paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  53  |  Last
        Next Page
EatMyAvant Friday, January 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Avant barrel
Marker Setup: E99 avant. 12inch J&J cermic, 12 volt revy, on remote co2. Soon To come Evil delrin bolt, CIP sweet spot, 32 degrees spring kit..
Strengths: Helps accuracy, price is fair.
Weaknesses: only 2 colors black and ugly
Review: TO be honest if you have a spyder you know the stock barrels suck. Anything is an upgrade.. At this point I am happy with the J&J. It Has helped my accuracy quite a bit.. The balls all seem to hit damn near the same spot every time..
I hate word minimums maximums are ok but minimums are poop.
Conclusion: If you want an inexpensive barrel upgrade this is a good barrel. They can be gotten just about anywhere for about $55. Good quality no problems at this point.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Honz Friday, January 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degreesnyte stick, ice cold, and smart parts progressive
Marker Setup: 98 custom, 14inch ceramic barrel, halo hopper, some other bits and pieces
Recommended
Paintballs:
diablos work good w/ about anything and any small/med bore paint
Strengths: accurate, lightwieght, fixes chops, this inceased range and accuracy and fixed all ball chopping problems
Weaknesses: BARREL IS NO LONGER MADE!!!!!maybe a color. just dont expect this to be perfect
Review: this barrel isn't made so u would be lucky to get one that isnt used...i have liked mine it was a good affordable upgrade (got mine off ebay for $30)but if u r more expeirienced u should aim a little higher than this barrel. it did shoot alot of diff paint and cleaned breaks perfectly.

this barrel doesnt silence any more than stock, the range and accuracy are about as good as the smart parts progressive barrel and once more isn't made
anymore

i liked it for my begining stages when i was a begineer and now that i am willing to spend more $ for a nicer barrel i sold my JJceramic to my friend for $40 (heh i made money after i used it for a year!!!)


i use a freak jr now and am happy w/ it but it costs 3 times the price
Conclusion: overall i find this to be a good barrel for peoples first upgraded barrel and feel that the average rec player would be more than happy with this barrel.

there are better barrels out there but this is the best barrel for the money (if u get it around 30 bucks)

if u have the $$ get a freak or freak jr they are alot more expensive though

i give it a 9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Longhorn450 Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock AMG Barrel
Marker Setup: Backup Setup- Spyder AMG classic, Ricochet 2K Hopper, J&J Ceramic One-Piece, Nitro Duck 114/3000 Nitro Tank 2004 Bushmaster ICD BKO, eVLution 2 hopper and maybe a Smart Parts All American 2002

Strengths: Alot quieter, really cheap, much greater accuracy, improved range over stock barrel, alot lighter
Weaknesses: scratches easily, doesn't self clean(not really a problem), no o-ring
Review: I bought this barrel because my stock barrel was throwing the balls to the left, right, up and down. At first, I couldn't really tell a difference, but then it was really obvious that it was a much better barrel.

The one thing that was really a pain for me, was that there was no barrel o-ring on this barrel. About every 15 shots I qould have to screw the barrel back in tightly.

The easy scratching isn't much of a problem if you take care of it and the self-cleaning thing didn't really work for me but I've heard that it works for some people.

This is one of the best barrels that you could buy for this little money.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this barrel to anyone who is looking to improve accuracy, range, or overall performance of their paintball gun. It's really cheap just about anywhere that you look on the internet, too.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 9:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tubes26 Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
14" CMI ThunderPig-Breaks a lot of balls, very tight bore
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor II
32 Degrees Expansion Chamber
32 Degrees Spring Kit
14" J&J Ceramic
Macro Line
After Market vertical adapter and Low pressure chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use always PMI Premiums, but I tried it with anarchy's and had the same results
Strengths: No ball breaks
Quiet
Accurate
Light weight
Weaknesses: None that I have found so far
Review: I originally bought a 14" CMI Thunderpig thinking that I could save some money. Boy that was a waste. When it didn't break balls, it was accurate but loud as heck. I'd say I broke paint at least every 30-50 shots. I read a lot of reviews that said the J&J Ceramic works well on spyders so I decided to give it a try. I'm sure glad I did.

