paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
IRushAndWin Friday, December 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy old electric hopper (Very reliable though)
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G4, Halo Hopper With Rip Drive, and no name hpa tank
Strengths: Does its job. Secure lid, looks cool.
Weaknesses: Runs out of batterys in one day of playing. And VERY HEAVY
Review: I got this hopper becuase i bought a g4 and needed something fast and cheap(er)
I bought this b/c I knew alot of people used halos. When I got this hopper the first thing I noticed was, Its HUGE. And HEAVY. It weighed more then my G4. This hopper does its job though, its fast (Keeps up with 24 bps). But then it hit me. After one day of playing it was out of battery. I thought those batteries must have been bad ones or whatever, but now I know, EVERY time i go paintballing it runs out of battery. This makes me extremely mad as batterys are not cheap. (It uses 6 AA's)
Conclusion: I recomend this to anyone who doesnt mind heavy weight and buying more batteries ALOT. But it does its job!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jettjon Sunday, October 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
90's era Viewloader 9v --no comparison whatsoever. Dye Rotor -is superior to the Halo in speed, weight, size, ease of use.
Marker Setup: Invert Mini 3rd Gen, 68/4500 Crossfire, Dye Rotor, Smart Parts Freak barrel (14" AA)
Strengths: Extremely fast, positive loading, RIP drive, magnetic lid
Weaknesses: Heavy, dim LED, poor battery access
Review: The Halo B V35 with RIP is an extreme high performance loader, but like a Formula 1 racer, it definitely requires TLC and an understanding of its limits. The V35 board is insanely fast and can easily keep up with any marker readily available as of 2010. Feeding is positive and flawless. In combination with my 3rd Gen Mini I have had not a single break in 3-4 cases of paint over the past year. This hopper does a beautiful job at what it is supposed to do: load paintballs correctly at an insanely high rate of feed.

Also on a positive note, the magnetic lid (2 magnets) is very easy to flip open but stays securely shut. The RIP drive is awesome--I cannot imagine why no one thought of this before. A few cranks at the chrono feeds all the balls you need without having to turn the hopper on and off, and can be used in a pinch if batteries run low.

This level of performance does come with a couple of problems, however. This hopper is BIG. It takes no fewer than SIX AA batteries, and there's lots of space taken up by the mechanical guts. This leaves room only for 180 balls. [CORRECTION: I counted and it actually holds 200.] This isn't big deal for woods ball but would be a handicap for tourney play. Also, it's hard to change the batteries, which don't last very long especially if you forget to turn the hopper off between games. The gun comes with a 1-1/4" #4 screw holding the battery compartment closed. It's a pain to unscrew the long screw, and mine got stripped early on. I simply replaced it with a 3/4" screw which made accessing the batteries much less painful. Another issue I have with the hopper is that the LED is extremely dim. Even in the shade, it's hard to see the flashes to see what mode it's in or if it's even on at all. Again, for woods ball this isn't a big deal but I wouldn't want to rely on it in a tourney.

[Edit 5/13: I switched to the Dye Rotor and never looked back. The Halo is still a good backup but is nowhere near the caliber of the Rotor. After a few years of use it's falling apart with cracks in its body, missing both gems, and one lid magnet is broken and glued in with Gorilla glue.]

Overall for me as a woods ball hopper, the Halo B/V35 is great. However, due to its heaviness, and difficulty with maintenance it wouldn't be my first choice for a tourney hopper.
Conclusion: A solid loader that will absolutely keep up with any gun you have. The RIP option is definitely worth the upcharge. Probably not the best of breed, however. I will definitely shop around for something lighter and easier to work on for my next loader.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 26th, 2013 at 7:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sameagol26 Tuesday, July 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT Rip Clip
Shake and bake hoppers
Marker Setup: Empire Events mask
Blue Invert Mini
Halo BV35 with Rip Drive
62/3000 psi Tank (Basic)
RAP4 Vest

Tippmann 98 Custom
14" linear barrel
4 Position car stock
Rail Mount
Airsoft Acog scope
BT Bipod and adapter
Tippmann double trigger
Rap4 vest black
20 Ounce co2 tank
Strengths: Speed Capability
Quiet
Relatively lightweight
Nice magnetic lid
Easy to change modes
Good on Batteries
Weaknesses: The modes button hard to work
Holds less than 200 p-balls
Review: I purchased this loader along with my blue Invert Mini and 62/3000 psi tank in hopes to get a reliable feeding hopper. I have used the rip clip before and it has jammed and since these technologies are similar I was a little worried.

Out of the box this loader is nice. It has a nice, sleek- looking, black paint job which is very well coated and shines nicely. So in other words it looks like it is definitely a high end loader and can keep up with the big guns. It has a nice magnetic lid which won't open unless you want it to. If you don't like it, you can always upgrade to the speed feed lid.

