paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
timthedrummer Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet Apache- Best Non Force fed loader on the market
PMI 200 rd gravity- Sucked
Empire Reloader 2- Pretty Decent
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
PMI 72/3000
Blue Halo B with Rip
SP Q-Lock
SP 360 QEV
Evil Detonator Regulator
Strengths: Force Fed
Pretty
Fast
Rip Drive
Weaknesses: Only holds 170 balls
Review: I've got a blue Halo on my Ion that keeps up with any speed that I shoot it at. My Ion only goes 17 on ramping, but the Halo didn't even stutter. It kept up with no problems at all. I haven't had problems with the Halo seeing paint like what a lot of people say. I've only had one jam, one time, and I just shook the hopper and it cleared up. You could get a new anti-jam spring for it and that would clear it up. The Cheetah board also has a fancy anti-jam sequence so if you're gonna buy a new board I highly reccomend the Cheetah. The Rip looks pretty pointless for in game use, but its nice for chronoing your gun if you don't want to turn your loader on.
Conclusion: I paid $130 for it, and I would do it again in a heartbeat. This is by far the best loader I have ever used. The Empire didn't seem worth the extra money, and this was far from settling for a hopper. Buy it and shoot ropes with ease.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Poopshute Monday, October 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200
VL reVLution w/X-board
VL eVLution w/Z-board
Halo TSA LED Backman
Marker Setup: 2000 Angel LCD CNC (Red) w/ 04 IR3 board ACE'd
JT two piece barrel
etc...
Strengths: -Does not starve my Angel
-Magnet lid is SUPER clutch
-6 different feed modes (V35_board)
Weaknesses: Button is a bit hard to push
tough to see LED in sunlight
Review: I've only used this hopper about three times however, I've used it on my Angel that I've had for a long time. My Angel has been fed by both a reVLution (X-board) and an eVLution (Z-board). Though the eVLution fed faster the the reVLution both hoppers still starved the heck out of my Angel. With the eye's off on my Angel I was able to pull the trigger 16 cycles per second. I decided to pick up a Halo B w/Victory that included the Rip drive (got it for the sweet price of $116). The hopper on setting 5 fed like a champ however, it chopped one ball towards the end of the day. I ended up going to setting 4 and it matched up with my Angel perfectly. Though I haven't had to use my rip drive yet, it's nice knowing I won't be stuck on the field with a loader that won't feed. It also helps me gauge if the hopper is working or not. If the Rip drive crank moves... the hopper is feeding.

Oh, and the new Halo's come with the magnet shell/lids that are just unbelievable. It took me a while to get used to not hearing/feeling the snap of the lid. But man... not having to worry about your lid closing completely is great! The magnets hold the lid down wonderfully and make opening and closing the lid a breeze. It will help you get balls in your hopper and get them flying out your gun quicker!

Can't really say much for cons right now but look out for having to clean it as it is a pain to take apart. And also keep an eye on your shells. Remember that if you drop the hopper it'll weaken it and will cause cracking much easier if it gets shot. I took a couple shots during a game and didn't have a single cracking issue.
Conclusion: I'm giving this Halo a 9 just for the fact that I haven't used it long enough to see what the major cons are. I hear horror stories about the shells and all so I make sure to keep it in the box after every game to avoid excess damage. As far as feeding... well lets just say this is the number 1 best upgrade I have done on my Angel. It's helped me find the limits of my gun and gave me a boost from 12-13 bps to 15-16 bps. I tested the hopper with my buddy's boarded Ion and we hit speeds of 23 bps w/out any chops. The Halo line of hoppers are the only way to go. And if you're buying a good loader like a normal Halo B... you might as well spend a couple extra bucks and get the faster V35 board and a rip drive. The magnetic lid is the cherry on top. You'll be mowin' faces in no time!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb adict Sunday, October 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: empire 06 72/45 tank halo w/rip drive
Strengths: The speed and reliability.
Weaknesses: People will be jealous.
Review: This is the best hopper i've ever used i've had it for a little over a year now and it's by far the best hopper i have ever used. i have never had a problem with it jamming or any malfunctions and it has never missed a shot.
Conclusion: It is the best hopper in my opinion the only problem though is the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madprops77 Wednesday, September 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
-SP Low rise clamping feedneck
-SP S-rail
-SP Dovetail on/off adapter
-HALO B hopper
-48/3000 Pure Energy air
Strengths: -Feeds fast
Weaknesses: -Doesn't see dark shelled paint
-May not fit all feednecks
Review: This thing works great. Feeds fast at a max of 22BPS but I'll never see that fast, my ION is capped at 17BPS. The only problems that I have encountered is that the eyes don't always see dark shelled paintballs and the feedneck is a bit thick. Plan on buying a clamping feedneck for you gun that fits the HALO or doing alot of sanding to make this hopper fit.
Conclusion: Buy it. It's fast and does what its supposed to. I give it an 8 because of the dark paint issue.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