It is super quiet for the loud victor. Accuracy compared to stock was like going 180 degrees. What an excellent difference. Nice tight spread. My number of kills shot up. In one game of 10 on 10 I had 5 kills. These guys all had autocockers, mini-mags, etc. Best of all, I shot over 1000 rounds that day without a single break. I have yet to break a ball in it. I kind of want to in order to see if it is true about the self cleaning theory.
Conclusion: I love this barrel. 45 bucks well spent. I would pay more if I had to seeing the excellent performance I have gotten out of it. If you need a good barrel for a good price, buy this barrel. You will not be let down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunker4life Saturday, December 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock Cocker Barrel
-Stock 98 Barrel
-Xcel
-Boomy
Marker Setup: 2k3 vert cocker
J-J Ceramic
Bomb 3-way
Pro Drop KNock Off
Ricochet Ak
Bulldog 2 68/45
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything pretty much, This barrel is not that "picky" about its paint, I use whatever wal-mart has on sale.
Strengths: -> Light
-> Quiet
-> Cheap
-> Slick
Weaknesses: -> Externaly, It chips and scratches easily
-> Weird Color
Review: All in all a great barrel for its price, got mine for 35 bucks. Since its ceramic it absorbs lots of the marker's sound and on blow backs ive heard it reduces the recoil, or how the jerks around due to the hammer blowing back againt the back of the gun. Nice spreads when it comes to accuracy, its incredibly slick and smooth inside, doesnt break paint often, but when it gets messy from a chop, its easy to clean the barrel, but the ports, you have to turn the gun upside down and plug the end of the barrel with your hand and cycle the marker 2 or 3 times. ( only if the paint in the ports irritates you that much ). I only broke 2 balls out of 3 cases of month old wal-mart Jt Lightning paint or somethin like that. Also if you bang the barrel on somethin the coating peels away, and its white underneath, but you buy it to use it, so it doesnt matter, not like it affects the performance. Light, and sturdy, yuo would expect anything "Ceramic" to shatter when struck but this held up better than my m98's stock, which now has no ports being that the top part of the barrel and all of the tip broke off, but the 8 or so holes around the middle are all there but seperated by a crack. This one is much like a rock, its actually aluminum with petroluem based ceramic injected into the pores of the aluminum, so its rugged. The colors like an off Black, not dark enough to be black but not light enough to be gray, looks weird but when its on a marker it looks pretty sweet.
Conclusion: Conclusion, well its good, cheap, and quiet. I know good is a bad word for reviews so how about its : Accurate, consistent, smooth, slick, financialy pleasing, and quiet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

knuckhead09 Monday, December 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock imagine barrel
nite stick
armson stealth
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
J&J Ceramic Black 14"
Shocktech supa fly Bolt
Revy
prodrop 7"
kapp guage 800
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS big balls
Strengths: very light, quiet, low pressure, very accurate
Weaknesses: none really
Review: they say it cleans itself after a chop but it doesnt really. you can shoot after a chop but it goes every which way. thats really the only bad thing. I got mine for $45 which is pretty cheap for the quality you get. i kind of got ripped tho i found it online later for $30. o well
Conclusion: I say get. youll love it. they make most thread types and i think they come up to 20". (they have 20 inchers at my local shop... i havent found that online tho)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazy_hoodlum Saturday, December 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
: J&J ceramic
Dye Ultralite
Dye Boomstick
Hammerhead system
St!ffi
Marker Setup: ION- 14 in. UL- Pmi 68ci 4.5k- CP drop- CP on/off- power angle- QEV- Egg2
Cocker- St!ffi - AIM 21 body- Zero-B - Shocktech LPR- Sto ram- stock internals- Egg2
Recommended
Paintballs:
whatever tickles your pickle
I prefer Blaze, or Evil
PMI works fine.
Strengths: Quiet
cheap
shoots well
Weaknesses: Slips loose sometimes
Review: Shoots almost as good as my friend's ultralite. This barrel is only $35 despite the MSRP. Smooth interior allows for quick cleaning because i broke a ball using the quantum or the revvy! (crappy hoppers, both of them!) Sorry, I'm just bitter at those hoppers, but the barrel is very quiet, even without my suppressor. Black color looks good on my green Spyder. I can hit 10 balls right on top of each other at 40 ft. Doesn't come with an o-ring, so it comes loose after a while, but no biggie. Just retighten and you're good again. Feels brittle, but it's really teflon coated metal. It's not all ceramic.

