paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  Last
        Next Page
takenoprisoners Sunday, September 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine LED
12" Teardrop Barrel
Shocktech Superfly Short Bolt
16 Oz
Strengths: Fast
Nice Looking
Weaknesses: A little button trouble, probably just me.
Review: My friend lent me this hopper for a day or so. It was really really nice I didnt chop a ball all day long. The only problem I encountered was that if you forgot to turn it off, it would go off by itself (nice feature) but then when you went to turn it back on, you had to fool around with the button. I dunno maybe I was just having a really stupid moment. The rip drive was way better than the regular spinners. It also only feeds balls when it needs to, and doesn't keep running unless theres nothing in the feed neck. Its very durable and felt strong. And for a revi hopper its really quiet, or atleast it was quieter than my marker.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this hopper for anybody who chops alot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FrontsEvil40 Sunday, September 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Egg
Empire Reloader
Revvy
VL200
Marker Setup: Warped Dark Timmy
shocktech supa fly bolt
CP short reg
CP asa on/off
14" Stiffi barrel
Halo B w/Rip Drive
Strengths: Feeds Fast
Smart Design
Weaknesses: Uses alot of batteries
Review: Ok, first off if you have either fast fingers of a fast gun you need a halo b with or with out rip drive. When i say fast fingers or fast gun i mean about 17bps. I used to have a egg and it didn't feed fast enough on my Timmy at all on semi ( i walk on semi 18) so i decided to use a friends Halo B w/Rip Drive and it worked wonderfully Holds 140balls feeds fast enough for any gun and heavy but balances out unlike the egg. Alot of people don't realize that they hold 140 for a reason. 140 is as much as a pod can hold so each time you fill on the feild you fill up completely. It makes sence to me. they come in many colors so you can match it to your gun and you can buy shells for pretty cheap. I think anyone that wants to shoot faster then 15bps should get one or someone taht plans to be in paintball for along time go ahead and get a halo b so yoiu go ahead andcan get the best without wasting your money on any other hopper.
Conclusion: If you wana shoot fast get a Halo B
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

e-2tom Sunday, September 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggy-tested
Rev's-used for a couple of years
Halo LCD backman
Reloader B-used it once on a freestyle
Marker Setup: 03 cocker, eclipseblade, boomstick, HALO B, HP tank, superfly
Strengths: Insane feed rate.
Weaknesses: The belt in a weak placement, somtimes have to lean gun back. Energy hog.
Review: Once I put some batteries in it, shaved it down, and fixed it in my marker, I was kind of doubting the capabilities of the halo, having used the Halo LCD backman and having a mediocre feed rate, although it amazed me how fast the halo fed. No ball went unshot, and no ball broke in the gun at all. Although there are a few minuses of the halo; the weak body, I got bunkered the other day and the baterry slide got shot up, and broke. Also, for some reason when I got it the lid was made way to tight to I'm forcing the lid to open for one little pod. Last but not least, it is an energy hog, it takes six double A's and you can only get like one full day of playing, having to replace them the next time. Although all of these are just minor faults in the halo, its still a kickass loader.



get
it
now
Conclusion: Get the loader, it feeds like a maniac and i guarentee unless ur gun is a pos, then it wont break paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darktamer Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v revolution
Evlution II y- board
Evlution II z-board
Marker Setup: Yellow/black ANS 2k4 GXe w/ QEV's
Freak kit
68/45 PE tank
Halo w/ rip
Strengths: Wicked fast
Looks cool
RIP drive keeps you alive
Weaknesses: Heavy
Pricey
Can jam if you're not careful
Review: I've been wanting a halo b or reloader b for a while now. I chose the halo because from what I've heard, the sound activation of the reloader b can have problems, and the halo is a lot cheaper.

So I get it, and slap it on my gun. My gun was reborn... I felt ashamed at ever having used anything else. This thing will keep up with your fingers, not matter what. The only possible way to outshoot is ramping... and even then, it will be hard to outshoot.

I've used this twice in actual field play, and lots of times just target shooting in my backyard, never broke down or anything, never skipped any shots.

The only times I have ever had problems with it is when I fill it up too much, and the feed cone can't move because of lack of space. Just make sure there is some small gap by the lid so the balls can move, and you're golden.

