paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Full Tilt Two Piece Barrels / J&J Performance Full Tilt Two Piece Barrels / J&J Performance Full Tilt Two Piece Barrels

J&J Performance Full Tilt Two Piece Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Full Tilt Two Piece Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Full Tilt Two Piece Barrels
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 48
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This two piece barrel has interchangable tips. The 12", 14", and 16" tips are $20 each.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Full Tilt Two Piece Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Unregistered User Wednesday, February 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel-haven't used it too much, because this one is my favorite.
Marker Setup: Impulse s/n002881
Eclipse FRM
Homemade ISO mod
Lazy drop
Dye Stickies
J&J Full Tilt 2 piece
Recommended
Paintballs:
Well, I used 32 degrees competition about 4 months old
Strengths: I like it because it is 2 piece. I can use a long silent tip for woodball, then my tight tip for serious tucking (compares with my friends mag, and it is tight! (total length)). I also like my purple tip, it just looks good with a red revy, black gun, and silver other-half-of-barrel. Nice design, threads are designed so that you can always have the J&J logo right side up. solid feel. Perfect length
Weaknesses: Well, one of hte orings, quite old, is starting to crack. But all orings do that, so Im not complaining. I wish the base part was s/s, as all testing with magnets seems to tell me its not, though it has the s/s wieght. I dont know, maybe its the chrome plating making magnets not stick
Conclusion: Well, they sell 12, 14, and 16 inch tips, so how come I got (used) a 9" (total length) tip, and a 17" tip?? Oh well, I love the purple 9 inch, its cool. (no, im not femaile) I say get it. I got it used with the gun, so It might be an older version.
Also, it was shooting a 6 inch radius at 20-30 feet wiht paint from October, last year!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xtreme_pball Monday, January 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic 12", Dye Boomstick 14"
Marker Setup: 68Aautomag w/ 14" J&J Full-Tilt barrel, Smart Parts Max-Flo 68ci 3000psi, blue macrolines, 12v Smoke Revvy, JT Slammer System
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS, PMI Premium
Strengths: Excellent accuracy in 14". I see little difference from the Boomstick. The front end is feather light. The back end is a little heavier, but Hey, it's stainless steel! I find it to look a lot like the Boomstick, except a little better. After a case of paint or better through it, I've not had a break due to the barrel.
Weaknesses: I haven't seen a problem yet except that when it arrived, it was pretty snug and a bit difficult to push and turn into place. But after I put it on and took it off a few times, it was just fine. Doesn't shoot through breaks as well as the Ceramic, but it's a lot better at it than most others.
Conclusion: J&J really outdid themselves this time, with a barrel matching or at least close to matching the Dye Boomstick. The cosmetics are great. One of, if not the, best looking barrels I've ever seen. It looks a lot better than the one pictured here. At $90, the price is a little steep, but with those looks and that performance, I can't complain.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tut00 Monday, January 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Deg. Nyte Stykk
J&J Ceramic
Stock Barrels
Marker Setup: Worr STO Autococker
ANS Gen-X Reg
Palmer Rock
AKA Hammer and Spring Kit
AKA Cocking Rod and Knob
Dye Stickies
Recommended
Paintballs:
Proball
Strengths: Very Accurate.
Quiet.
Doesn't break balls.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing, which isn't necessarily bad is that the two pieces come apart at a really bad spot if you own an Autococker. The back piece does not pass the front pneumatics so when you try to unscrew it, you have a hard time gripping it. Its really no big deal but that is the only bad thing about this barrel.
Conclusion: Well worth the money. In my case it came on my STO, so I lucked out and got a good barrel with my purchase. Not bad at all. The only other barrel that I would consider buying at this point is something like a freak so that I could get the best paint to barrel match.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 31st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick
Marker Setup: STO Autococker w/ 114ci compressed air
Recommended
Paintballs:
RP Premium
Strengths: Two Piece barrel (steel part is approx. 0.686 for tight fit. black aluminum part is approx 0.695 which allows gasses to escape more slowly).
Quiet. Considerably cheaper that Boomstick ($80 compared to $120).

Weaknesses: Screw the two peices together. Then look down the barrel from the end that screws into the gun. Notice that the two peices don't align axially. They are off slightly (it varies from barrel to barrel).
On a boomstick will will not see this. DYE makes sure that they align axially perfectly.