Edit.: I use it on my Ion sometimes, and it's really quiet. I still think it's a great barrel. One of the best barrels for the price.
Conclusion: Great replacement for your stock barrel. Excellent bargain for $35. better than other 1-piece barrels I-ve used.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 10th, 2006 at 11:55 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

dbl_duck Wednesday, December 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many others
Marker Setup: Barrel Tested on LP spyder imagine and stock spyder imagine.
Recommended
Paintballs:
My barrel loves field paint, which is Draxxus Rec Sport. Any medium bore paint. Do not try to shoot the wal-mart brands like blaze, PMI Premiums, Marbs, view loaders or the blue stuff. The first 3 tend to be too small causing a drop in accuracy and breakage. Good paint and matching should be your focus, not upgrading your marker just to shoot cheap paint (no upgrade you do will get good results with bad paint). General rule of thumb: if wal-mart sells it, it is crap.
Strengths: VALUE... It is quieter than stock, but any ported barrel will be.
Weaknesses: Powder coat or matte finish does not match many shiny anno'd markers.
Review: I highly recommend this product to anyone based on value. This should be your first upgrade purchase. 99% of the barrel purchasing differential at this level of barrel is purely cosmetic and personal preferance.

Folks, all these one piece barrels in this category are going to perform similarly. Bottom line is this:
1) no barrel, no matter what name is on the side (at this level) will shoot well once a ball is broken
2) paint to barrel match is the deciding factor in ball breakage if not, then most of the time a chopping bolt as a result of feed or lack there of is the problem and not the barrel.... buy a better hopper
3) Accuracy and consistancy are different things... both of which are subject to the laws of physics and paintball bore sizes.

The Ceramic feature is a good idea and may or may not add value that is noticable. For the most part, this barrel is accurate; however, there is a difference between accuracy and consistancy. When shooting fast, wandering balls are more than likely due to inconsistancies in air flow and not the barrel. The barrel will do what it is supposed to do as long as it is clean and all else is equal. No barrel shoots well with shells, gunk or bad consistancy.

This barrel is no different than most one piece barrels on the market... they all do the same thing. Work on consistency with your marker's gas usage and volume.
Conclusion: Buy this based on value. This a good quality product and you will not be dissapointed. Do not buy it expecting perfect accuracy and no ball breaks... If you want that, buy a new marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pmiman2003 Friday, December 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Razzor 12 and 14in. and a CORE Rhino series and neither of them compare at all. AT ALL!!
Marker Setup: PMI STS G3 vert with e-force trig, snipped off beavertail, PMI perfect expansion chamber, unknown cradle, my own paintjob which looks pretty sweet, J&J ceramics barrel, stubby 16oz co2 tank with on/off and anti-siphon kit, PMI THOR regulator and low pressure components like valves and stuff.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Uh, Diablo but I forgot which kind and, um, 32 Degrees competition paint works good.
Strengths: VERY LIGHT, strong, and super accurate.
Weaknesses: None
Review: When I first got it, I was surprised by the weight of it. It weighs nothing at all. I thought it would break pretty easily but after it ate ground a couple of times I discovered that it was very durable. SO ACCURATE. I had a better 40 ft. grouping with this barrel on my piranha than my friend with a boomstick on a cocker.
Conclusion: Very good barrel for a very low price. Looks great but they should make it in different colors.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ALLGROWNUP Monday, December 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Taso Winforce, Smart Parts Tear Drop, Lapco Big Shot,
Marker Setup: TIppmann Model 98C, Lapco drop forward, X chaimber.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blaze, or any smaller bore paint.
Strengths: Good price, quiet, well made
Weaknesses: Strange bore size. .688. Limits ball choices
Review: I like the barrel, and the accuracy was very good, but not perfect, but is any paintball barrel going to be? The barrel is made from Aluminum, then ceramic coated, then teflon coated. With all of these features you would think it would cost like $60. At a measured 100 ft, I grouped from a bench, shooting Blaze about 2ft spread. That is ok in my book. The teflon is a neat feature, I did not notice it clearing busted balls like everyone says, and It did not seem to scratch any easier then any other barrel. Those seem to be myths.
Conclusion: Overall the barrel is nice, quiet, made well, cheap. It needs a smaller paint if you get a newer one with a .688 bore. Blaze shoots well in it. Now as far as rating, for the price it is a 10. For the overall rating, comparing it to a barrel like a Boomstick or any high end barrel, I would say a Solid 8. So the question is do you want to spend 35$ for a 8 rated barrel or do you want to spen 100$ for a 10 rated barrel. For a rec player, give me the $35 barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  53  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media