paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels / J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 854
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
While the ceramic is being applied teflon is injected into the pores of the aluminum, resulting in the slickest, yet most durable surface in the world. These barrels are quiet, light, and accurate. Available in 12", 14", 16", and 20" for most guns.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Ceramic Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  64  |  65  |  66  |  67  |  Last
        Next Page
coverboy1100 Thursday, September 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" ice cold by 32 degress, which can't hit the broad side of a barn.
14" razor barrel very accurate barrel
Marker Setup: Automag 68 classic, 88 ci 3000 psi nitro duck tank, 14" J&j creamic barrel, gadget foregrip, and benchmark drop foward
Recommended
Paintballs:
any diablo, big ball, or zap
Strengths: very light weight
very quiet
very accurate
good range
have yet to find a paint it won't shoot decently
really good price
easy to find here in ohio since the company is located here
Weaknesses: have yet to find anything realy wrong with it
Conclusion: this is a real good barrel, i recommend this barrel to anyone who is looking for a barrel that has a cheap price and yet can still make a great addition to any marker. i give this barrel a nine because i think a ten should be reserved for a "PERFECT" product and this barrel is by no mean perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lightningbolt Wednesday, August 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
dye boomstick, stock 98 c
Marker Setup: 98c r/t, boomstick, revy 12 x, polished internals, palmer stabilizer @ 600 psi, c02
Recommended
Paintballs:
rp marbs
Strengths: cheap, seems to be accurate so far, light. some posts have stated that the ceramic doesnt come with a barrel o-ring but mine came with one. when installing it, place it over the muzzle not over the threads. fired marbs and 32 degrees comp. well. VERY QUIET
Weaknesses: there was a chip on the threads and at the muzzle when i recieved it. i VERY carefully placed th barrel on my gun and shot 600 rounds. when i took the barrel off there where more and larger chips on the threads. I WAS EXTREMELY CAREFUL IN HANDLING THE BARREL. had 1 chop in 600 balls which was a 32 deg. comp but the chop was in the chamber area. im pretty sure that it was due to the hard 32 deg. balls not liking the high rate of fire i was shooting at with my rt turned up. i cant remember the last time i chopped a marb.
Conclusion: maybe think about a bigshot simply because of durability. especially if your gun has tiny threads unlike the tippman 98
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toon Wednesday, August 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Aradus 12" ...absolute piece of crap. Reasonably accurate but can't lock sizes or get the velocity up.
-32 deg whisper...quiet but not that accurate
-bigshot..opposite of the whisper (accurate but loud)
-CP 12". Comparable performance
-Stock barrel..not bad. You could drive a truck through it
Marker Setup: Bob Long Intimidator- shocktech drop, clamshell, SOB/equalizer, single body reg, stickies, delrin bolt, torp reg, jj ceramic 12" & 14" barrels, CP 12" barrel, crossfire 68 4500 nitro, etc
Tippman M98- RT, LP, centerflag reg, dble trig, red dot sight, PB drop,
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever fits
Strengths: -Cheap
-Accurate
-Quiet
-Shoots out breaks easy (not from personal experience, my timmy doesn't chop)
-Has cool little lightning bolts on it
-Light
-I was able to gog people 50' out with the 14" barrel. The length doesn't make it more accurate. It just makes it easier to aim.
Weaknesses: -No color options Only black & grey are available.
-Quiet hard to find the 12" one.
Conclusion: -Some people say that the teflon scratches off. I haven't had that problem.
-0.688-0.689 bore suits my field paint perfectly.
-I like it so much I have both 12" & 14" barrels
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wuzup101 Sunday, August 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32* Carbon Fiber
JT 2 Piece
Boomsticks
Marker Setup: Custom cocker built by yours truly on a spanky warped monkey body. 200psi input sweetspot, no stock parts, all custom. Running PMI 68/4500 screw in w/ angel minireg.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS allstar or anything in the medium/small range .686-.687 seems to work good. I found RPS lightning to be a touch to small. Also shoots bigger bores .690 and such very well....shoots almost anything that doesnt' roll out...it's amazing.
Strengths: ~Price~ I paid $25 + shipping about 7 months for this barrel...this was for a new sealed barrel. I bought it because I had gotten a case of allstar in the same order and it was suppose to match up pretty well and I didnt' have a smaller barrel.

