paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  Last
        Next Page
tydog2424 Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Egg- evo 2
Marker Setup: Ion W/ a dye ultralite barrel, Halo B with rip drive, un-mont adaptor, CP reg, and a 45-3000 tank
Strengths: Well built
Very Fast
Everything
Weaknesses: Really noithing
Review: I got this cause i needed a fast hopper for my gun and this work perfect 4 me.
When i first tired it out i was shooting Fast.. but when i put my EVO 2 on it really didnt shoot as fast cause it didnt feed fast enough. I love this hopper!
I think any 1 one who needs a new hopper and one that well last them very long get this it will work perfect.
Conclusion: Great Hopper, Get One!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CrotchBlaster Tuesday, July 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg
Empire Reloader 2
Marker Setup: 2004 BKO
Vapor Bolt
Vapor Valve
2K4 Chaos Board
PDS w/eye covers
CP Reg
Unimount
68/3000 Crossfire Tank
Strengths: Fast
Upgradeable
Weaknesses: Thick Feedneck
Heavy until 9V mod
The on/off button is kind of small
Review: I got this to keep up with my upgrades, and I won't go to anything else. After I modded it from 6 AAs to 2 9Vs, it's a lot lighter, and easier to run with. The only problem is that the feedneck is thick, super thick. Don't even bother sanding, it's a waste of time. Get a clamping feedneck for it. Overrall, this is a great hopper, it won't dissapoint
Conclusion: Get a 9V mod on it, and a clamping feedneck.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Six Feet Under Monday, July 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used Reloaders (both the revvy-style and the Reloader B), VL Revvys, and Eggs. The Reloader B is the only one that's any better than the Halo, and that's because it's sound-activated instead of using eyes.
Marker Setup: Impulse
Crossfire 8800 LP
Halo B w\ Rip Drive
Shocktech Low-Rise Clamping Feedneck
Eclipse Blade Trigger
Strengths: Fast, easy to load, strong lid, ability to use w\o battery power if needed
Weaknesses: Heavy, from what I'm told the batteries die somewhat often
Review: I ordered my Halo on Sunday June 26th. It came to my house on Thursday June 30th. Fast delivery thanks to Paintball Gear and well packaged as always. Upon opening the box I found that the color I ordered (green, only one they had in stock with the Rip Drive installed and it was only $7 more) was a lot better looking than the picture(s) online. I didn't think I'd like green and was planning on replacing the shells as soon as I got $30 or so, but I actually like the color and think I'll leave it like it is.

I bought 200 cheap-crap paintballs from Wal-Mart just to test it out to see how fast it feeds and to wow my Dad into believing I spent $110 on a hopper and it worked great. Even with Scorch, which is pretty crappy paint, the 'B fed quickly and effortlessly. I love the Rip Drive (I've used Halo's with R.D. before but never had to use it in a game) and it was definitely worth the extra $7 I paid for it. Even though it's front-heavy with 6 AA batteries in it and overall heavy with batteries and paint loaded into the thing, it was still one of the better buys I've made since I started playing 'ball.

I plan on buying either a Code 242 (waiting to read some reviews on their battery kits, they're only $25 retail) or PowerEx 9v rechargeable kit so I don't waste all my money on AA's. Now all I have to do is use it at the field!
Conclusion: Definitely worth the money because it's so fast and has Rip Drive.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

mac&cheese>you Sunday, July 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
revvy
reloader A
reloader B
Marker Setup: black 04 sft shocker
90 degree logic frame
check it feed neck
14"titanium boomy
hybrid rail
hybrid push button on/off
evolve bolt
68/45 aci tank w/LP crossfire reg&valve
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: Eats batteries
Review: Good hopper. feeds fast enough. you can get a victory or angry board if you want, but you dont really need it unless you shoot over 20 bps.. eats batteries. you can get a 9vlt mod if you want so you dont have to have 6 AA batteries in there.
Conclusion: Good hopper. get it if your using anything but a spyder
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dark Maul Saturday, July 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder e-99
14 in Costum Products barrel
15* Assult Block
Sweet Spot Trigger
Vl Revy w/ x-board inside loader
P.M.I 68ci 3000 psi Crossfire compressed air tank

Em1
Swan Creek N bolt
5''2 '' drop forward
Jr Freak Barrel
Evelution2 Loader
P.M.I 68ci 3000 psi Crossfire compressed air tank

System X Vengeance Base
Worr blade
RAT VALVE
BLACK MAGIC REGULATOR
DELRIN BOLT
14 INCH WGP KANER BARREL
Halo B Rip
P.M.I 68ci 3000 psi Crossfire compressed air tank
Strengths: -Very Very Very Fast
-Rip Drive can preload paingballs when cronoing
Weaknesses: -Batteries but buy 8 rechargeable.
Review: The best loader in the world very fast and rip drive for jams and cronoing. People say that the weigh of the loader is alot but all loaders will weigh alot when there is paint. Batteries is another issue with this loader just go and buy 12 rechargeable betteries it would only be like $20 but it will save you cash for al those times you went and got 8 pack batteries.
Conclusion: The fastest and best loader anyone should buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thehyenas2005 Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
everything
Marker Setup: Karnivor, dye throttle, xxx barrel, halo b with rip drive
Strengths: Very Fast
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a good hopper. I had 2 eggs before this and i broke both of them because of the crappy feednecks. I love it and im getting the victory board because my karnivore can shoot 54 bps. I cant wait till they make a hopper that feeds that fast
Conclusion: Get one or empire they are the same thing but empire stole the halo's style and made it more exspensive
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

