paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  Last
        Next Page
robbinz18 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12v Revolution and Evolution
Marker Setup: Defiant 2 w/ 68/4500 nitro tank and halo w/ rip drive
Strengths: Lods extremely fast
Eyes
Durable
Runs off of AA'S instead of 9 volts
Weaknesses: Hard to clean but that is about it
Review: This is the best loader I have ever used. This loader loads extremely fast and you will have to be careful or you will go through a case of paint in no time. This loader is very durable and fits most feednecks. The one thing I love about the Halo is that it runs off of 6 AA'S instead of 9 volts. The only weakness I can find is that it is kind of hard to clean out the inside of the loader but that doeant take away from how great this loader is. The Halo is worth every penny of your money. It loads so much faster than the Revolution and Evolution loaders and only costs a bit more.
Conclusion: Worth every penny of your money. Dont waste your time on cheaper loaders.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

murcilago Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution II, y-board and z-board
Marker Setup: Naughty Dogs FS7
Reloader B
PMI 68/45
Strengths: Fast, consistent feedrate
Keeps constant pressure on balls
great looks (personal)
Weaknesses: Battery usage
Weak rip drive knob
Review: the feedrate is fast and consistent. it keeps a constant pressure on the stack of balls so you'll almost never chop. it looks great (personal preferance), and it makes your gun pretty low profile.

some things i don't like about it is that the battery usage is not that good. it requires 6 AA batteries, and it runs out pretty fast. my old evolution II lasted like 5 cases off of 2 9v.

another bad thing is that the rip drive knob is weak. both of my freinds with halos already broke their rip drive knob.
Conclusion: I guess this loader is good. remember, i've only tested this halo, i don't know how this loader works long-term-wise (is that word?)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rend Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet Apache
Marker Setup: 2006 Hybrid Technologies Traitor Shocker

2006 Smart Parts ION
Strengths: Excellent looks, rip drive for low batteries, and fast feed
Weaknesses: Heavy, takes 6 AA batteries, and the exterior shell is EXTREMELY weak
Review: First off I'd like to state that I am an adult, and I do take care of all my gear regularly. This is an excellent hopper, but it does have some flaws. The main flaw I noticed was how fragile the exterior shell is. After only using this hopper for less than 2 months I have sustained at least 5 serious cracks in the shell from normal hopper hits during gameplay.

Also the spring loaded lid no longer works because the housing that holds the spring just cracked on me the other day. This was not from a hopper hit, just general useage.

It is a little heavy too, plus it operates on 6 AA batteries which can be expensive to run, but I remedied that by purchasing good rechargable batteries.

The over all design is excellent. The hopper looks nice sitting on top of my Shocker, and I wouldn't trade this hopper for any other. However, the fragile shell has made me reconsider why I paid so much for this thing.

Maybe I just got a bad exterior shell, or maybe it can be remedied by purchasing an aftermarket shell. Either way I don't think I should have to spend more money on something that is less than 2 months old. I do plan on contacting the manufacturer and the store I purchased this from.

UPDATE: The Rip drive knob cracked and some pieces have broken off. This was not during gameplay, this was from just showing a friend how the rip drive worked.
Conclusion: Excellent hopper for a high end marker, but the shell is extremely fragile imo. Cracks easily from hopper hits, or just general useage. Although you cant beat the rip drive when you have low batteries.

I am not saying this is a bad hopper. I'm just letting you know my experience. I might have just gotten a bad shell so don't let my experience outweigh the good of this hopper. I do recommend trying one of these hoppers out.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006 at 6:52 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

rockerdude1 Wednesday, April 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
quantum
rhino
revvy
egg2 (tested)
Marker Setup: wrath with t-board, ramping chip (not installed)
halo b, with rip drive, anti jam bead
45/3000 psi tank
more ups commin soon!
Strengths: Fast!
Decent capacity
Durable
Weaknesses: 6 double A batteries unless if you convert it to 9v
Review: Ok well i bought this hopper in joplin mo at the underground paintball store got my tank filled and went home and shot about 1500 rounds through my wrath. and the hopper definitly kept up. its a great hopper a little pricey but if you can afford it its a better investment than an egg (they break easy)
Conclusion: Great hopper! get 1 now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protopber17 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo tsa but that was bad
Marker Setup: Blue 2006 Proto Matrix
Blue Halo B with rip
68/4500 macdev legion air lp