~Shoots almost anything~ The only paints I have had problems shooting with this barrel were the ones that rolled out of the barrel. Everything that held in place in my cocker shot like darts. This includes both smaller paints like RPS allstar and larger paints like 32* Team Colors...even that new cheep nelson Hotspot shot like a dream.

~Light~ all aluminum 12" is pretty dam light
Weaknesses: After putting cases of various paints through it I have not found one yet...except maybe that J&J doesn't make them in various sizes.
Conclusion: My personal favorite barrel because of the price and performance. A true 10 if I ever saw one. Can't tell you if it clears well because I have never had the opportunity to break a ball in it in the time I've had it. Must have about 8-10 cases and about 7 different types of paint through it already without a hitch.

When J&J decides to make me a .683 .686 .689 .691 and .693 bore set I will be very happy because that would be very cool.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toasty414 Tuesday, August 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact 2000 Deluxe Java Edition with J&J Ceramic 14in barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Blaze and no other
Strengths: I have had this barrel for a good while and I would never use another.
1. This is the single most accurate barrel I have ever shot with.
2. I also get compliments all the time on how quiet it is. Quiet is a good thing in outdoor woods games, but in speedball it doesn't matter as much.
3. My Spyder can keep a consistent rate of fire without losing accuracy.
4. I haven't had any chipping problems with it.
Weaknesses: 1.When I bust a ball (haven't busted one with blaze in over 2000 rounds!) the ports are a little hard to clean. I use peices of a wet paper towel and roll it up to make point on the end.
2.It doesn't shoot through paint as well as everyone says. But hey, what barrel does?
Conclusion: This is an awesome barrel for the spyder line. I'd imagine it works good with every gun. You couldn't pay me to use another barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hexum Sunday, August 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel, too loud and pretty inaccurate
Marker Setup: Blue Spyder Xtra
JT Spectra mask
Blue Ricochet AK
J&J Ceramic 14 inch
Psycho Ballistics Prostlye drop
some ugly expansion chamber
home trigger job
20 oz c02
Recommended
Paintballs:
what ever fits, i like anarchy
Strengths: well, it is very light and relatively quiet. if you have a good paint to barrel match you will be shooting darts, this is true with any barrel.
Weaknesses: well they lie when they say that it can shoot itself clean... dont believe their lies. Just like any other barrel you need to squeegie it if you break paint, but i havent had any break in the barrel, i jsut pinch balls sometimes.
Conclusion: this is definately a good barrel, and for $35 it is the best for the $. it gets a 9 because the company lies about shooting it clean. Evidently i need ot write some more words, to describe a hollow tube which paint travels down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

