paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
DeFinate Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco 12 " 'apex ready"
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7-basic:
12" Lapco 'apex ready' barrel
Apex (tip)
Tacamo 416 shroud
all the TECH T upgrades (for slightly more air efficiency and for zero chopping problems)
Liberty Car-stock
UTG foldable grip handle
UTG rear sight
BSA 40mm Red Dot

Sp-1 (first edition, without select fire upgrade-YET*)
J&J 14" ceramic barrel
Double Trigger





Recommended
Paintballs:
Takes all paintballs really
Strengths: Not paint picky
Light
Quiet
easy to clean
inexpensive
accurate enough
Weaknesses: Scratches easily

Review: If you are looking for a barrel upgrade (from the stock one that came with your marker) and not willing to spend much more, then this is the barrel for you. Most markers these days shoot decent with the stock barrel provided, however for those wanting a little more accuracy, less loud, cheap, and light weight then the J&J ceramic is a good choice.

The J&J Ceramic barrels can be found from 29.99-34.99. It is a cheap-first upgrade to most markers. Accuracy for paintball markers is subjective as you will never find a barrel or even a marker that will shoot dead on and in the same exact spot multiple times. It's just not in the physics for paintballs, so finding a barrel that will give you at least the closest to all that without breaking your wallet would be the J&J. It is made out of aluminum with a teflon and ceramic coating making it very light with a reduction in friction. This lessening of friction makes it easier to shoot out broken paint, it is not as "self cleaning" as it claims to be however...does release a fair amount of paint in the barrel.

It's a straight looking barrel so for those into Mil-sim markers like Tippmann's then this one is for you.
Conclusion: It's cheap and provides you with a decent accuracy. Just get it, if your not willing to spend anything higher than 40 bucks, and why would you. The J&J is up there with the best, at a reduced price.

9.0
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CurtDawg Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
16" 32 Degrees Nyte Stikk Barrel. (7/10)
May be a little better-ranged but overall cannot compare.
14" Smart Parts Linear Barrel. (9/10)
Doesn't scratch as easy, and is deadly accurate, but is freakishly loud, and doesn't self clean. Also, while "deadly" accurate, the J&J is more so.
12" Stock Spyder Pilot ACS 2005 Barrel - Red / Black (8/10)
This barrel definitely surprised me with its accuracy, being a stock barrel, but without a doubt, the J&J is a vast improvement.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS 2005 - Red / Black Fade.
---------------------------------------------------------
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel.
Empire 2008 Special Edition Barrel Sleeve - Red / Black.
Kingman Spyder Rocking Trigger Frame CAMD 2.0.
Halo B Loader with Rip Drive and V35 Victory Board - Smoke.
Warrior Clamping Feed Neck with Holes - Dust Black.
46/3000 Cyclone Compressed Air Tank
Empire 2008 Special Edition Tank Cover - Red / Black.
Everything else is stock on the Spyder Pilot ACS 2005.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Diablo Formula 13 simply because it is the best ball I can buy where I live, but the paint to barrel match is not bad at all. Consistent and accurate.
Strengths: Quiet.
FREAKISH accuracy.
Flashy looks.
Self-cleaning.
Consistent.
Cheap.
Weaknesses: Scratches easily on the outside.
Review: This barrel is the EPITOME of god-like barrels. Simply no other barrel can compare with original J&J Ceramic barrel in ALL aspects. The gun is monumentally and almost unrealistically accurate. The sound it makes when firing is WAY cooler than any other barrel I have used. People say this barrel is very quiet, but not really... it is just alot QUIETER than other barrels. The sound is more of a concise POP than a loud PANG! as with most other metal barrels. This is obviously due to the use of a different material to construct the barrel. It is also incredibly consistent, and I have emptied hopper after hopper through this barrel without losing accuracy. I have tested it numerous times at different distances with different velocities etc. and the results are simply indescribable. Not to mention, the barrel is light as a feather, although weight doesn't matter to me (low weight is a good thing. though). This barrel is seen on many websites for around 30-40 dollars, and I got mine from ZephyrPaintball.com for 25 bucks on sale.

Having never had a break in this barrel (I use an anti-chop bolt) I cannot verify the self-cleaning abilities of this barrel myself. However, I have had other people use this barrel until one broke in it, and this is how the self-cleaning works... When a liquid comes in contact with the interior ceramic surface of the barrel, the liquid beads up into small droplets, dispersing the density of the liquid, allowing it to move more freely along the surface of the inside of the barrel. This allows for zero friction when a ball moves through the barrel, and thus lets you shoot through paint and water almost unhindered.