payneball16 Tuesday, September 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy 12volt, EggII
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve w/ stock freak barrel, Halo Reloader B w/ rip drive, 47 ci 3000 psi tank, Dye I3 mask
Strengths: Fast, Rip Drive, Durable, Quite, Price
Weaknesses: 6 AA bateries
Review: I got this hopper when i got my Smart Parts Nerve. As soon as they both came in i set my ramping, loaded my hopper, aired up my gun and went outside to shoot it. I turned on my gun and started ripping it. It never missed a lick until i had about 10 balls or so left in the hopper and i chopped one and lodged a ball in the breech and i had to take out my bolt and clean my gun. This is when i realized that i did not know what i was doing with my gun and i had turned my gun on but not my eyes. This was a good thing though because my Halo was able to keep up for a long time with me ramping as fast as it would go. This impressed me a lot.

Another time i ordered paint and they sent me the wrong brand and when i got to the field i realized that the eyes on my gun would not pick up on the dark colored shell of the paint and i had to play all day without my eyes. I was not ramping but the hopper still kept up and i did not chop a ball all day long.

The rip drive is also a nice feature if you have a jam or if you run low on batteries in a game you are not a sitting duck. The price is also a great feature and it continues to go down or you can catch it on sale unlike the Empire which is still $140 and you can get the Halo for $103

This hopper is quite which is getting a little pickey and i didnt even notice it but my brother noticed it when he shot my gun and he usually shoots an egg with his Nerve. The halo also seems to load the first few balls quicker than the egg since it has constant pressure on the balls and the eggs eyes have to read a gap before the prop spins and puts pressure on the balls.

The worst thing about this hopper is that it takes 6AA bateries but i guess if you are going to spend $103 on a hopper then what is a couple of extra bucks for bateries. Plus i have shot close to 5 cases through it and have not had to replace the bateries yet. So i would not knock it because of the batteries but that is the only downfall that i can see.
Conclusion: This is a great hopper and a great investment for anyone. The only other hopper that compares is the Empire, but it is sound activated and the Halo is about $30 dollars cheaper for practically the same thing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintnSk8r Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
rikochet 2k
viewloader revolution
egg
Marker Setup: Proto PM6 (with ups)
CP Peanut 4500
Halo B W/ Rip

