paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26
        Next Page
jrbacon Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg 2-Not as fast but lighter
Marker Setup: Ego,d.a.r.t. bolt, Freak kit, Crossfire 68/4500
Turtled e-orracle, freeflow internals, palmers micro rock, palmers stabilizer
Strengths: Fast consistant feeding
Weaknesses: Weight, somtimes jams (rip-drive comes in handy)
Drive cones break from time to time
Review: Well was down in Florida playing, and duting a superman dive into the snake (somthing that fat guys like me should not do), my egg broke its shell. The pro shop had a Halo b in stock and no egg shells, so the choice was clear...If you want to keep playing buy the Halo. So I did and have been enjoying it since then. Weight wise the halo is quite a bit heaver than the egg, but this is offset by speed and a more consistant feed. On 2 occasions I have had the halo jam when reloading, the rip drive is a God send at this point, a quick turn and the jam clears. The plastic drive cone breaks from time to time, so I upgraded to the delrin drive cone to fix this.
Conclusion: A good solid product, I would recomend this to any one with a high-end marker. A little heavier than the nearest competitor, but the speed and consistancy more than makes up for this.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 14th, 2006 at 9:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeK NeaK Thursday, April 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Egg, Revvy
Marker Setup: 2005 WDP Angel G7 -Blue
Halo B w/ RIP Drive and Victory Board
Check-It Unimount -Black
68ci 4500psi LP Angel Air

2005 Black Smart Parts Ion
14" Evil Pipe Kit (all black)
Custom Products 3D Flame Drop Forward w/ On/Off (black)
Evolution 2 w/ Z-Board (black)
Shocktech No-Rise Clamping Feed Neck (black)
Custom Products In-Line Regulator (black)
Hybrid Fresh Lady Grips (black)
Dye Rhino Bottle Cover (black)
88cu 4500psi Carbon Fiber PMI Pure Energy HPA

Strengths: Fast, Kinda light, victory board is sweet
Weaknesses: Sometimes dont see dark paint, and jams occasionaly.
Review: Good hopper, although it dosent see dark paint and jams some times. You cant expect everything to be perfect, overall this is the best hopper out there with a victory board, nothing can come close. Some argue the only weaknesses of this hopper is it is too heavy and cant see dark paint. Well, its weitht actually balances out your marker with a tank on the bottom, and with paintballs in the hopper, of course its gonna feel heavy. The other weakness about it cannot see dark paint, this is true, but just dont use black shelled paint and you are fine.
Conclusion: Good hopper, decent price on it, get a victory board if you have an angel, you'll thank me later.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JoshHAnzalik Friday, April 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Odyssey Halo b
Eggy-not full force feed though
Marker Setup: Odyssey Torid X
ups coming soon
Clear Halo B w/ rip drive
Strengths: Speed
Reliabilty
Battery Life
Force Feed
Nice Shell
Love Rip Drive
Weaknesses: Torque from the motor
Feedneck
Review: I recieved my halo b in the mail a couple of weeks ago. I had a regular halo b and decided to get one with rip drive. I got this hopper NIB from ebay. My final bid was 76 dollars!!! that is really cheap with shipping it was about 90. Strengths of this hopper are its Speed, Reliability, Battery Life, gotta love that force feed, last but not least rip drive. So might call them weaknesses i call them user prefernce. Some people will go out and buy the most expensive nicest paint to play rec ball with and others will u cheap paint. If the paint is bad this hopper will SMASH it. The feedneck actually isnt a big problem considering it can be sanded or if you already have a clamping feedneck then you dont need to. The price isnt that high either if you really think about what your getting.
Conclusion: In my opinion this is the best hopper on the market with or without rip drive..GET IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

f2f4 Tuesday, April 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every other hopper, from the VL-200 to the Eggy2 w/ Z board.
All worse.
Marker Setup: If you REALLY wanna see my setups... which I doubt, go to:
http://www.freewebs.com/f2f4
Strengths: - Fast
- Newer ones are gentle on paint
- Rip drive helps a TON
Weaknesses: - Pricy
Review: This hopper is incredible. I haven't had any issues with jamming (but if I ever do, the rip drive will let me clear out the jam in a couple seconds without opening the hopper), breaking paint, or falling apart. It just appears to be extremely solidly built, and fixing any damage that might be caused is very simple, due to the hopper's modular design.