The SOLE downside I can find on this barrel is the fact that the outer surface can scratch rather easily, so be SUPER careful, buy a barrel sleeve, and do not store it in a gear bag with other metallic or "scratchy" surfaces and objects.

On the 14 inch version of this barrel, there are 5-1/4 to 6 inches of unported length, if you include the back of the barrel that screws in to the marker. This provides a long distance for which the ball can accelerate with gas behind it before the gas escapes out the ports and increase accuracy. This distance is actually ideal on a 14 inch barrel because beyond that, you start to lose alot of range, and to compensate you would need to increase velocity. I prefer using 12 to 14 inch barrels to keep consistency in the amount of air I use.
Conclusion: When you consider accuracy, sound, weight, price, consistency, and the patented self-cleaning system, this barrel is simply unparalelled. I have no doubt that this is the barrel to buy for any purpose, be it rec-ball, woods-ball, speed-ball, mil-sim, anything. Hell, the linearity of the barrel makes for sort of a realistic look anyway! Ten out of ten, and as stated in other reviews, I do not grade mercifully.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 20th, 2008 at 8:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thaBESTthereIZ Saturday, May 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-2 with 18v Fasta LCD Hopper, 16" J&J Performance Ceramic Barrel, and a 24 and 9 oz. CO2 tanks
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: None i don't think
Review: I wasn't sure of what kind of barrel i wanted to get for my Spyder MR-2. i of course picked the 16" J&J Performance Ceramic Barrel. i went to J&J's officail website and made sure that the barrel would work in my gun (saying A LOT of barrels don't work in the MR series guns) any way i got it in the mail and decided to shoot some paint with my stock MR-2 barrel and then the J&J Ceramic barrel and it shot AMAZINGLY strait. the nice thing about these barrels also is that if u hav a break that you just keep shooting and it cleans itself out. this barrel is WAY better than the stock one and i'm never gon' get rid of my J&J barrel
Conclusion: I think that anyone that needs an accurate barrel for a cheap price should get this barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jacobspacek Friday, May 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrell 98 ceramic barrell
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2, Evolution 3 egg hopper, 48ci 300psi nitro tank, 14inch J&J ceramic barrell
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any high grade paint is good Red Legion, El Tigre anything of that sort
Strengths: Self Cleans pretty well,
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Review: I have a ceramic 14 inch barrell for my 98 and my spyder vs2. The barrell on the 98 works great and is extremely accurate and never has to be cleaned. But for some odd reason when i use the spyder threaded barrell on my spyder its not as accurate. But that could be the paint or my gun. This barrell is a MUST HAVE for 98 owners and its not a bad idea for a spyder owner either.
Conclusion: Nice accurate quiet barrell.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blog63 Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" J&J Barrel for 98c
Marker Setup: Stock A5
Recommended
Paintballs:
Impact works well. They may be walmart balls but they work great
Strengths: Accurate
Range
Quiet
Light weight
Never busted a ball in this barrel
Weaknesses: Didn't like the feel of the finish
Review: I really like this barrel. It's black finish won't give you away in the woods. It CAN handle the amount of paint you put through it. This barrel has incredible range. I was in the woods about 80ft. from a guy and he poked his head out from behind a tree and first shot i took hit him square in the chest. I've had some really amazing shots with this barrel and if i ever need another barrel it's going to be a J&J. Possibly the best barrel out there for its price. If your going to buy a barrel i strongly suggest looking at a J&J
Conclusion: Go buy one. It's not expensive and its an awesome barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tobeconn44 Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann stock (complete crap)
Marker Setup: T98c, J&J 14" ceramic, expansion chamber, cyclone feed, response trig, double trig, low profile hopper, tactical stock, m82a1 shroud(coming soon)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Personally, i use midnight, but anything except brass eagle would be nice
Strengths: Accurate, self cleaning, lightweight
Weaknesses: Scratches easily on tip, ceramic
Review: I want it to be known that i'm still kinda a noob to the game, so i'm just going to put out what my experience was. I don't want any crap from people so please just read my review and comment. thank you.

