paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  Last
        Next Page
PBPete610 Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing because i wen't from a revolution to this.
Marker Setup: Stock Blue nerve with a Virtue, Hybrid Contract Killer Grips, and Smoke Halo B w/ ripdrive and a 68/3000 pure energy tank with a blue dye rhino cover
Strengths: Looks, easy on/off (usually), ripdrive, speed, easy to fill with pods.
Weaknesses: None really other than 6 AA batteries, but no big deal
Review: When i got this for my ion it worked perfectly, i threw a few stickers on it and took it out to the field. worked really fast it never chopped, and when my batteries died in a game i used the ripdrive. Then i got my 06 nerve, it works even better on that, i fly through paint in a game (not a bad thing for me) in the front, or anywhere else. this is a great hopper.
Conclusion: I recomend it if you have a gun that is really fast, and if you want to upgrade the halo i have seen quite a few boards u can change in it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer1815 Thursday, June 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
gravity hoppers and evvy2
Marker Setup: ion black
freak barrel kit
low Q lock
psyco ballistics drop forward
halo b w/rip
crossfire 68/4500 low pressure

bob long lasoya 05
XSV on/off
freak barrel kit
halo b w/rip
same tank
Strengths: Fast and for a belt driven not that loud
Weaknesses: weight but that is cause of the 6 AA batteries
Review: This hopper is one of the fastest and the best. the only other one i would want is empire reloader. have not dry fired a single shot even with a low battery and the battery is great on it. with a rip drive its the best upgrade for any gun.
Conclusion: Buy one there is really no better models
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

randompbplayer Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
evo 2 (x or y cant remember)
empire revvy
12v revvy
Marker Setup: omen 2.0
halo w/rip
sp q-lock
crossfire 68/3k with dyre rhino
Strengths: Speed 20+ bps!
Angular (see review why)
Weaknesses: Shells are finiky (meaning breakable)
Can't see some paintballs
Review: First Halos are great loaders. They are super fast and very reliable. They are angular giving them the ability to get bounces, (i've gotten like 100+ so far). When i went to play paintball over the weekend it happened so that for no particular reason my feed neck outer shell broke. A huge annoyance seeing as i had a tourney next weekend. Also another annoyance point is it cant see certain colors of paint. I used this wired colored stuff and it thought it was "jamming" when really it just couldn't see the paintballs. In my Opion though haveing my loader keep up with anything i put it on, that definetly out ways the cons, but not by much...
Conclusion: Yes, this is one of the finest loaders out there. 20+ bps. So buy it, if your getting into competitive paintball. it grets an 8.5 becuase it has some cons that make me kinda angry but ill round up to a 9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nkatzboy Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-VL 12v Revvy with XBoard
-VL Eggy with Z and Y Boards
-Empire Reloader
Marker Setup: Ion:
-CP Reg, ASA, Lightening Drop, Trigger, Macro line
-NDZ QEV, Bolt
-Virtue Board, Eyes, grip switch
-T-lock feedneck
Halo with rip
Smart Parts:
-Progressive, Full Freak and ION stock barrels
MacDev Legion Air 68/4500
Strengths: -Speed
-Manual feed
-Durability
Weaknesses: -Money
-Weight
-Internals
Review: I'll start out by saying that if you had asked me a year ago about a Halo you would have heard nothing but negatives. I got the chance to run one for several days and it changed my mind.

-Positives:
-The shell construction is very solid so far, as is the loader door. I'm a rough player and my hoppers take abuse. I have smashed this hopper into the ground, bunkers and it even got punted accidently. Unlike my VL hoppers the feedneck is still very solid and so is the loader door.
-I love the fact that when the power runs out I Still have the ability to load balls without having to palm them and feed them one by one by hand.
-The speed of this hopper is unmatched. Although I have not upgraded the board... I have yet to out shoot it in a Semi Fire mode. It has however had some issues keeping up in a Ramping or full Auto modes on the board.

-Negatives
-The internal cleaning and component layout is complicated and not easy. There are many parts and if you arn't careful it may not go back together properly. Due to it's lack of Assembly ease this can make internal cleaning a process as long as cleaning your marker.
-Weight... I know this is a sketchy issue with many people. This hopper is slightly heavier than the closest comparibly item from VL. This has to do partly with the fact that you use 6AA batteries instead of say 2 9v batteries.
-The cost of Halo's is higher than many other hoppers but they are coming down to a more reasonable price.
Conclusion: Overall I have to say this is a great hopper and woud recomend it to others looking upgradable performance. It will keep up with most average players stock but has the ability to get faster. Awesome product, well worth it's few short comings.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brandon69hbot Wednesday, May 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have used a gravity fed hopper but it doesn't compare with the halo.
Marker Setup: kingman spyder Mr2, halo B/w rip20 oz Co2 tank, and remote
Strengths: It is very fast capable of 20+ bps
Rip drive good for the chronograph
Weaknesses: It can be hard to turn on with gloved hands
Review: I have had this for a month, i have had my mr2 for about 2 months, as you may know the mr2 is fully automatic it is capable of the advertised 25+ bps in fully automatic but it is still too fast for the anti chop bolt, and if you have a gravity fed, it will waste alot of air, and even in the manual it says you should have a hopper capable of at least 13+ bps
Conclusion: I really like this product it can be bought for up $150- and for the money it cannot be beat