The spring-loaded drive cone allows for burst feeding rates in excess of 50 BPS, with a claimed sustained feed-rate of around 22. With an upgraded board, this number can be raised to as high as 35, which is incredible. Since owning this hopper, I have not had any problems with breaking paint inside of it, and the one time that the Halo couldn't "see" the paint (it was really cheap, almost transparent), I simply shut it off and used the rip drive to play that day. One full wind will get you about 15 balls, before you need to turn it again.

I would reccomend this to any player with a marker that can handle it.
Conclusion: The strengths by far outweigh the disagvantages. Nothing else compares. Get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 18th, 2005 at 9:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

glacierspyder Monday, April 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evo2,
X-board Revy
Marker Setup: Smart Parts red Ion, Hybrid Hedlok, CP Reg, New Designz on/off w/ bleed, New Designz roller trigger, Scepter barrel kit.
Blood red Nightkast, Eclipse Nexus kit, Worrblade, Worrblade bolt, Bob Long gauge on front block, Scepter barrel kit.
Evo2, 12v Revy X-board, Halo B w/ rip drive, and a Crossfire 92ci x 4500psi
Strengths: Fast
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Drive cone
Price
On/off
Review: If youíre looking for a fast hopper this is one of the fastest on the marker next to the Q-loader. I noticed the when running without pballs that the drive cone would turn for about four seconds, pause, and start back up again. This being my first Halo I started checking the web for information on why it did that. I found out it was the newest programming for the board, and it has the z-code, so cool. Not much to say other then it looks cool and itís fast. I donít know why people are complaining about the weight, for me itís not heavy at all fully loaded. I had to sand my feed neck for it to fit properly but thatís not a big deal since I had to sand my evo2 for it to fit my guns feed neck. The big draw back on this is the drive cone, but there are replacement ones that are aluminum or delrin. The only other problem I have is the on/off button. Because the face plate moves itís hard to find the button, I was going to fix this when I have to take apart my Halo. I got the Halo with the rip drive installed just incase anything on it goes down. Kind of high on the price tag, but what can you do.
Conclusion: Great hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

laporte Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire realoder b, egg 2
Marker Setup: Black Impulse w/ brass hammer, disaster delrin bolt, W.A.S equalizer board, clampind feed neck, smart grip, red halob w/ rip drive, and disaster blade trigger.
Strengths: Super fast, looks good, rarely has problems and SUPER FAST!!
Weaknesses: Eats up bateries.
Review: I just bought my halo and played with it today. I had no jams and my impulse ripped with it. Ilove it. If you can get it with rip drive because they jam somtimes. I think this is the best hopper you can get!! THIS HOPPER IS AWSOME AND THE BEST ONE YOU CAN GET FOR THE PRICE!!!
Conclusion: Get it, you will like it, it rocks!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
revy, eggy 2 Y baord, eggy 2 z baord, ricohet AK
Marker Setup: Upped impy, nitro eggy, bla bla bla
Strengths: Fast as heck, looks sweet. very very high quality
Weaknesses: Does hold a lot of paint, forse feed kinda is hard on your detents.
Review: This is 2nd best hopper on teh market. i think first is teh empire. this hopper is very very fast. i got teh z baord but my freinds halo still beats mine by a little each time cause its a true force fed hopper. i love teh quality. if feels very very stong. this thing will never break. it almostm akes me want to go buy one just by looking at my freinds cause im tired of my peice or crap eggy. the only thing that could well i sapose it could be faster (i mnea there is always room for improvement) but it shoot faster than any human can pull. the main drawback is the eye. it cant see black paint. what the heck odyssey?? even veiwlaoder uses beam breaks on their hoppers!!!! i think odyseey really cheaped out on this. they could ahve used beam breaks. i know its not that big of a deal, but what if all you can get is black paint? it has happened to me before. so for this i give it a 9, other than that its perfect.