caliban Sunday, August 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Stealth
Marker Setup: Model 98 Custom, 16" J&J Ceramic Barrel, CAR Stock, RT Trigger System, Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cock, Simmons Rim Dot Sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintballs work fine with this barrel except for brass eagles. I haven't shot any through this barrel yet that would be a disgrace to my gun but it's well known how bad brass eagle paintballs are. Anyways, if you want to get the best performance out of it though i would recommend using medium-high grade paintballs for best accuracy and distance.
Strengths: -Very accurate
-Great distance
-Very quiet
-Self cleans (haven't been able to test this yet as I have not had a break yet with this barrel)
-Cheap as you could wish
-Durable
-Haven't had a single break yet
Weaknesses: -Not much except that I might end up getting another one in 14" and see if it's as good as my 16" because if it is, I wouldn't mind dropping another couple of inches off of my gun.
Conclusion: Great barrel for the best price. Forget what site I bought it on but I only paid something to the amount of $37. You will be very pleased with this barrel, it is extremely silent, accurate, and it is said it self cleans though I am not able to verify this because i have not had a single break in it yet which is needless to say good. Get this barrel you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ravage Saturday, August 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98c stock barrel
Marker Setup: Stock Tippmann 98 custom, 20oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Bigball, or possibly other medium to medium/small paint.
Strengths: JJ Ceramic 12" is a nice barrel. Smoother than 98 stock barrel (about anything is), making shots more consistant. It's quieter than stock, and has almost 8 inches of barrel before the porting (stock barrel is 9 inches, ported at about 4 inches). If you can get it for cheap (got mine used for $20), it is an improvement over stock.
Weaknesses: I don't really have anything bad that I can back up with facts.
Conclusion: As I said, if you can find it for cheap, it's a good barrel over stock. But I'm not sure it's worth the $50 or whatever new. Spending the same or alittle more for a SmartParts Teardrop might be a better bet. That will be my next experiment.
By the way, I have nothing to measure it with, but eyeballing, it look the same size at the M98c barrel, so Medium or Medium/Small paint would be good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

malitiaman76 Sunday, August 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32Degrees Nytte Stikk (good Barrel)
On-Target (OK)
Armson Stealth (Very accurate)
Smart parts all american ( sweet barrel)
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter
NPS Turbo valve set up
J&J creamic Barrel 14"
ACI Hi-volume LP chamber
20oz Java tank W/ on and off valve
projection lazer sight mounted under the LP chamber with a pressure switch.
PMI Butt plate
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Blaze, PMI, marbs, and ZAP work well. i think Diablo Blaze works the best.
Strengths: There are many good things about this barrel, here are a few:

- Very inexpensive
- Lightweight
- Accurate
- Quiet
- teflon helps cleen the barrel (But it does not replace the squegee)
- Slick inner surface
- shoots nice tight groopings
Weaknesses: There is litle wrong with this barral except that it feels weal and can chip or scratch easily. the threads on it are pretty weak too. the teflon inner coating helps but does not clean the barrel compleatly And the porting is hard to clean.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel and can compete with more expensive barrels. it works very well and i havent had a ball break yet with the good paint that i recomended above. i would recomend this barrel to anyone form beginer to expierenced players. the advantages clearly make up for the downfalls. thats why i am giving it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jwong Wednesday, July 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Aggressor 9.5" barrel - surprisingly, the interior surface of the stock barrel feels just as slick as the J&J Ceramic. But that's just to the feeling of my fingertips, perhaps the co-efficient of friction between bare aluminum (stock) and the J&J Ceramic are different when it comes to contact with PBs.
Marker Setup: Aggressor - stock and J&J 14" Ceramic
12oz Pure Energy CO2 cartridge
VL 200 Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Have only used Zaps Sport series and Diablo. Both seem to work well or at least the same (see below).
Strengths: Price
Quiet
Weaknesses: No better than stock barrel in terms or accuracy
No O-ring
Review: My stock barrel would be equal to the J&J Ceramic in speedball where stealth may not be a big issue. However, the J&J Ceramic may have an edge in woodsball where stealth may be more of an issue. A little disappointed as I was expecting the barrel to be at least as accurate as my stock (which shoots straight at 240fps). The upside is that the barrel is very quiet.... not silent... those that I played with commented that they couldn't hear my marker going off. The interior finish of the barrel looks flawless, but the diameter seems a little large. Will probably work better with larger diameter PBs. But then, most of the fields that I play at require players to buy pb at the field so that limits my choice of PBs.
Conclusion: Bottom line is that if your stock barrel is shooting straight, I don't think this barrel will add to accuracy. However, it will make your shots noticably quieter.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 31st, 2003 at 11:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (86):  First  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  64  |  65  |  66  |  67  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media