When I first used it on my mini it was fairly easy to run. Once I got the jist of changing modes I put it on the second one which i believe is 21 bps. I usually have my mini set at 19 bps full auto so i didn't want something too fast for the loader and at the same time to slow. It can however go all the way up to 35 bps which is the 6th mode. That in my opinion though is over kill for sure.

So like I was saying I did a test run with the loader on my Mini and I fired full auto at 18 bps. It fed reliable, and never gave me any problems. It was quiet and awesome. I fired off roughly 140 balls in less than 10 seconds. Simply awesome!!!

I did another test without my gun with it and turned on the hopper by itself and watched to see how fast it fed. I put roughly 260 paintballs into the loader and it fed all if them in 14 seconds. That's on the second mode so that is really really good. I only suggest putting a hopper in each time when you load the Halo as any more can potentially jam the gun. That's one of the weaknesses I found is the low amount of paint the Halo can actually hold. It also is a bit of a battery hog because it takes 6 double A batteries to run but they last forever! It also takes a couple of minutes to switch which can be pretty annoying if you tried to do this on the field.

Edit:

Have used this loader for 4 months now and never a chop, jam, break or misfead. This things is AWESOME! Changing my rating to a 10.
Conclusion: This loader is the best damn loader I have ever owned. 2 words for ya, BUY IT!!! It will almost never let you down and it is worth the price you pay for it. Coming from a guy who has never owned an electronic hopper or electro gun i can definitely say it's easy to use and follow. Don't waste any time, pick this sweet piece of tech up now while you can. I give it a 9 because there isn't much they need to improve on other than battery consumption.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 26th, 2010 at 9:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kilz42 Friday, May 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader
Egg 2
Marker Setup: Ion Xe
CP Shorty Reg
CP On/Off ASA
CP Micro Drop
Freak Jr Barrel
Smart Parts Rake Trigger
Halo B Rip
68/4500 Crossfire HPA
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Review: This hopper is really nice. Its fast and looks sleek - really dresses out the looks of my ion. It is a little heavy but it's well worth it. It does burn through batteries but thats a small price to pay - bring extra. It is wicked quiet when using it. I was playing a match and I thought something was wrong with it cause it just wasn't loud enought to hear! Awesome!
Conclusion: Buy it. Its a good hopper for anyone regardless of experience. Some of you pro ballers might have to upgrade to the Vic board but if your fingers arent fast enough to pull +20 theres no point. 9 of 10 - nothing's perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ropegun2k Sunday, February 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo loader, Older electronic loaders
Marker Setup: Autococker Orracle with a 50/45 & 12" all american w/ SS inserts
07 angel fly with 68/45, predator board, & 12" evil pipe kit
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Ok, so I had a regular halo that I have used for a while now but decided to bump it up to a Halo B with the rip drive and victory board. I have only used this for one full day but my .02 on it:

The good:
-It is fast, not saying that it is impossible to outshoot it but on semi or with a 10.5-16 bps you should be fine
-I kinda like the fact that the lid stays shut by magnets, not quite sure how well this will do if it is drizzling outside but it saves 1/2 a second because you do not have to make sure your loader is shut
-It has 6 different speed settings which is pretty easy to operate if you take 15 seconds to read the instructions
-If you chop paint into the eyes, it will pretty much go into error mode and you can keep yourself going by winding up the gear at the bottom like a watch
-I tried out some VERY brittle paint (if you slightly squeezed, it would pop) that I had trouble getting out of the barrel and it did not rip it to shreads, it let the gun do that part
-pretty long battery life and low battery indicator
-no trouble with very dark shelled paint, maybe my luck?
-Center balanced

The bad:
-Holds less than 180 balls, my guess is about 160. This may sound picky, but if you have about 30 balls left in your hopper and try to fill it up with a 140 tube you are going to be dumping off at least 10-15 rounds per pod. I usually like to top off when I start to get to about 45-50, not wait until I have 20 rounds to use a pod
-I had trouble getting the lid to slide over the battery pack because of the low clearance
-tad bit on the heavy side
-Weak shell, if you like to slide into bunkers, keep a spare shell...trust me

Conclusion: Not a bad loader overall, I just HATE wasting paint consistantly while using pods, if the rotor is better about this I reccomend giving that a try
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

g3rulz909 Saturday, December 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
reloader b
invert reloader 2
Marker Setup: g3
16 inch barrel
halo v35
4500 psi tank
Strengths: Fast, quiet, different modes, magnetic lid, rip drive, battery efficient
Weaknesses: Heavy(not too much of an issue)
Review: The HaloB V35 is my favorite hopper in the world, it never misfeeds, it has a low battery indicator, and it is the one very fast hopper that looks good too.
boxing of the product (A)
manual(A)
speed(A)
quiet(A)
battery life(A)
looks(A)
weight(B)
pricing(B+)
Overall(A)
Conclusion: This is one of the best hoppers on the market and I would reccomend this to anybody who plays no matter what skill level you are
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

