paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  Last
        Next Page
Ghost-Zero Wednesday, June 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12v revvy
viewloader evolution (eggy)
Marker Setup: Dragun TES
Shocktech TES Tube
Lo-rise Clamp Feedneck
Halo B (Ripped, and running on 9's)
05' Crossfire 45/4500
Strengths: *FAST
*As light as an eggy
*the rip can tension the stack
*quiet
Weaknesses: *The plastc shell is kinda breakable.
Review: Got a blue one a few days ago off ebay for 90 bucks. man, this is such a great hopper, dont need to worry about overshooting the hopepr anymore, as i always did with the revvy. the rip works like a charm, easy to use, and very helpful when stuck in a jam or yeh run out of bateries.
Conclusion: if u have a 20+ bps gun and CAN actually rope that fast then get it and stop worrying about overshooting the hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hack73 Monday, June 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k Ricochet
Viewloader Revolution
Marker Setup: *2k2 Black AutoCocker
Planet Eclipse Nexus Kit (hammer, spring, valve, bolt, ram, QEVs) - Black
Planet Eclipse Blade Swing Trigger Frame - Black
CP inline regulator - Black
Palmers Rock front regulator - Black
WGP Orracle 3-way - Black
- 2k Ricochet loader - Black
- 68/4500 Crossfire tank
- 14" Evil Pipe Kit - Black
- 14" Dye Ultralite - Black
- System X drop forward w/ on & off - Black

* 2005 Smart Parts Black Ion
- Smart Parts Q-Lock Low Rise Feed Neck - Black
- 14" Evil Pipe Kit - Black
- Shocktech drop forward w/ Evil on & off - Black
- Halo B w/ rip drive - Black
- 68/4500 Crossfire tank
Strengths: Solid built
Quiet
Fast
Weaknesses: Screw down battery compartment
Can not tell if the loader is turned on
Heavy
Review: I could not hear this loader like I could with my 2k Ricochet. The Ricochet would make a loud noise when feeding balls, with the Halo, I can't hear anything. Therefore, I could not find anything really bad about this load except the weight and how to tell if the loader was on or not. Note - I bought the M&M Halo Battery Clip with the loader. This allows you to use (2) 9 volt batteries for your Halo B loader instead of 6 AA batteries. This means less weight for you to carry around! This setup allowed the batteries to rattle around a little bit so I had to find some foam paddling to place in the compartment to minimize the movement. After doing this, I had no noise at all. I would recommend getting this battery clip if you wish to use 9 volt batteries instead. However, I would definitely recommend this loader to anyone.
Conclusion: Worth the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thegreg Wednesday, June 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution 2, Empire reloader
Marker Setup: Smart parts Nerve,Halo ripdrive, 689 stanless steal insert, 92/4500 crossfire low pressure.
Strengths: Fast, Solid, Reliable, Quite, Hardly ever james, Unjames itself, Sexy looking, not sound activated.
Weaknesses: Takes six AA batteries, but you can put a 9v in it if you prefure
Review: I decided to buy this hopper after I wanted to be shooting a little faster with my Angel. So I went out and ordered a halo from my local field, lucky for me when it came in they acidently sent a Halo RIp Drive instead for the same price. After I put it on my Angel the speed was so much faster, and later when I bought the Nerve I was really happy I had that halo. In my recent test i have found that a stock halo can feed over 20 BPS.
Also I like that this hopper is activated by sensors, which makes it much faster in reaction then a sound activated hopper, because the second it detects motion it feeds so theres never a gap in your feed neck, also when it isnt feeding it keeps the balls well together with it spring loaded system, AWESOME!
Conclusion: I think this hopper is the second best hopper ever, The only thing above this hopper is if you put a victory board in it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

