paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
AKSpyder Sunday, August 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel (sucks) No other barrels used.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra J&J ceramic barrel, Fasta loader, Archon Ignition
Recommended
Paintballs:
Higher quality (DUH)
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, looks
Weaknesses: Lack of colors.
Review: Well, I got this barrel as a birthday present and the first day I used it at a feild was the first time I got to use the splatterhouse's hyperball field.(The indoor one I can practically touch each starting gate, and I'm a small person) The first time I shot it I almost screamed out an explative despite the fact that my inflexible mother was sitting right beside the feild. It was so quiet that the ring of the hammer hitting the cup seal was clearly audible through out the firing of the gun. Also the paintball would have almost literaly rode a laser along its path. The whole self cleaning thing I'm not sure of, there is very little residue in the barrel after a chop but paint still flies off target, then again I havent chopped a ball in my Xtra's stock barrel yet. As I played my first game, I swear that even after I shot my target in the middle of his chest, (and im like talking riding the sternum) he didnt know where I was until I stood up.
Conclusion: For $35 this is the best barrel you can buy, accurate and quiet for woodsball, plus it looks awesome. If I get enough dough I am soooo buying J&J's edge eliet (I hate spelling) kit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigShow Thursday, August 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Spyder imagin,Anti chop bolt, empire B, 32 deg. spring set, remote tank,JJ Barel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo
Strengths: Smooooth Opetation, Quiet, Looks Great
Weaknesses: Possible Scratchin. Use FRESH Paint!
Review: I love this barrel. Bought it for around $40 at a local shop.This is probly the most important upgrade for a gun. I noticed a HUGE gain on accuracy over stock configuration. I dont play alot so i didnt want to spend alot of money on a barrel. so when i saw this one, i snatched it up and went playing later that day. Outperformed some guns that cost Hundreds more than mine. And the accuracy is just as good as theres.
Conclusion: Get One! Even if it is a backup!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jebus2 Wednesday, August 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 stock
Lapco big shot 12"
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Triumph SSL 200
Vertical adaptor expansion chamber kit
J&J 14" Ceramic barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Jumbo
Toxic
Strengths: Cheap!
Shoots true
Quiet
Weaknesses: Not self cleaning
Review: I was always looking to get a new barrel since day one. But i couldnt pick the right one. I wanted a mix between a top quality barrel and a nice cheap one (since i never get much money) J&J was the answer. I had tested a Lapco big shot and man was that a good barrel but the price was a killer. So I go surfing the net to find a good, cheap barrel. I stumble across the J&J and what do you know, just what ive been looking for. I read reviews about it and then ordered it. Once I got it, I did a comparason with the stock 98 barrel and the J&J one. The difference was spectacular. It was almost as acurate as the big shot, but about HALF of the price. I got it for about $50 Nz dollars and the big shot was $120 Nz. Much more quite then the big shot as well.

I have banged my barrel quite a few times on trees and tin bunkers and so far i havnt had a scratch yet.

The one thing that it dosnt do is self clean, which is a bit disapointing.
Conclusion: Very good bang for ya buck. If your a paintballer on a budget, this is the one you need to get.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 13th, 2008 at 2:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bedient88 Monday, June 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop
Big Shot
Freak
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom PS
12'' and 16'' JJ Ceramic
rocket cocker
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: Accuarcy
Weaknesses: Scratches easy
Review: The JJ ceramic barrels are the best barrel that you can buy. You can find one for much less than what is listed above. You can find them for about 30 bucks shipped. These barrels can hold their own against others that cost much more like the broomstick. Also the barrel quites my tippmann a lot because of the porting.
Conclusion: I will give it a 9 out of 10. Not a 10 because everything can have improvements and also that the barrel scratches easy. Other than that its the best.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjgoforward Monday, June 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CMI 14" Truflight
Mokal Stock barrel
Marker Setup: Diablo Reincarnation 2 LCD BBS w/ EYES Black/Silver Fade
Halo Frontman TSA E'hopper
14" J&J Ceramic
Carlton/Crossfire 88/3000 HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Worked great with Orderpaintball House Paint-Rec paint
Strengths: Very smooth inner surface-Teflon coating-shoots through breaks
Slightly quieter
Improved accuracy
Weaknesses: Not sure about the ceramic coating on the exterior-Time will tell.
Review: I was about ready to sell my Mongoose, because I kept shooting curve balls with paint that other people were not having problems with. A couple people recommended replacing the barrel. So I found the J&J Ceramic for $28 on line, and thought I would give the Mongoose one more try. The J&J Ceramic certainly improved the accuracy over the CMI Truflight. My spread was much tighter. (Still not as tight as my son's Epiphany with the Freak Jr. barrel, or any of the high end markers) Also I didn't have as many curve balls. I had a couple of ball breaks in the barrel-mainly because I was trying to shoot through a small hole in a bunker. The first ball out after the break was pretty far off, but after that they were pretty much on target again. It was certainly better than any other barrel I have used for shooting through a break. I have a couple of small scratches on the ceramic exterior of the barrell. This doesn't effect the function of the barrell at all.
Conclusion: Great barrel for any rec ball player who wants to improve the accuracy over the stock barrel without spending too much.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 27th, 2008 at 8:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

