paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  Last
        Next Page
678wer Tuesday, April 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing except for the A-5 stock barrel............(no comparison AT ALL)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
12" J&J Ceramic
20oz co2(soon to be HPA)
Recommended
Paintballs:
SMALL ONES
Strengths: -Accurate
-Quiet
-GOOD LOOKS
Weaknesses: Warning, the threads on the new ones do not fit the tipp 98.


Review: This is an all around good barrel and I will go over the good and bad about it.

STRENGTHS :

SOUND :
I used (before I bought the J&J) the A-5 stock barrel, and it was like a cannon.
I bought this barrel, and WHOA!!!
It was like black to white, this barrel is VERY quiet.
I was playing w/ my friend (who has an tippy 98) and he tried to borrow it, but they changed the threads, (SEE WEAKNESSES) but overall it is a quiet barrel.

ACCURACY :
This barrel is reowned for it's accuracy, and although I haven't shot a target to see how really accurate it is, many of my friends have big welts to testify.

LOOKS :
What more can I say?

WEAKNESSES :
None.


Conclusion: I would definately buy this barrel if you are on a tight budget, but if your not, hey, go blow $100+ on a barrel, or buy this baby and save $50 bucks for paint.......................
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 12th, 2005 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

imagine44 Sunday, April 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: Black spyder imagine
14' J&J performance
ACI 6-stage sub-zero expansion chamber
Empire Reloader 2
20 oz
CP flame drop forward
Black shocktech LPC
Bandit Imagine bolt
Armson ssr (coming soon)
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paint will work even wal-mart crap
Strengths: Accurate
wicked quiet
some range but not alot
self cleans in three shots
price
Weaknesses: Doesn't shoot that far
will fly straight for a while and just drop
Review: I was looking at this barrel for some time because my stock wasn't really doin to good. So I bought it any was pleased with its peformance much better than stock. It has very good accuracy and it is very quiet. My only concern is the range it doesn't shoot to far, it will fly straight for 45-55 feet and then drop but it is very dangerous at close to medium range. excellent for speedball
Conclusion: I give this product a 9.5 only because it doesn't shoot that far. and 9.5 rounds to a 10.
hasn't let me down
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 18th, 2005 at 6:13 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Balling4Christ! Tuesday, April 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder, Empire Twister
Marker Setup: Tricked out Spyder Sonix---J&J Ceramic 14inch barrel, 12v Revolution loader, IPI 3.0 Electronic Trig Frame, 32 Degrees shorty bolt, 32 Degrees Cradle/Drop, CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premiums
Strengths: Very Accurate
Nice Looking
Nice Feel
Super Smooth
Price is Right
Teflon Impregnated
Weaknesses: Does not clean like it says very well
Scratches easily
....Other than that its perfect
Review: This barrel is EXTREMELY accurate up until you chop a ball. Then it takes about 25-30 shots to clean it out to resume the accuracy. But when clean this barrel does not curve AT ALL. It also has a nice range. I reccomend buying some barrel swaps to clean this in the field if u chop.
Conclusion: This is great barrel highly recommend for anyone that wants to put out long, accurate shots.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghostguy6 Tuesday, April 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 barrels
Smart parts Progressive
JT 2 piece
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 : M-4 3 position stock, double trigger, RT, polished internals, pen spring mod. IR scope, HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint you match to the barrel
Strengths: Good barrel
Good price
Weaknesses: Over rated, doesnt clean as well as claimed
hard to clean
Review: This is a good barrel. Its not to expensive and provides good accuracy over 120 ft. Hte finish is surprising durable however I have noticed a few chips at the front of the barrel from sliding into bunkers, not the barrels fault but also not what you'd expect from ceramic. Everyone Ive talked to says this barrel is self cleaning, that isn't true, sure the balls push the paint out of the barrel but with most barrels you can do that. The salesman at the store told me there was no need to take a squeegee onto the field with this barrel, Im so glad I didn't listen. If you do get a break in this barrel you can shoot about 40 ft if your lucky. From what everyone has written about it and told me they make it out to be a "miracle", It is not. The porting on the barrel does reduce the sound a tiny bit from the stock barrel. The ports are hard to clean, after a full day of playing sometime I found it necessary to use solvents to dissolve the paint that dried in the porting. I didn't really see any big difference from the Smart Parts Progressive
Conclusion: Its a good barrel just its over rated. I bought this expecting to get the best, I got good but not the best. I gave it a 7 only because the porting is such a pain to clean and because its so over rated.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Fejery Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Teardrop, 32 Degrees Terminater
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, Homemade Dropforward, 14 in. J&J Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Heats, you can also use Torks, but they curve more with this barrel
Strengths: VERY Accurate, Quieter, Self Cleans (to an extent), Doesn't break balls
Weaknesses: The outside scratches easily (doesn't affect performance)
