paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  Last
        Next Page
WoodzBallah Sunday, February 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 in camo , 14" J&J Ceramic barrel, BSA 30mm Red dot sight.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I do ok with Draxxus Dusk
Strengths: Flat black, looks cool, Slick as an eels butt, light,price is great,self cleaning
Weaknesses: Feels fragile -no biggie
Review: Obiously this is a huge improvement over my stock c98 barrel. I reccomend this for us poor folks. You can use the cheap balls if you wish, and when you get a break just shoot a few times and it's clear! I said this thing feels fragile but I havn't damaged it yet, and I am very rough on my equippment in the woods. I slammed it hard against a tree once but no problem. I can't imagine a barrel being any better, if I had proof that there was, I'd love to hear about it and why.
Conclusion: Buy it . love it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 27th, 2005 at 3:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vicious666 Sunday, February 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
teardrop, progressive,xcel(bit better), bigshot, cp, microshot(same), all sorts of stock barrels (crappier) boom stick, freak, arradus, poison arrow, long bow(quite a bit better).
Marker Setup: procarbine, vertical adaptor, titanium hammer, 14" poison arow (smoother than glass), HPA work, aluminum grip frame, dye stickies, and the most interesting thing is I have made it a pneumaticly controlled gun by riging a pneumatic ram to the linkage arm and doing away with the spring and useing a 3-way to control the ram. and rigging a LPR to power it all.
Recommended
Paintballs:
medium bore. medium or above grade. Core premium, RPS premium, anarchy. Ive had good results with Core though its shell is a bit hard.
Strengths: Self cleaning. matte finish, good basic design
Weaknesses: Not "mirror" honed, have from time to time experienced long range innacuracy. (clogged porting)
Review: good overall barrel. it is superior to most stock barrels. though I dont find it as accurate or quiet as the smart parts single pieces. The teflon coating does seem to work. I find this a sales gimmick though because any barrel can do this with a coating of Rain-X on the inside(lasts a couple of cases). Shooting through breaks saved me the first game I played with it. The matte finnish may float some peoples boats but may sink other peoples. The main complaint is that the honeing is no so great. Its is better than stock though.
Conclusion: Get it if you want.... I think it is an alright barrel. if you want better performance for a bit more money I'd go with the smart parts single pieces. Rain-X is the key to shooting through breaks.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

valcristdk Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra stock.
PMI G3 stock.
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha EXT PRO G3
J&J Ceramic 14" Barrel
Remote Line
20oz PMI Co2
Strengths: Accurate!
Slick!
Long distance!
Cheap!
Weaknesses: Ceramic.
Review: Slick looking barrel because it's ceramic. People write about the weakness of having a ceramic barrel which I agree on a certain level.

First, it shoots far and accurate.
2nd, the only way you can scratch this is if you rub the barrel against rocks and other hard materials that could scratch your own skin.
3rd, breaking it is possible, if you are dumb enough to smash it on a tree or rocks.
4th, compared to DYE ultralite or boomsticks, price to performance ratio, J&J ceramic wins all the way.

Conclusion: I cannot believe the huge difference my gun change just with these barrels.

I was against DM4 and DM5 with ultralite and boomsticks, I took all of them out. Ofcoarse I played smart. For some reason, just because you have a $1000+ gun and I have a $75 gun on eBay, you think you are invincible and dont hide for cover. I shot his head when he was reloading.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

A-5best Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel-its a joke
Progressive-Ok doesnt compare imo
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, promark aluminum double trigger, polished internals, revvy 12v w/ vortex impeller, J&J ceramic.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything around 688 or less
Strengths: Shoots thru breaks very well
Accurate
Good looks
Cheap
Weaknesses: Some people misunderstand it
Review: This is a very good barrel. It shoots thru breaks very very well, in about 4 shots its clean. Some people may think that its made of ceramic and oh no that must be weak. This isnt true it is an aluminum barrel with a ceramic/teflon coating. This is an extremely smooth surface and allows for optimim performance and break shooting thru.
Conclusion: Overral all i like this barrel its cheap and performs very well. Extreme amounts of bang for the buck.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jokr16 Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock PMI 9" barrel
Marker Setup: Pirahna w/ Eforce grip
Halo TSA LCD Backman
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used cheap paint, worked fine.
Strengths: Great Accuracy
Lightweight (weighs as much as my stock 9" barrel)
Self Cleaning
Weaknesses: No flaws found thus far
Review: While I have only tested this product in my back yard once today, my first impression was this is perfect! I love this barrel. I love the accuracy of this thing. This thing was suprisingly lightweight for the length. The self cleaning features of this barrel are a dream. I can't wait to get it on the field.
Conclusion: I recommend you buy this marker immediately if you currently have a stock PMI barrel it is a huge upgrade!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jackson123 Friday, February 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Stock Barrel
Tippmann Flatline Barrel
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Dye Titanium Boomstick Barrel
Marker Setup: Custom Blue Vision Atomix Impulse
Adrenaline 15 degree adapter
New Designz Drop Forward
Check-It Uni-Mount 2 ASA
Strange Derlin Bolt
Eclipse Magnetic Blade Trigger
Custom Max-Flo Vert Regulator
R.I.P Valve
JackHammer LPR
Q-Loc Feed Neck
Hybrid Adjustable Delrin Ball Detents

Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI,Patriot,evil
Strengths: Long distance, accurate, cheap, and light weight.
Weaknesses: Not as accurate as the Flatline
Too Expensive for the quality
Review: Good (Hood) quality, these barrels are not cheap but unexpensive, have had very very little soup in the time i have used it , but i have not much to compare it to seeing as the tippmann stock barrel looks like I pulled it out of my ass. But this barrel is great because it is light, accurate, quiet and unexpensive.
Conclusion: Good barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 29th, 2006 at 2:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quackymonkey723 Thursday, February 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used my friend's dad's Smart Parts Progressive barrel with his Victor, and some rental pirhanas...
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Victor II (green)
J & J 14" ceramic barrel (black)
Standard CO2 and gravity hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Both Draxxus Dusk and Scorch work great! (Plus they're pretty cheap!)

