paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Forrest Ruby Thursday, April 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
In my experience, I've used tons of stock barrels, and a few low end replacement barrels.
The best of these was a Smart Parts 12" barrel, one piece. It was accurate and did the job. I had no problems with this barrel until I bought my J&J. There is no comparison. The J&J blows every other barrel I've used out of the water.

I will admit however that I have no experience with high end barrels like the Hammerhead or Freak series.
Marker Setup: Smarts Parts SP-1 with CAR Stock
12" J&J Performance Ceramic Barrel
Empire Reloader B
Kingman Spyder MR-3 Carry Handel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any Paintball will do. You don't need top of the line or even decent paint to enjoy the benefits of this addition. Its Teflon coating has had no issue with any bottom shelf paint I've shot in the past two years.
Strengths: -Strength
-Weight
-Silent
Weaknesses: -Wet accuracy
Review: The barrel itself is light, strong, and quiet.

The porting is effective in eliminating noise, so much so that while using it on my MR3, a loud and concussive Marker, players down field commented that my weapon was as quiet as a whisper. On my SP-1, the gun's negligible sound is further reduced to the point where I eliminated a foe at fifteen feet without revealing my location.

Made of a composite ceramic and not metal or an alloy, the barrel's weight is significantly decreased, and in a lengthy game, all weight must be taken into consideration. I played in DDay 2008, and by the end of that game, you still have to carry your equipment off the field. With thirty pounds of gun, paint, air, tactical accessories, do you really want a heavy barrel?

As for strength, I've fallen or tripped more than once at a flat out sprint and landed on my barrel, or used it for support. I've seen nothing more major than a buffed paint job at the tip. No chipping, no denting, no scratches.

The sole weakness I've seen and experienced in my use of this barrel is its wet accuracy. After breaking or chopping a ball, the Teflon in the barrel, while self cleaning, is so effective that the balls become coated and will veer dramatically, significantly reducing accuracy. Either shoot out the barrel dry a few times or squeege before carrying on.
Conclusion: If you are on a budget, and a $100 rifled barrel is out of your range, or just don't see the need to pay twice as much for a similar effect, the J&J Performance Barrel is a great buy. It will go anywhere, and do anything you need it to do.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jkpaintballer Sunday, March 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom products 16" Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 response trigger
J&J ceramic 9.5" barrel
normal CO2 tank
Stock hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: VERY accurate. Clears breaks no problem in 1 shot.
Weaknesses: Could scratch or even break (1 in a million shot).
Review: This barrel is the best I've ever had! No one that i have ever faced has a better barrel than this! An absolute must have. Clears breaks in one or two shots. By far the most accurate barrel I've seen and is very light and is only $30! I believe the ceramic is what makes its accuracy and ball breaking clearance so good. I also believe that's part of its main problem. Being ceramic, it can scratch a little. That doesn't matter though because the barrel is still going to be at the same accuracy. You should only care about it scratching if the looks matter to you a lot. Also, it can break. But no one should have a problem with this unless your a woodsballer and you whack a tree with it or land on it. The chance of this happening are 1 in a million though, so no worries.
Conclusion: Around $30 now, very accurate, clears breaks better than 99.9% of other barrels, and fits pretty much all markers. Whats not to like. It's a must have for any player!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nato80 Sunday, February 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive
Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c with
16" smart part barrel
Remote
Archon 200 loader
Camo stickers

Spyder Rodeo
16" barrel?

Smart parts Vibe
14" j&j ceramics
Ricochet apache lcd
48/3k DXS compressed air
Recommended
Paintballs:
Dont know all I can use is Monster Balls(which arenty that bad)
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Inexspensive
Weaknesses: To much porting now
Paint scratches easily
Review: I put this on my vibe and I was very impressed. The shots were in a tight grouping and were going alot farther than normal. I was disappointed that it had so much porting because that used to be a strong point was the good amount , not in excess. It is extremly light compared to my progressive and much more acurate than my stock. And going for $30 bucks you really cant go wrong.
Conclusion: Buy this if you are on a budget. Great barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