ok after a whole of hard use i got my first major crack. it was bound to happen. the shel is very very hard but very brittle. oh well. still a good prosduct though and it does not chance my rating. howewver i have a theory......if you take it apart, it will crack. every time isee a halo unscrewed, the next time i see it it has a crack. but thats just me.
Conclusion: This is almost the prefect hopper. if you have the cash, buy one, dont settle for crap hoppers.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 6th, 2006 at 8:01 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Gumbie_1234 Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution 2
stock A-5 hopper
Gavity Feed Hopper
Marker Setup: New Red 04 Shocker w/ Vision
Black Halo B w/ Rip Drive
72ci/3000psi Pure Energy Tank w/
Red Dye Rhino Tank Cover.
Strengths: Fast
Holds alot of paintballs
laser feed
looks
Rip drive is nice
Weaknesses: Heavy
Kinda big
Feedneck big
Review: Another weakness i would say it that you would lose batterys when you have no paintballs in the hopper becasue it is laser feed. But other then that i really like this hopper becasue it is fast and durable.

This hopper also I think has a good look to it, and the feed neck is a liitle big becasue i had to sand it down a lot to fit into my shocker, and after about an hour or so it still wont fit so i went back to my local shop and bought a new clamping feedneck and it made it way better.

The same day I brought the gun and hopper back to my friends house and we tested the gun and hopper out. The hopper worked perfectly with no balls getting forced into the gun and breaking everything went every smooth.
Conclusion: I would really recommand getting this hopper if you have the money. But if you want to spend a little more get the Reloader B only becasue i like sound activiated and wont lose batterys if there are no balls in the feed neck.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tommygunpb Thursday, March 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used all the hoppers but the Reloader B. The Halo leaves them in the dust.
Marker Setup: Blue/Black Fade Syndicate Misfit
Crossfire nitro
Halo B
New Designs Feedneck
Bandit bolt
Strengths: Light For my gun
Looks
Speed
Loudness
Consistency
Weaknesses: Should have a 9.7.
Review: When i received my Halo the first time it did not work well at all, but i found out that it was a defective product so I sent it back and got a new one. After that I was ripping it up. What really amazed me was the sound of the hopper, it was twice as quiet as my evlution. I thought that it was not working correctly because it was so quiet. Another strength was the look it was a great match with the fade of my gun. I highly recommend the rip drive since this hopper is a force feed. I have also found that the consistancy of the hopper is really great, I have never had a misfire. This hopper can easily keep up with my marker that shoot 16 balls a second on full auto. I would not recommend this hopper for markers that cannot shoot more that 13 balls per second simply because you would out shoot the gun causing it to misfeed and chop (at least this is my experience with my friends spyder) .
Conclusion: I would recommend this for any one that can get their gun over 13 balls per second. I have had no problem with the non-defective hopper that I have now. I just wish the overall rating was higher.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 19th, 2005 at 6:23 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ICDPballer Sunday, March 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg(Same Feed Rate But Twice as Heavy)
Marker Setup: Indian Creek B2K3 w/ PDS,14" Dye Titanium Boomstick,Halo B w/ Rip Drive, FBM Thorn Drop Forward, Nitro DUck 45/4500
Strengths: Feed Rate
Looks
Light
Weaknesses: It needs 6 batteries but they last along time
Review: This is the best hopper on the market right now(litterally). Its Fast,Light, and looks sexy on any compact gun. It looks okay but not as good on bigger guns such as karnivores and Evos. I pulled out 18 bps on this thing with my ICD and it never skipped a ball. This is not a beginners hopper or one ment for tippmans or other beginner guns. I recomend u buy this if u have an autococker,pirahna,ICD,bob long, or anything else that shoots over 13 bps otherwise ur just wasting ur money.
Conclusion: Buy this hopper if you have a very fast gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media