So the first thing i saw i needed when i bought this marker was a barrel upgrade. At first I wanted to get the flatline, because i read a lot of reviews on it. But i did not want to spend 100$ on a barrel! I found this barrel on amazon for 30 bucks, read lots of good reviews, and bought the thing. When it arrived, i could instantly see a huge increase of accuracy. Before i was shooting all over the place, now i can shoot accurately up to around 50-60ft. Once i was playing woodsball with a couple buddies of mine. One of them, had the flatline on his tippmann 98. My gun was shooting more accurately than his. ( note, he was using crappy paint.)
Conclusion: All in all, this product really helped my game, and i would recommend it to anyone looking for a good barrel that isn't too expensive. If you're wanting more range, buy the flatine. It's picky on paint, but if you get the right paint, it won't let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beamers96 Thursday, March 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT rifled 14" barrel-little louder, less accurate
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom w/ custom camo, homemade stock, J&J 16" barrel, LAPCO spyder to 98c barrel adapter, Pure Energy remote coil, custom sight hood, 20 oz. CO2 tank, and sometimes a TASCO red dot sight.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've used many low-end paintballs and they all worked in this barrel. Most of them were even white box brands and all worked great.
Strengths: -Very quiet
-Pretty accurate
-Self-cleaning
-Tight groupings
-Good range
-Great price!
Weaknesses: -Paint scratches after awhile? The only thing I could think of...
Review: This barrel has been great to me. I use a 98 custom (a normally loud marker) and this barrel made it very quiet. It has tight groupings and good accuracy. I can shoot a pudding cup from 60 feet away with about 90% hits. The barrel is ceramic and self-cleaning, so in the chance you break a ball in it, after about two more shots you're good to go with normal accuracy again! It has great range and when I play speedball I stay in the back and do just fine from there with this barrel.

I've had it for three years and I just noticed a few small scratches a month ago. I really could not think of any weaknesses to it. Even with a barrel adapter it shoots great! It has worked great in about 4 different markers, so I know that it is not just the marker.

I play sniper when in the woods so quietness and tight groupings at long disances are very important to me and this barrel supplies that!
Conclusion: I would definitely reccomend this barrel to any player. It is quite cheap (mine was $35) and very reliable.

NOTE: I have used only a few barrels (about 7) so I have no experience on better barrels, although that should not change anything in my review.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ALEX4B Tuesday, March 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: Tippmann alpha black with a
Tippmann cyclone feed
14" J&J ceramic and an apex barrel system getto modded on it
72cu 3000psi tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Visible impact
Strengths: Not paint picky, can use cheap visible impacts and still be amazingly accurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: First of all this barrel is super accurate expecially with the visible impacts I can easly get google shots last time I went it was just me and my girlfriend and I killed her about 20 times that day and 15 of them hit her goggles I also landed one inside of her barrel!!
Well it hit on the very inside tip of her barrel and she had pink all inside of it only problem is at about 90 or so feet it start to slop down words but buy ur self an apex system and getto rig it to your barrel and bam! Problem solved so I think idk I havnt had a chance to try it out just bought my apex today=] but its not much needed I can hit a cup on the second shot from 110 feet
Conclusion: Amazing barrel I love mine I would most deff buy again
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

newbieballer50 Friday, March 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Barrels and a 20" sp Tactical
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix'07,14'' J and J Ceramic, stock hopper and co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much any work i havent shot any that haven't shot laser straight.
Strengths: Shots Straight NO BREAKS $30!!!
Weaknesses: None
Review: This barrel is the best barrel i have used, it has GREAT all over performance good looks( i think so) flat black looks nice and good for woodsball, DOES shoot through breaks, the first day i had it i went paintballing and broke paint, after i was done i thought i would have to squeege but when i looked through the barrel it was spotless. Quieted my gun down IMENSELY ( spyder sonix '07) Makes it sound like a pop instead of a BOOM!!! everyone shoots straight (and i shoot horrible practice paint) and did i mention it is $30?!?!
Conclusion: I would definately recomend this barrel it performes amazingly for a 30 dollar barrel and is very quiet
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryachapman Monday, March 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
J&J Ceramic Barrel (16in)
Rocket Cock II
BT Adjustable Sight
Cyclone Feed
Recommended
Paintballs:
None- Works GREAT with everything I have ever used
Strengths: Weight
Price
Accuracy
Porting
Noise
Looks
Tough
Weaknesses: Scratche easily
Review: The J&J Ceramic Barrel looks great and is dead accurate. Also it is incredible light bothin terms orf weight and noise. Because of all these features I was able to SIT behind a rock for 20 minutes without the other team knowing.(except for the guys that I shot) They had no idea what was coming and afterward the only way to describe this accomplishment was to say that they got RIPPED APART. The most amazing thing about this story is that I used less than 25 rounds to get 5 people out from ranges varing from 10 yards to 50 or 60 yards.
In another game i jumped over a stone wall and din't quite make it and land the barrel directly on top of a rock. Right after I expected the barrel to be unusable, but after the brief inspection it appeared to be undamaged except for a SMALL dent. This alowed be to keep on playing for the rest of the game.
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this barrel for anyone planning on playing woodsball sothat you can abush poeple and annihilate the other team. I also recommend it for poeple that would prefer to stay back in urban style/speedball games.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 10th, 2008 at 4:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media