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

illagod Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
View Loader Revy 12v. (X board and sound board upgrades) and an egg
Marker Setup: System X NME, Proto Matrix '05, Smart Parts Impulse w/ vision eye, Wdp Angle G7 w/ 45 grip frame
Strengths: Very fast (when these no gap in the paint)
Weaknesses: Just read the review
Review: This loader has issues!!!! I've tried not to give this piece of s#!t a good or decent review but I can't lie to myself or no one else. When you put in fresh batteries and content paint going down the tube there is no problem but you should not need to force feed the paint down the feed neck every time there's a gap in the paint!!!!! There have been too many times that I've pointed my markers down, pointed back up, shoot 5 consistent balls and had to give the rip drive a couple of turns in order for me to continue shooting. Several times I would forget to do so after emptying my halo and reloading, a mistake I would pay for later but shouldn't have to if this peice s#*t would do what it made for. Even with the View Loaders as cheap as they are they would still stay consistent when the eye registers no paint, it would load more paint!!! Isn't that why I bought the f@*king thing for!!! Also why should I have to change the batteries after only going through one(1) case of paint in order for me not to have any other issues. This is a big upset for me!! The funny thing about it is when its dropping paintballs like it should, not one ball is chopped or damaged in the force feed. Even when I turn the anti-chop eye off on any of my markers, it feeds with no breaks in the breach so I can give 1 plus sign.

Up date 6/17/06

I went to a new field and was ready for war but not ready for what my halo had in store for me!!! The battery door and the front of the shell cracked so I had to get a new shell. Instead of the normal halo or empire shell I purchased the hybrid shell. First thing this shell make it easier to clean inside if there is a break because you can open it in half ( the entire top comes off to expose the paddles) with just 3 screws. I also found out that the hybrid shell has special slot that places the eye in a better position so that the eye registers the paint better for a better feed. I must said it is working better than before but the f@#king still eats batteries like I own stock in EverReady!!! I also still bought an Vlocity loader, check out my view in the near future. So far its going to be better than this one!!!
Conclusion: In conclusion if your looking to and the halo b w/ rip drive, don't waste your money. The Egg is good but I'm about check out the VL VLocity loader. I've been told that it blows the halo out of the water
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 17th, 2006 at 6:28 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Dark_Spartan Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire, Egg
Marker Setup: Ion
Halo B
Virue board
Rolling trigger
Q-lock
Strengths: --See Review--
Weaknesses: --See Review--
Review: PRO
-Holds 170 paintballs
-Fast (20+bps)
-Strong shell (polycarbonate)
-Force fed (no gaps)
-Very quiet
-Looks cool
-Rip drive unjams balls
-Rip drive can pretention up to 15 balls with no batteries
CONS
-Heavy due to 6 AA's
-Hard to clean when ball breaks
-doesn't do well against prolonged pressure (AKA between two boxes in trunk)
-the batteries will die out fast, invest in rechargable ones or get crackhead to steal them(lol)
-The feed neck is thick (its so you can sand it to feed any feedneck on ure gun)
Conclusion: Yeah this is worth getting, and dont skip out on the rip drive. worth every penny
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 15th, 2006 at 9:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilnelson93 Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire B
Marker Setup: ION
CP trigger
clamping feedneck
72/3000
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: Great hopper recommend it for Ions and other guns as well. I got it and it worked great for me and i still have it even though the Vlocity and Empire B2 came out so if you have do not have the money to get the Empire B or the Vlocity then the HALO B with Rip Drive is what you want to get.
Conclusion: Buy it now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kingandrew3 Thursday, May 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
egg (borrowed) empire reloader, and apache led (borrowed)
Marker Setup: black ion with halo b, crossfire 45ci 4500 low pressure (in a few weeks), and yeah thats it
Strengths: Speed, looks, quiet, everything except whats in weaknesses.
Weaknesses: Rip drive installation, lots of batteries, heavy.
Review: Well, i got this hopper last night, and i cant wait to play with it. it looks great, good engineering, good design. i was unfortunate enough to order a halo b with rip drive, and since the company had no more rip drive halo b's in stock, they sent me a halo b with a rip drive kit. this took about 1 hour to install, but it came with pretty good instructions. also, when i turned it on, it sounded lethargic, it sounded like it was feeding like 6 balls a second. so i loaded it up, and let it feed the paintballs back into the bag, and it emptied itself in about 8 seconds. that is fast! i cant wait to play with this hopper, and im glad i spent the extra to get a halob rather than get an egg, which i hate!
Conclusion: This is a fabulous, well engineered design, and i would buy it again in the future. i give it a 8.5 because 1 point taken off for price, and half for using lots of batteries, but that rounds to a nine, which this hopper deserves.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

volcomdork Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Reloader B
eggy
eggy with z
v35'd halo b
Marker Setup: Red/black fade DM4
m3 and CodeOx15
UL barrel and Freak barrel
Custom trigger (1 of 1)
88/4500 pmi Tank (same length as a 68)
black Halo B w/ 35V board and rip drive
(dm4 is sold on its way is a nerve.)
Backup: totaly stock ninja ion
Strengths: Fast
Durable
Rip drive is great
Weaknesses: Sucks down batteries when you leave them in, when it hasnt been used.
Review: Ok i originally had a eggy 2 and man i hated it. It feld like it was going to break in my hands and it was slow. It also didn't respond that fast. But with the halo it responds quick cause there is a spring pressing the paintballs down. The halo b might lose on drop test but not on gun tests. This thing rocked on my dm4 and my friend shocker. Ive dropped this thing alot and its still going. rip drive is great if your batteries go out in a game and if it jams.

I recommend a v35 board. Its alot faster and its price isn't to bad for a board.
Conclusion: If your looking for a hopper dont waste your money on a egg just buy a halo b cause you'll just sell it for one anyways.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media