virtue and cp trigger coming
Strengths: Fast
Durable
Customer Service
Unjams Balls
40,000 Shot Battery Life
Weaknesses: heavy
very heavy
6 AA
price=about 100
Review: I got this a couple of monthes ago and it has kept up with my proto fine. I haven't had to change the batteries either. When I do a drop test there are gaps and it takes about 8 seconds to do a pod.
Even though I have yet to jam a ball, with the simple spin of the rip you can unjam it. Also its kind of heavy and I got it new with the rip for 102.00. Also after I used it, I wanted to take it apart and i couldn't. Two of the screws wouldn't come out I have tried every screw driver there is. If you have an idea please tell me.
Conclusion: Overall great buy. The only reason I would get this over the reloader is because I don;t think that you can out halo boards (i.e. cheetah board) in the reloader. Correct me if im wrong.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jwong Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200 - gravity fed
Revy with X-board - will only reliably feed at 8-9bps
Egg II with Y-board - will only reliably feed at 11-12bps
Marker Setup: B2K4 PDS, AKA Sidewinder, Vapor Valve, AKA SCM 3, Chaos Max
2k3 BKO, Modified stock valve, Zenitram ASA, AKA MItey Max, Palmer Stabilizer, Micro-rock
Strengths: Apparent durability of the shells
Relatively low profile
FAST
Weaknesses: Cost - but still less expensive than the Reloader B
Review: It was well packaged in the box and came with a useful information booklet. The clear polycarb shells appear much thicker than the Egg II that I have. The profile is lower than the Egg II. It allows my B2K4 to be much better balanced.

In the past, I've been skeptical about upgrading to the Halo B as I've been told that the Egg II is plenty fast and will keep up with my B2K4. This is not the case. With the Egg II, I've always thought it was my technique that prevented me from getting into the 10s for bps. With the Halo B, I couldn't believe how much faster I was shooting. Initially, I thought it was double feeding. I checked and to my surprise, it was not double feeding.

I've been skeptical of the durability of the Revy and the Egg. Despite very careful use of them, the Revy's lid broke easily and the Egg's shell cracked easily. The first impression of the Halo is that it's much better built.

I'm currently using the stock board which is plenty fast for me. I can't move my fingers faster than what it can feed.

I do recommend getting the Rip Drive even though I have yet to experience a jam.
Conclusion: If I had known there was so much difference between an Egg and a Halo, I would've bypassed the Egg and went straight with the Halo.

Although I've listed the cost as a weakness, compared to the other products available on the market, it is worth the extra cost.

9.7 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ch453pwns Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
egg, revy with x board, vlocity, and empire Reloader B w/ rip drive
Marker Setup: Upgraded Nightcast (ebladed cocker), Hybrid Eyes
Strengths: Extremely Fast
Seemingly Impossible To Outrun
Smaller Than Egg
Weaknesses: Rip drive maybe just a little tight...
fustrating to flip on/off
Review: I just got the Halo B off of a trade for a Empire Reloader B, and i have to say- there is seemingly no difference between the two. I mean if you have a quieter gun (or something with a stiffi switch) you will need the Halo B, because it doesnt use sound unlike the empire. I love the halo and the empire so much because they are not nearly as big and bulky as the egg. If you still have the egg (or the VLocity), i recommend that you upgrade asap, and then you will start to notice that those pesky hopper hits will turn into hopper barely misses. This hopper will definately improve your play and your survival.
-c
Conclusion: If your getting to many shots on your egg, or vlocity, and/or are ready to take your game to the next level, a halo b (or empire reloader) is the answer. The Rip drive is a must! You will be happy you bought this upgrade to your gearbag.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darthevix Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo TSA - I Out-ran that easy... and I can only shoot 11bps (consistant.. 12bps here and there)
Marker Setup: O3e:
Alamo City Derlin Bolt - RED
Smoke HALO B w/ rip drive
45/4500 Air America HPA

