paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  Last
        Next Page
CoreyD911 Sunday, February 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Apache
eggy
revy
vl 200
Marker Setup: A4 Fly

Dye ultralite

Ccm Feedneck

Halo B
Strengths: fast

Rip drive

Looks

One lock lid will get you almost a whole hopper

Weaknesses: Some times there is gaps in between bursts

Doesnt hold that much

Paintballs get stuck
Review: I just got this hopper about a month ago and it is great


strengths:


Rip Drive: the rip drive is really cool with out it you could'nt prime the feed spring. One cool feature is like if the jam sequence doesn't get the jam un done you could use the rip drive,and its looks pretty cool too


Looks: the halo "I think" is the best looking loader out there.the shape and the design is really good


Speed: this is one of the fastest loader "besides vlocity"it can unload a whole hopper in about 6 seconds. compared to an egg and an apache that's is really fast,apache and eggy 100 balls 9 seconds. But on topic ,i don't know why people say halo's break paint i ran allot of paint through my halo and it never broke any paint.


Weakness:


Gaps:after every burst there is maybe a half a second gap sometimes. most of the time priming your feed spring fixes' this. to prime your feed spring you need to turn the halo on and fill it up and the turn your rip drive counter clockwise until it stops and you cant turn any more. but sometimes this doesn't work


Amount the loader holds: the halo doesn't hold that much as the reloader b .there isn't much to say about this it just doesn't hold that much.


paintballs:after you load it and the shot of the rest of the paint some times about 7 or 8 paintballs get stuck on the side all you have to do is shake the not really a big problem just get annoying every now and then
Conclusion: In conclusion this is one of the best loaders out there its just the little things that bother me but Ilike it alot and you should get
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 19th, 2006 at 12:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LandonBlake Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Halo B blows everything else I've used completly out of the water.
Marker Setup: One (1) DYE Ultralight barrel, One (1) 1.10 model E2 frame, One (1) KAPP front block (excluding the three-way of course), One (1) custom body, One (1) Halo B, One (1) Gen-X Regulator
Strengths: The workmanship, the speed (20+bps), and the battery life.
Weaknesses: None. Does exactly what a loader should.
Review: Perfect for any player looking to up their game. Rated at 20+bps, it's capable of handling the most intense ROF you can muster. Also with the new Rip Drive option, a upgrade I completely recommend, there's no more worry about batteries dying, and more importantly (to me at least) is the option to pretension your loader for that extra boost. Combining low cost, excellent workmanship, and sleek looks makes for a loader capable of handling anything you give it.
Conclusion: This loader does exactly what a loader should; it loads reliably, and looks good doing it. I completely recommend it for any player looking into buying an electronic loader for their marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 27th, 2006 at 1:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

empire timmy Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Strengths: Fast
quiet
the rip drive can really save your butt.
Weaknesses: Famming
and goes through batteries very fast.
Review: this is one of the fastest hoppers
there is. However if you do get it
dont expect for you to not have any
problems with it.
take extra batteries when going to
play trust me you will need them.
Reads ball pretty well and the
rip drive can really come in
handy because more than likely
you will run out of batteries.
Conclusion: Its a great product its just that today this hopper let me
down and we lost first place.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

phreakus Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
most competing products
Marker Setup: 2005 vision shocker
2001 shocker turbo
Warped sportz dark angel
Sterling pump
Line SI bushmaster
Line SI Advantage
Line SI promaster
Sheridan KP3
Strengths: Fast
Easy to find replacement parts
Weaknesses: Problems with certain paint
Review: Overall I have found this to be a fair loader. It is a fast loader that's for sure, when it feeds properly.

Now as a general rule I shoot 4 different types of paint:
Hellfire
Evil (any)
RPS Marbalizer - mainly w/ the pumps
RPS All Star

I have noticed that this hopper is not a fan of All Star. I have bought cases from different stores to make sure it wasn't just a bad batch or old paint. I would say for every 2 - 130 round pods I'd shoot I'd have at least one nasty jam (requiring me to dump my loader out ). I had this problem over multiple weeks on new cases of All-Star.

I haven't really had any major issues with the hellfire or evil paint with this loader. Maybe the ocassional jam but nothing that wasn't relatively easy to clear.

I know so many people are hung up how they shoot 20+ balls per second yada, yada, yada. If my gun has eyes I use them and I play semi only (no ramping etc.) so I probably average 6 to 8 bps and maybe 10 bps if i've had enough caffiene. So to be able to feed 22+ bps is really overkill for my personal play style.

Yes this loader is fast but in the 3 months i've had this loader I have probably had more issues with a loader then I've had since the first agitator hit the market.

I'll admit the RIP drive has been a godsend on more then one ocassion so if you are looking at the Halo spend the extra couple of dollars on the RIP.
Conclusion: If you need the ability to feed 20+ bps this is a good product, its fast and the RIP drive can be great if the loader dies on you.