avanilekiller Friday, January 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
cp 1 peice, any other 1 peice in its price range
Marker Setup: etek ego with a 56/45 and a a vlocity with a virtue chip
i also have a ion xe with bunch of ups , reloder b , and a 72/30 aluimum tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
DO NOT USE OLD PAINT OR BIG BORE PAINTBALLS
Strengths: Light
Queit
Accuracte to a point
Weaknesses: scratchs quick
doesnt self clean all the time
SMALL BORE
Review: This is barrel is a nice upgrade if u have got a crapy stock one but the bore on this is VERY small and u will have alot of breaks with old paint or some that r big bored. Other than that is is quiet, light and very nice on a gun.
Conclusion: I am giving this a 7 because the bore is small and it scratchs like no tommorrow, also because there are much better barrels out there for its price!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SABER0404 Tuesday, January 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel, and cp one piece
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5, E-grip, 12" J&J, OPSGEAR AK47 folding stock, OPSGEAR 416 shroud, Lapco m4 mag, remote line, home made suppressor mod
Recommended
Paintballs:
didn't find anything this would shoot, i've fired everything from white box to draxxus dusk to tournament grade
Strengths: Simple design without wasteful porting
Very good performance
Variety
Apex ready mods on market
Weaknesses: Scratches show up easily in light gleam but no real paint flaking
Review: I got my 12" J&J for about $25 while one of my friends payed $70 for a CP one Piece and other paid gods knows what for a freak kit, and seriously my barrel preforms just as well as all of them. This barrel just works, it's light, it's solid, it looks good, and it matches almost any marker out there. This is just the perfect barrel it doesn't waste your time with gimmicks and faked science. There are mods already out there to put and Apex tip on your J&J so you don't have to possibly wast money ruining an apex attempting to do it yourself. The barrel comes in a wide variety of lengths and threadings to suit any player needs. Seriously if you want a solid barrel that will work as hard as you the J&J your barrel, out of everything I've tried this is by far my number one upgrade and will put one on every marker I ever buy.
Conclusion: There's nothing better just go get it, trust me, you can thank me after.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mx98ranger Tuesday, January 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts freak
dye boomstick
Marker Setup: Autococker trilogy competition, techt upgrade kit, palmers micro rock regulator, custom products drop forward, crossfire nitro tank, 14"J&J ceramic barrel, viewloader evolution III hopper
Strengths: Inexpensive
Accurate
Durable
Teflon Coating
Weaknesses: It doesn't seem to self clean well every time a ball break occurs.
Review: I picked up one of these a couple weeks ago and have played several games with it since. So far it has been a VERY solid barrel. It has a consistenly accurate shot. I know the barrel is self cleaning but I have had an instance where I had a ball break and it was like the barrel wasn't self cleaning at all. I had to squeegee the barrel to get it to shoot straight.
Conclusion: For $40 you won't find a more accurate barrel. It's not perfect but nothing I have every played with has been. Very solid product especially for the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jefffff Wednesday, January 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
n/a
well i used to have a spyder but it sucked
Marker Setup: a5
expansion chamber
14" j&j ceramic
its pretty sweet
Strengths: Accurate, Cheap, Easy to clean, Just plain awesome
Weaknesses: I haven't noticed any
Review: this is a sweet barrel that looks pretty b/a
i would definitely say you should get this barrel
its, in my experience and opinion the best barrel for the a-5, (most of the time the flatline chops balls at high firing rates from my experience)
I pretty much dominate with this barrel
Conclusion: For $30 this is a helluva deal
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballinfrea Sunday, January 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used the Stock Ion Barrel
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Pure energy remote line with quick disconnect
J&J 14 inch barrel
Ricochet 2k Hopper
Dwell set at 30 ROF set at 18 (Update: Will change it soon)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintballs! Thats the size of the bore of course.
Strengths: Accurate
Self-Cleaning
Durable
Does not over heat.
Weaknesses: The paint kinda chips a little off to show white underneath
Review: Unlike a metal barrel, ceramic barrels do NOT overheat. You can be ramping all day long and your metal barrel is going to get hot and paintballs will break. My J&J does not get hot and its great. I play woods ball and the 14 inch is great for accuracy.
Conclusion: I recommend this product for serious Paintballers. But the only thing is that it might chip if you bang it really hard. (which wont happen unless your some idiot throwing your gun around like a retard)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Har2021 Wednesday, November 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Custom98 ACT, J&J 12", HPA 3000psi, rocket cock II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Triumph, mid-sized paint
Strengths: Light, easy to clean the vent holes, accurate, still shoots accurate when paint breaks
Weaknesses: Easily scratched on the out side. Scratched the out side surface on a tree trunk
Review: This has been an excellent barrel so far. After a game this last Saturday I looked down at my barrel and noticed paint coming out of the hole vents...I had broken a ball but I did not even realize a difference in the shot. I squeegeed it out and very little paint came out.
During the games was amazing. There was a ravine that I shot across and the distance on my shots were amazing. There were a lot of newer players that were shooting through little holes in the bunkers. I was able to get a bead on there position and put a ball on the lens.
I got a number of one shot one kill shots. That was nice because the other team couldn't tell where the shots came from.
I really don't think a tippmann can really be that quieted by a barrel or a rocket cock. The action is the loud part.
Conclusion: This is the only barrel that I have had besides my stock barrel. It has given me a real advantage. I don't need to shower a bunker hoping one lands on target. I can shoot accurate slap shots. Highly recommended.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MightyMace Wednesday, October 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel, tippmann 16" sniper
Marker Setup: 98Custom
- J&J ceramic barrel
- cyclone feed (Ultimate force ratchet & shaft and thunder rod + squishy paddels)
- X7 low profile offset hopper + stealth padding
- cheap crappy bipod + barrel attatchment
- double trigger
- 6 inch 3 sided weaver rail
- tasco 2x42 red dot scope
- green dot laser
- remote line + line sock
- special ops foldable stock
- rocket cock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any - just be careful of paint with dints, they seem to shoot really badly out of this barrel.
Strengths: Cheap
Accurate
pretty quiet
Weaknesses: hard to clean
does NOT shoot through barrel breaks
Review: Simple really, i wanted a cheap high performing barrel for the price, found ceramics were suposedly good so i went and bought a 20" one

First day of use it performed pretty well, its the first barrel of this length i have used and its pretty quiet which i was happy with. First game i really liked how it was performing and it was dead accurate, then the wind picked up and ruined that for me, but also everyone else so it wasn't too bad. I dont know why people have been saying the outside scratches easy, i have given it a through few bad wacks on it that you would think would scratch most barrels, and nothing. One thing is its easy to mark, but all you have to do is use a light washing-up sponge and water to clean the marks off.

Me being an idiot i think i much have stuck my barrel into the mud and i went to shoot a bunch of mud and broken paint came flying out my barrel. I thought to myself "crap, oh well it can shoot through barrel breaks" tried shooting through it and my god it was terrible, not sure if it was the cold weather messing up the bore size on the balls but it was so messed up inside i had to go and squeegy it.

However once i did it was working well again.

This barrel served me well, 23 kills in 9 games and our team won

I do believe that is a good days work, did far better than any of my other friends!
Conclusion: Great barrel, worth the money

Even though my 20" is a paint in the ass to clean because of 9 inches of porting its great

i'll give it a 9 because nothing is perfect, this barrel isn't that close to perfect but deserves a solid 9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 30th, 2008 at 12:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media