I took it apart to clean it too, and it was very easy. I was rather daunted by it, as it was a lot more complicated looking than my previous hoppers, but it was actually easier than my old eggy.
Conclusion: It's either this, or a Reloader B, I would never use anything else anymore. I'm going to give it a 9, just because the shells aren't really stronger than any other hoppers, but it beats other hoppers in every other aspect. If you have the cash, get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dont know Tuesday, August 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg
other halos
Marker Setup: 05 pewter shocker-Hybrid Hedlok-SS Freak Back-Halo B w/boost-68/30 crossfire
Strengths: Looks nice
fast
Weaknesses: Some times its hard to turn on.
Slightly heavier than an egg.
Price
Review: This hopper is great. Its real fast when you need it to be and with the eyes you don't need to worry about your cap just spinning around and wasting the battery. Now you can use six AA, or a 9volt
Conclusion: I recommend this product to any one that wants a fast, nice looking hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 1st, 2005 at 2:43 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nerdcore Saturday, August 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Egg II w/ Z-board - about the same but noisier... and uglier.
VL Revvy - slower.
Empire Reloader (not B) - slower but i still like it for some reason.
Marker Setup: 06 Interceptor
Lucky Un1tech
Sidewinder
CP direct mount
rip'd Halo B
Guerilla Ambush 68/4.5k
Strengths: Fast.
Sleek.
Balanced.
Weaknesses: 6 AAs is a lot.*
Lid.**
Shells?***
Review: Bought the Halo after i bought an Ion. Figured it was a good idea to move up in the hopper department at that point.

Halo is fast. I've used Revvys/Reloaders & stock/upgraded Eggs and the Halo just feeds like crazy compared to those. I had to get used to reloading more often because i was emptying the Halo so quick. And don't think that's due to the Halo having a smaller capacity because i rarely top off - it's usually only one pod's worth at a time.

The Halo looks a lot sleeker than my Egg. Don't think there's really a size difference but the Halo just looks less bulky. And it's more balanced, with the weight evenly distributed - batteries in the front, motor in the back, balls all along the top.

*Expensive but that's the price paid for speed. They're cheaper now than when i bought mine, though. Yet having to buy dozens of AAs can gets expensive - good thing they make 9V adaptors, so you can use two 9Vs instead. Then get rechargeable 9Vs and save even more money in the long run.

**Lid comes open a little too easy. I set it down, full, and picked it up. The lid edge brushed agaisnt something and there went almost a whole hopper. Basically, you have to keep the Halo upright at all times lest you risk the chance of that same thing happening. I just said the heck with it and made a ghetto speed feed.

***Stock shells seem a little too brittle, which seems to be a common problem with all hoppers. Now mine haven't broken completely yet, i just notice some minor cracks & chips in certain areas. Not too worried because i don't slide or dive much & it's been over a year and the shell hasn't fallen apart yet.

Rip Drive is a plus. If you get a Halo B, you NEED a Rip Drive. If you're just chrono-ing or fine-tuning your gun, it's great because you don't have to turn the hopper on. Or, one of the worst things ever, your batteries happen to die mid-game, you can Rip it & still rip it.
Conclusion: Fast. You'll need this, now or in the near future. Either this or the Reloader B, it's almost preference, i think.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 11th, 2007 at 9:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HardcoreCowboy4 Thursday, August 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vevy, egg, older halo w/o rip
Marker Setup: Game Face Thunder Impulse vision, halo with ripdriv, twist top, dead on paintball drop, Pmi 4500 psi 68 cu, dye red n black rhino tank cover.
Strengths: Fast, force feed, ripdrive(good for unjaming and incase batterys die.)
Weaknesses: Jams are alittle pain, hold alittle less paint, eats batteries.
Review: Ive used many hoppers, and this one seems to be the fastest. I never get a sputter from the eye stoping the gun cuz of the hopper not feeding fast enough, but the halo never misses a beat. Its alittle heavy but.... who cares unless your a skimpy kid, when u get this hopper.... i would change the batties everytime you play... just to be sure cuz it use batteris allitle faster than other hoppers. The feed neck is allitle bigger than other ones also...
Conclusion: I'd buy one agian.... great hopper
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 25th, 2005 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dragon88 Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg 2 with Z brd,
Old electronic 9v hopper for my Custom 98 in 1999
Marker Setup: 05 Shocker SFT vision Pewter,
Crossfire HPA red 92/ 4500,
VL Evo 2 hopper w/ Z brd
Ion Red (back up)
Halo B w/ Victory Brd (BLK)
Strengths: Battery door design (not for Batt change out) Sturdy,
Feed neck sturdy
Weaknesses: LED hard to see in direct sunlight
RIP drive dragging on motor
Battery usage.
Review: This hopper is nice. I bought it because of all the hype on how fast it was and the victory board option.