If your like me and just need something to be able to feed 10-12 bps there are many other 12 volt offerings for half the price that will do you just fine.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Black Magik Friday, January 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Revy, 200 rd gravity
Marker Setup: 2004 WGP Black Magic
ANS Reg
superfly
Palmers low pressure
Custom Anno
E1
and lots more
Strengths: Very Fast
Takes a beating
Did I say fast
Weaknesses: Weight(doesn't matter and if it does then you should hit the gym)
Review: Ok first I am a noob and I got this gun from a friend. Now that that is out of the way, I love this hopper i dropped it of my deck(oops) and the lid broke thats it this thing can take a lickin and keep on tickin. Also I was amazed how much faster it was than my Revy.
Update: Ok its been about a month and recently i was playing and got shot in the hopper's ripdrive the knob broke off. This doesnt effect my first opinion because the guys gun was probably shooting hot if anyone has any hints for a new stronger knob i am open.
Conclusion: If you think that you might want this then you want it and you should have it or you might not be able to keep up with me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 at 2:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Calamitus Wednesday, January 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity loaders suck. There ya go.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS- Halo B hopper w/ rip drive, and a PMI 72ci 3000psi HPA tank. Haven't gotten around to modifying it nor getting the money for upgrades...
Strengths: 1) FAST
2) Looks cool
3) Ball storage
4) Rip drive
5) Silent
Weaknesses: The feed neck is big, so sanding the outside may help.
Review: Excellent hopper. Fast, and I've recorded it loading up to 26 bps. I'm sure it can go faster though. Stuck 100 balls in there and timed how long it took to drop them all. Resulted in less than 5 seconds for all of them. And it takes 6 AA batteries, so bring extras. Frankly, I'm amazed with this product, and I would recommend this to anyone. Just a bit pricey though...

But you'll live.
Conclusion: Awesome hopper. Couldn't ask for anything better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ace2865 Monday, January 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tripod, Evolution II
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra ACS
20 oz CO2 Tank
Halo b w/ victory board and rip drive
Kingman java 4+1 harness
V Force Vantage Mask
Strengths: See Reveiw
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Pros:
Very fast especially with victory board (35 bps)
Hard and durable shell
Rip drive can unjam paint and preload for chrono or untension for unloading
Lid is easy to open and shut
Mouth is big and easy to fill
Runs offa 6 AA batteries
Big feedneck
Can be upgraded (victory board, z code, rip drive)
Quieter than most hoppers
run offa belt drive
Looks awesome and in most colors
true force feed

Cons:
Price
a little heavy
runs offa 6 aa batteries
hard assembly
spring on lid is not ver powerful
sounds funky (at least mine does)
cant run black paint
can be a pain to handle if jammed
heavy matinence
may not work with all markers (to much force on bolt or detents)
Conclusion: I love it and it was worth every penny. It is the best hopper out there. If your a rec player, you really dont need it, but if you are serious about paintball, then you NEED this hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chasonpuntng Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
egg
appache
Marker Setup: evil pimp
halo w/rip
hybrid grips
pipe kit
Strengths: Fast
Quiet
Sexy
Has rip drive
Weaknesses: None
Review: I just got my sweet new Halo for christmas, so I went to try it out, and I like it so much more than my old apache. I was walking like crazy all day with no problems. I shot out two or three people wiwth my gun sideways with no problems because of the operation of the halo. !0 out of 10, no doubt. Great product.
Conclusion: Good product. buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ion_Rojo Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12V revvy w/ X-Board
Marker Setup: Red Ion, Smoke Halo B w/ Rip Drive, Worr Gas 50/30, Red Dye Stickies 3, Dye Armageddon drop forward.

Coming Soon: Dye Ultralite, Shocktech clamping feedneck, trigger.
Strengths: Fast.
Reliable.
RIP DRIVE!
Weaknesses: Heavy?
Review: I jsut got the Halo B w/ RIp drive for my birthday and played this past weekend w/ it for the first time and i tell ya what, man was it awesome. Of course, with an Ion, i only shot 17 BPS. But it still ran faster than the P.O.S. Revvy I used to play with. Back then i only got out 12-13 BPS(not very much for a midplayer). It worked wonders for me and had no problems at all with it!
Conclusion: If you are currently using anything else besides a Halo, go and buy one now! (unless you are using an Empire Reloader B.) It is definatly worth the money and will keep up with virtually anybody(unless they use ramping--which shows the lack of skill--or they are Chris Lasoya).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006 at 2:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pman09 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evo 2
Empire Reloader
Marker Setup: WGP Mini Orracle (Black/Blue)
Planet Eclipse E2
Nexus Ram w/ QEV's
Halo B w/ Rip
2 Centerflag 68/45k
Dye Rhino 05 cover (Black/Blue)
Strengths: Feeds fast
You can unjam it
Looks cool
Durable
Weaknesses: Kinda Heavy
Sucks batteries
Review: Some of my friends have Halos so I decided to pick one up after hearing how much they liked them. It comes in a nice box and includes clear directions. The hopper itself is a nice design and keeps my gun balanced, unlike the Evo 2. Although it is somewhat heavier than other hoppers I've used I don't really notice it when its on the gun with the tank too. As for speed the Halo is very fast and I have yet to see anyone outshoot theirs without ramping features. Its probably feeds around 22 bps witht he stock board. The rip drive is a nice feature to have incase you get a ball jammed up inside or something, but I have yet need to use it. One other thing i have noticed is that the Halo has very thick shells and so far has been able to take a beating without much damage to the appearance. One big weakness that brings the Halo's score down a bit is how many batteries it eats up. I can only go maybe play two days for 6 hours and it will be dead next time I use it. With my other hoppers I could go play multiple times and still have battery life. Batteries are one thing you might want to bring more of next time you play with a Halo B.
Conclusion: The Halo B w/ Rip drive is a great hopper and It hasn't broken on me or fallen apart yet. If you have the money go buy one they are great, very fast, and very durable. It won't break on you but you're gonna have to spend some extra cash on batteries. I'll give it an 8.5 but that rounds up to 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media