paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  Last
        Next Page
sia_simba Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
revy xboard, empire reloader, egg2 yboard & zboard
Marker Setup: DM4 w/ Freak kit, 68/45 ANS, HaloB w/rip
Strengths: In review
Weaknesses: In review
Review: I have used almost all the different type of hoppers out there and let me start off by telling you one thing, I started out not really being a big fan of halo. However, over the years, i've upgraded from original sound activated 11bps empire reloader, tested viewloaders, then upgraded to egg yboard, and then zboard and now a halob. Okay... here it goes:

The design of a halo, personally, is pretty good. The contour of the body, material its made out of and the finish is by far the best in my opinion. The shell itself is very sturdy as I tried knocking it a few times myself. The feedneck is also very thick and seem like it can hold a lot of weight. Taking apart the halo and putting it back together is NOT as bad as what people say. If you have some mechanical knowledge, it would be a piece of cake. All you need to do is remove 5 screws or so and you can take apart the shell. The only tricky thing I do have to admit is putting in the spring for the lid.

The battery harness and battery compartment is not bad at all. People say the battery harness shake sometimes, but not much. I also find that 6 AA is a whole lot cheaper than two 9volts. The only thing I can complain about with the battery area, is the fact that the screw to hold the door in place is a bit small. If halo just made the screw a bit longer and the threads a bit better and tougher, might be good. Other than that, you'll just have to get use to putting the battery harness into the compartment a certain way so that the lid can close completely.

The weight of the halo is NOT BAD at all. I don't see what people are complaining about. I have it on my DM and it balances out very well. Maybe its just the gun, but putting it on other markers I have, I don't think so. If I really have to say, it weighs by a few more ounces, less than a handful, from an egg2.

The raceway is not as bad as some might think in cleaning wise. Just stick a napkin up or down the raceway and pull it in and out. It will clean that way. The back plate to push the on/off is not terrible, though I can see how people could damage it by accident or by pushing it one too many times. I still use the stock cone and its great. No breaks yet, and its light as hell. I have the rip drive on my halo and it works like a charm.

Though, when you do clean the inside and you unscrew the screw to remove the cone, make sure you put it back in the right position so that the rip drive work. =) Now, I know some people are paying $130 for this hopper. In my honest opinion, 130 is a bit too much for this hopper which feeds 22-24bps. You can purchase an egg2 zboard for half that price and feed just as fast. However, I got my for $70 shipped brand new so I can't complain. =)

I guess the very last drawback I found out was the capacity. They say you can load up to 180balls or so, but I only fill up 1 pod full everytime because I don't want to overspill. My pod holds about 150 balls. The pan where the ball falls into is pretty shallow, so if not careful, it can fall out easily as compared to the revy, empire, and egg.

If you can find a good deal on this hopper, get it. I wouldn't pay $100 or more for it though. You can easily purchase an EGG2 zboard for way less than that. But function and overall product wise, I do admit, it shocked me. I am satisfied with it totally. However, I got my for $70, so compared to $130 retail or more, its half the price. So overall, I would give it a 9/10 for product by itself... only because the capacity problem.
Conclusion: If you can find a good deal on this hopper, get it. I wouldn't pay $100 or more for it though. You can easily purchase an EGG2 zboard for way less than that. But function and overall product wise, I do admit, it shocked me. I am satisfied with it totally. However, I got my for $70, so compared to $130 retail or more, its half the price. So overall, I would give it a 9/10 for product by itself... only because the capacity problem.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