fadsjflajf Sunday, June 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Grav Hopper (Standard Stock Hopper), Egg 2
Marker Setup: Impulse
Strengths: Durable
Sleek and sexy(opinion)
Fast
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: First off, I dont like the egg 2, so I might be bias at times. Halo B is reliable, durable, and does what its supposed to do. 23+ bps. I have seen more eggs taped up to get keep it from falling apart than I have seen them without tape (usually because theyre new- not for long). Sleek and Sexy. Runs on a belt drive. Silent. Prevents clogs. What more can you ask for?
Conclusion: This is one of the best hoppers you can buy other than egg and Empire. If you have the money buy this hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartguy41 Thursday, June 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL Quantam (Doesn't Compare)
VL Evlution aka The "EGG"
VL Revolution
Own an Empire Reloader B, same thing, just sound activated.
Marker Setup: Primary Marker
*DYE DM4*
-M3 Chip
-Contract Killer Grips
-WS Lucky 15 Barrel Kit
-Function Delrin Trigger
-Function On/Off

Backup Marker
*2k4 Impulse Vison*
Strengths: Loads Fast
Quiet
Rip Drive
Looks Pretty Cool
Weaknesses: Eats batteries like my principal eats twinkies.
Weak body shell (see review)
Heavy
Review: Most people have told me that I really don't need a Halo on an Impulse. They have told me to stick with a Revolution. The thing is, I have outshot some Revolutions. There is NO way that I can outshoot my Halo. It says on the box that it loads up to 20 balls per second and it does. There is no way I can shoot that fast. So I'll stick with my Halo.

The button is a little hard to press, especially when you have gloves on, but you will get the hang of it. It is very hungry for batteries, so if you own a Halo be sure and keep some extra batteries with you. It is a little heavy too. If you have a hi-rise feedneck then it will make it wobble. A few weeks ago my battery door broke off, but not just the door, the little slot that holds the door on broke as well. That very same day when I was taking the loader off of my gun, it broke off into my feedneck. This is not a bad problem because you can buy body shells online or at a pro shop for about $30 or less.
Aside from the problems the Halo is a good loader. Unlike the Empire Reloader, which is sound activated, the Halo has eyes that see the paint and let it know when to load. Any dark colored shell won't work to well in it. But it loads really fast and I haven't seen anyone outshoot one. Also, you will have to sand it down unless you have a feedneck that adjust to your hopper. But on Oddyssey's website they say that they purposely make the neck too big so it will fit any gun. A great loader for ANY gun.
Conclusion: Even though I have had a few problems with mine, I still give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 9th, 2005 at 12:13 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

nayrLS6 Thursday, June 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggys, Revvys, TSA
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath- blue/Silver 47/3000, halo B, CP two piece, zoom bolt, T-board, detonator & 15*vasa, fbm trigger, unimount
Strengths: Speed
Reliability
Looks
Quiet
Weaknesses: A tad heavy
Eyes can't see black
Battery door is wierd
Review: I got this loader a while ago when I got my wrath, and let me tell you, its FAST. I have never outshot it, and I don';t think I ever will. Its a just nice feeling right before the break when you look down and see your hopper, and you know that every time you pull the trigger, a paintball is going to be there lol....makes a man feel good.....No really it is a great loader. The rip drive is also a cool feature, so if you ever run out of batteries or something...your not screwed. Not that you would ever probably run out...most people care enough to press the buttin one and see if the light is green before they play lol. We all know we got rip drive cuz it looks cool when the little wheel spins when we're walking it.....

The things I don;t like about this loader are that it is a bit on the heavy side, the eyes won't see black paint, and the battery door is touchy. The weight isn't that much of a problem really....I mean you DO fill your hopper with a couple pounds of paintball don't you? People always complain about the eyes not seeing black, but it's not that bad really...I have never walked onto a field that has black pain, mainly because I'm sure they notice that 80% of everybody there has halos lol. I'm just reaching for weaknesses now tho...
Conclusion: This loader is fast, reliable, wuiet and looks cool......What else do you want? Definately a must for anyone who wants to get the most out of thier paintball gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Akamu14 Monday, June 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Mechanical Vexor hopper (non-electric). Puts my old hopper to such shame, that having it is a disgrace.
Marker Setup: The Spyder Imagine LED. A Halo B with a rip drive hopper. Crossfire 3000 psi 68 cubic inch alloy steel compressed air tank. 32 degrees 14" Whisper Barrel.
Strengths: Fast, consistant, and durable.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This hopper is great for the forgetful and those who want some good chain shooting. I never had one jam. The hopper shuts itself off after a period of time when not in use to save your batteries. There were so many times when I did a dive, crashed into the ground, and the Halo said to me "Give me more!" Well it didn't say that but by judging that there was no scratches and no problems, it seemed like it was saying that to me.
Conclusion: Get this hopper. It's greater than the viewloader and that egg looking one. Great on batteries as well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media