Strengths: Accurate
Self-cleaning (See below)
Doesn't chop paint
Decent range
Cheap
Weaknesses: Um, the only thing that I can think of is that the ceramic seems fragile...
Review: I just went out paintballing with this barrel for the first time yesterday!!!! I was so satisfied with and excited about it that I decided to write a review!!!!! I had NO BARREL BREAKS all day, and my shots were accurate and consistent! I said self-cleaning because 1) other people said it was and 2) if I did have any breaks I didn't/wouldn't know about it all!! Some people (in reviews) said that the barrel can come loose and they put O-rings behind the threads!??!?! But the barrel actually comes with a ring (you have to look inside the barrel!)!! Also, the ceramic makes the barrel seem like it'll just shatter, and after I first bought it I was afraid of scratching or breaking it. But, after I started playing with it I was comfortable enough with it to move little dead twigs and brush and stuff with it. I was even crawling through the forest floor, over and under dead trees and bushes, slithering between rotted logs and ant hills and mosquitoes and nettles ~ it was great. Also, people were complaining about the putty-ish color that it comes in - it does come in black as well. I found mine for $30!! I love my barrel and I hope this review is helpful to y'all!!!!!
Conclusion: I definitely would recommend this barrel to anyone! Most of the people I play with have Tippmanns or higher end Spyders, etc. But with my barrel I didn't feel like I was at a disadvantage at all! As much as I love paintball, I don't like to spend any more money than necessary (who does?); this is definitely worth more than you'll end up paying for it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 21st, 2005 at 5:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hummerking Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other aftermarket barrels, too many to list. none come close, except my old boomy, but the J&J was quieter andmore accurate.
Marker Setup: stock spyder EXTRA (backup/loaner) w/ 12" J&J ceramic
TIPPMANN A5
egrip w/ gta double trigger and home mods
dop internals
shocktec drop and front grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
absolutly any paint will work with this barrel, even the crappy feild paint we are forced to use. but the best is, believe it or not, pmi premiums/bigballs or marbs.
Strengths: wicked quiet
super accurate
self cleans IF u get a CHOP
super light
Weaknesses: Scratches kinda easy
Review: i bought the 12" for my spyder EXTRA, b/c we all know that stock barrels suck. it was a huge improvement over the stock. when i bought my A5 it came with the 14" model and it kicks ass with the egrip.

i have done tests with both the 14" J&J and the 14" boomstick. at 50 feet(yes i measured) i shot 10 shots at a board 16" wide. the J&J had groupings of 3 inches(meaning all the balls struck within 3 inches center to center) the boomstick had groupings of 6 inches.

i had the chance to try different lengths of the J&J(10",12",14",16") contrary to poular belife there is no diirence in accuracy. the only difference was the 16 was a little bit quieter thean the 12" and 14".
Conclusion: if your looking for a great after market barrel get the J&J ceramic. if u play speed ball and want to wrap around your bunkers then go for the 14" or 16", but if u just play rec ball, get the 12" b/c it's the perfect length to be able to run thru the woods w/o hitting stuff.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tippmann4evah Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippmann 98c stock
-played against friend who has 32degrees whisper
Marker Setup: -tippmann 98c
-14" J&J Ceramic
-GTA Expansion Chamber
-Adjustable Stock
-Rocket Cock 2
-Remote
-20oz. Co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
-diablo sun flare (awsome looking painballs that have great accuracy, although I dont hear of too many other people using them)
-dusk (break way too easily, but accurate)
-variety of zap (no complaints here)
-Sorry to say I have used brass eagle and they don't deserve to be mentioned with the above pballs
Strengths: -interior teflon coating helps clear barrel after a break
-great looks
-nice porting
-Accurate
-Inexpensive
Weaknesses: - MINOR: porting is difficult to clean out after a break while on the field
Review: This barrel can compete w/ all others for a fraction of the price of more expensive ones. I've used mine for woods ball (which I prefer) and speed ball. It is great for both. Some people say that because it is ceramic it will easily scratch/chip. I have scraped mine against brick before and only a little paint came off, nothing threatening to the quality of the barrel. I love the teflon coating inside the barrel, which is one of the main advantages over other barrels.
Conclusion: I wouldn't hesitate to get this barrel. You can't find a better barrel for your money. I give it a 9 only because I think something has to be perfect to get a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 10th, 2005 at 7:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guilo Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel, Flat-line Barrel
Marker Setup: 98c with 14 inch J&J Ceramic Barrel
Strengths: Verry accurate
Dosent cost a fortune
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I bought my 98c off of EBAY with a flat-line barrel. I was happy with the distance on the flat-line but not the accuracy so I bought the J&J Ceramic.

I've been thoroughly impressed with the accuracy of this barrel it is 10 times better than my flat-line. I would rather adjust for a precise drop than not change my pitch and not be able to trust where the shot is going to go.
Conclusion: Buy this if you are using the stock barrel its inexpensive and awesomely precise.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media