teamthundercats Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Qloader (Pretensioning of Rip Drive gives similar performance), Evolution (Halo is much better), Reloader B (almost identical performance)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion with Halo B Rip Drive Loader and Freak Jr. System (comming soon)
Tippmann 98 Custom with Qloader System and J+J 16" Ceramic Barrel
Strengths: Speed, Rip Drive, Easy to Use, Eye is Good
Weaknesses: Power Button and Indicator Light
Review: I bought the Halo B with my Ion at the local proshop and tested it out on the field the next day. I was very satisfied with the hopper and the pretensioned balls from the rip drive allowed instant response as soon as I shoot. I was ramping at 17 bps most of the day and didn't chop a single ball, even using sucky paint. The only problems I had with it were a little confusion with how long to press the power button to turn on and off (check manual) and the fact that the indicator light is hard to see in bright sunlight.
Conclusion: The Halo B w/ Rip Drive is a great choice to augment a high-speed gun. The only other loader that competes it the Reloader B (just a choice between sound activation or eye activation). If you have the money ($125), it's a great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BK-Sleeper Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader
Empire Reloader B
Marker Setup: Dye DMC
Dye Boomstick 14''
Halo B [Rip Drive]
Strengths: Fast, can fix jams, force feed, tough.
Weaknesses: Nothing really. Perhaps price.
Review: I recently bought the Halo B [Rip Drive] along with my DMC, and I have to say that this is maybe the fastest hopper on the market. With boards for it like victory and cheetah, it's probably the fastest hopper there will be [until they discover teleportation feed]. No chops, and almost NO jams. I've only have one jam and with the turn of the rip drive, fixed.
Conclusion: Buy it if you want to live like a pro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pulp Fiction Sunday, March 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 volt revvy (Not near as fast) Gravity feed hoppers (The only thing these two have in common... is they both hold paintballs
Marker Setup: Black Ion
T Board with Dye membrane adapter
Black CP Trigger
Black CP Rail
Red CP On/Off
Chrome Q Lock
PMI 68/30 with Empire Tank Cover
Halo B with RIP
Black Proto 1 piece
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Strengths- Fast
-Not sound activated
-No jams (At least I don't get any)
-Weight (Not too bad)

Weaknesses
-Weight (Could be lighter)
-Uses 6 AAs, but you can buy kits to convert to 9 volts

This hopper is awesome, it's fast, and doens't eat through batteries. I don't know why people are always talking about it jaming up, mine doesn't. This hopper is fast and will compliment your gun very nicely. You can shoot ropes easily, cause this baby can keep up with you.
Conclusion: This hopper is nice, but are some other nice ones too. If you're looking for a nice, fast hopper than look at either the Halo B with Rip, or the VL VLcty. They're both nice
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snowman282 Saturday, March 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Not even close but revy with x board
Marker Setup: Lcd Dm(3), hybrid frame, Ion reg, PMC lpr, NDZ on/off, 68ci PMI pure energy 4500 nitro tank, dye 05 rhino tank cover, red Halo w/rip
Strengths: FAST
Looks
Durable
Weaknesses: Had to sand the neck down
Review: I bought this when I got the e-blade for my cocker. Looks good, super fast, and one day aparently it was alittle to hott out and a few batteries melted inside of it... more like leaked, but it was pretty bad. The heat also messed up some of the screws. BUT ITS STILL WORKS FINE. I did have to sand it to fit my feedneck.... I suppose thats more a feedneck issue than the hoppers fault tho.
Conclusion: It will keep up with most guns, and if it wont than buy a cheata or victory board... it will then. Looks good, and for around $90 its definately worth it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hitman0809 Monday, March 13th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy - more trust worthy
Egg
Empire B - Def buy this over halo
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
47/3000 psi crossfire Nitro
J&J Edge Kit Elite
Strengths: Looks good
Weaknesses: Unconsitant loading
No trust worthy
Jams are horrible
On/off sucks
Review: I dont know where to start, out the box wit fresh batteries my revy beat it in a drop test. Wtf. Jammed twice in one game. like 5 times b4 i switched back to my revy witch i use over my halo now. I also have a Empire B on my dads ego, KICKS the crap outta the halo. Empire worth the couple xtra bucks
Conclusion: Get Empire
Screw Halos
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

shadonite Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
eVLution II
Empire Reloader 2
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo with ESP C.A.M.D E-Frame
20 oz Catalina co2 tank
eVlution II hopper
J&J Ceramic 14" barrel
DYE Stickies
Strengths: See reveiw
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Well my friend let me test out his HALO. The thing works pefectly, and is much better than the Egg II.