4skins23 Sunday, June 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg 2, revvy
Marker Setup: stock angel 4 fly graphite/ black fade, angel air
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: Eyes suck, seems heavy,
Review: Ok I love the speed, its great, but there is too many negatives for this thing to cost $140. Why does this operate on 6 batteries? It would cut down on batteries if they did something else; 2 9volts, how bout a lithium rechargeable baterry or 2. Bottom line that is a poor design.
The eyes are tempermental. Any kind of dark paint and it will not work right. Colors that you cannot use would be: black (of course), purple, blue, possibly green and silver, but also any marbled balls that have any of these colors on it. Recap; that leaves you with solid colors or marbled colors like white, yellow,orange or pink. Did I miss any? Anyway, why can't they take a few tips from viewloader( a company who has had it right for a long time now)?. Don't hear anyone complaining about the revvies. Why can't they revamp the eye system like an Angel eye system?With positive detents as eyes so there is no trouble at all? It is a force fed loader so pushing in detents would not hamper any operation, right?
I am not all about bashing halos, just trying to give some constructive critism, and ideas.In my opinions,until Oddysey addresses a few key issues ( as stated above) that they have, they won't get any more money from me.
There are a few things I'm not happy with after that what I've already mentioned. Like I think the lid spring is too weak, and I don't like the fact that you have to carry a screwdriver with you if you need to change batts in between games( it takes too long.) Believe it or not there are better designs out there, they must have just slapped this together. Now if they revamped the battery area like I suggested, It would cut down on weight, and profile.Every thing seems to be going carbon fiber these days, why not a hopper body? Plastic window and reinforced neck? Would that make it lighter? Maybe somthing to check into, eh? Oddysey, are you listening?

Edited: now, it does not feed properly. it always shows its jammed.I believe the motor is bad. I have been told by a store around my house that these loaders only last about a year and a half on average.I'll end up buying a new loader but not a halo .never again.for the price I paid I should have gotten a lifetime warranty with it.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this due to the expense. They need to revamp the eye system and the battery compartment and a few other little areas.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 4th, 2006 at 9:18 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

droptimepayton Sunday, June 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
egg2,emipireB
Marker Setup: 04 impulse vert reg w/ vision stainless
voodoo bolt
blade trigger
egg2
68/4500psi crossfire
freak barrel kit
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: -Pro's
very fast never be able to out shot this hopper
lot's of battery span u only have to change it maybe every 3 weeks
rip drive is a real nice extra to the hopper
-Con's
very loud when out of ball's
lot's of parts to loss in the hopper taking it a part


Out of all the negative's it's a all right hopper looks good on any high end marker even when it's shot up whit paint and mud cleaning the hopper is really easy but to many parts that u can loss and pay all lot of money to replace.
Conclusion: Awesome hopper recommend to any player
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cunn Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Revvies
Empire Reloaders
Egg
Marker Setup: Black Smart Parts Ion, Black Smart Parts Q-Lock, Smoke Halo B with ripdrive,PMI Pure Energy 68/3000 PSI Fiber wrapped HPA tank.
Strengths: Fast
Reliable
Sturdy
Rip drive
Weaknesses: None that I have seen.
The on light could be brighter
Review: When I got my Ion I had a Empire Reloader,and it wasn't fast enough to keep up with the Ion. I bought the Halo B and ripdrive separately. So I installed it myself which was kind of difficult because the pin that holds the gears in didn't come out of the hole without alot of force, But I finally got it out and it was smooth sailing from there. I have never had a problem with it since I got it. It's great. One of the best investments I've made in paintball. Super fast.
Conclusion: It's one of the fastest loaders on the market and is true force feed. Fast,easy to take care of, great design,get one now!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

