from 50 yards 5 times in a row. It is very cheap i got mine for $40. Although, the O-ring it comes with is kinda hard to get on the barrel. Just use a nail file and it works good.
Conclusion: Buy it, it is the equivalent of a Boomstick, for 1/4 the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EvilDemon98 Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 barrel
Stock Spyder Barrel
Marker Setup: A stock A-5 with a J&J Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything Competition Grade so you know its good
Strengths: ALOT quieter than the stock barrel
More accurate
Cheap($30)
Supposedly self cleans
Looks Good
Weaknesses: Could chip easily but i'm not sure
2 dings on the end of barrel
Review: I recieved this barrel on 7/7 and first thing i noticed is that it looks cool. I put it on my gun and then tested it w/ my HPA tank and it is so accurate from ~30Ft with 20 balls, 19 of them made it in a 12 inch square. I then noticed that is alor quieter than the stock barrel, I can hear the balls rattling around in my hopper from the kickback(that btw is reduced but not gone) and the cyclone feed you can hear cycle. When I first inspected the barrel I noticed very minor dings on the end of the barrel does not effect performance, but is still there.
All around it is a good barrel for cheap and I would recommend it to anyone.
Conclusion: Cheap, Accurate, Quieter = All Around Great Barrel I would recommend to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

uacmarine Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion stock barrel, freak, terminator, and quiet riot
Marker Setup: Ion, SP 360 QEV, X-11 drop, clamping feedneck, scythe trigger, Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
low end- Scorch
High end- engage
Strengths: Very accurate, light
Weaknesses: Smetimes backs out of gun if you dont put it in tight
Review: First off this is the most accurate barrel I've ever used for the price. It only cost 40 dollars and it shoots better than my freak. Although it sometimes backs out of my gun and cause balls to go every where because its loose but you just tighten it up alot then thats no problem. I played with it in a 26 hour scenario and the hole time I never broke a ball once. Me and this other guy with an ion where shooting at someone he had the stock barrel and I outshot him by at least 40 ft. and I was shooting like 3 times as fast with no brakes. ( My eye wiring harness is broke bc of qev but with my halo its no problem) And I was shooting as fast as I can which is about 16 bps. Also I got 1000 scorch paintballs(22 dollars) for my bday from a relative and shot like 15-16 bps constantly and never broke a ball. Or engage which is great paint works the best but there about 55 dollars
Conclusion: Buy it for the price it cant be beat and you can use cheap walmart paint for practice
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jd_0520 Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
16" Smart parts progressive barrel, 14" 32 degrees Quiet riot, and of course stock barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with 12" J&J Ceramic barrel, Tapco 6 position stock raised sight rail with Red Dot sight, and remote coil set up with pack.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. I shoot either core, hot spots, or precision.
Strengths: -Shoots straight
-Very accurate
-Can shoot through most breaks
-Looks great!
Weaknesses: Haven't found any weaknesses
Review: I have gone through a few guns and barrels and I finally found a gun and barrel that works great. The J&J Ceramic barrel is great! I know a few people who have it and when I shot their guns I just had to get one. J&J did a great job making this barrel!

I have had this barrel for a while and I think it has broken 2 paintballs in the time i used it. But I just shot right through it. After about three shots the barrel was back to normal.

I would suggest this barrel for anyone who is looking for an inexpensive great performing barrel. I bought mine for $29.99
Conclusion: I highly recomend this barrel. Great barrel for the price. I give it a 10 because it is the best barrel for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

new_Faction64 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock MR2 and TL-R barrels- dunno how they compared
Marker Setup: MR2
J&J Ceramic 12" Barrel
20oz CO2
Ricochet Apache
Recommended
Paintballs:
-Scorch
-RPS Big Ball
Strengths: -See Below
Weaknesses: -See Below

MINE WAS DEFECTIVE
Review: Strengths:
-Accurate!
-Fairly quiet

Weaknesses:
-Mine was defective. The threaded end of the barrel did not reach far enough back in both my MR2 and my TL-R markers, so that it left a gap this large: || between the barrel and the internal tube of the marker where the paintballs go through. This caused paintballs to catch and burst frequently on the resulting gap.
-The cleaning feature works, BUT paintballs curve badly after a certain distance since paint still remains inside.
Conclusion: Overall, I think this is a strong product, but since I recieved a defective model, I am very disappointed. I will edit this review if I recieve a new , non-defective barrel from J&J, whom I am will soon attempt to get in contact with. i loved the accuracy and fair noise of the barrel when it did shoot properly, but the chopping was too much.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 29th, 2006 at 7:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BarsbyPB27 Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippy Barrels
Freak
Pipe
Boomstick
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 (Primary)
J&J 12" Ceramic
5" Drop Forward

Tippmann 98C (Backup)
Drop Forward
Expansion Chamber
J&J Ceramic 14"

Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything Sept Brass Eagle
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Cheap
Self Cleans
Weaknesses: Feels fragile, but it isn't, you just need to get used to the feel.
Review: Alright, so I was thinking about getting a new barrel for my Tippy 98C about a week or two after I got it. Thing was, I was pretty low on cash. So I started surfing around for a cheaper, but still effective barrel. A friend of mine owned A J&J Ceramic 14" on his gun, and he was telling me about it being one of the better barrels he's shot. So I asked him to borrow it and took it home to my Tippy. INSTANT results! It was quiet, and when I chopped a ball, 2 shots later the barrel was CLEAN. So when I took it back, I asked him how much he payed for it. I was surprised that he only payed 35.95 for it new. I bought one, sucked in by the success I had when testing it. As soon as I bought my A-5 I also bought a 12" Ceramic for it. I haven't been disappointed yet.
About it being accurate, it's true.
About it self-cleaning after a chop, it's true, although it doesn't TOTALLY clean it (would you expect it to though?)
About it being quiet, it's true.
Conclusion: Get this barrel, you will not be disappointed, and I will be money on that. Straight up 10 outta 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NinnYMuGgIns90 Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Xtra with Smart Parts Teardrop barrel(Lol to all you teardrop owners, this barrel is 20 times better)
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder Xtra with J&J 12" ceramic barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Can't really say quite yet, i've only used some "Wild Jungle" paintballs from brass eagle. But with the j&j they could have been marbalizers, performance was phenomenal.
Strengths: *Accuracy
*Consistency
*SOUND!!!!!!(Unbelievable, couldn't imagine a barrel being any more silent)
*Self-Cleaning
Weaknesses: Threads scratch somewhat easily, but doesn't effect barrel's performance.
Review: Well i ordered a 12" ceramic j&j for my spyder xtra, and after reading numerous reviews on the product i have to say i had high hopes for its performance in categories of accuracy, sound level, and consistency. I wasn't sure if it would beat my friends smart parts teardrop in the categories mentioned above. But i can gladly say it did, in every conceivable way. While my friend's paintballs were arching and flying right to left, mine were going straight at a decent distance. He's probably gonna end up buying a j&j barrel after seeing those kinds of results. This barrel was a great upgrade from my stock barrel, extremely quite i mean dead quite, I honestly couldn't hear anything but the mechanics of my gun as i was shooting. The accuracy for this barrel i think would be a 9 just because it wasn't dead accurate every shot but for a price of $37.00, it deserves a 10. I highly doubt you can find a better barrel for this price range. When it comes to self-cleaning it does just that, your squeegee will prove obsolete with this barrel. (Which isn't a bad thing :)
Conclusion: Overall This barrel is 10, for a price of $37 bucks there is no possible way you could go wrong with buying it, great upgrade for any gun, so stop reading review after review and get your arse up and buy this PHENOMENAL BARREL!!!!!!!! J&J has done the paintball community a great deed with such a ridiculously well performing barrel for such a low cost. So all you teardrop owners should be sulking that you didn't spend your $40 bucks on a much better barrel, J&J deserves mad props :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballfolyfe Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick is just a little better barrel but is way more expensive
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy Sport
Evil Pipe Kit with Ultra Tip
ST Supa-Fly Bolt
Evolution2

Coming soon:
JAM Anti-Chop Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus
Marbilizer
DBX can be used but they can break easy
Strengths: Very accurate
Reduces noises drastically
Did I mention self cleaning?!
Weaknesses: Scratches easyily
Review: Before for a couple of months I got my autococker with a stock barrel, it was alright but I wanted to shoot farther and make my gun more quiet.. So I decided to look for a barrel from 40-50 dollars. I saw the J&J and the 32 Degrees, I did some analyzing of which one is better and every time J&J came out! So I decided to pick this one and i never regretted it!
Conclusion: Get this barrel now, it is very accurate and quiet and SELF CLEANING I mean that's awesome if you chop a ball fire a couple of times and its back in shape! BUY IT NOW YOU WONT REGRET IT!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 31st, 2006 at 1:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lastvideogamer Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline - more distance less accuracy
Taso - less accurate, harder to clean
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Flatline Barrel, Stock, Remote Line, PMI 4500 88CI

Also Special OPS Dagger Mark I

Barrels: JJ Ceramic 14'' , Hammerhead Sharktooth 5.5'', Dye Ultralite 12''
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any RPS (evil, marbles) work with my bore they are supposed to be around the same size range however its good to check this yourself.
Strengths: Cheap, easy to clean, durable, light
Weaknesses: Not a kit
Review: Well when most people tell you that a barrel is only as good as your paint to bore match for the most part they are telling you the truth. First of all this is not a kit so you have to match you paint to the barrel and not the other way around. Keeping that in mind this barrel has a ceramic/teflon interior which brings many positives especially for cleaning. Since this is a cheaper barrel around the medium/smaller range it fits a pretty decent amount of paint. When you get to the situations where you cant choose your paint the ceramic insides will allow the occasional break to be shot clean in a few shots, of course this barrel isn't whats chopping them.

The JJ is also very very light and not too loud. I'm not fragile with my marker during play and this barrel has not chipped at all and I use this one when I plan on sliding and getting down and dirty.

Im going to give it an 8/10 because when compared to other barrels it holds up very well but a 10/10 barrel would have to have different backs and fronts.
Conclusion: So if you were only going to buy one barrel I would pick up the JJ Ceramic.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media