secamim Thursday, June 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder One
J&J Ceramic Barrel
Gas through Grip
Folding Stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever the field sells.
Strengths: Price.
Accuracy
Quiet
Weaknesses: Easy to Scratch
Review: The accuracy of this barrel amazed me. For the price it's worth every penny. While it is easy to scratch it's only $35. Nothing can compare to this for the price.

Using this barrel I can really enjoy myself more on the field. I'm able to hit what I'm aiming at. My groups are nice and tight. If you're looking into getting this monster go for it. It's cheap enough to upgrade again down the line if you want to.
Conclusion: If you're looking to upgrade you're barrel but aren't sure if it's worth it or are looking to do it on the cheap buy one of these.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

El tormento Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
polished internals
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
E-Trigger with WAS
Pen Mod(for trigger spring- lightens the pull)
Red velocity spring
RAP4 Aluminum power tube
TechT fang trigger
PHAT performance, 4 stage expansion chamber(black custom paint job)
WPG on/off ASA
Cyclone feed system with upgraded parts:
1. QEPH exhaust
2. Hot Rod Connecting rod
3. Cyclone Ratchet mod
4. worr games squishy paddles
LP(low profile) hopper
20oz tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Just about any!
yes even cheap wallmart paint.
Strengths: Quiet
slick bore
durable
self cleaning qualities
accurate
looks cool
Weaknesses: I wish there was a kit for this barrel, not just the edge barrel
Review: Well, what can i say...

well: its the first upgrade i gave my gun after playing with my stock barrel.
the accuracy on the stock was horrible and i noticed a huge increase in my accuracy when i upgraded my gun with this barrel.

not only was my accuracy improved, but because of the porting on the barrel, it was also alot quieter.

i play alot of woodsball and speedball, and most people know how dirty that can get. well, i stuck my gun into a dirt bank and got dirt in my barrel, not realizing this i shot at my friend and hit him with a nice size dirt plug. realizing i would have to clean my barrel i took it off and found the inside squeaky clean, except for the porting, which still had dirt in it. this probably has alot to do with the teflon injected into the aluminum inside the bore.

most people will complain and say that their barrel breaks alot of paint, and end up buying expensive paint. well, im cheap and dont like to spend outrageous amounts of money on marbs or draxus or any other kinds of higher-end paint.
so for a saturday game in the woods, wallmart paint is just fine, and naturally only break a few balls every time, which i just shoot through anyway. mik your barrel and find out how big your barrel is, and get paint accordingly if your wary of wallmart paints.

from my experiences, this barrel isnt too picky about what kind of paint it's shooting, including the year-old monster balls which were pretty accurate considering they've sat in a closet for a year, as well as being wallmart specials. **(target practice only, i wouldn't dream of shooting old paint at my friends.)**

*note*: velocity can affect how your gun is shooting paint, so dont go and blame the paint right away, and check your velocity. if your a tippmann user like me, internal upgrades will make your gun more accurate and hopefully alot more quieter. with the setup im using now, i'm shooting dead on almost every time.
Conclusion: The barrel is a key part of any gun upgrade, especially from the stock barrel.
like any barrel, you dont need more than a 14" or 16" barrel. after that you start losing accuracy and just end up wasting more gas to push that ball through your barrel.

as a final recommendation, go to a pro-shop and see if you can test some of their barrels out. this barrel is well worth the 30$ i paid for it, and i've never looked back.