Strengths: Strong
Fast
Looks great
Weaknesses: Large feedneck

Price
Feeds so hard it pops balls
hard to clean
Review: Well when i bought this hopper it didnt have a rip drive but after it jammed up a few times and put me in the dead box i bought a rip drive and i installed it my self which i dont reccomend if you dont know what you're doing. the rip drive is great when it would jams i just spin the wheel backwards and it keeps feeding. i really like this hopper but its a pita to clean and when it feeds it feeds too fast and it pops the paintballs but its fine if you clean the halo after you play. but if you want a fast hopper its worth it.
Conclusion: This is without a doubt the best hopper i've ever used but if you dont have a really fast gun or youre not planning on upgrading to a fast gun i would reccomend getting a viewloader or a rikochet.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 25th, 2006 at 10:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShootTOthrill77 Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Evlution 2 with y board
Marker Setup: Ion pro with halo b and a 3000 psi air american tank
Strengths: Rip Drive speed performance
Weaknesses: 6 Batteries
Review: I bought my halo w/ rip drive because i liked it way more than my evlution 2. The performance is great and the speed is unmatched. The rip drive is very useful. My batteries (cheap brand) died mid game but thanks to the rip drive i manually loaded paintballs and stayed in the game. The concept of the halo is great and no hopper out performs it. This hopper easily keeps up with my gun and keeps up with even the fastest guns at my field. Using 6 batteries kind of sucks but the performance out weighs that problem by a ton.
Conclusion: Best hopper ever. all the pros use them. fast as they come to date.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kwapz Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg II
Marker Setup: Dm4, FBM Trigger, Crossfire 45/45, Halo B, Virtue Board
Strengths: Fast, Light, Small
Weaknesses: I don't know I havent found one yet....
Review: I recently traded my UPed Ion for a Dm4, Beofre hand I used an Egg II loader. Anyway, my first time using my Dm4 I put my egg on it. It was the worst combination ever, It could even keep up with my gun. So I pulled together some cash and bought a Halo B w/ Rip Drive. My first time using it, It was nothing short of Spectacular. It kept up perfect with my Dm4 and never starved my gun. However, Im not going to lie, I was a little worried about the Weight and Size of the loader. It was amazingly small and light. The Egg II I always felt left my gun heavier in the back of the gun. The Halo balanced out my gun perfectly. It was an amazing day a people duee to a fantastic loader.
Conclusion: Anyway, In closing...If your looking for speed, light wieght, small size, and a loader that will never leave your gun looking for more GET THIS LOADER!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nexxus Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggy-no
Stock HALO B-pretty much same thing
Revvy-no
Quantum-no
Marker Setup: 2004 WGP "Blood Red" Nightkast(E1)
CIP asa w/ on/off and rail
14" Stiff!
47/30 Crossfire
HALO B w/ Rip Drive and V35
*soon to come*
Nexus dart bolt
Eclipse ram
Strengths: Speed
Strength
Rip drive
Looks
Weaknesses: Tid bit heavy
Price?
Battery life isn't great
Review: I bought this hopper to replace my Ricochet Apache, which had a dissapointing circuit board break. I am almost happy it did, because i got this. Here's te facts:

Speed: Very fast. Will keep up with pretty much everything

Strength: The polycarbonate is very strong. You can only break this thing if you throw it against a solid brick wall.

Rip drive: A nice feature that allows you to manually feeds incase the battery dies.

Looks: This is a very stylish hopper also. It also has great weight distributation.

Weight: A little bit heavy, but nothing a man can't handle.

Price: Not a huge biggie, got mine witha V35 for a great price of $111

Battery life: Could be better i guess. It is a pain putting the battery in evertime you play and taking it out when your done.
Conclusion: Overall great hopper. One of the best hoppers you can buy. If you want something lite, then go for the VLocity. I do reccomend this to any type of player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snoprosledneck Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all other hoppers other than the tsa by halo
Marker Setup: black&red fade DM5
hybrid grips
dye airport
cp roller trigger
cp clamping feedneck
poison product barrel kit
tado tech. chip
halo b W/rip-drive and v35
nitro duck 88/45
Strengths: Fast
good looking
every one wants one
Weaknesses: heavy
price
everyone has them (not big deal)
sucks W/ reballs
Review: Well i bought this hopper to replace my problimatic VL egg. i bought the hopper from pbgear.com and didnt realize it but the one i got has the new magnetic lid. which is awsome. the hopper has six different speeds to choose from. like i said this hopper sucks really bad if you are going to use it for reball. other than that this hopper is sick. its not number for nothing
Conclusion: Buy this hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media