Is this bad? I am not too sure.
Conclusion: I still use the one that came with my STO and am very happy with it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, November 25th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
j&j ceramic
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 w/ nitro, 12v. revolution hopper, drop forward, double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
rps, pmi, bigball
Strengths: accurate, cheaper than a boomstick, the front piece by itself is perfect for speedball, increased distance by about 40 feet over the ceramic
Weaknesses: hard to clean after ball breaks, very inaccurate after a ball break, somewhat frequent ball breaks(might have something to do when its cold though)
Conclusion: good barrell for the price, would recommend to others, but the jj ceramic works better after a ball break. if u buy this barrel i would recommend you get a ceramic as a back up in colder weather.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Archist Thursday, November 22nd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomers, tons and tons of barrels
Marker Setup: pimped 2002 sto cocker
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs
Strengths: i have an 11 inch, its pretty quiet, its purty lookin and its actually really accurate. not the most accurate barrel on the market but its actually really nice
the only barrel i would want more is a JT
Weaknesses: when u get oil, water, or paint on the inside it screws up accuracy, but all barrels do that i spose...
Conclusion: darn good barrel, recommend it to anyone
a bit hefty on the price
mine came stock on my sto so i got it cheap
110 is kinda heavy, get a JT instead
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

team hessians Tuesday, November 13th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
j&j ceramic, smart parts stainless
Marker Setup: just barely got an auto cocker , YAHOO! (so no upgrades yet)
Recommended
Paintballs:
rps, diablo, anything that yo find works good through your gun.
Strengths: first of all it looks very very good, has a larger bore front end, smaller tighter bore back end (very nice),can have diffrent interchangable tips (10,12,14,16 inch and many colors)stainless steel back is nice and has strong threads and the aluminum front is nice because of the weight reduction. the price is very very GOOD!
Weaknesses: Nuthin i can think of especially for the price. you will see an awesome improvement over your stock barrell
Conclusion: into looks, performance, and a higher end barrel get this! the boomstick is not worth the extra forty! dont think twice!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HyperSnyper Tuesday, November 6th, 2001
Strengths: Very High Quality Construction
As accurate as the Boomstick
Lighter than Boomstick
Cheaper than Boomstick
Removable Tips make more versatile
Weaknesses: Doesnt come in Different Bore Sizes
Conclusion: I had a Boomstick on my Spyder, it shot great. When I got a Micromag, I wanted to try something different.

In wood games, I saw ppl using 16 in barrels, while on the Speedball fields, I saw ppl using 10 in barrels. At first, I was thingking to go with either a 14 or 12 to have a compromise, that was until I got this barrel. I liked the tip style, so I got this barrel in a 14 in length. In addition, I also bought a 10 in tip. I now have a 10 in and 14 in barrel all rolled into one.

The performance? It shot great, as accurate as a Boomstick, or any other piece of polished tube meant to shoot out paintballs. The difference is in the verstality in the tips. I can now use a 10 in for speedball, then a 14 for woods.

In addition, there was rumors saying that the bore sizes werent consistent, saying that they would vary in the bore size more down the barrel you go. I brought my barrel to a machine shop to see if this was true, the machinist used a insde micrometer, and I found out that my barrel was consistent 0.687 all the way down. So those shoddy milling/honing rumors about j&j are false.

These are great barrels if you match the paint up and screw the tip all the way down. I give this a 10 because it performs the same as the legendary Boomstick, but alot cheaper and lighter, and more versatile. It onlu comes in one bore size, but I shoot All Stars all the time anyway.

Get this barrel, you wont regret it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigVigalante Thursday, October 25th, 2001
Strengths: A very good barrel. I use it on my eM98 and it really silences it. The accuracy is xtreamly good and i got mine for 80. You can take of the tip and get a ball out pluss it makes it easier to clean and store. Also i've had no problem shooting Team colors, or Proball.
Weaknesses: Some times if your barrel gets wet from the C02 or a light mist it can make it hard to separate the 2 parts. I've only broken 1 ball in it. if you don't screw it in all the way you can break paint.
Conclusion: well i'm shooting the 12" on a tippmann 98 and i mainly shoot team colors. I think it's not worth the 110 but you can usually get it for around 80. I highly reccomend this barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dredly Monday, October 22nd, 2001
Strengths: 1. Accuracy is good,

2. pretty quiet,

3. matches the color of my cocker perfectly

Price is high but i got it with my Black Magic 2k1 Cocker so that doesn't matter.
Weaknesses: 1. Getting it off is a pain. the base isn't longer then the front block on my cocker and the barrel unscrews into 2 very easily.

2. Picky about paint. Doesn't like proballs or team colors very much. Zap Performance plus work alright but are still too big bore for this barrel.

3. barrel is heavy

4. price is high

5. porting is hard to clean, best way is to turn the gun upside down, fire 2 - 3 times, make sure the gun is empty then fire into with your palm covering the end of the barrel, will blow the air out the ports and clean them but still a paint in the butt

6. unlike the J&J Ceramic this barrel DOES NOT shoot through breaks, you need to clean it when you get a break. I'm going to try putting a teflon coating on the inside, maybe that will help....
Conclusion: This is a pretty good barrel. I got it stock so thats why I have it, wouln't spend 90 for it when you can spend 50 for a lapco bigshot which likes a much wider range of paint. If your playing tourney level or BYOP fields then this is good but this barrel is not going to like 32degrees comp or PMI premiums at all.

I'm giving it a 7 due to super small bore size, high price, and hard to clean porting
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media