esdee Friday, May 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy, ego
Marker Setup: Smartparts ion, stock barrel, ccm no-pro feedneck
Strengths: Fast, durable, and good looking.
Weaknesses: Little bit heavier than other hoppers, not reading dark paint.
Review: This is a great hopper. if any 1 has to chance to buy it, they should. you can adjust your feedneck on your gun to fit the halo but i would recommend another type of feedneck that would fit it more tightly IE: ccm feedneck. the speed on this hopper is incredible and nothing else could describe it. i use a smart parts ion and the gun rips and seeing it being used by a revvy, it did not go well. after using the halo, it rocked!
Conclusion: Buy it if you have the chance and (rip drive helps) =D. b/c it looks awesome and the speed is incredible
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballerAZ92 Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
just a regular gravity feed 200 rd hopper
Marker Setup: Spyder TLX- No upgrades
Spyder Pilot- 16 in. Custom Product Classic barrel, Halo B w/rip drive blue, DYE sticky grips
Strengths: Fast...REALLY FAST
Looks
Rip Drive
Battery Power
Weaknesses: Heavy, just a little bit
Review: This is a great hopper. It works extremely well on my Spyder Pilot. Even though my gun can only shoot 14to 16 balls per second this hopper makes it look faster. It feeds really quick and hardly will ever cause me to break a ball. It is a little heavy though, but to me it's worth it if you wan a great hopper. I've let me friend test my gun and he has a quick trigger finger and even he couldn't outshoot it. The battery power is great. It didn't die on me until I shot about 15,000 paintballs through it. It held me through 8 visits to Command post till i had to switch batteries. That's pretty good because I hate spending money on 9volt batteries because they cost a lot, but that's what you get when you go electric I guess. The rip drive is AWESOME! It will help you a lot. If a ball ever gets jammed just turn the rip drive the other way and your ready to play all over again. Also if your batterires die just do a little bit of turning on the Rip Drive, and you have yourself a Force Feed System. It can really save you during a tournament or a important game. Another thing you can do with this great hopper is you can manually feed the balls right into the neck into the hopper. That's pretty cool. This hopper has it all.
Conclusion: It is a great hopper and HALO still stands to its name. If you want a good hopper that doesn't fail you then this is it. It is a little pricy, but that's the cost for good products. And like I said, this hopper has it all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mynameisgeorgel Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v revy
Empire Reloader
Quantum
Marker Setup: 04 Red impy
progressive barrel
Voodoo Delrin Bolt
New Designz Lo Rise clamping Feedneck
CP Roller Trigger
Full Freak Kit
Murder Inc micro drop
max flo reg
crossfire 68/3000
Halo B w/ Rip Drive

Strengths: Speed
Durability
Price(depending on where you got it)
Weaknesses: Heavy
Price(Depending on where you got it)
Review: I bought this hopper becuase I was outshooting me reloader. I would chop at least 2 a game and it was throughing off my accuracy. I then saved up and bought this loader and Haven't chopped since. I have put well over three cases through the hopper with no jams, no breaks, no problems whatsoever. Last year at this time, these things were expensive, but the price has dropped a little bit so I'm glad I waited to buy it. The only problem that I've found is that the loader is very heavy, much heavier than my reloader but a lot faster, so that makes up for it.
Conclusion: If you've got the money and you shoot fast, get this loader. You won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballsk8er3 Wednesday, April 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Reloader.
Marker Setup: I shoot an 03 cocker. with a shocktech superfly bolt. I have The complete nexus front kit. and i have the eclipse valve. i am shooting a stock hammer off it and i have the e2 blade of course. i am rocking a 14in freak barrel off the front and a Bob Long Torpedo Reg.
Strengths: Fast loading
Weaknesses: There are alot read below.
Review: Well to start off they sold out to empire which kinda sucks but hey empire is a great company no complaints. The problems with the Odyssey Halo B w/ rip drive starts now. First off its hard as all hell to take apart. all the wires and stuff are just taped on and its hard to fit them back in place. the cone broke alot of my paint it just kept turning it into a milkshake. and when it does break paint you have to take the cone completely off to get under it. and thats a task in itself. the battery compartment is a job because you have to reach your fingers in and push the wires in a certain way of the batteries wont sit in there and you cant close the battery lid. The eyes suck. if you get any paint on them you are screwed unless you clean them out with is a job unlesss you have Q-tips and i dont normally carry them with me when i go to a field. So yea be careful what paint you put in cause if it isnt up to standard your halo will become one giant blender. The button to get it started is a task it doesnt seem to alwasy want to turn on, on the first push its like a 50 50 thing when i push it the first time. The lid is kinda hard to pop up its a little tight and when i am in a heated shoot out i want my loaders lid to come off clean not give me problems. it snaps down fairly tight. If you do take it apart be careful because its a job and a half putting it back together and the feed port at the bottom doesnt always sit back together that well. also i had to sand it down to get it to sit inside my feedneck..
Conclusion: If you decided to go with the Odyssey loader. because careful cause the eyes will hurt you if they get paint in them. consider either the empire b. or the empire upgrade board. sound activation is alot nicer. trust me it works better.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media