-Strengths-
1) Fast - Fed 14 bps perfectly of course (Non T-boarded spyder frame) and fed 20 uhh....pretty well....just a couple of skips
2) Rip-Drive - Really helpful if your batteries die out or if you wanna chrono without turning on the hopper
3) Light - In my hands.....the thing is even lighter than my Egg.....I find that really odd considering all those AA batteries are in it
4) Shell design - I'm not sure,but I think the way shell is designed can get some hopper bounces

-Weaknesses-
1) May cause double feeds - Though it's never happened with either of the markers I tested it on, the force on the ball stack may cause double feeds if the detent isn't strong enough
2) Huge feedneck - The hopper could just barely fit into either of the markers feednecks
3) Amount of batteries - 6 AA.......thats quite a bit of batteries.....and batteries can cost quite a bit these days....but oh well.
4) Price - I think my friend got it for like $116 shipped
Conclusion: Great hopper......worth all the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

el.dorito Friday, March 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire reloader b
empire reloader 2
shakers
Marker Setup: Nerve
Clear Halo B
68/45 Red Crossfire
Strengths: Durability
Proven design
Respected
Rip drive
Weaknesses: Weight
My board died 3 days after warranty expired
Review: So I've had my halo for a while now and I feel I know it well enough to write a reviiew.
The halo b w/ rip drive has everything you need and nothing you dont. It has been proven to feed well over 15bps consistantly and is used by a very large portion of pro teams around the world.
GOOD:
Anyway, while shooting with the halo, you will rarely hear the whir of the motor, and it feeds when you need it to. Eyes work much better for force feed, because with my experiences with the reloader b, the setting is either too high or too low, causing misfires and chopping in the hopper.
Ive punished my poor hopper on the hard ground and the shell refuses to break.
Rip drive does actually come in handy if the hopper jams (which is rare).
Weight is nice and ballanced, not too far in the back (like an egg)
Its plenty fast enough for me
BAD:
It is a lot heavier than your standard revvy, mostly due to the 6 AA batteries
My board died on me, which is, well, annoying, but $20 for a new board isnt too bad. Things like these happen to everyone, with every product once in a while, so I'm not too disappointed.
Conclusion: Solid hopper, no need to waste extra cash on the battery eating vlocity.
Wish my board didnt die, but **** happens right?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PSYCHOWarhead Sunday, February 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo TSA Frontman
Marker Setup: Halo B with rip drive
Strange Vision Impulse
68 Ci 4500Psi Tank
Psycho Ballistic on/off drop medium
Total stainless Freak Kit
Strengths: Fast, leek, quiet, and cool looking.
Weaknesses: Heavy and loves batteries.
Review: My bro had a Halo B for a while, so when I bought it it was no surprise. The loader worked very fast and the shell seemed hard enough to take any type of beating. I've been using this loader for over a year now and it never jammed on me and it always kept up with my shooting.
Conclusion: This loader is great. there is not much to complain about, so I would recommend this loader to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

naughtydawg63 Tuesday, February 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B w/o rip
Marker Setup: Red/Black Fade Freestyle V-7
14" Ultralite Barrel
Redz Clamping Feedneck
Dye Stickies
JDS STD LPR
CP Red
Naughty Trigger
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
70/45 Crossifre Tank
Strengths: Fast, good looking, fat neck so u can custom sand it.
Weaknesses: It's a lil heavy but lift weights u punk.
Review: Very fast. I had one before this w/o rip so i sold and got a new red one. Rip is great to have. I didnt know i would like it so much. It also looks so much better than the VLocity :(
So ugly lol. Its cheaper than the Empire B also
Conclusion: Get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media