I forget the place I got mine but I bought it because I found it one night looking on the Internet for like $109 or $119 with victory board.

So I had to get it since that was the cheapest price I had seen on it.

I got it and tried it once (1 game) with my shocker. It seemed to be slower then my Egg with the victory board.

But while cleaning it after the game I noticed when it is running it sounds like the motor is dragging? As if the rip drive is putting load (drag) on the small electric motor.

I have since taken it apart and listened to the motor and confirmed it does, sound like something is dragging on it and hindering it's performance. I haven't had time to take it apart further (blue inner tray w/ motor and rip drive). If I find the issue I will post back what I find.

But since it is to hot now to play (for us Old fat guys), I'm in no hurry.

I did experiment with the shockers ROF adjustment and the halo again the other day and did notice a speed increase, I tried first set at 17bps, then I reset the ROF to 25 BPS, and I let it rip (ramped up quick). I could tell the speed increased and I didn't notice any ball skips or miss fires due to lack of paint in chamber.

I would recommend this hopper with victory board, you want find much that can out shoot it. WHEN ITS WORKING, and has FRESH BATTERIES in it.

I would like to see a better on/off button, and better motor. Also the use of a different battery setup like a rechargeable lithium or something to that nature.

****************update 9-27-05***********************

I tried a new motor to see if that was the issue with the pulsing. It wasn't. I have tried the stock board w/ new motor & Stock motor, a Victory V35 board (New) w/ old and new motors, in and out from the hopper.

Same result, the motor has a pulsing affect when running, even when it is not in the race way turning the cone.

I can only determine that there is something in the boards or motor design causing this.

Until I can figure this out and fix it, I stand by the 7 rating.
Conclusion: Good overall hopper. Very fast, but can be costly if your not a good shopper.
Lots of aftermarket parts, easier to find then for some other brands.
I'm rating it a 7 because mine has issues (bought it new), and the weakness in motor power or drive system (which could be related).
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 28th, 2005 at 2:30 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

talon118 Saturday, August 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg 2
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot Acs, Anit CHop Bolt, New Designez Clamping Feedneck, 47/300 Centerflag Tank, Check it sweet spot trigger, Halo b W/rip drive z-coded
Strengths: Fast, Reliable, Balance, Looks,Un-jam paint, pretension the balls.
Weaknesses: Eyes cant see black paint, havnt tried yet.
Review: When I first put this on my Spyder Pilot I was very Impressed, By the way it balanced everything and how strong the feedkneck/raceway on the halo is. After I shot some on my spyder pilot I did a Drop test and It was FASTTTT! The halo keeps the balls stacked together at all times. This is the best loader next to the Empire Reloader B. I was Very Impressed With this product. A+++
Conclusion: This Hopper is Basicly "The Best" It was well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 20th, 2005 at 7:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

roshan Thursday, July 14th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Empire
Marker Setup: Stock ION with a Freak Barrel and a Halo B with Rip Drive
Strengths: Fast
Used by Pros

Weaknesses: Heavy
cost
Batterier Hog
Review: This is a great hopper. There are lots of problems you might incounter. Like cleaning the hopper is very hard and my hopper messed up the first week i got it because my V35 borad in it came messed up. I would sure should of looked at the reveiws before i bought it becasue it wasnt worth it in my line of paintball. I also had to sand the hopper down just to make it fit in my ION and thats sucked so much becasue it took for ever and then i sanded to small and it looked like crap and it was about to break down and i was pissed with this messed up hopper.
Conclusion: In conclusion i would rather get a Empire or and egg because i bet they are better then halos.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media