monkey7 Sunday, November 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
juz the normal crappy gravity stuff..
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion XE, CP dust red shorty reg, cp mini on/of asa, red halo-b w/ rip and v35, qev, freak barrel with dust red all American front, nxt clamping feed neck dust black, and a 68/300 low pressure pure energy tank..
Strengths: Speed, looks, easy to open lid and its doesn't pop off...
Weaknesses: Battery hog!!takes a bit to try and put the battery lid back on..
Review: I bought this hopper on zephyrpb.com about 3 years ago...It's a great high end hopper, looks great ,adjustable speed..The only thing that you have to know is that its a friggan battery hog. I always have to go buy new batteries before i go out and play... and you have to change them after every day of play or else you'll find your self practically running to the nearest gas station for new batteries..that is if your field doesn't have a decent pro-shop..(cough..cough..action territory..cough..cough))
Conclusion: good hopper, its the heart of my gun don't know what I'd do without it..but 6 AA batteries...really.. c'mon..
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball31093 Sunday, October 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye rotor higher end,prophecy also higher end,eggy3 this is way better,velocity they are about equal halos better on batteries
Marker Setup: invert mini bones stock
empire 56/45
dye rotor
Strengths: Speed,price,rip drive,consistant feed rate on gun!!works great with reballs
Weaknesses: Shell strength, weight its on of the heaviest loaders nowadays,hard to clean.
Review: Ok so i got the halo b with V35 as a christmas present last year and at a first glance it had great looks wasnt back heavy and was very fast!! The first time playing with it it fed great not a single chop or gap in the shots on my mini on ramping. The only problem that i had with it was hitting the button to turn it off and on through my gloves. however about 6 months down the road i dove into the snake and my hopper flew off of my marker no idea how and hit the turf and cracked the shell. the shells on these are not nearly as strong of that of my dye rotor but IT DOES HANDLE SHOTS AT A CLOSE RANGE i have never had problems with it cracking from being bunkered or what not most of those storys are not true unless the shell has already been damaged. so in the and id give this hopper an 8 out of 10 because it does break fairly easy compared to other high end loaders and its hard to take apart and lastly the weight.
Conclusion: So in the and id give this hopper an 8 out of 10 because it does break fairly easy compared to other high end loaders and its hard to take apart and lastly the weight.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Landerpurex Friday, September 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feed, Extreme Rage Overdrive, EVO III
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2
universal spyder virtue board
infiniti trigger
12" CP barrel
new designz feed neck
HALO B w/ rip and v35 board
48ci 3000 psi NO2 tank.
Strengths: Feeds fast
Reliable
Looks cool
Rip drive is useful
Durable
magnetic lid
Weaknesses: Battery changing
Low profile power button
plastic paddles
Review: I picked this thing up a week ago for 100 bucks with the v35 board already installed. I was looking for a faster feed than my Egg. My new Halo lived up to the challenge. The board has several settings, but it can be confusing before you get used to it. It does come with a very handy manual though, so that wasn't a problem for me and it shouldn't be for you. The rip drive is obviously a nice idea, unjam your hopper without opening it, or load balls if your hopper dies during a match. Very useful. This loader is reliable, I haven't had a problem with it yet and I played with it for 6 hours straight during speedball. It was always feeding consistently, never chopped inside the hopper or jammed up. It seems very durable, it did get jostled around a bit with slides and dives, but it took it great. The magnetic lid is also very cool, no more yanking on your lid to get it open, and it never popped open on me during play.

Now, battery changing with this thing takes tools, which is just something I don't like. Not a huge problem, I just miss my Egg here. It DOES take 6 AA batteries, but it also seems to have a spot for a 9v so I'm assuming it can run on one of those? Haven't tried it yet, will do so soon. The power button hassled me, I sometimes had trouble turning the loader on and off with my gloves on. I personally don't care for the plastic paddles, I prefer soft ones to insure no balls will chop, but I haven't had a chop yet so this weakness is still unproven.

Conclusion: Fantastic hopper, if you're a serious tourney player or are looking to become one, check this loader out. You will probably want the v35 board, and with that, it completes this loader. The ONLY thing that bothered me really was the power switch, in which case I might just need to get used to it or I may just be an idiot. Overall a great loader.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dcsparks Sunday, June 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
View loader force. Constant running sucks.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-2, Smart Parts 16" All American Barrel, Halo B w/Rip Drive
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: Loose Battery connector
Review: Had problems with the loader shutting down mid game. I traced the problem down to a loose battery connector packed with paint. I have no idea how the paint got in there. Loose connector plus paint equals a bad connection. Cleaned it out and gently tightend the terminal with a pair of needle nose pliers. Seems to be working better but have not had a chance to play a full day with it yet. I am confident that was the problem.

Loads faster than I can shoot

Rip drive is a great backup

Dropped it once due to a loose feed neck. No damage.

Just found out that the neck needs to be sanded down to fit. It thought it was a little tight
Conclusion: Great loader! 9 out of 10 due to the loose connector.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media