SOON TO BE: (I mean, I'm buying them today... hells yea!)
Black Dye hyper inline 2
Black Eclipse QEV
Black FBM Stiletto Drop
Strengths: Fast
Rip drive
Weaknesses: Weight
Makes you feel sorry for everyone else without one...
Review: When I had the Halo TSA, it was nice. I mean, it worked great and all, and KINDA did a good job, but once I started to walk the trigger, I would out-run it. Well, that didn't go good and I bought this.

PROS:
This is fast! I mean, its day and night. I spent $40 on the TSA, and that was useless. So I had to put another $90 for this for a total of $130... I should have just bought this instead and saved the $40... The rip drive is nice too. I can pre-feed balls for chrono and not have to turn my hopper on and off to do it.

Another nice detail is how easy it is to turn on... its like the ION with Virtue board... one quick press and BAM its on!

CONS:
Its heavy... Noticeably heaver than the Halo TSA. But you know what? I can still play just as easily. So the weight is a minor weakness. Also, this makes you feel sad for everyone else. With their TSAs and other various loaders... I suggest you think of it as they will be the people that can't seem to shoot a solid string... makes the bunkering of them easier...
Conclusion: I love this hopper to death! If it ever slows down, I'll drop $80 and get a the cheetah board! I recommend it to EVERYONE! Even the noobs with rentals...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 16th, 2006 at 8:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

K Janson Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggy 2 w/ y board
Eggy 2 w/ z board
Empire 2
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
12 inch Freak Barrel kit
Halo B w/ rip drive
clamping feedneck
Blackheart upgrade board
Strengths: fast
durable
cost
rip drive
Odyssey customer service
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well, UPS finnally shipped in my Halo and i was so excited. I couldn't wait to get this thing working. I put it onto my gun after i put the batteries in and i let it rip. The hopper kept up with my gun perfectly. The rip drive feature is cool because it helps you in three ways: In case your batteries run out, you don't have to get eliminated, If you are gonna chrono your gun, and just in case the rare event of a ball getting jammed in the cone(which has never happened to me). I really like the Halo b and I am so mad that I didn't have it before on all my other guns. The Halo's shell is extremely tough too. I was at my friend's country house the other day and I accidentally dove and slid right into a concrete wall, and as you guessed it, the hopper went smack right into the wall. I was amazed that the hopper came away with a minor scratch. Try and do that with a viewloader. The Halo is undoubtedly the best hopper on the market and it is amazingly cheap for a high end hopper. The Halo can be bought at around $111 online including shipping and taxes. For that price, it CANNOT be beat.
Conclusion: I would recommend the Halo to anyone who is thinking about being a serious paintball player. I would recommend getting the rip drive in case your batteries die. It will work on all the high end guns and is an amazing hopper for the money. Definitely consider this hopper for your gun. Not many things are perfect in this world, but, this is one of the few things in the world that is.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 7th, 2006 at 5:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SouthernStyle Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Force Feeding Loaders
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Alias w/ CP Adjustable Ram Cap. CP Sling Blade Trigger. CP Rail. CP on/off. CP Regulator. Violent Bolt. Hybrid Headlock 2. Hybrid LPR. 127.5 Borad. Virture Borad. Smartparts Freak. 45/45. Halo B Rip drive w/Victory Borad.
Strengths: Quick feeding. Not to shabby on batterys.
Weaknesses: If you over tighten the screws it will crack the shells!
Review: Its a great hopper. Fast force feeding. Adding a Victory borad will make the hopper feed faster. Which is a must for todays fast shooting or ramping markers. I havent had one single problem with my halo. Reliable. Comes in variety of colors. Rip drive just incase you jam a ball.
Conclusion: I would definately buy a Halo over VL hoppers. I have had nothing but trouble with VL. I would recomend buying the victory or Angry halo borad to get the max performance. And a new halo cone. Trinity makes a good delrin cone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media