Review: I got this barrel to replace the crappy stock 98 barrel, and the first thing I thought when I picked it up was, this thing feels to light to be strong, but after playing with it (and accidentally bashing it on some rocks) I found it to be very strong. They claim it self cleans after a break, and is perfectly normal after about 2-3 shots, it does better then any other aftermarket barrel out there (including the boomstick) but even after 10+ shots it does not have the constistance of a clean barrel. But I don't care, I love this barrel and wouldn't trade it for the boomstick, well, only to sell it and 4 of these.
Conclusion: Very good barrel @ $30 Not giving it a 10 because it doesn't self clean as well as advertised. (Read above) I would re-name this the $30 Boomstick
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 18th, 2005 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dark fenix Thursday, March 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-14 JT Barrel
-SS Full Freak Kit
-Stock Fenix Barrel
-DYE Boom Stick
Marker Setup: -Fenix
-Check It Products 15* Assault Block with Bob Long Mini Guage
-Bob Long Torpedo Reg. with Violent Products Derlin Piston
-Trinity Push Button On/Off ASA on a Violent Products No Drop Rail
-Trinity Low Rise Clamping Feed Neck
-Maddman Rocket Valve
-Dark Horizons TI Hammer
-ACP Blue Bolt
-ACP Thrasher Trigger
-ACP Snatch Grip
-DYE Stickie Grips
-50g T-Switch
-T-Board with T-Chip
-Break Beam Eyes
-Hybrid Technologies Timi Skull Shadez
-45/4500 Pure Energy with Dye 05 Rhino Cover
-Full SS Freak Kit
-Evo II with Z-Board and Paddle Mod
Low pressure set-up. 300fps at 280psi
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any with ggod shape
Strengths: -Price
-Performance
-Quiets down you marker
Weaknesses: -None
Review: This Barrel will quet down you marker and will shoot straight as an arrow.I have never had any problems with this barrel. you could easely compare this barrel to barrels 3 times the price of this one. You will not regret this barrel. Even having a Full SS Freak Kit i still find my-self returning to this barrell constantly
Conclusion: Great barrel. Get one today. you will not regret this purchase. Shoots straight, shoots quiet, shoots through barrel breaks and its relatively cheap.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheMedievalMan Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Tear drop and Progressive. They are much the same barrel except for the porting being a bit different. They are the closest I have used to a J&J Ceramic.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, response trigger, Richochet Apache (the updated 2005 model), double trigger, home made car stock and Tippmann expansion chamber.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that is of good quality and of medium bore.
Strengths: Its light, affordable, good porting and the ceramic coating makes it frictionless.
Weaknesses: I dont know because I take good care of it, but it feels kinda fragile.
Review: Well, when I decided to get a new gun after I needed something stronger than my Spyder Aggressor XT, I decided to buy a Tippmann 98 Custom. As you probably know, the stock barrel of the 98 Customs are not good. So when I ordered my 98 Custom, I ordered her with the 14" J&J Ceramic barrel. When she arrived with the barrel, I took out the 98 Custom, removed the stock barrel, and introduced her to her new barrel. She loved the gift and has served me (like a female should) with reliable accuracy. The barrel doesnt really chop very much, and looks good on my 98 Custom. She also thinks it looks good on her and would never go back to the stock she came with. The only thing I dont like is that it doesnt come in a choice of colors. Not a problem for me since shes black... heh, yeah well you get what I mean. Anyways, for those of you who have a different colored gun, you will have a problem trying to match the colors just right. Im thinking of putting some kind of protection over the barrel since I dont want it to get scratched, you see, shes picky about everything on her looking perfect, and you guys know that can get annoying. So I agreed to put some kind of barrel shroud in the future.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel most definately. Its a great barrel for such a cheap price (Usually around thirty to fourty if you know where to look). If your gun likes it as much as mine did, maybe she will give you a kiss the way mine did to me. Um, just make sure she isnt loaded when she does that... ouch.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 3rd, 2005 at 4:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PbRec Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 barrel, seen a friend test a flatline(waste of money in my opinon), boomstick
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, double trigger with a pencil spring mod, 14" J&J ceramic barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything but brass eagle, big balls work good and super swirl
Strengths: very smooth inside
quite
Very accurate
i usume it cleans paint no breaks
Weaknesses: Limited colors but it matches my marker well
Scratches easy
No real weaknesses though
Review: I have shot at least 2 cases of paint out of this barrel and not one paintball has broken
The last time i played with this barrel me and my friends had set up some hay bails out in a field and me and another of my friends were facing of and when we got behind some hay bails my friend started fliping me off and every time i would shoot he would put his hand down and if he haden't my paintball would have hittin him ever time i shot at him (he was at least 50 feet away)so i waited for him to flip me the bird agian and when he did he put both hands and fingers up and !slap! i shot him right in the wrist and got him out.
I also busted the same guy in the face 2 times that day at least 50 to 60 feet away each time!
Conclusion: Very Very accurate barrel
Very quite most of the time when we played in the woods they couldn'd find me
Awsome look on the 98C
Very cheap
If i could go higher on the rating i would give it a 1000000000000.......
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 2nd, 2006 at 8:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