i would recommend this barrel for any arsenal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rowsdower Monday, June 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Progressive, BT-16 Barrel Kit
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
14" J&J Ceramic
Custom made 11" solid wood dragunov stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Last time I used Ramp paint, but I've heard these barrels can vary in bore size, so you'll want to try a few. At any rate, bigger is better on this one for me (All-Stars and Marbs rolled right out of the barrel.)
Strengths: PRICE!!!
Accuracy
Light-weight
Easy to clean (usually just shoot right through)
Weaknesses: Scratches
I've heard the ceramic chips, but, hey, I throw paint, NOT MY GUN.
Review: I was in the market for an upgrade barrel on my BT, when I came across this little gem. I had read a dozen or so reviews about it on this very board, so I decided to try it out. I was firstly impressed with range and accuracy. In a little backyard test, I switched back and forth between the J&J and my stock 8.5 incher, aiming at a 4"x4" target 40 steps off (sorry, I didn't have a tape measure in my pocket :) With traditional point-and-pray aiming, it took 2 shots to hit my mark with the J&J, versus about 8 with my stock barel.

Next came the field test. I'm a woodsballer, so I was initially concerned about mobility, as I had an extra 6 inches in front of me. Surprisingly, it didn't really change much for me. I like the extra length, as it begins to feel more like a real gun, even rifle-like with my butt stock mounted. This is a plus for me, because I like the big-gun feel, but some might not. I had great accuracy all day, with only one ball break, but that was due to bad paint, not the barrel. And what I've been told is true, just shoot right through your breaks, and it cleans 'em right out.

In between rounds, I matched it head to head against my friend's BT-4 Assault (essentially the same gun as mine but with an M-16 styling) lighting up a nearby tree. My shots were easily twice as tight as his, not mentioning his throwing a few wild curves in the process.

My only negative, thought not really, is back to length. The size allowed the other team's captain to see my barrel following one of his guys from behind a tree, ruining my proposed ambush. Watch your cover, though, and that isn't usually likely to happen. Besides, I bought a long barrel because I wanted a long barrel, so it's my own fault if I can't use it, right? And the flat finish WILL scratch, though this isn't really a concern to me, since I'm shooting my guns in the woods, not trophy-casing them.
Conclusion: If you want a better-than-stock barrel, but don't want to eat Ramen for a week, this is the way to go. I give it an 9, because while there are other barrels that out shoot this one, the low price/ high quality wins for me, plus its an easy cleanup, which always makes me smile.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JeEzY Monday, June 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder stock barrel
Tippmann stock barrel
Flatline
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2, J & J 16'' barrel, adco hot shot red dot sight, Trinity expansion chamber

Tippmann 98, Flatline barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
any as long as they arent dented balls
Strengths: Light, accurate, looks good, easy to clean
Weaknesses: Paint scratches easily
Review: I love this barrel, it fits my MR2 and it shoots very straight. When I bought this barrel I didnt expect that is was going to be as good as it was. Since my gun it more on the heavy side this light barrel helps balance it out. If you own a MR2 and are looking for a barrel that fits into it I suggest this gun!
Conclusion: If you are looking for a cheap but accurate and light barrel then buy this, but i would suggest taking good care of it if you dont want it to scratch
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tubb Friday, May 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
Electric Viewloader Force
16" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Works great with most paint.
Strengths: ACCURACY! Light weight.
Weaknesses: Easily Scratched. Doesn't feel durable.
Review: When I first bought this barrel I did some what of an accuracy test. Using my gun and some terrible paint that I was given from a paintball park, I used both my stock barrel and my new J&J barrel. It was very evident which one was better. The J&J was! Versus the stock barrel this was by far a better pruduct. Unlike the stock barrel the J&J barrel felt a little less durable (to me, Thats your opinion) From random distances (The same for each barrel of course) I was able to put 4-8 holes in my target (out of approx. 40 shots) with the stock barrel. Remember this is terrible paint. And with the J&J barrel I had AT LEAST 15-20 HOLES in the target with Approx. 40 balls. Like I stated earlier the paint / powder coat will scratch VERY easily. I definatly recommend this barrel. With my gun, the shots while in 3 burst mode are within 6 - 8 Inches of each other. The 6 Burst mode was a little less accurate, but this can be expected with almost any barrel. Hope I have helped out someone.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great barrel. You won't regret it. With its accuracy, and light weight. It can't be beat for this price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media