McChickenNugget Friday, March 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels on lots of guns
Terminator
Marker Setup: viewloader prodigy e-grip
J&J 14inch ceramic
camo hopper
9 and 20 Oz. co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Smaller bore
Strengths: Very light
Quiet
Accurate
Looks good
Matte Black Finish
Weaknesses: Smaller Bore
Review: I got thisbarrel about 7 months or so ago and have put probly somewhere near 5 or 6 cases of paint through it. It is a good barrel quiets any gun down alot. The finish on it is not very noticable. The really only bad part about this barrel is tht it has a small bore. Therefore only smaller bored paint can be accuratly and effectivly shot through it.
Conclusion: If you have a low budget and want a good barrel this is a very good choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dlitz Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Armson Pro-Series Barrel
-Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: -ACI Maverick
-J&J Ceramic 14" Barrel
-PMI Pure Energy Regulator
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evils and Draxus Inferno seem to work very well.
Strengths: -Quiet
-Accurate
Weaknesses: -Seems fragile
-Doesn't do the self-clean thing
Review: I bought this thing in hopes I would be able to get my hands on a higher quality barrel for my pump-marker. I sent in an order to J&J with a note at the bottom: "Smallest bore you have, please." They sent me this about a month later, and I took it out a few days ago to test it. I was pleased with the results. (I'll post what bore they sent me when I get it measured.)

First, what was wrong with it. It won't kill the barrel.

The thing seems a little fragile. Others have written the threads seem like they'll file off, and I don't doubt if you took a file or tried really hard to sand them off it'd do it, but they seem to me to be staying in one spot, so I'm not too worried about it. Irreguardless, the whole way ceramics work means it isn't quite the same quality for metal in durability, so don't run it over with your car if you can help it.

That whole "shoot through and clean" feature they advertise for the barrel... Doesn't happen. Not too much you can say about that, it just doesn't do the blow-through thing, even with paint that fit the barrel really well. Bring a squeegee.

The good.

It is very quiet. Many ports on the barrel make it kinda hard to clean, but my extremely loud Maverick became as quiet as a mouse with this barrel. Well, maybe overstated that a little, but it's sure as hell not loud anymore. Makes a nice, "Plfft," sound.

Shoots very accurately, especially with the right paint. The bore of one I have is very small, so the small paint I shot did very well. As a pump player, accuracy is king, and this provided it in spades.
Conclusion: Good barrel for the money. Definate recommendation.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media